Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Deceit

Zondervan Deceit

Joanne Weeks knows that Baxter Jackson killed his wife seven years ago---but the church elder still walks the streets a free man. Drawing on her investigative skills, Joanne is determined to bring Jackson to justice. Can she track down the only person who can put him behind bars---a woman who disappeared after the murder? 352 pages, softcover from Zondervan.
Average Customer Rating:
4.56 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
11 out of 11100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Deceit
Review 1 for Deceit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Deceit Indeed

Date:November 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
JesusIsLord
Location:Detroit, MI
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow, this book was definitely a page turner. Brandilyn never lies when she tells us to buckle our seatbelts before reading her novels. Great, great read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Deceit
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Enjoyed this book!

Date:January 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
CFAM4
Location:Georgia
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was a free ebook, which is why I started reading it. I kept reading it, though, because it was a very interesting thriller that kept my attention. It was a little scary if you aren't used to reading thrillers. It kept me guessing for most of the book, which was fun.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Deceit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another hit

Date:August 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Julie
Location:Panama, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love Brandilyn Collins. Another thriller. Well done!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Deceit
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This was an excellent read.

Date:March 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Wink
Location:Mesa, AZ
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Brandilyn has done it again. This was a suspenseful read with a surprise twist at the end. I found it difficult to put aside.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Deceit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved it!

Date:January 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cindy Loven
Location:Clarksville, AR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Joanne Weeks is a a skiptracer. Hunting down folks who have skipped bail, but this time, she has a big fish in her sights. And it is not a skipper, it is a well respected business man, Baxter Johnson, in her town. She is sure that he has killed both of his wives, his first wife, Linda being her best friend. However her accusations to the police chief are overheard and make the front page of the local newspaper, needless to say the heat is up now.
During a storm someone jumps out in front of her vehicle, warning her that she needs to find Melissa Harkoff, the sixteen year old foster child of Baxter and Linda, at the time of Linda's death. Joanne starts on a course of trying to find the now twenty two year old Melissa.
A wild night after she finally finds Melissa, convinces Joanne that she is in eminent danger. In fact she is pretty sure the guy trying to kill Melissa is also trying to kill her. She knows that Baxter Johnson is behind it all, despite his lousy attempt of doing the "Christian" thing, by bringing the pastor to her house. Joanne is determined that the truth will come out about these deaths! She feels like she owes it to her friend Linda.
This is the first Brandilyn Collins book that I have read and I loved it. This book was exciting and you were on the edge of your seat wondering what would happen next. I loved the characters and the story, just a great book, that you will not want to miss! 314 pages US $14.99 5 stars
This book was provided by Christian Bookworm Reviews for review purposes only. No payment was received for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Deceit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Book

Date:January 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Katherine Barker
Location:Kannapolis, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this book has great Christian qualities throughout all the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Deceit
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

SUSPENCE FILLED TILL THE END!!

Date:October 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Tink
Location:Tennessee
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I think Brandilyn Collins is one of the best suspence writers. She can hold you till the end. That's what I like about her books. Not to give the ending away, but wow I would have never guessed this one. It kept you guessing. One of those maybes or maybe nots. Wonderful plot. To me Linda was the heroine in this book. She showed the love of Jesus as best as she could in the circumstances she had to endure. She showed that a Christian has to let God lead us in all situations. Good, Bad and Ugly. She didn't do everything right which is what I liked. It showed she was human and not so self-righteous minded. I will recommend this book to all my friends who like this kind of read. It kept you on the edge of your seat.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Deceit
This review is fromDeceit: A Novel - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fast read, enjoyed thoroughly.

Date:December 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Susan
Location:Ramseur, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this e-book because of the price and because I enjoy suspense novels. The book was well written and kept my attention. I would recommend it to others and will probably read it again at some time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Deceit
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I would share this one with a friend

Date:October 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Robin Prater
Location:Missouri
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Another suspense/thriller by Brandilyn Collins. She is absolutely the best at bringing the reader to the edge of their seat! In this newest, "Deceit", we meet Joanne Weeks who is out to find the killer of her best friend. It has been seven long years and she is bound and determined to prove it was her husband, Baxter. Her body has never been found and the town's people are sure Baxter is innocent. After all, he is a Christian, a roll model and an outstanding business man in the community. But what Joanne isn't prepared for is all the deceit. She finds deceit around every corner and is now wondering just who should she trust. Joanne is a professional skip tracer. She is good at what she does and is going to use every resource she can find to prove Baxter is not the man he says, but is anyone really? Throughout this book you begin to question your own heart. Is it ever okay to lie? Is it ever okay to deceive another even when your trying to catch a killer? It is a question to ponder over. We pretend to walk a certain way, but are we as Christians any less guilty of deceiving others? Many times we are just as guilty for we are hiding in our deceit. This is one thriller you will grab on tight and keep turning pages until you too know who the killer is!
This book was a gift from Zondervan for it's review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Deceit
This review is fromDeceit: A Novel - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What a treat!

