Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Deployed, Called to Serve Series #1, -eBook

Tyndale House Deployed, Called to Serve Series #1, -eBook

Sergeant Lance Corporal Bekah Shaw joined the United States Marine reserves to help support herself and her son when her ex-husband, Billy Roy, decided they were no longer his responsibility. But when her team is activated and sent to Somalia on a peacekeeping mission, Bekah struggles with being separated from her son and vows to return safely.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
0
13 out of 1681%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Deployed, Called to Serve Series #1, -eBook
Review 1 for Deployed, Called to Serve Series #1, -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sergeant Lance Corporal Bekah Shaw is a dedicated mother and reservist Marine, trying to make a better life for herself and her son, Travis. When her team is activated to Somalia, she leaves her son behind to put everything she holds dear on the line for the sake of her country.
Rageh Daud has lost everybody and everything that means anything to him. Seeking revenge for the deaths of his family, Daud sweeps the desert killing anyone who stands in his way. Against his instincts, he becomes attached to an orphan boy that reminds him of his son. And when the boy's safety crosses the American military's path, both sides come together to do the unthinkable to achieve their mission.
Mel Odum takes us to the hot country of Somalia, where the day to day lives of our military becomes a reality. You can see the world through their eyes and feel everything they feel. You root for each one to succeed, even though they are constantly at odds. This book is full of action, a well written plot, with original, interesting characters that kept me turning pages. I thoroughly enjoyed this book, and will recommend it to everyone I know.
A copy of this book was provided by Tyndale House Publishers for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Deployed, Called to Serve Series #1, -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great military book on Marines fighting in Somalia

Date:August 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
luvs to cook
Location:Virginia Beach, VA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bekah Shaw joined the marines in order to support her young son Travis when her husband left her. Her grandmother cared for the boy when she was sent first to Afghanistan and later to Somalia. When she returned home after her tour in Afghanistan, she went with her friend Connie to a local bar where they encountered both Billy Roy, her former husband, and Buck, who had cheated on Connie. When Buck hit Connie, Bekah intervened and using her marine training subdued Buck in spite of the knife he had. But when police came, Bekah was blamed and taken to jail. Her friend Connie didn't even back her up. But before she could go to trial, she was reactivated. Then the scene switched to a prison where Heath, a lawyer, was visiting his client Darnell Lester who was scheduled to die for killing a police officer. Heath was trying to get the sentence changed to life in prison so Darnell could have a positive influence on his daughter and grandchildren. Before Heath accomplished that he was called to active duty and sent to Somalia on the same plane as Bekah and Ralph Caxton, the man from the auto parts store in her town. And then there was another character, Pike Morgan, a mechanic in the witness protection program, whose young friend was concerned about his sister being turned into a drug addict. After he had solved that problem, he too ended up in Somalia. Interspersed with the stories of the private lives of these Americans that would be interrupted with a military tour in Somalia was the story of Daud, a leader of a small group who were trying to stop the al-Shabaab terrorists, but were not in favor of the Transitional Federal Government the Americans were trying to shore up. Once in Somalia the Americans bonded as they fought together against the al-Shabaab terrorists, with Bekah as a leader under Heath. The story is truly exciting and heartwarming. It was one adventure after another and you won't want to stop reading until you finish the book. And the ending is awesome. If you love adventure, suspense, and incredible drama, this book is fantastic!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Deployed, Called to Serve Series #1, -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jessica Bates
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Deployed by Mel Odom is a work of fiction about Bekah Shaw, a Marine and single mom, who is deployed to Mogadishu to aid in finding a terrorist and Rageh Daud ,a native to Mogadishu, who is seeking revenge against that same terrorist. When I began reading this book, I immediately liked Bekah. Overall, I enjoyed this story. I felt the book was well written and a good story. At first, I was getting a little bored with the switching between the different characters so much. It felt almost confusing at times. Having read the entire book, I'm glad to have the extensive background on all of the major characters. It is very nice to know where the people come from and I assume since this is the first book in a new series that these characters will return. I'm excited to read the next book in the series. This book started with explaining the backstories as well as a "current event" update for each character. It moved a little slow in my opinion while setting up these 4 characters. After getting to the actual deployment scene and so on, the book moved at a wonderful and compelling pace. There are war scenes and death and descriptions of injuries and so on in this book. It does show good examples of God's plan for you life and that you will be put exactly where you should be. I liked this book a lot and recommend it for an nice read
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Deployed, Called to Serve Series #1, -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Intense Action, Believable Characters

