Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Exposure

Zondervan Exposure

Everybody knows newspaper columnist Kaycee Raye is a little crazy. So why should anybody believe her when she says she's being watched? Kaycee has no proof of her suspicion---evidence mysteriously disappears before the police can investigate! Is she going over the edge? Or is she being pushed? A story of suspense---and desperate faith. 352 pages, softcover from Zondervan.
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Exposure
Review 1 for Exposure
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Page Turner

Date:November 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
JesusIsLord
Location:Detroit, MI
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was another one that I couldn't put down. Very unpredictable and had me on the edge of my seat the entire time. Loved it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Exposure
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Arthur

Date:April 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
meemaw
Location:Middletown, Oh
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just anothe one of her better books to me. Keeps you in suspence and not wanting to put it down. Thanks
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Exposure
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kathleen Goodwin
I love suspensefilled books and this certainly met my expectations. I was reading on my lunch hour and someone in the office said something to me and I nearly jumped out of myy skin. They wanted to know what I was reading. Good book!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Exposure
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sonia
I couldn't put this book down! I finished it in less than 24 hours. I read almost exclusively inspirational fiction, more along the Karen Kingsbury and Beverly Lewis lines, so a mystery was out of my usual reading choices. This book caught my attention because my local library was featuring it as their Inspirational Book Club book for the month. I'm so glad I stepped out of my usual genre to try something new. I already have another one of Collins' books to read next.The faith elements in the book were light, but Kaycee, the main character, relies on her faith when she faces some very difficult situations in her life. Maybe because I am new to the mystery genre I did not see the shocking ending to the story. It certainly kept me up most of the night!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Exposure
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 30, 2010
Since her earliest days, fear has stalked Kacyee Raye. It followed her throughout her childhood, passed on by a mother who jumped at shadows and ran from whispers. It snaked its way through her young adulthood, bolstered by the tragic death of a close friend. And it crept into her writing when she began a popular column about facing paranoia.But which of her fears are real and which imaginary? Kacyee confronts that question when alarming images and mysterious messages appear in her homeon her camera, on her computer screen, and more. Is she crazy? The local police wonder. Kaycee does too. As the incidents and the tension escalate, something has to give. Will it be Kacyee herself?Brandilyn Collins does an amazing job of combining compelling characters with a page-turning plot. Previous reviewers who find Kaycees paranoia overdone have little understanding of how past wounds impact present reality. The book's faith component is light but nonetheless appropriate.Im not a fan of genres anywhere close to the authors signature seatbelt suspense, but I couldnt stop talking about this book. Well done, Ms. Collins. After a few more deep breaths, I might venture to pick up another of your titles.Andoh, yesdoes this qualify me for the SMALLER Honkin' Chickens Club?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Exposure
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 20, 2009
THIS IS NOT A SPOILER :) """Exposure""" is another "can't live without" Buckle your Seat-belt Ride"...Brandilyn Collins has attached herself to my hip...while I'm always waiting for another newest release! I'd recommend "Every Single Novel" she's ever written! "Lots of Surprises in this one....as Always!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Exposure
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lisa
Brandilyn Collins has done it again, the queen of Christian suspense has once again kept us riveted page after page of this tale of fear and faith. When someone is stalking you and no one believes you do you curl up or stand up and fight? Our heroine has a quiet strength only possible through her faith in Christ. In her weakest moment will she find that her faith sustains her or give in to doubt and fear that would keep her paralyzed? This is an action packed page turner that will have your pulse quickening and you faith bolstered.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Exposure
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 21, 2009
Kaycee writes a newspaper column about her fears, and just how to overcome the fears that we face everyday. Everything is changing in Kaycee's world as she experiences things she cannot explain. She is seeing things that others are not. We find that it's not all in Kaycee's mind, things are happening, things forgotten, things from the past are coming alive to haunt Kaycee. Will she fall into her fears or will she overcome them, facing them head on? I loved this book. It is another one from Brandilyn Collins that makes you hang on to the edge of your seat for the ride, not knowing where it is going. Thats what I love about Brandilyn, she is talented, and every book keeps you wanting more, and never finding out what happens until the end. If you love thrillers, if you enjoy suspense, Brandilyn is your girl to take you for a ride that always brings you right to the Savior, engaging you in your faith.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Exposure
