Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan The Faith: What Christians Believe, Why They Believe It, and Why It Matters

Zondervan The Faith: What Christians Believe, Why They Believe It, and Why It Matters

The word "Christianity" conjures up many pictures, depending on who defines it. But Chuck Colson asserts that the faith "given once for all" is an invitation to a wonderful vision of life, open to all who will come. The Faith invites all who will - whether believers or skeptics - to explore the basic doctrines of Christianity and find out for themselves what it really means to be called a disciple of Christ - and how to live as a disciple.
Average Customer Rating:
4.258 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
7
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
2
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Faith: What Christians Believe, Why They Believe It, and Why It Matters
Review 1 for The Faith: What Christians Believe, Why They Believe It, and Why It Matters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Bought as a gift so have not read it

Date:January 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
Beth
Location:Peterborough Ontario Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a gift for my spouse and has not been read yet. from looking through it myself it was well laid out and looked to be interesting and informative.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Faith: What Christians Believe, Why They Believe It, and Why It Matters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
MGJ4
Very well done. Mr. Colson provides a very good and biblical presentation of Christianity without any denominational prejudice. Also, he includes a lot of historical and cultural influeneces that have shaped the true Church - the body of Christ. In particular, he shows that the early church was very much on the same page in every aspect of important doctrine because the Bible was the source of that doctrine. The modern drift away from sound doctrine in the domoninations of the modern Christian churches is because they have drifted away from the one and only true source of truth - the Word of God. Very well written and a very timely expose of the roots of Christianity and how the modern church has left it's first love.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Faith: What Christians Believe, Why They Believe It, and Why It Matters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rick Lane
I just couldn't put this book down.I bought it for an unbelieving friend, but had to read it first to see how in depth Mr Colson goes.This book goes right to the roots of faith, but explains our belief in a way that you don't need a dictionary beside you to understand it. There are Bible references in it though, so I do recommend keeping the Bible translation of your choice close while you read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Faith: What Christians Believe, Why They Believe It, and Why It Matters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Joel
Thoroughly enjoyed everything I have read in Mr. Colson's book so far. It convicts your heart and brain to dig deeper into your faith as a believer. Highly recommended reading!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Faith: What Christians Believe, Why They Believe It, and Why It Matters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kate
In a day when biblical Christianity is being watered down and morphed into a more tolerated version of itself, it is imperative that true, born-again Christians come together and unify around the fundamentals of the faith. Beth Moore calls them the "backbone issues". . .those issues that essentially define Christianity. . .as opposed to those issues that Christians can safely disagree on without damaging the faith.Chuck Colson, esteemed and internationally known author, has written a book that is a must-read. It is called The Faith, and it clearly and compellingly takes the reader through "what Christians believe, why they believe it, and why it matters." Colson is a master at weaving foundational biblical truth through the issues that face us as a society, and leaving us with practical and life-altering application.This book was one of the best (if not the best) books on the Christian faith and its basic beliefs that I have ever read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Faith: What Christians Believe, Why They Believe It, and Why It Matters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Linda Scalzott
The book was very helpful plus it was very easy to read. It gave a lot of insight to the DVD and participant's guide. I am no teacher, but I found that using this material for my Sunday School class was very easy. The class really enjoyed the sessions and had many questions which I could easily answer, thanks to the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Faith: What Christians Believe, Why They Believe It, and Why It Matters
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:March 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Pastor Floyd
I just received 2 copies of this book that I'd planned to use in one-on-one discipleship training. Concerned with the shallowness of so much of the material on discipleship, I ordered this one, relying on Chuck Colson to provide more substance. What a disappointment this book is. Quickly scanning through it revealed almost no reference to the biblical text. He has simply not dealt with the Bible as the source for the Faith. I also looked for some of the historical creeds. Again, the search turned up nothing other than brief acknowledgment that such exist. About all I found was a few shallow references to secondary sources and then usually those were dealt with very cursory fashion. The results in the book do not match the build up. Save your money or go to Zondervan's web site and down load their on-line work book for the book. It has a lot more usable content.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Faith: What Christians Believe, Why They Believe It, and Why It Matters
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 16, 2008
Customer Avatar
Hurley Dutton
I commend to you the excellent book, The Faith given once, for all, by Charles Colson and Harold Fickett. It is a basic setting forth and defense of the chief and universal tenets of the God-given faith . Although Colson unashamedly admits that he is a Baptist, he does not try to impose Baptist distinctives on the reader. Instead, he emphasizes those doctrines to which all true Christians subscribe. You will find it stimulating if you are serious about Christ and Christianity. It is highly recommended to all intelligent and concerned lay-persons.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Faith: What Christians Believe, Why They Believe It, and Why It Matters
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
John Hately
