Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Loving, Bailey Flanigan Series #4

Zondervan Loving, Bailey Flanigan Series #4

Bailey is planning a wedding and making decisions that will shape her future. Bailey enjoys the beginning of her new career and time spent with Brandon while Cody faithfully coaches his team on and off the field. But has she agreed to marry the right guy? Will she spend her life with Brandon Paul in Los Angeles, or will her heart draw her back to Bloomington, Indiana and Cody Coleman, her first love? Bailey has learned much and grown over the years, but the greatest challenges, the richest joys, and the deepest heartaches are still to come.
Average Customer Rating:
4.028 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(72 Reviews) 72
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (72 reviews)
5 stars
46
4 stars
7
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
11
54 out of 7275%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Loving, Bailey Flanigan Series #4
Review 1 for Loving, Bailey Flanigan Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I just love all of Karen Kingsbury's books!

Date:April 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lisa
Location:LaSalette, On
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Karen really knows how to pull you into her stories and make you feel as if you are one of the characters! Amazing!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Loving, Bailey Flanigan Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
sharlee
Location:Morrisonville, NY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Karen Kingsbury wrote an exciting finish to the Bailey Flanagan series with many happy ever after endings. The prayer for her future husband turning out to be for Brandon surprised me. I picked up more of her books - they are so full of scripture praying and good family relationship building lessons. Send a message to Karen please - "Keep writing!"
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Loving, Bailey Flanigan Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

She did it again!

Date:November 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
green
Location:Thornton, CO
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What can I say...I love this author. She's great. Different twist in this series. But it is so how life really is...not always the fairytale life. She shows reality.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Loving, Bailey Flanigan Series #4
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Who wrote this book????