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
brknhrt
As we expect from this best-selling author, Exposure is an interesting and tense mystery /crime drama. The character Kaycee Raye is overwhelmed with fear every minute of every day of her life, and as the reader, I couldnt help but feel that fear with her all through the book. There were twists and turns in the story along the way, but in the end, all of it comes together until it is proven that even paranoids can have real enemies. I had no clue ahead of time to the twists in the storyline and the surprise added to my enjoyment of the book. Again Zondervan publishes a wonderful fiction book that demonstrates people who struggle with doubts and fears, but rely on their faith to get them through.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Exposure
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 2, 2009
Willmore, Kentucky is the home of two fine institutions: Asbury College and Seminary and Bradilyn Collins. The first is dedicated to training men and women in the Wesleyan tradition and the other to scaring us witless and then pointing us back to the only One who can truly overcome evil. With Exposure, Collins carries us to a new level of psychological suspense as we follow the personal struggle of one woman with her greatest enemy, fear.Kaycee Raye writes a column for the Willmore newspaper in which she shares her ongoing struggle with countless phobias. Though the column has helped many with their own hidden fears it has labeled Kaycee as somewhat of a crack-pot with the local police. That, and her numerous calls reporting dangers that, as far as they can tell, only exist in Kaycees mind. When the young daughter of a friend turns up missing, Kayecee finds herself on a collision course with her own fears and something so dark and hidden neither she nor you will figure it out until the very end.Collins follows a great tradition of Hitchcock and Koontz in allowing the reader to paint the picture of evil without doing it for them. It doesnt take decapitations and gallons of gore to leave one wondering if they forgot to lock the door before they went to bed. Well crafted words and a creative mind can do that job quite nicely. Consider this scene from Exposure and draw your own conclusions "Finally she rolled over and lay still, spent. Her eyes fixed upon the far wall, unseeing. Something shifted inside her. At the center of her soul where hope used to live, a black dot appeared. Deeper. Eating toward the outside. The hopes that had guided Lorraines life began to crumble into the pit and disappear falling until the darkness swallowed them up From the bottom of that black hole she felt the throb of a new suffocating spirit. Fear."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Exposure
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:September 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
Wilbur
I always enjoy books by Brandilyn Collins. I'm not finished with it but it has held my interest. It has many twists and turns that can be hard to follow but I find this author to be a author whose books I seek out to read.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Exposure
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 30, 2009
I love Brandilyn Collins. Everytime I read one of her books I think, no way can she top her last book, it's just not possible. I have figured out her style and I can see any twist coming. Right? WRONG!!! She gets me everytime and with "Exposure" she blows the doors off of all my expectations - she shattered my preconceived notions and I promise never to underestimate Brandilyn again!We see two stories unfold in "Exposure". The first one is Kaycee, the ultimate scaredy cat, afraid of everything - especially her own shadow. But her fears have escalated since her friend died a year ago and now she figures she is really going crazy, or at least the police are going to think so. She sees a picture of a dead man showing up everywhere - her computer screen, her tv, but no proof. Her friend's daughter disappears as she is running away to Kaycee's house and she feels responsible. Will she fall apart before she can help find Hannah?At the same time we see Martin and Lorraine's story unfolding. A bank robbery, a murder, the mob, a sick daughter.I knew the two stories would intersect at some point, but BAM! I didn't figure out how. This book is fantastic - thank you Brandilyn for doing what you do better than anyone else and doing it again! Please don't stop!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Exposure
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 1, 2009
Kaycee Raye is being stalked. The only problem is that she's known for her fears, so the police are reluctant to believe her when strange, scary things begin happening. While Kaycee is the star, there are multiple plots happening and they twist and wind together in a way that made it impossible to put the book down. Brandilyn is the queen of hooks. As soon as she reaches a point of high tension, she turns to another plot. And when I thought I knew exactly what was happening, she twisted the plots together beautifully. If you love suspense, you have to read this book. But here's your warning: have a free day to dedicate to reading this page-turning.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Exposure
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Michelle