Good read and I have passed it on to a friend. However; I feel it was missing the "impact" I was looking for.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Faith: What Christians Believe, Why They Believe It, and Why It Matters
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:September 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
Doug Davis
I admire and respect Charles Colson. I looked fwd to this book the ads for it are very good. However, I was greatly disappointed. Tom Clancey's novels are so compelling and believable because he carefully and accurately does his homework. He throws in intricate details that I know really are true and that makes me believe all the other details that I don't know.<br /><br />I'm a retired University Physics Professor and Charles Colson pulls in two items from Physics, a fairly involved discussion of Relativity and a short, brief mention of entropy. The discussion of Relativity is utter nonsense. I can't even say that he got the idea wrong. His description does not even make sense. His minor mention of entropy also doesn't make sense but it's not involved enough to quibble over.<br /><br />All that made me question when he pulls in other things that I don't know about. An author I have respected shot himself in the foot! Very disappointing!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Faith: What Christians Believe, Why They Believe It, and Why It Matters
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
Samuel High
I bought it because of my great respect of the author and because it is pertinent to our society and Lords Church in these times.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Faith: What Christians Believe, Why They Believe It, and Why It Matters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
Leslie Henson
Excellent! While I'm not finished with the book as yet, I find it really helpful in identifying ways to help in witnessing. Chuck Colson always delivers, and his faith is worth of passing on in this clear, concise way. Three cheers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Faith: What Christians Believe, Why They Believe It, and Why It Matters
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:May 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
James Whittaker
I question the value of a book that needs 8 pages of one liner endorsements before you ever start reading. However I did not want to allow that negative to distract from the book. After reading I realize that the book would find a place in my library but would not be used for reference. Because the church in America is filled with Biblically illiterate Christians, I understand the value for those baby steps. And, by securing the study guide, it will benefit small group studies.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Faith: What Christians Believe, Why They Believe It, and Why It Matters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
Maureen Horst
A much recommended book for those who believe God and His Word but have a hard time communicating that truth to others. Also a great gift to those who are earnestly seeking a relationship with Christ but have bought into a little too of the "talk show guru's" philosophy of life. I can't wait to pass this one on!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Faith: What Christians Believe, Why They Believe It, and Why It Matters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
Eric Eisbrenner
Charles Colson is a man that has experienced a great deal in his life. His writing is straight forward, insightful and inspirational. This is a book for its time. As Christians we have to understand what we believe and why if we are going to be creditable in this world. This book will guide you in great Christian truth and will provide a valuable foundation and great reference tool going forward. I highly recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Faith: What Christians Believe, Why They Believe It, and Why It Matters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
J. Ramirez
This book was written beautifully. All elements included are an incredible aid to those searching for the basic foundations of the faith. The names, events and descriptions presented are helpful in giving a quick reference guide should the reader desire to learn more. This book not only reviewed in a very fresh light the basic doctrine and beliefs of the Christian faith. It presented the core basis of the faith with such crystal clear conviction that I for one was prompted to raise my voice with a loud "Amen" upon reading the triumph of the resurrection and what that means not only to Christians but to the human race. Recommended reading for the person whose faith is wavering to those who teach bible study. Great work.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Faith: What Christians Believe, Why They Believe It, and Why It Matters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
Terry
Just as their is healthy and unhealthy humans, I believe the same can be said for Christians. Colson's book "The Faith" cuts through some of the kookiness and craziness some of us have experienced throughout the years and reveals what true life-transforming Christian health believes in, where it came from, and the benefits of healthy Christian living. For me personally, it was like having an english translation of a chinese menu. Words that I did not fully understand are now clear and I feel better about what I am partaking in...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Faith: What Christians Believe, Why They Believe It, and Why It Matters
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:April 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
jd
This book was not quite what I had expected. A little more intellectual than I was prepared for. I found it interesting, but not a book I would read again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Faith: What Christians Believe, Why They Believe It, and Why It Matters
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
Lloyd Davidson
Well written and insightful. Colson doesn't disappoint. He has walked his talk and has a God given talent to express emotion with words.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Faith: What Christians Believe, Why They Believe It, and Why It Matters
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 31, 2008
Customer Avatar
Judi Gray
This book not only strengthened my faith, confirming my beliefs, it challenged my life. It would be a wonderful bible study guide not only for those studying for a career in missionary work but for anyone who wants to know more of why they believe what they say that believe. After reading this book, I can truly say that I can be even more confident and prepared to share my faith and to defend it should it be necessary. I know that I am so blessed to live in a country where it isn't against the law to believe the Truth, to live it and to share it. This book is a gem that should be in every Christian's library and definitely read more than once.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>