Date:August 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
eb7bibliophile
Location:High Desert West
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mel Odom is a great writer. I have read a few of his other books, and am always impressed by his skill and realism. I appreciate a clean story, with no foul language and no prurient scenes even in the combat scenarios. It takes talent to depict the brutality of war without unnecessary sensationalism. Character development is done very well. I understand who the characters are, and I feel connected with them, having their backgrounds explained clearly and compassionately. Tragic events are resolved in satisfying ways. I’m looking forward to reading the next one in the series.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Deployed, Called to Serve Series #1, -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exciting

Date:June 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
D.H
Location:KY
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
I just started this book yesterday and could hardly put it down. I can not wait to start reading it today. It was exciting from the first chapter. I have read books by this author before and he never fails to write a fast paced story. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes an exciting read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Deployed, Called to Serve Series #1, -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

called to serve

Date:August 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
msharry
Location:Georgia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very dark story of bandit gangs in Somalia and several very different Marine reservists sent as part of the security forces in Somalia. We meet each of the Marines in the midst of their homeland lives which are interrupted by their recalling. The most heartbreaking is the story of Bekah who is a single mother who must leave behind her six-year-old. Through their eyes, we feel the horror of war and the emotional toll it takes on the military on a mission to help the helpless.
The details of the situation in Somalia are vividly illustrated and so tragic. The author gives us a needed insight into the plight of these people living in a land where human life is of little value and death from outlaws or starvation is more likely than not. So sad but the author provides a ray of hope in the darkness with the story of a child. This was not "cozy" reading but had several important lessons learned by the characters. God is still in control.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Deployed, Called to Serve Series #1, -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A good read but not for the faint of heart.

Date:June 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Janet
Location:Oklahoma
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had previously read a book by Mel Odom and liked it. So when given the opportunity to read Deployed, I took it. The characters are strong and even a few are unlikeable. Bekah, her family and her military family show life as it is, even if a bit far fetched (an ex-hit man in witness protection allowed in the Marine reserves???) I liked the smoothness with which he writes the military scenes; with just enough realism to allow you to be there but not so much to gross you out or scare you. I would definitely recommend this book to people who like military stories or who enjoy variety in their reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Deployed, Called to Serve Series #1, -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cassandra
Location:Maine
Age:18-24
Gender:female
I enjoyed this book a lot more than I expected to. I don't usually read military fiction, but I'm glad I read this one. The only thing that I really wanted to know at the end was what happened to Kufow, but other than that, it was really good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Deployed, Called to Serve Series #1, -eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

About What I Expected--some good, some not-so-good

Date:June 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Melissa
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Though I am against divorce (at least in most cases) and women being in the military, this book was quite an adventure. It opened my eyes to some of the horror in other parts of the world, and I could sympathize with most of the characters in one way or another. None of the main characters were Christian, however, so that was a bit disappointing. Bekah had some sort of peace come upon her later-on in the book, but the gospel message was not there. If you're looking for an exciting military read that is clean (though violent), then this book may be something to try, but if you're looking for a strong Christian story, this is not it.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Deployed, Called to Serve Series #1, -eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Interesting Story

Date:July 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Virginia
Location:upstate NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bekah is a single mother and a Marine Reservist. When her unit is activated, she is sent to Somalia, where she encounters danger and excitement.
I liked the overall story and there was plenty of action to keep the reader interested. However, this book is rather graphic in the portrayal of war. I realize it is a war book but I didn't need so many descriptions of what was happening to people in the battles.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Deployed, Called to Serve Series #1, -eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Gritty, action-packed story