Date:September 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Casey
Location:MS
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This book was so far removed from some of Kingsbury's older books that I really began to wonder if she actually wrote it. I was stunned at the number of opportunities for "life-changing fiction" were skipped over so that more detail could be given to trite issues and wedding details. For example:
1. Brandon and his parents haven't talked in years and years. Yet, all that was given to the reconciliation between them was one simple paragraph. His parents simply drove up his driveway and got out of the car and all was well. Can you imagine how many readers could have benefited from a more detailed explanation of the process of forgiveness and how Brandon got to that point with his parents. Instead we read this book thinking that nothing ever has to be discussed with estranged loved ones and that we should just act as if the situation never happened. I realize that once Brandon became a Christian he never had another struggle, outside of his distance from Bailey, but this just leads Christians to believe that reconciliation should happen this way, while it isn't a realistic or a healthy view of forgiveness at all.
2. After so many novels about these characters, I feel like I really know them and their character. But the Jim Flanigan that I have come to know would have never so readily given his blessing for a marriage that his daughter was so obviously conflicted about. Just weeks before, Bailey ended her relationship with Brandon, yet when Brandon comes in to ask for Jim's blessing in marriage, he gives it right away. This seemed so forced to me... like Karen just needed this to happen to get to the conclusion that she wanted, regardless of how out of character it was. I feel like, at best, Jim Flanigan would have talked Brandon into waiting the time it took to get everything straightened out between he and Bailey before jumping into marriage. Even though Jim Flanigan's marriage is easy and perfect, I think he is a wise enough man to know that when you are having problems in a relationship, marriage doesn't solve those problems. Yet, once again, instead of the "life-changing fiction" that Karen Kingsbury would have used at one time to show the importance of a right relationship before jumping into a marriage, now she writes in favor of parallelism to her own life, regardless of how ill these two fit together.
3. The first 3rd of the book goes into great detail about how Brandon is fine with the paparazzi, he has grown up with it and it doesn't bother him at all. He even gets to the point of frustration with Bailey because she lets it affect her so much. However, in one or two paragraphs all of a sudden Brandon hates the paparazzi and can't live like that any longer. He sees exactly why Bailey has been so upset about it and is willing to give it all up right then and there. I'm sorry, Karen, but we can't get there that fast, and to expect us to makes the entire story unbelievable and difficult to relate to. People don't change their minds about an issue that big that quickly. I would have much rather had less wedding detail and more time spent given to this change of heart that Brandon experienced instead of it all happening at once.
Not only was the writing different from past novels, but I barely got a glimpse of the character that Bailey once was. Her character has changed so much through these novels that she isn't even recognizable in the Bailey Flanigan series. The character that I first got to know in the Baxter series books was selfless and loving to others and put ministry above pretty much everything else. When we met Bailey in high school, she had friends that she prayed with and prayed for and sought to minister to them where they were in life. The Bailey Flanigan that this character became was self-absobed and consumed with her relationship and didn't spend her time ministering to anyone. I think the parts of this book that were most indicative of who Bailey had become were those that showed how Bailey didn't have any friends her own age. The only person that she had to be her maid of honor was Andi Ellison, who may have have been a good friend of hers 4 or 5 years before this novel takes place, but at this point they have little more than a "talk on the phone" relationship. And after spending an entire year in New York, outside of the Kellers, who are senior adults, Bailey barely has1 friend. And the saddest part is that anytime Bailey thinks back to her time in New York, we hear about skype dates, visits to the Empire State building after hours and a private prom on the Kellers roof. Not one time during this entire novel does Bailey think or speak about the 1 friend that she made in New York who died. That is reflective of a very shallow person. I also find it sad that guests of Bailey's wedding shower, and members of her bridal party for that matter, consisted of Andi Ellison and the Baxter sisters, who are all 35-45 years old at this point. When Bailey has issues in her life, she talks about it with Katy Matthews or Ashley Blake, who are both around 35+ years old. She doesn't have a single friend her age who she spends personal time with, outside of Brandon Paul. Ministering to others comes best through building relationships with others, and Bailey no longer takes the time to do this. However, in this "life-changing fiction" we seem to hear more details than we want to about the white silk bows that run down the end of the pews and how Bailey pins a few strands of her hair up for the wedding but leaves the rest down. And in the end, as rings true with her other novels starring the Flanigans, everything worked out exactly as Bailey wanted it to without her having to sacrifice one thing. I was almost angry when, at her wedding, she was saying that she was so in love with Brandon that she would follow him anywhere, even LA. It is really easy to say that after Brandon gave up everything so that Bailey could have her dream exactly the way she wanted it. But when it came to her actions, we all saw that statement was the furthest thing from truth.
More than anything I felt that what this book lacked most was creativity. Aside from the very obvious fact that this story line was already used with Katy and Dayne's story, there were parts of this book that made me roll my eyes and audibly groan they were so bad. For instance, the first time we meet Molly Anderson on the set of the Montana movie she is described with this sentence, "Anyone who would listen had heard her explain how she was born for the part - what with her real name being Molly, same as the real-life girl." Really? That is as creative as you can get? That sounds like something that one of Ashley Blake's children would say, not a 19 year old actress who is described later as having great professionalism. I don't think a 19 year old would feel that she was born for a part just because she and the character share a very common name.
I used to love the plots that Karen Kingsbury could work up and how realistic and truly life-changing they were. She drug the poor Baxters through the mud and back, but it spoke straight to people's hearts because they continued to cling to God in the midst of so many trials. Yet, for the Flanigans, life continues to remain easy and untouchable. They get the jobs that they want, the life they want, the perfect kids, and the perfect house, and while that may be the writer's life, it isn't the reader's life and we can't relate to that. I really hope that this experiment of writing fiction that mirrors the writer's life is over, because it did not turn out very well. I miss the truly "life-changing" novels of Karen Kingsbury.
+12points
16of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Loving, Bailey Flanigan Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
pupparker
Location:marshalltown,iowa
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
that book was great!!! i have always like karen's books. she has always kept me reading them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Loving, Bailey Flanigan Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved the ease of downloading

Date:September 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Peggy
Location:Lexington, SC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved the fact that I could download my book and begin reading immediately. It was great!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Loving, Bailey Flanigan Series #4
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Well this is interesting...

Date:June 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
JesuSaves
Location:Canada
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
When reading a novel, each story can tell you a bit about the person behind it. Karen Kingsbury, from what I've been reading, has such a lovely spirit, which flows beautifully through what she writes. (Her dedications to her family member are just so uniquely touching). You find great messages related to God, family and the beautifulness of life in general. That said, my not-really-liking the story has to do with a couple of things I've remarked in this series.
There's no other way to put it, the relationship between Brandon and Bailey was quite scary at times. It was INTENSE! If Karen would have shown a person having that kind of love for God I would have understood, but Lord have mercy, I do LOVE a good romantic story, but I didn't really understand this one. I wondered where reality was at times and whether this was supposed to be a fairytale. I mean it was yacht and limo rides, gifts all the time and then...'I'm crazy for you'.
On the positive side, though, Brandon and Bailey DO mature in this book. That's really good.
Feelings. So many of them, and they changed so quickly at times, it was confusing. (For example: one minute Bailey was relaxed when talking about Cody, next thing you know, she's not anymore.) A lot of times in the story, strong feelings were perceived as the will of God and as the right thing to do. I can't even remember seeing Bailey and Brandon (for ex.) having personal devotions, taking personal time to pray and meditate on The Word. There were quick prayers only when things were wrong and when they were feeling grateful. *sigh*
Bailey's parents were NEVER mad, NEVER reproaching their daughter if they know she shouldn't be doing something, do I need to say more?
This just didn't do it for me, I'm sorry. Although they were some lovely parts, for sure.
Appreciate that you took time to write it Karen and may God's best always be with you.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Loving, Bailey Flanigan Series #4
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Judy
Location:Freeport, Fl
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The story was very good and shows what real love is all about. I also like that it included the Baxter family.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Loving, Bailey Flanigan Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Kingsbury never disappoints