I have to admit that I love books in the Suspense/Thriller category so receiving Exposure by Brandilyn Collins for review is quite a treat for me. Its the first time that Ill be reading Christian Fiction Suspense so I am very intrigued by how the writer tackled this.Brandilyn Collins is known for her trademark Seatbelt Suspense and Exposure does not disappoint. In Exposure, Kaycee Raye lives daily with the fear of being watched by someone she cannot see. Fear and multiple paranoia is a part of her daily life. Despite this, she continues to live her life, trying to conquer her fears and writing about it in her newspaper column. A twist in the story will force her to confront her past in order to save a little girl who needs her help desperately. Expect high action and psychological thriller in the pages of Exposure. Faith and trust in the Lord is woven in the story so well. I could not put this book down once I started reading it. The suspense has kept me on the edge of my seat. Brandilyn Collins writes so well and sometimes it really feels like I am right there with Kaycee Raye. I appreciate that the main character goes through a time where she resolves to keep on trusting the Lord to face her fears. This is a well-written book and worthy to be another bestseller! Thanks, Brandilyn Collins!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Exposure
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Betty Detwiler
After getting about halfway through the book, I started wondering why the two different stories didn't agree - one setting in Atlantic City, another in a different state. At the end of the book these two different story lines came together. I won't tell how but will leave this up to the reader. I just got "antsy" with some of the "dumb" mistakes the main character made - like leaving a camera in the house and not taking it with her to the police station. This was just one of the many impulsive actions of the main character that really didn't seem necessary.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Exposure
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Toni Addington
WOW!!! I was on the edge of my seat with this book I couldn't put it down and I never saw the ending coming the way it did. EXCELLENT.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Exposure
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Christy Lockstein
Exposure by Brandilyn Collins is a haunting look at the power that fear can hold over our lives, but just because you're paranoid doesn't mean they aren't really after you. Kaycee Raye has lived in fear of people watching her. Her mother lived with the same paranoia, always watching out windows and moving from place to place to find some semblance of peace. Kaycee's tried to turn her fear into something good by writing a newspaper column about the effects of fear and how to overcome it. Despite recent baby steps to freedom from fear, she's been making calls to the police about seeing someone lurking around her home, making her look like the woman who cried wolf. When a young girl disappears while on the way to Kaycee's home, it starts to look like someone may really be after her, and everything gets really scary. I am a longtime fan of Collins, because she never fails to surprise even me, a fairly jaded reader. When the two divergent plotlines came crashing together in this book, I was stunned and blown away by just how good her writing really is. I did feel a bit at times as though I had stepped into the second book in a series; there's a lot of backstory. I do love how she portrayed the debilitating effects of fear and how perfect love casts out fear.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Exposure
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 26, 2009
Kaycee's paranoia and fear should make her hard to sympathize with. Brandilyn's writing skill kicks in right away and the reader is rooting for Kaycee to overcome her fears. We care.Brandilyn has a BHCC club. Big Honkin' Chickens Club for her friends who are too chicken to read her suspense novels. I have read several of her books. Piece of cake. Who would be afraid to read them? Well 3/4 of the way through Exposure I was afraid I would be joining the BHCCs. Sigh.I mean what was with Lorraine? Right there on page 209 I wanted to shake her. Get with the program! Get out of there! Don't you know you are in danger? As I write this review my heart is still pounding. As Brandilyn says: Don't forget to breath . . .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Exposure
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 23, 2009
Oh my! I've been a fan of Collins' books but I felt like this one went up a new level into sophistication and depth. The ending truly is an exciting twist. Not anticipated at all. She just keeps getting better and better.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Exposure
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Michelle Smith
When I recently received a package from Zondervan and was greeted by a book cover picturing a woman in shadow being photographed, silhouetted against a lighter background, I did not know what to expect. Yet, drawn irresistibly to the cover photo, I began reading this fictional suspense thriller in the evenings, turning pages late into the night. Little did I know I was being introduced to the Seatbelt Suspense author, Brandilyn Collins.This newest release, titled Exposure, features newspaper columnist Kaycee Raye. Kaycee has led a life filled with an unknown dread. She has worked hard to battle her own fears, combating them with rational thought and prayer, through writing her newspaper column--and with ritual behaviors including closing all her window blinds and curtains at night to keep anyone from watching her. Emotionally supported by a few good friends in the small college town she's settled in and enjoying writing her syndicated column, Kaycee seems to have overcome her fears.Yet somehow, when her best friend dies, her fears escalate--and strange things happen in and around her home. Someone seems to be coming into her house when she is not there, leaving items--which then mysteriously disappear. Through short, page-turning chapters, master storyteller Collins weaves a well-conceived set of story lines, keeping the reader wondering along with Kaycee, Could she be going mad? Is she hallucinating? Or does some unknown person or persons really exist, and are she--and those she loves--really in danger?You will not be able to put this book down, until you, along with Kaycee, discover the answers--which may be more frightening than the fears alone!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>