Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Borders of the Heart - eBook

Tyndale House Borders of the Heart - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.276 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
12
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
26 out of 2990%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Borders of the Heart - eBook
Review 1 for Borders of the Heart - eBook
This review is fromBorders of the Heart.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not the Book for Me

Date:August 25, 2013
Chris Fabry is an award-winning author, so I was excited that my library had several of his books in their downloadable audio section. It’s apparent on most review sites that many did indeed love Borders of the Heart, but I am not one of them. The book is on the longer side at 9.5 hours (or 400 pages). After listening for over 3.5 hours, I still was not any more drawn into the plot than I was at the beginning. It seemed that throughout the book the characters just ran around a lot … and not much else happened. The story is told from JD’s perspective—and much of it through reflection or thoughts while the dialogue and “action” was more minimal. Add to that the fact that I never really liked or cared very much about JD or Maria (the main characters), and I had an extremely difficult time finishing this book.
I will say that my interest in both the plot and the characters picked up for about the last hour of the book, including the 20-minute “epilogue” a year in the future. Personally, if the story had centered more on the year in between and/or the “epilogue” rather than the three days that it did, I think I would have enjoyed the book more. After the three days dragged on for so long, I felt a little cheated with the quickly-wrapped-up ending. One positive for me was that it was fun to hear the writer read his own book—rather than an actor. He did a great job with the narration and the “voices,” so if you enjoy Fabry’s work, you might give the audio version a shot as well. Sadly, though, this was not the book for me. [2 stars]
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Borders of the Heart - eBook
This review is fromBorders of the Heart.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Interesting Story!

Date:August 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Veronica
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
J.D. Jessup has run from his life as a musician to Arizona, where he works on an organic farm near the Mexican border, learning the trade and living simply. He's been existing, not really living. Then he finds Maria, lying out in the desert, covered in blood and near death. Though his boss has told him to call Border Patrol if he ever finds an illegal, he can't do it and instead cleans her up and takes her to a doctor. This act of kindness sets him on a different and dangerous path, because someone wants Maria dead. He can't seem to let her go, even when he has the chance to; he feels an inexplicable bond with her and knows he must see this through to the end, whatever that might be. Maria slowly opens up about who's after her and why, but he's not sure if he can trust her or if she's playing her own game with him caught in the middle.
J.D.'s story is slowly revealed as he talks with Maria and meets Good Samaritans along the way. He's very introspective and they cause him to question his beliefs about God and a past tragedy. I get the sense that he grew up going to church but never had faith for himself. Could God be working things together for good and is God really in control? These seem to be important themes for Fabry; a previous book I've read, Almost Heaven, also deals with this. The title refers not only to the American-Mexican border, but also to how we wall ourselves off from others, whether it's out of fear or something else. There's some discussion from both sides of the illegal alien debate. Who's really our neighbor?
I enjoy Fabry's writing. There's a lyrical quality to it and he has a way of describing scenes so I feel I'm really in Arizona, sweating and dusty, even though it's cold where I am! There's some action as the bad guy gets close and the body count rises. There's only a hint of romance but mostly the story is J.D. figuring things out for himself. I found the story interesting, but a bit hard to get into. It's quite different than what I usually read. I do plan on reading his other stories because I like that he makes me think about the hard questions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Borders of the Heart - eBook
This review is fromBorders of the Heart.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Interesting Story!

