Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Dark Pursuit

Zondervan Dark Pursuit

Once nicknamed "the King of Suspense," novelist Darell Brooke ruled the bestseller charts---until a car crash wrecked his concentration. Now bitter and reclusive, he teams up with his troubled 22-year-old granddaughter, Kaitlan, to solve a real-life mystery. Catching the criminal could save Kaitlan's life and rescue Darell's literary career---if they survive the ordeal! 352 pages, softcover from Zondervan.
Average Customer Rating:
4.786 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (42 reviews)
5 stars
34
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dark Pursuit
Review 1 for Dark Pursuit
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Arthur

Date:April 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
meemaw
Location:Middletown, Oh
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have read 10 of her books now and I really enjoy reading them. Hope she continues writing. Thanks
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dark Pursuit
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good book

Date:February 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Tracy585
Location:USA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed this book, it had some plot twists that I did not see coming !
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dark Pursuit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Nancy Wilson
Excellent! I forgot how good Brandilyn Collins writes! She had me on the edge of my seat -- it was hard to put the book down. Loved it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dark Pursuit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sue Beasley
I have just discovered Brandilyn Collins and have ordered all of her books. My husband and I can hardly put her books down. She "grabs" you in the first few pages and the suspense continues through the whole book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dark Pursuit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Su Thompson
This book was incredible! WOW! It was everything I've come to expect from Brandilyn since I've begun reading her books. I've read all but two. It kept me on the edge of my seat nearly the entire time and I had a VERY difficult time putting it down! I can't wait for the next one!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dark Pursuit
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:January 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Ann Mcmullan
I'm sorry to say that i didn't enjoy this book nearly as much as Collins other books.I didn't like the format----reading the killer's writings then the story. The only good part was the surprise ending revealing the killer. I usually can't put down one of her books. This one I couldn't put down because I just wanted to finish it!!! Sorry.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dark Pursuit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Peggy Nivison
Dark Pursuit was a page turning thriller with an interesting twist. I couldn't put it down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dark Pursuit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 9, 2009
Wow! The Queen of Suspense has done it again!Brandilyn Collins has an awesome gift.It takes a lot of patience to wait for her next book :)Dark Pursuit is another "Buckle-your-Seatbelt" because your in for another Ride!!Every element of suspense, twists, turns, and surprises will trap the reader in.The Characters are so well developed within a short time you'll feel you know them.In many ways I could relate to Kaitlan,there was a time I had no family, It was such a deep wound.Reconciliation is as hard as it is fun & obviously Brandilyn Collins knows it too!Dark Pursuit has a solid beginning for another series...I hope it is!Oh!I did mention the twists, didn't I..."Bravo! Miss Collins, 5 Stars isn't nearly enough!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dark Pursuit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
Marion Kelley Bullock
In this page-turner, Brandilyn Collins lives up to her reputation as a seatbelt suspense novelist. She hooked me on page one and refused to turn me loose until I finished the final page. Its that good.Novelist Darell Brooke, age 77, is still only half mobile after his auto accident. His broken bones healed, but his ligament damage did not. To top it off, he suffers from depression and is unable to concentrate. Odds are, he wont be able to write his one-hundredth best-seller suspense novel.Kaitlan Sering, Darells pregnant granddaughter, discovers a dead woman in her bed and is horror-stricken. Two other women in her town have been murdered. Shes terrified the killer is her boyfriend, Craig Barlow, the police chiefs son who told her some of the facts surrounding those other cases, facts no one else knew. What can she do? Obviously she cant go to the police.She turns to her estranged grandfather, from whom she stole money for drugs years ago. He has no use for her and she shares his dislike. She has accused him of caring about nothing but his writing. But known as King of Suspense, he has lived suspense for over forty years. Hes Kaitlans only hope for concocting a plan to trap the killer and save her life.Brandilyn Collins has woven a piece of black and green silk throughout this exciting novel of pride, forgiveness, and second chances. If youve read her other suspense novels, youre bound to love this one. If youve never had that experience, youd better rush out and buy a copy of Dark Pursuit now. You dont know what youre missing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dark Pursuit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 20, 2008
Could it be another first in a series by Brandilyn Collins? I certainly hope so! Dark Pursuit is the suspenseful tale of an author who wants to resume his career after an accident pulled him off-track. Hes brought into a web of intrigue by his estranged granddaughter. I love these characters and the short, gripping chapters. They kept me on the edge of my seat. Brandilyns signature of using different typefaces to differentiate between the main storyline, the villains thoughts and the authors manuscript is a wonderful feature of her books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dark Pursuit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
Lisa Stratmann
Brandilyn Collins is the "Queen of Suspense"! Her newest book, Dark Pursuit, is another winner! She's an incredible talent, and I hope she will continue to entertain us with her thrilling stories!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dark Pursuit
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
