Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Baker Books What is Reformed Theology?: Understanding the Basics - eBook

Baker Books What is Reformed Theology?: Understanding the Basics - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.857 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for What is Reformed Theology?: Understanding the Basics - eBook
Review 1 for What is Reformed Theology?: Understanding the Basics - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good book, but needs more Scripture

Date:August 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
simon94
Location:The Netherlands
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I read the book in 8 days and it was a great read and I definitely learned more about Reformed Theology from it. But when I wanted to get this book I thought that it was filled with Scriptural support for each point, but I was disappointed. The 'Westminister Confession of Faith' is cited frequently, philosophical arguments, Calvin, Augustine, Luther, but I would've loved more Scriptural support for each of the 5 points of Calvinism.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for What is Reformed Theology?: Understanding the Basics - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Bit of a Heavy Read

Date:January 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Debra
Location:Missouri
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
R.C. Sproul is my favorite author. I love his intellect and insight. This book, however, is a bit of a "heavy" read. I am reading it slowly to absorb what he offers. No matter - I'll read anything Sproul offers.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for What is Reformed Theology?: Understanding the Basics - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product I would rate it overall excellent.

Date:July 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cheryl
Location:Young Harris, Georgia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dFor someone who really wants to understand Reformed Theology this is the book for you. Very helpful with many of the questions people have about Reformed Theology.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for What is Reformed Theology?: Understanding the Basics - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Fides Reformata
Location:PR
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RC Sproul is an excellent theologian. This book is an excellent tool to educate in the basics of the Reformed Faith.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for What is Reformed Theology?: Understanding the Basics - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Getting a Handle on Reformed Theology

Date:October 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
David Gough
Location:Alexandria, VA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Calvinism," "Covenant Theology," "Reformed Theology"...what does it all mean? How is it distinguished from "Dispensationalism?" Does it really matter? These are questions that often haunt thinking evangelical believers. Where does one even begin find clarity when the Bible seems to support both the reformed and dispensational positions? I would recommend this book. Sproul avoids the pitfall of most theologians who employ dated terms that tend to confuse the 21st-century reader. Although regularly drawing support from Luther, Calvin, and the Westminster Confession, he does so with clear explanation. The first part of the book includes chapters on basic systematic theology (Theology Proper, Bibliology, Soteriology, and Christology), while part two adeptly walks the reader through the five points of Calvinisim (TULIP). Sproul actually renames each of those points in an effort to amplify their meaning from the reformed perspective. His illustrations are vivid and on-point. This book is ideal for both the one just beginning to investigate reformed doctrine, as well as those looking for a brief refresher course.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for What is Reformed Theology?: Understanding the Basics - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Thought Provoking

Date:August 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ron McPherson
Location:Knoxville, TN
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very thought provoking book. Though it lays the groundwork for the principles of Reformed Theology as a whole, much of the book understandably focuses on defending the Calvinist approach. Sproul, who obviously is a very gifted expositor, presents the 5 points of TULIP in a way that becomes, as he might say, an almost ‘resistless logic.’
Sproul relies on Scripture to defend the Reformed views, but I will add that he also places much emphasis on the writings of the Reformers, as well as the Westminster Confession of Faith. Though we can learn much from the great saints of the Reformation era, we must remind ourselves that neither they, nor their writings, were infallible.
There are some points in the book to which I would take exception. Though the issue is not belabored, Sproul briefly alludes to Dispensationalism falling into the camp of semi-Pelagianism, and thus pits Dispensationalist thought against Calvinism, as if the two could not co-exist. I found this position to be a bit unsteady.
All in all, however, this is an excellent work, and Sproul offers compelling Scriptural support for many of his positions. One thing is for certain: Calvinists understand that salvation is wholly of God, without any semblance of human virtue or merit. This alone should cause us, whether Calvinist or not, to take notice of its teaching.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for What is Reformed Theology?: Understanding the Basics - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Book explains Reformed Theology clearly.

Date:June 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
DAVE C
Location:CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a book that would give me a clear and fairly concise explanation of Reformed Theology. R.C. Sproul does an excellent job of explaining it so that a layperson with an interest can understand this important historical protestant theology. I really enjoyed the book and learned a great deal from it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for What is Reformed Theology?: Understanding the Basics - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent

Date:December 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sam II
Location:Floral Park, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Eventhough I still have some trouble with some aspects of reformed theology, RC Sproal covers it as he does on most things- quite well. I highly recommend it to all
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for What is Reformed Theology?: Understanding the Basics - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jason Griffin
What is Reformed Theology by, RC Sproul, is a great book that gave me a greater understanding of what Reformed Theology is. I love RC Sproul. He is a great teacher. I have just finished his book Chosen by God. These books would be great for the Arminian/Semi-Pelagian to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for What is Reformed Theology?: Understanding the Basics - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 28, 2010
This is a great book. R.C. makes Reformed Theology easily understood. It has helped me to accept Reformed Theology as true and Biblical.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for What is Reformed Theology?: Understanding the Basics - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Barbara Thayer
R.C. Sproul is one of the best reformed teachers in this era. His clear explanation of what it means to be reformed and what we believe makes this a valuable addition to a personal library. It is so crucial to understand our faith and he covers all the important doctrinal distinctions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for What is Reformed Theology?: Understanding the Basics - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
William
Excellent study material with historic and Biblical insight into the Doctrines of Grace, Reformation theolgy(which is a return to Biblical theology); and heretical teachings that opposed the Church and Reformers.We agree on all essentials of historic Biblical theology and agree on a tradition which is held among my Presbyterian brothers. But I believe this book is essential study material for all believers ad their households. It would make excellent study material for high schools and seminaries.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for What is Reformed Theology?: Understanding the Basics - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
L. Reinhold
Great book on Reformed theology. Definately sound and Calvinistic. So important to understand not only eternal security (preservation of the saints), but also perserverance of the saints. Too many have fallen away in recent years, proving they were false conversions. Those truly transformed by God's saving grace will ultimately persevere. Those who were never truly grafted into the vine are the branches that wither (those who made false conversions). IE let me just pray and ask Jeus into my heart as ticket to heaven then I'll live like I want to. We do need to return to teaching the Law then grace.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for What is Reformed Theology?: Understanding the Basics - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 26, 2007
Customer Avatar
Leonard Castaneda
This is a very concise, yet complete explanation of what it means to hold the Reformed faith. It has helped me better understand the underpinnings of Reformed theology and the doctrines of grace. Those who call themselves "Calvinists" and even those who don't, but are curious, should have this book in their library.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.