Date:August 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Veronica
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
J.D. Jessup has run from his life as a musician to Arizona, where he works on an organic farm near the Mexican border, learning the trade and living simply. He's been existing, not really living. Then he finds Maria, lying out in the desert, covered in blood and near death. Though his boss has told him to call Border Patrol if he ever finds an illegal, he can't do it and instead cleans her up and takes her to a doctor. This act of kindness sets him on a different and dangerous path, because someone wants Maria dead. He can't seem to let her go, even when he has the chance to; he feels an inexplicable bond with her and knows he must see this through to the end, whatever that might be. Maria slowly opens up about who's after her and why, but he's not sure if he can trust her or if she's playing her own game with him caught in the middle.
J.D.'s story is slowly revealed as he talks with Maria and meets Good Samaritans along the way. He's very introspective and they cause him to question his beliefs about God and a past tragedy. I get the sense that he grew up going to church but never had faith for himself. Could God be working things together for good and is God really in control? These seem to be important themes for Fabry; a previous book I've read, Almost Heaven, also deals with this. The title refers not only to the American-Mexican border, but also to how we wall ourselves off from others, whether it's out of fear or something else. There's some discussion from both sides of the illegal alien debate. Who's really our neighbor?
I enjoy Fabry's writing. There's a lyrical quality to it and he has a way of describing scenes so I feel I'm really in Arizona, sweating and dusty, even though it's cold where I am! There's some action as the bad guy gets close and the body count rises. There's only a hint of romance but mostly the story is J.D. figuring things out for himself. I found the story interesting, but a bit hard to get into. It's quite different than what I usually read. I do plan on reading his other stories because I like that he makes me think about the hard questions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Borders of the Heart - eBook
This review is fromBorders of the Heart.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good but not great

Date:August 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pauline
Location:Muscatine, IA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Chris Fabry combines adventure, suspense, a love story, and Christian teachings, producing a good – but not great – novel. I was particularly interested in the issues related to immigration and the border. I actually have preferred he focused more on those and less on the love story, but I realize that for a large number of readers, the love story makes the book more appealing.
For most of the book, I really enjoyed seeing the story and characters develop. There is a surprisingly high body count, but it’s really only realistic considering the involvement of a ruthless criminal. What is somewhat surprising is how the protagonist, J.D., keeps going toward the violence rather than away. To some extent this is explained by his feelings for Maria, but at some point I began to question the believability of his actions.
At about the same point I also started to find the books getting rather “preachy.” Unlike readers whose reviews I have read elsewhere, who object to the religious overtones getting more and more intrusive, I agree with the message Fabry weaves into the story. But I am surprised by other readers who think he did a good job keeping the message from overshadowing the story. Toward the end, I started feeling that the story and characters were just a vehicle for his message, and their believability went correspondingly downhill.
I don’t think there’s anything wrong with having a message in a story. Since people are inevitably motivated by their values and beliefs, you can’t tell a story without some kind of implicit message about what is important. But for the characters to be believable, they have to appear to act out of their own personalities, even while the reader knows that the author is pulling all the strings. The more explicit the message becomes, the less believable it seems that people act that way because that’s how real people act, and more because it fits the message the author wants to get across.
As I say, I do agree with the message that Fabry wants to get across: “I hope readers will take away the truth that what looks impossible to people is possible with God’s power. Even if something looks hopeless, it’s really not when God is involved.” But I think it would come across better if it weren’t pushed quite so much.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Borders of the Heart - eBook
This review is fromBorders of the Heart.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Quick paced mystery

Date:August 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kris
Location:Fairfax, VA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Borders of the Heart is a quick paced mystery involving the Border patrol, drug smuggling and the Mexican cartel, and a man with a huge fence around his own heart. There were lots of murders, blood, and running - running from the law, vigilantes, and hit killers. It was a page turning thriller that I couldn't put down. And I love the endings of Chris Fabry's books - you never know what to expect!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Borders of the Heart - eBook
This review is fromBorders of the Heart.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great mystery: illegal immigration, drugs, hope