Date:June 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Linda
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read every Karen Kingsbury book and she never disappoints. I would love the Baxter Family series to go on and on. Don't want to write a spoiler, the toss up between the two guys went on for so long and I was always rooting for the one that she ended up not marrying. But it was a good ending just the same. I love the way KK takes everyday experiences and weaves wonderful stories that I can learn from, that leave me inspired and wishing for the next book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Loving, Bailey Flanigan Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great

Date:May 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
anna
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
was very inspiring .I love the Karen Kingsberry does all her books about family values and what they go through to maintain those values.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Loving, Bailey Flanigan Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Jer. 29:11 theme evident for Bailey to the end

Date:May 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jo Ann
Location:Delaware
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Before I ordered this book I went to the reviews to see what others thought. Oops! Many of the readers gave away the end (ie. who Bailey ended up marrying). I was a bit let down from learning the outcome, cause I was rooting for the other guy, but when I got into the story it couldn't have worked out better for all parties involved. Karen Kingsbury got blasted by quite a number of readers because she didn't end the saga the way those readers thought it should have ended. Even one said they wouldn't read her anymore. That's life! It doesn't always work out the way we want. Some people blast God when it happens to them. It's His story and He has the final say! Same with an author of a book. Karen decided who she wanted Bailey to marry and she had the final say! It was Karen's choice. Don't be mad at her for her decision. These readers had gotten into the storyline so much that they seemed to think it was real life and they should have a say. Please, don't blast her for not writing it to fit your idea. I enjoyed the book and yes, even though I can see patterns that she uses from past books, I love the scripture thoughts that her characters think and it inspires me to memorize more so I can have a Holy Spirit inspired answer for my daily life praises and trials.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Loving, Bailey Flanigan Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

awesome

Date:May 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Aletha
Location:Brattleboro, VT
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The writer has continued her marvelous story with excellent line and morals presented in this book. I loved it. nothing more to say!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Loving, Bailey Flanigan Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book exceeded my expectations.

Date:May 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dr Mom
Location:Houston, TX
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I couldn't put it down. The author is truly an inspiration spiritually. This book held my interest until the very end. I would recommend the whole series be read to appreciate the entire story of Bailey Flanagan.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Loving, Bailey Flanigan Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Last of the series.

Date:May 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Roseof67
Location:Truro, Nova Scotia, Canada
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read this in two days and for me that is great. I am waiting to give it to a friend and then will put it in my Church's library.
I really enjoy Karen Kingsbury's novels. Looking forward to some new books from her desk.
When I finish the book I'm reading a feel at a "loss" as it is either the end of a series or I have to wait to get the next book. I feel like I am part of the family she is writing about.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Loving, Bailey Flanigan Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome book.

Date:May 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Laurie Munneke
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Karen Kingsbury did a wonderful job once again. It is truly a blessing to have such awesome Christian fiction to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Loving, Bailey Flanigan Series #4
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
sarahperry03
Location:Melbourne, australia
Age:Under 18
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Its a great book, you travel along with the characters in the ups and downs. I was a bit disappointed in the ending though, but thats just me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Loving, Bailey Flanigan Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved the story lone

Date:May 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Myrt
Location:Craig. Co.
Age:Over 65
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this book by mistake.I normally don't read fiction , but I belong to another book club & failed to send back my response that I wasn't going to order that month so they sent this book & I got hooked. Have never read any of Karen Kingsbury books before & now I love them. Tell her to keep writing
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Loving, Bailey Flanigan Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cher
Location:canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great book and now I know the rest of the story!! Loved it.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Loving, Bailey Flanigan Series #4
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

for my sister

Date:May 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
jennie
Location:Virginia
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Am writing for my sister. she loves Karen Kinsberry. she asked me to write this for her as she doesn't have a pc. She says the books are true blessing to her and she really enjoys them. She has read every book written and waits anxiously for the next one. Her name is Virginia Ellis. Thank You.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Loving, Bailey Flanigan Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Gertie
Location:Charlotte, NC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Karen Kingsbury did it again! A wonderful finale for this series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.