Dark Pursuit was a fast paced read with plenty of twists and turns to make the reader dizzy. I had a hard time putting the book down because it kept building and the tension increased with every chapter. But that is how good suspenses are supposed to be. Brandilyn certainly knows how to raise the reader's anxiety level. The spiritual thread seemed naturally woven in to the storyline and I enjoyed every page. The only thing is that at the end I didn't totally buy how things turned out. Call me a skeptic but the foundation for the end didn't seem strong enough to me. Up until that point I was hooked. Now don't get me wrong. It was an amazing read, but short of divulging a spoiler I can't really say what I mean. Nine out of ten people will be fine with the final chapters but it didn't work that way for me. But I tend to be a skeptic anyway and suspense isn't my favorite genre. I think the problem is also that I loved Crimson Eve so much that none of Brandilyn's other stories can top it. :) As far as suspense novelists go, however, Brandilyn is clearly one of the best there is.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dark Pursuit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
David W. Benedict
Write That 100th Novelor Die Trying Opening page of Dark Pursuit: Courier type reveals that I am reading the fictional manuscript that defines frustration of Darell Brooke, novelist or has-been. Brookes 99 best-sellers and his role as King of Suspense have come to a screeching halt due to brain injury in a car crash. Each effort to write skids to a halt with a string of strike-through lines. Chapter 2: Client cancellations bring 22-year old stylist Kaitlan Sering home early to her secluded apartment, mind weighted with personal crisis. Two rapid-fire discoveries-- on the kitchen floor, the engraved pen of her boyfriend, patrolman Craig Barlow. On her bed, the body of a woman murdered like two recent unsolved cases. Kaitlans mind and emotions spin out of control with suspicion and denial. Who entered her apartment? Craig? Or a burglar? In turmoil, Kaitlan flees and turns for help to her mystery-writer grandfather, though he cut her off 6 years before when she stole from him to feed her drug addiction. Kaitlan has rebuilt her life but doesnt know if Darell Brooke will help or throw her out again. On this whirlwind of events, emotions and discoveries, the reader of Dark Pursuit is pulled into a fast-moving vortex of tension and conflict which keeps holds until the climax. Collins new stand-alone mystery is filled with surprising twists of plot. We meet the killer early in anonymous first-person reflections that unfold motivation and heighten threatnever enough to tell us whodunit until the climactic scenes. The struggle of Darell Brooke and his granddaughter Kaitlan to solve the mystery and overcome their personal conflicts provides a great story matrix. Dark Pursuit has a nice balance of creative plotting and compelling characters that builds mystery and tension to the final pages. Brandilyn Collins has again crafted a story that provides us with the satisfying rush of seatbelt suspense.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dark Pursuit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 4, 2008
Customer Avatar
Chandra Lynn Smith
From the opening page until the end the reader travels a journey with Kaitlan that will frighten and challenge. Go ahead, buy the book, open the first page . . . but first, be sure your calendar is clear, your lights are on, and your seatbelt is tight.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dark Pursuit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 4, 2008
Customer Avatar
Cara Putman
The pacing in this book is intense. It races from page one to the last with a timeframe of about 24 hours. The characters did unexpected things that kept me guessing. The twist was crazy but beautifully woven into the book. She is a master at suspense!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dark Pursuit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 3, 2008
This is my kind of thriller! It's written in the omniscient voice so that the reader can easily follow all the action, it's interspersed with the chapters of the killer written in first person. Different fonts are used to further enhance the killer's thoughts. (*shudder*) There's a touch of romance, plenty of drama, and tons of suspense.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dark Pursuit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
LisaMarie
Each time I felt that I had figured the story out each time I found out I was wrong. This is a powerful story of lies, murder, deceit and just how far families will go to cover up secrets.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Dark Pursuit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
Debbie Gail Smith
If you like symbolism in a story, Dark Pursuit is full of them. A twist-ending, anxiousness thrives throughout the book. If youre up for an all night page-turner, this is it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Dark Pursuit
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 25, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jill Williamson
Novelist Darell Brooke is known as the King of Suspense, with ninety-nine blockbusters published. An auto accident two years ago left his mind hazy. He now lives alone in his mansion home, a recluse without friends or family, with one goal: write one more blockbuster novel.His twenty-two-year-old granddaughter, Kaitlan, hasnt seen him in years. He cut her off back when she was a rebellious teenager. But shes changed and made a life for herself. When she comes home early from work one day, she finds a dead woman in her home. Shes about to call the police when she realizes that the murdered is her boyfriend, Craig, the police chiefs son.Her only option is to go to her grandfather for help. With ninety-nine murder mysteries under his belt, he must be able to advise her. But can her grandfathers jumbled mind concentrate enough to trap this brilliant murderer? And if he succeeds, could this whole crisis be the answer to finishing that hundredth book?Brandilyn Collins always tells an exciting tale, and this one was no different. Never have I read a murder mystery where the protagonist had to go back and hand around with the murderer to stay alive! Those chapters sent a chill up my spine, and I couldnt put the book down. If youve never read a Brandilyn Collins book, youve got to check one out. Shes a masterful storyteller. Recommended (but not for those who dont like scary stuff).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Dark Pursuit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
Richard Mabry
Fans of Brandilyn Collins knew what to expect: a body in the first few pages, characters drawn so well we feel we know them, and an unexpected twist. Dark Pursuit doesnt disappoint in this regard. The twist that hooked me was the inclusion as a major character of an author, the King of Suspense, who is struggling to write again after brain damage from an injury. The parallel between the book hes trying to write and the story line makes interesting reading.In contrast to her usual series books, this is a stand-alone novel. But its just as goodmaybe a little betterthan its predecessors. It lives up to Brandilyns branding of seatbelt suspense.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.