Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Serve God, Save the Planet: A Christian Call to Action

Zondervan Serve God, Save the Planet: A Christian Call to Action

Could living the American dream be killing you? Constantly treating chronic illnesses that seemed linked to the earth's increasingly diseased environment, physician Sleeth made a dramatic decision. Discover how his family gave away more than half their possessions, adopted a simpler lifestyle---and gained richer relationships, healthier bodies, and a deeper faith in Christ.
Average Customer Rating:
4.571 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Serve God, Save the Planet: A Christian Call to Action
Review 1 for Serve God, Save the Planet: A Christian Call to Action
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Thoughtful and interesting

Date:May 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Theresa Low
Location:Singapore
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I find this book thoughtful and interesting, with many suggestions to take better care of the environment - some of which are quite easy to do while others need greater efforts. I think this book is suitable as a gift.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Serve God, Save the Planet: A Christian Call to Action
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:October 28, 2008
Customer Avatar
L. Kelly
This book has very few references for all the claims this author makes. Some of the points were relevant, but much of it seemed to be his own negative rhetoric. He doesn't realistically address the modern world and the bible verses used didn't seem to fit. If one has the patience to sift through it, some interesting points are made. This probably should have been an article -- not a book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Serve God, Save the Planet: A Christian Call to Action
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jan Stockton
Not everyone is ready to give up the dishwasher and the clothes dryer to reduce their impact on the environment. But the author makes it clear there are many ways Christians can do their part, especially here in the US where the abundance of so many things is taken for granted. Even if you're not ready to embrace popular theories about global warming, each of us has a God-given responsibility for prudent stewardship of all the resources at our disposal. The book includes formulas for home energy audits and discussion questions for study groups. Definitely worth reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Serve God, Save the Planet: A Christian Call to Action
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
CJ Truesdale
I loved Serve God, Save the Planet. It is about spiritual awakening, about living a simpler life, about making wiser lifestyle choices, about making conscientious decisions. Even if you aren't a religious person or an environmentalist it is enlightening and inspirational as well as educational. My son loved it so much he gave it to all his cousins for Christmas, we passed our copy around to all our neighbors and everyone who read it agreed it was inspirational.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Serve God, Save the Planet: A Christian Call to Action
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
Chelsea Werner
I met Dr. Sleeth a few months ago when he came to South Florida. I just finished this book and I cannot fully communicate the appreciation I have for the truths he communicates. Everyone (especially Christians who aren't sure about the whole green/environmental thing) should read this. In the back of the book I have marked the things that I will be implementing into my life and have even made my own list of other ideas. I am encouraged and inspired; not in an in-the-moment emotional kind of way, but in Biblical, theologically sound way that is rooted in the heart of God and His heart for the earth. A great read for small groups, families, singles. Phenomenal book!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Serve God, Save the Planet: A Christian Call to Action
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 25, 2008
Customer Avatar
Christy Lindsay
Dr. Sleeth's ideas changed my life. I used to think my grandma was crazy for line-drying her clothes and hand-washing her dishes. But I really enjoy watching my kids play outside while I hang clothes on the line, and my kids love to splash in the dishwater while I wash dishes. It's relaxing, and it saves money. We saved $30 on our electric bill the first month we stopped using our dryer and dishwasher. Plus, I switched to cloth diapers, and I'll save $600 this year by making this change.Bottom line: these changes will make life a little more fun and relaxing, and you'll be honoring God's creation while you do your chores. Can't beat that!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Serve God, Save the Planet: A Christian Call to Action
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 4, 2008
Customer Avatar
Robin Miller Curras
Serve God, Save the Planet is a call to Christians to act proactively and not reactively to crises in the way that we treat our planet. It's written in a manner that is personal, approachable, practical, and, praise the Lord, not preachy. Very well done!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Serve God, Save the Planet: A Christian Call to Action
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
Megan Farhall
I Couldn't put the book down. I have always been filled with hope for God's creation and Good overcoming, but lately I had begun to lose hope, and sight of God's promise. This book came into my life at the perfect time. It is not only an incredible read to return our hearts to the calling of stewardship, but also a humble, and inspiring way to live and raise our children in a world gone crazy. We can return to our roots, and honor God and the creation by simply living. And this book inspires us to do so. Highly recommend reading this book. Enjoy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Serve God, Save the Planet: A Christian Call to Action
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
Liz Poston
This book is ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL! I would have considered myself a bit of a "tree hugger" before reading this book, but after I read it, I realized I was not being the best tree hugger I could be, Especially as a Christian. We should be the ones setting an example for the rest of the world first and foremost! Dr. Sleeth's words have challenged and inspired me to change my life and live as a Christian example of what it is to care for the planet, God's planet as well as our fellow humans. Thank you Dr. Sleeth!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Serve God, Save the Planet: A Christian Call to Action
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
Hal Low