Date:July 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
luvs to cook
Location:Virginia Beach, VA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Borders of the Heart by Chris Fabry is a fascinating adventure/mystery involving a country music star whose wife has died of a brain growth, leaving him brokenhearted with his little boy. Too grief stricken to cope with the child or compose and play music, J. D. fled west to a town in Arizona near the border of Mexico. On a routine ride checking his boss’ property, he found unconscious a Mexican woman with scratched legs covered with stickers, a coyote approaching, and a diamondback heading toward her feet ready to strike. After he’d kicked the snake away, he gave the woman water and then against the orders of his boss, refused to report her to the Border Patrol. Saving her first from dying in the desert and then from a series of vicious attacks kept J.D. totally occupied. It had him “borrowing” his boss’ truck, fleeing but always followed. Why was she being attacked? Why couldn’t they shake their attackers? Was there something that enabled the thugs to track them? With the help of the pastor Maria knew, J.D. realized his own view of life had been blown apart by his wife’s death and helping Maria, facing real evil, would take a lot of faith. But why were good people who helped them killed? Why were attacks against Maria coming from Americans he knew as well as from drug lord Muerte? Why couldn’t Maria’s family help her? What disaster was Muerte planning? How could Maria and J.D. stop him? This was a real page turner. I couldn’t stop reading until I finished the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Borders of the Heart - eBook
This review is fromBorders of the Heart.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Good Read!

Date:July 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
hannah97
Location:Cottonwood, CA
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Borders of the Heart by Chris Fabry was an engaging read to say the least. I love Chris Fabry’s books, kid and adult alike, so I came in to this story with some pretty high expectations and let me tell you, Borders of the Heart did not disappoint me one bit. I loved the characters he created and the story was an amazing mix of thrill and romance. I wouldn’t hesitate to suggest this book to anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Borders of the Heart - eBook
This review is fromBorders of the Heart.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Adventure Packed with Secrets and Danger

Date:July 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
bookworm
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Borders of the Heart takes place in Arizona. J.D., a hired farm hand is a tortured soul with a past he wants to forget, was doing his chores when he finds a nearly dead Mexican woman laying in the desert. Though he has been ordered to call the police if he sees any illegal immigrants by his boss, he doesn’t have the heart to do so when he sees that the injured woman, Maria, is still alive. Instead of turning her in to the border police, he smuggles her into his room and helps treat her injuries with the help of some good Samaritans. However, Maria has secrets and is running from a drug cartel member, Gabriel who will stop at nothing to kill her and anyone who gets in his way. Despite the danger that helping Maria puts J.D. in, he refuses to abandon her and as he helps her find safety, he learns of Gabriel’s evil assassination plan. As the body count gets higher and Gabriel comes closer to finding Maria, J.D. has a choice to make: do the right thing and stop the assassination or play it safe and survive as he prefers and lose Maria to Gabriel. Though I normally do not read this genre, I found this book to be full of thrill and mystery. Both Maria and J.D. have troubling pasts and secrets which are not fully revealed until the end of the book. Plus, I really liked how the author entwined Biblical truths about true love, conquering fear, and true life in the story. This is the first book that I have read by Chris Fabry and after reading Border of the Heart, I am curious to read another of his books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Borders of the Heart - eBook
This review is fromBorders of the Heart.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Challenging book

Date:July 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
The J Family Mom
Location:Midwest, US
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Much like another book I've read that deals with the U.S. immigration policy, Borders of the Heart is a challenging story. Current immigration policy and relations between the U.S. and Mexico are heavy topics. I'm not sure what the right approach is but definitely know what is in place now isn't working. I can't imagine living closer or knowing any Border Control agents, they are in constant danger and should be in our prayers! Borders of the Heart is a good book but also it is good to see how God can take one hard-hearted (but sympathetic) man and make him a new creation in Christ.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Borders of the Heart - eBook
This review is fromBorders of the Heart.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Well Worth Reading

Date:June 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
eb7bibliophile
Location:High Desert West
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This story moves quickly, with tension and action, as well as inspiration. Chris Fabry has a wonderful writing style. I can relate to the characters and understand their motivations. It is a clean, well-written story reflecting different characters’ varying points of view. I enjoyed his colorful descriptions of the desert and its animals. He mentioned desert plants that made me look up the words, so I got a good picture of the setting. We learn something new about the characters in just about every chapter, and the plot keeps us turning pages. There is danger, and people have varying ways of reacting to the danger, and learning from the events. I also favor a happy ending - and this one works well, after the nuances of the plot surprise us.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Borders of the Heart - eBook
This review is fromBorders of the Heart.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Read