Date:November 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mommy Mel
Location:Houston, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I downloaded this ebook because of the price and I wasn't sure what I would get, since I'd never heard of the author. I LOVED IT! Got totally sucked in, enjoyed the writing style, the twists, the end note from the author about the morals of the book. I thought it was fantastic! Can't wait to read more!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Deceit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Henry McLaughlin
Once again, Brandilyn Collins fulfills her goal of bringing us seatbelt suspense. Deceit takes us on a ride with Joanne Weeks as she searches for evidence that her best friend, Linda Jackson, didnt disappear six years agoshe was murdered. By her husband, Baxter, a wealthy and powerful man in the community. While Joanne searches, other are searching for her, threatening her, trying to stop her.Joannes skills as a skip tracer help her to locate the one possible witness, a foster child who ran away from the Jackson home right after Lindas disappearance. She finds the now twenty-two year old and the story embarks on a series of twists and turns and cliffhangers that have the reader turning each page as new revelations surprise Joanne and raise the stakes in this life and death struggle.Ms. Collins delights with strong, well developed, multi-dimensional characters. Characters the reader cares about. Her settings are vivid with detail that brings the reader right into the time and place of the story. She is masterful at building in surprises and revealing new information in surprising ways. Just when you think youve figured it out, a new clue is revealed, new information is found until the final surprise at the end.Highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Deceit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Tracey Barrick
Fantastic and suspenseful - one of Collins' better works. I couldn't put this one down!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Deceit
This review is fromDeceit: A Novel - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Judi Anderson
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Really enjoyed the book. Good "who done it" and "can they be caught" with some unusual twists to the story.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Deceit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cindy
This book kept me guessing as to who could be behind the stalking. I had a hard time putting it down to go to sleep. If you like a good suspense/mystery story this one is for you! I read lots of mystery/suspense/thriller books and this book is one of the best I've read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Deceit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 16, 2010
Baxter Jacksons two wives have died within six years of each other. His first wife, Linda, was Joanne Weeks best friend. He was the richest man in town, sponsoring a Little League baseball team. The churchs head elder. Everybodys best friend. The epitome of Christian perfection.No one ever spoke against Baxter, until Joanne Wells, through an eavesdropping reporter. She is absolutely sure he was responsible for both deaths, but has no proof. During a late-night, rainy winter storm, she hits a man who claims that Melissa, a 16-year-old foster child who was living at the Baxters home at the time of Lindas death, knows what happened to Linda, and that Joanne needs to find her.A mysterious accident, a break-in, a shooting, etc., are just the beginning of terror for Joanne. Just when you think she has it figured out and gotten everything under control, new, unexpected twists spin everyone and everything out of control, while she scrambles to get back some sense of equilibrium. Disappointments abound, but tenacity for justice prevails.Brandilyns flashback scenes interspersed throughout help to create intense emotions and suspense, and its done in a definitive, calculated wayteasers to keep you hooked. She keeps you guessing throughout the whole book. And what an end! Shocking, revealing!Brandilyn demonstrates that what you see is not necessarily how things really are. Deceit in the heart is demonstrated in the Baxter home in ways no one in town ever imagined, except maybe a few. Through Deceit, she also challenges you to evaluate your own heart and motives. Forgiveness is also tantamount to moving on in life, as demonstrated in Deceit. This also a book of choices.This book was provided by Zondervan in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Deceit
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:August 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sarah
Was it really necessary for a grown man and a 16 year-old girl to sleep together in a "Christian" story? And then when they are discovered the girl kills the man's wife. Awful. I was very disappointed, it was not in any way a scenario that should have been written for Christians to read.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Deceit
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Susan Lewis
EXCELLENT!!! I love Brandilyn Collins books. The mix of suspense and Christianity are always great. Her stories keep me on the edge of my seat.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Deceit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lora Richardson
Do not buy this book unless you have time to read it all in one night. I set up on a Friday night until 2:00 in the morning reading this book because I could not put it down. It was intriguing and another wonderful novel by Bradilyn Collins.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Deceit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kathleen Goodwin
I love suspensefilled books and this one was great. i am really hooked on this author now.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Deceit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
brknhrt
Joanne Weeks firmly believes that her friend was murdered by her husband, Baxter Jackson - especially when his second wife also ends up dead. The only person who may know what happened is Melissa, a former foster child, who has disappeared. Fortunately, Joanne is a skip tracer by profession and sets out to find her. No one can create tension in words like Brandilyn Collins, and once again she has created a fast-paced and exciting suspense thriller. I had not heard of the term skip tracer before, and it was interesting to learn about that type of work. In her newest book, Deceit, there are surprises around every corner. The main character, Joanne, has to not only go against the bad guys, but also has to face those who believe that an elder of the church can do no wrong. Matters of faith are always an important part of Brandilyns books. The main character has some very deep spiritual considerations she has to reflect upon because of situations that are created by her job. Of course, we dont all have murderers in our churches, but the instances of church leaders who are not what they seem and divisions in the church by choosing sides are unfortunately very realistic.This is another great book by one of my favorite authors.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>