Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Heart of Stone: A Novel - eBook

Zondervan Heart of Stone: A Novel - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.692 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Heart of Stone: A Novel - eBook
Review 1 for Heart of Stone: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Historical Fiction with Depth and Emotion

Date:July 9, 2012
Laura Foster runs a respectable boarding house in Glory, Texas. She has kept her distance from almost everyone in town for fear that her devastating childhood and checkered past would be discovered. When Reverend Brand McCormick begins calling on her—and refuses to be turned down—she begins to open up to him. When someone from her past arrives in town, she fears she will lose everything and ruin Brand as well.
The opening pages of Heart of Stone tell the story of Laura's childhood, and I was immediately captivated and couldn't wait to see what the rest of the story was going to be like. Jumping forward to the "present," I found myself liking Laura despite her prickly personality. Her character isn't as perfect as many "heroines" are. She has tons of flaws and many hurdles to overcome. As the story progressed, I loved seeing her friendships with Brand and others in town blossom and help her work through her problems and realize what true faith is.
At times I was more interested with the story of Laura and her sisters than the current story line, so I'm looking forward to reading the rest of the series. Also, don't let the "romance" label throw you off if you're not a huge fan of the genre. I felt like the romance was more subtle and took a backseat to the other aspects of the story. Landis writes with depth and emotion and I look forward to more from her in the future! [4 stars]
I received a free copy of this book from Zondervan in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Heart of Stone: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Wonderful read

Date:November 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
beverly Grider
Location:Oklahoma City, OK
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is book one of the "Irish Angels" series and was released in March 2010 by Zondervan.
Laura Foster had an unspeakable childhood in New Orleans shortly after the end of the Civil War, one she has struggled to overcome. She now runs a boarding house in Glory, Texas, where she is known as a wealthy, respectable widow. When the Reverend Brand McCormick begins calling on Laura, she fears that her past life will come to light and she will be forced to move on again.
Reverend Brand McCormick is the pastor in Glory. He has two young children from his first marriage, but his wife is deceased. Brand falls in love with Laura, yet he can tell she is haunted by something in her past. Although Laura is friendly, Brand’s attempts to court her are met with coolness. This just proves to make Brand more determined to win her heart.
Just when Laura seems to be warming to Brand, two strangers show up. These strangers prove to hold power that can ruin both Brand and Laura’s reputations. Brandi is determined his faith will see them through the rough times, but Laura is afraid it will spell the end for all she has struggled to build.
I thoroughly enjoyed reading my first book of Ms. Landis’ and look forward to reading more by her. The characters were well written, the storyline flowed easily and the message of faith and forgiveness is one that everyone needs to read.
There is an excerpt from the second book of the series at the end. This story is about Laura's sister Megan, and I look forward to reading it. You can learn more about the author, Jill Marie Landis, by visiting her website, http://www.jillmarielandis.com/.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Heart of Stone: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Redemption and restoration

Date:March 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
donP
Location:Rochester Hills, Mi
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Well written with sound Christian values. I especially enjoyed reading it on my Nook.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Heart of Stone: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love this book!

Date:March 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
serg1056
Location:Talladega, AL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great story! I love Historical Romance and this story tells us that, regardless of past circumstances, God will forgive us and that we CAN move on to a better life. Just finished the second book, Heart of Lies, and cant wait for the next one to come out!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Heart of Stone: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book has a great plot!

Date:March 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Michele Talley
Location:Michigan
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was great! If you like to read to relax then
I would recommend this book to you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Heart of Stone: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My first ebook from CBD

Date:March 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
curly
Location:Iowa
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It took me a while to get to the right pages to get my book downloaded to my pandigital reader. I found if you put it in your cart first and not do "buy now", you will go to the download page to get it to the adobe reader so you can drag and drop to your device. BUT I AM SO GLAD YOU HAVE EBOOKS!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Heart of Stone: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Book

Date:February 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Fla44
Location:Florida
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this book. Great story line and am looking forward to the next book by this excellent writer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Heart of Stone: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Readamajig
Location:Ohio
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I highly recommend this book. This was one the best books I read in 2010. It's a beautifully written example of the scripture in 2 Corinthians. "This means that anyone who belongs to Christ has become a new person. The old life is gone; a new life has begun!" I am anxiously awaiting the next book in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Heart of Stone: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 1, 2010
A new author who has done a great job of getting to the heart of a problem -lying. It reveals what can happen when we try to hid our past.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Heart of Stone: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Molly,Book Reviews by Buuklvr81
This book was a sweet historical start of a wonderful new series! Jill Marie Landis has a new reader. I love her style of writing and the inspiration through out her book enough that I can't wait to read more from her! This story is full of everything from inspiration, to suspense to romance. The characters are created magnificently to flow wonderfully with the plot, set in Texas during the Civil War era. There is heartache and there is happiness... a perfect blend of both that will keep you turning page after page, until you reach the end. I was immediately captured by this book, and literally had to read it in one...I did! Though, I must say, while I was able to read this in one day, it's not a light read, with the main character, Laura having a past of being a brothel girl. But with Brand's interest in Laura, it really evens the plot out and makes this a captivating and enchanting read. I highly recommend that you get a copy of this book. It's a wonderfully written story with characters that you won't soon forget!! This start to this series deserves a high 5 star praise! I am absolutely looking forward to book 2, Heart of Lies, when it releases in the future!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Heart of Stone: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Edna Tollison
Set in the 1870s Lovie Lane and her three sisters were the daughters of Irish Iminnigrates that had settled in New Orleans. The father and his brother worked in the channels and both families lived in the small little hut. Both of Lovie's parents died of maleria and that is when life became a living hell for her.When Lovie grew up she changed her name to Laura Foster and moved to Texas where she though she could start a new life and no one would ever find out about the dark secrets of her past. She had set up a very well established boarding house with all the finest furniture and bric-a-brac that money could buy.Reverend Brand McCormich also lived in the town and was pastor of the only church, so he started calling on Laura but she was determined not to ever marry. She was afraid her past would be discovered if she got close to anyone.It was soon discovered that Brand had a past of his own and the whole town was in dismay. Everyone in the town loved both Laura and Brand but would these past secrets destroy their relationship and the standings they had in this small town. Can they savage the damage that tongues have caused.The book for this review was a complimentary copy from Zondervan Publishers, and the words unless noted elsewhere are the though of myself.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Heart of Stone: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Marilyn Scudder
I loved this book. The characterization is so good. It is such an inspiring story of love and forgiveness. I highly recommend it, but I love everything by this author. I am looking forward to the next book in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Heart of Stone: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 12, 2010
Heart of Stone was a heartwarming read. Set in the 1870's in Texas, this novel had me under its spell from the first pages. The characters were proper and gentile, but still with the strength that you would expect from living it a tough time and place. I loved the main characters. Laura Foster was a hurt woman with a tarnished past, but she overcame it, and developed into a strong woman. Brand McCormick was the town preacher who had strong morals and a family. Both had strengths that were put to the test, making this story more that just a good read. It held two very distinctive messages... One - you can't hide the past, and two - practice what you preach.I really enjoyed the storyline, the morals and lessons that were presented and the Faith that was talked about. It was an excellent example of what I would expect from Christian Historical Fiction. Jill Marie Landis wrote a beautiful story, and I'm really looking forward to book two!Why I rated this as for older teens through adult - There are scenes and discussions of prostitution, abortion, and selling children into prostitution.Oh, before I forget, I must warn you...you might want to keep a box of tissues handy. :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.