Date:June 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Wilkie
Location:South Dakota
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book is a quick read. The story moved quickly and had a great ending. I highly recommend to all who enjoy love stories.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Borders of the Heart - eBook
This review is fromBorders of the Heart.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cassandra
Location:Maine
Age:18-24
Gender:female
This story showed how one choice can lead to many others, whether for good or for evil. I really enjoyed reading this book. I am definitely planning on reading the other books Chris Fabry has written!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Borders of the Heart - eBook
This review is fromBorders of the Heart.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Thrilling, relevant page turner

Date:June 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
aklinslow
Location:Anchorage, AK
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Borders of the Heart" was much more than I expected from its synopsis. The plot is full of twists and turns and thickens with every turn of the page. I was also really impressed with the way Chris Fabry handled the very current and controversial issue of illegals and our porous southern border with compassion and insight from both sides. I doubt anyone would regret reading this book!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Borders of the Heart - eBook
This review is fromBorders of the Heart.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A Cross the Border Romance + Desert Car Chase

Date:June 9, 2013
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Summary: A farmhand on an organic farm finds an illegal immigrant while out riding fences. Instead of turning her over to border control, he takes her home, cleans her up, takes off the handcuff on her wrist, gets her medical help, and finds himself in way over his head after he realizes that she is being followed by assassins. Torn between his desire to help and his painful past, J.D. makes the first steps forward to reclaiming himself and his future.
Honestly, I preferred Fabry's Not In the Heart to this novel. While the two share some of the same themes (redemption, forgiveness, sacrifice), this novel fell short when it came to pacing. About half way through the book, through multiple separations, shootings, and changes in location, I was beginning to lose track of what happened where and who was the bad guy. The entire novel is one long car chase. Hopefully later editions will include a map of Arizona in the front cover. Otherwise, major portions felt confusing.
There was a lot of violence. Characters drugged, shot, hit by cars, beheaded, stabbed. I can think of six important characters who died throughout the plot right off the top of my head, not to mention any incidental deaths. While contextually it made sense, and none of the descriptions were gratuitous, if you don't care for that sort of thing, don't bother reading this book.
Finally, for me the confusing settings and high violence obscured some of the character growth in the story. I could sit down and read it again to try and catch the details, but there isn't quite enough plot content for that. So instead I'll give this three stars for good idea, decent execution, and honest motives, and see what Fabry writes next.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Borders of the Heart - eBook
This review is fromBorders of the Heart.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very good

Date:May 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Virginia
Location:upstate NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JD is running from his past and ends up working on an organic farm in Arizona. He finds a Mexican woman near death one morning, and instead of calling the Border Patrol, he takes care of her. Soon he realizes she is in a lot of trouble, which he is now involved in.
The book was fast paced and the story took place in 4 days (except for an epilogue months later). There were a few twists and it was somewhat predictable at the end but I enjoyed it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Borders of the Heart - eBook
This review is fromBorders of the Heart.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jen Jo
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Chris Fabry is a dependable author. Everything I have read of his has been good!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Borders of the Heart - eBook
This review is fromBorders of the Heart.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Hard to Follow

Date:November 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
KenzieB
Location:Tulsa, OK
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"Sometimes you have to get close to death to know what living's all about."
This is the first book that I have read by Chris Fabry. From the start I saw that he was a masterful storyteller. His writing style was like a thing from the past . . . hauntingly beautiful.
I immediately connected with J.D. Jessup, a grieving song-writer who ran away from his life in Tennessee. He searches high and low for relief from his pain and guilt, but he was always looking in the wrong places. Maria, the woman protagonist of the story, was a little hard to like. Constantly I found myself not trusting her and second-guessing her motives.
"Use the computer to track her. I expect this to be done by morning.
Call me, no matter what time of night." He threw a burlap sack at them.
The youngest picked it up. "What's this for?"
"Her head, of course."
The plot was dangerous, full of evil, revenge, desperation, and fear. But it was extremely hard to follow. It was clear that J.D. and Maria were running from their viscous villain but what was the villain's reason for chasing them? Because of this and many other things, I lost track of what was happening in the story, which caused me to put it down for long periods of time.
The story did not dig deep into emotions, leaving you with facts, facts . . . and more facts. Even though Fabry has a way with words, he was extremely lacking in emotion in this book. I wanted to know Maria's motives, what made J.D. tick.
The only reason I continued reading this book was because I had to write this review. The ending was predictable, although it was sweet.
This book was not for me, but I recommend it to anyone who likes daring heroes, deathly villains, and a Texas/Mexico setting.
"Every heart has a turning point. And once you get there,
once you cross the line, you can't go back."
3 Stars
I received this book free from the publisher through Tyndale House's book review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Borders of the Heart - eBook
This review is fromBorders of the Heart.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Exciting, well-written story!