J. Matthew Sleeth's book - "Serve God, Save the Planet - A Christian Call to Action" is exactly that - a Christian understanding of service to God that is immensely practical book, and the most important book we have regarding what it means to be a Christian in context of the times we live in, and how to respond to the present historical moment in an authentically Christian way. Dr. Sleeth has an amazing ability to relate real life stories simply and with a touch of humor, allowing the reader to see the deeper insights contained in the story. But the primary reason I think this book is crucial to Christians, and others, living in this time is because it is biblically relevant to our current life situation. Dr. Sleeth has what I call a holistic Christian vision - drawing connections between our motives and actions, and the consequences they have for ourselves and God's world. He demonstrates that the ecological crisis involves every aspect of our lives - family relations, work, leisure time, even our relationship with food. He also guides us in discerning God's will as expressed in the biblical witness. <br /><br />Much of his practical advice on being good steward's of God's creation is not something new to the Christian tradition, rather a call to return to prudence, thrift, and God-centered living that is rooted in the ways of our spiritual ancestors. It is a call to reject our cultural idols of selfishness, excess, and thoughtless consumption. It is a call for us to embrace, in very practical ways, what it means to be a disciple of Jesus Christ - the author of Life, for "where there is life, there is God, and where there is God, there is life. From the beginning to the end of the bible, God demands a reverence for life." (pg.136) The time is now, to respond to the call to act in Christ. Dr. Sleeth's book is a trustworthy and practical guide in how to respond to that call with "all one's heart, and all one's strength, and all one's being".
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Serve God, Save the Planet: A Christian Call to Action
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jeff McLaughlin
I picked up a copy of Serve God Save The Planet this past summer (07). I've never been all that interested in creation care, the environment etc. but I've also never heard the message presented quite like this. My wife and I seemed to just eat Matthew's words up, taking our time to read through the book, stopping along the way to process and apply. I am a church youth pastor and was so compelled by the insight and application of the book that it got me excited and we spent a whole month doing teachings with our youth group on creation care. We bought over 30 copies of the book to give out to kids that came to youth group and encouraged those kids to read the book and pass it on to a friend/fellow youth grouper etc. Matthew came and spoke to the kids in February 08 which has huge for them as many had read the book. This has changed our group and it's changed the lifestyle that my wife and I lead. We've started doing things to reconnect with God's creation and it's not some kind of ritual or obligation - it's been an awesome experience and a joyful one at that. Read the book - it is fresh, new, alive.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Serve God, Save the Planet: A Christian Call to Action
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 25, 2008
Customer Avatar
Dennis Mullen
When I first heard Matthew Sleeth speak, it wasn't his passion for earth-care that made me want to read his book. It was when he said that he had reduced his electric bill to $20. I figured that unless he was living in his car, he might have something valuable to teach me.He did. But it wasn't earth-care OR energy savings; not primarily. It was the sweetness of a simpler life.Sleeth begins Serve God, Save the Planet with a litany of problems you may have heard elsewhere: The dramatic increase in cancer among young people; our addiction to oil; skyrocketing rates of depression in the midst of plenty. But he doesn't linger on the gloom, because he believes that doing so leaves us feeling powerless, which is a strangely comforting way of avoiding responsibility for action. The tone of this book is upbeat and positive; joyful, in fact.Sleeth spends some time educating us on the interconnectedness of things. He shows us the pollution created to bring us cheap food. He describes how what we throw away today, we drink tomorrow. He talks about how our over-consumption of nearly everything results in scarcity for millions of other people. But the larger focus of this book is on living a life that is simpler and sweeter. Sleeth has learned the joy of funneling all of life through a question: Does this action, saying, movie, purchase, etc. bring me closer to God? He says that simplifying means having less, wanting less, being satisfied with what you have or less than you have. Sleeth inspires you to reassess not just your recycling habits but your entertainment, hobbies, use of technology, your family time and the size of your house.Serve God, Save the Planet is both practical and inspirational. Its practical because the applications are at the family level rather than the global. Its inspirational because Sleeth finds so much joy in this journey that its contagious.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Serve God, Save the Planet: A Christian Call to Action
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 1, 2007
Customer Avatar
Derek Armstrong
A great book that is a quick and easy read with a long-lasting and important message. If more Christians would start putting as much effort into protecting God's creation as they do opposing evolution, the Church could really make a difference.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Serve God, Save the Planet: A Christian Call to Action
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 14, 2007
Customer Avatar
Dustin Ford
"Serve God, Save the Planet" by Dr. Matthew Sleeth is a book on environmental stewardship and the Christian responsibility to care for Creation. Those readers with strong evangelical convictions will appreciate how Dr. Sleeth founds his arguments on Scripture. His Biblical appeals have enough depth to please anyone interested in a close reading the text. That foundation of Scripture then supports a number of arguments based on good science, an Evangelical sense of personal responsibility, and common sense. His treatment touches the whole range of concerns included within the environmental crisis. Many readers may be limited in their experience to issues that garner major attention, like global warming. Dr. Sleeth does discuss the big topics but within the context of the whole problem facing us. Those issues are not the problem itself but symptoms of the problem along with other symptoms that are just as pressing though less well known. He also provides a thorough description of the problem itself as it relates to the way that we envision ourselves in relation to our environment, God's CreationBecause he gets at the root problems, few people will be untouched by his critiques. Dr. Sleeth's critiques are enough to convict almost all Christians about the way in which they use their resources and go about the normal activities of life. Where does our food come from? and our electricity? These are questions that people seldom raise and rarely have answers for even when they do ask them. Dr. Sleeth does a fantastic job of helping the reader understand the issues facing us relate to our daily lives.Consequently, the book offers a great deal of hope. Our daily lives have an impact on the world, and the author shows how that impact can be for the good. These issues are thus not a burden but an opportunity for Christians, who can serve God in these issues by saving his planet for its future inhabitants and for the most helpless people of the world.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.