Date:November 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jenna
Location:Canada
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Borders of the Heart was an incredibly well-written novel. I love Chris Fabry’s use of words in his descriptions. He makes the scene come alive for readers, making one think you are seeing, touching, and experiencing the moment with the character. One example of his great descriptions is found on the first page:
“Sweating in the stillness, lying on top of the old quilt given to him by Slocum’s wife, and straining to feel any air movement from the clacking metal fan he had found in the barn, he felt beads of perspiration run past his mouth and onto the dusty pillow.”
This novel grabbed me from the first page and didn’t let me go until I read the last word. The plot had several twists and turns, but it is the characters that drive the story. Both J.D. and Maria have inner demons they have to deal with, making them very real, very compelling characters to follow.
All in all, a great read!
Tyndale House Publishers provided me with a complimentary copy of this book in return for an honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Borders of the Heart - eBook
This review is fromBorders of the Heart.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fast Moving Novel of Intrigue and Mystery

Date:November 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Faith and Family Reviews
Location:Chicago, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Borders of the Heart by Chris Fabry is a fast moving novel of intrigue and mystery from start to finish.
I really liked how Mr. Fabry created the story around a WWOOFer (World Wide Opportunities on Organic Farms – people who travel around working on different farms in exchange for food and lodging) working on an organic farm in Arizona. Though much of the story took place off the farm.
It really made me feel uncomfortable reading the stark realities of the racism illegals and immigrants faced through J.D.’s. I understand somewhat where it stems from yet at the same time they are human beings too.
I thoroughly enjoyed how the story kept me riveted to its pages as I tried to read faster to figure out what mystery surrounding Maria’s story, not to mention J.D.’s and how all the drama of their few days together would turn out.
The book is divided into Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday and December. Those four days seemed like an eternity and I was in awe of all that happened to J.D. and Maria in the span of one day, let alone four.
This is a great book for mom or day or even older children. Two thumbs up from me!
Faith and Family Reviews received the following product in exchange for writing a review. While we consider it a privilege to receive products to review, our reviews are our honest opinion and thoughts of the product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Borders of the Heart - eBook
This review is fromBorders of the Heart.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Action, thought-provoking, touch of romance:great!

Date:October 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Julieanne Miller
Location:Oregon
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Borders of the Heart is a quick read - that is, if you stay up late reading it past midnight like I did. Heh, heh. Who needs sleep, anyway? It's really overrated.
Not only is Borders of the Heart action-packed with the Mexican cartel, illegal immigration, shoot-outs, and the like, it also has the mention of rattlesnakes within the first two pages.
My mom started to read it and handed the book back to me. She doesn't do snakes. Even in books.
Well, snakes in real life aren't my favorite thing in the world, but I do fine with them when they're contained within words! Thankfully, there wasn't some freaky rattlesnake theme going on here throughout the book. Whew!
I don't want to give away the plot line of the book, but I do have to say that I very much appreciate reading a book that has everything I enjoy within the two covers: action, thought-provoking and inspiring words, seeing people change for the better, a godly message woven gently throughout, and no smut, swear words, or anything inappropriate - other than some people dying due to shootouts, stabbings, etc., which were tastefully written about. I'd feel comfortable having my junior high and high school daughters reading this book. If you like action-adventure books that both men and women would enjoy reading, this is a good one to consider.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>