Date:June 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
aklinslow
Location:Anchorage, AK
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Hmm, where to start?
Honestly, about a third into the book, the whole plot totally changed, so I don't quite know which part to review. For the first seven chapters of the book, we spend time with Sergeant Lance Corporal Bekah Shaw, who is just living as a civilian, since she's a Marine Corps reservist. So, we see her going about life as a single mom, dealing with baby daddy drama that culminates in a bar fight for which she's held responsible.
And then suddenly, just as that's going on, in chapter 8 we're all the sudden in Somalia, following an incredibly violent terrorist whose actions are described in gory, gory detail. (Seriously, this book is NOT for the faint of heart or stomach.)
For the next third of the book or so, we jump around from Bekah's story, to the terrorists, to other Marine reservists who later get called up with Bekah, but it all feels so disjointed and unconnected. As I got into the book, I realized the author must be using this book to set up an entire series, but I feel like it could have been done in a clearer, more guided way. I really spent the whole middle of the book with my head spinning, trying to keep all of the characters and their sudden back stories straight.
Then, for the last third of the book, we're in Somalia for good as the Marines seek to eliminate warring factions of terrorists. As I said earlier, this is an incredibly graphic book, moreso than it probably needs to be. There's something much more violent about reading things like, "bullets riddled his face and his blood spurted out all over Bekah" or "she thrust the grenade under his body and a moment later he exploded, with blood covering the walls all around them" rather than just watching it in a movie, as here my imagination has to come up with the picture and its rather disturbing. I found it to be distracting, but maybe the author wanted to give you the feeling of being right there on the battlefield with the characters.
Anyway, if you're a fan of war stories and don't mind the violence, you might enjoy this contemporary novel based on current events.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Deployed, Called to Serve Series #1, -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Good Read!

Date:June 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
hannah97
Location:Cottonwood, CA
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Deployed by Mel Odom has to be one of the most captivating book I’ve read in a while. I don’t think I set it down for more than a few minutes until I finished. It was that good. This fast pace book will definitely have you staying up late until you finish it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Deployed, Called to Serve Series #1, -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

More great military fiction

Date:June 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Deena Peterson
Location:Olivehurst, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sometimes it takes a couple of attempts at reading until a book captures my attention. I expected to dive into Mel Odom's new series head first, but didn't get hooked until about ten chapters in.
From that point forward, I was a goner! "Deployed" isn't quite the high octane ride I found in Odom's previous military suspense, but the story was satisfying and left me anxious for the next novel.
One issue I had with the story was the opening. I didn't care much for Bekah at first, even though her situation would normally lead to sympathy. Not quite sure why, but I finally warmed up to her.
Mel has a lot of ground to cover introducing the new characters as well, but once everyone settles in and gets familiar with the unit, the story picks up the pace and the suspense kicks in.
Oh, and be prepared for an INTENSE final few chapters...you'll be up into the wee hours of the morning, chanting to yourself, "Just one more chapter, just one more chapter..."
I received a copy of "Deployed" through the Tyndale Blog Network in exchange for an honest review. I took my time with this book, wanting to give it a fair read. I'm glad I did, and "Deployed", despite a rocky start, is highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Deployed, Called to Serve Series #1, -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

An Interesting Read

Date:June 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kristen
Location:Grabill, IN
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Deployed is not my typical read, but I must admit that it was interesting. The beginning was a bit confusing as character after character were introduced in what seemed to have no connection. However, when you learned that all of these seemingly unrelated characters were getting deployed as Marine reservists, the story started falling into place. I found Deployed to be well written, although intense, at times.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Deployed, Called to Serve Series #1, -eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Marketed as Christian fiction, but it's NOT!

Date:June 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
GBCPastorsWife
Location:Knoxville, TN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Bekah Shaw is a single mother divorced from a serious low-life she should never have married in the first place. She joined the Marine reserves, never expecting to be deployed, but has spent six months each in Iraq and Afghanistan. In the opening of the book, Bekah gets into a fight in a bar with a man much larger than her who starts beating her friend. Everyone (including said "friend"), agrees with the aggressor, saying Bekah started it unprovoked and she is arrested. While she's waiting for her trial, she is once again called to active duty, this time to Mogadishu.
I knew this was going to be a hard book to review going into it due to my personal views on women in the military--especially combat, but I worked hard to set that aside and go into it with an open mind. I know some have said a woman would not be leading a fire team, but I did some research and found out that there are actually women marines (or at least one that I know of) that are fire team leaders.
The story felt rather disjointed for the first part of the book as character after character is introduced, but then finally starts to coalesce when they all end up deployed together. I'm not military, so I couldn't speak as to the reality of the combat situations, but it felt very realistic and well done.
That said I'll move on to what really dropped this review in my opinion. This book is marketed as "Christian Fiction". I beg to differ. The book starts with Bekah in a bar for beer with friends. Pretty much everyone introduced in the book is either blatantly non-Christian or the subject is ignored. God is barely mentioned through almost the entire book. A few remembered Bible verses from childhood and an "epiphany" during battle that maybe this moment is why God has you here accompanied by a prayer that you can make that perfect shot does not a Christian book make. I kept waiting for a Christian character to show up, one of the characters to remember enough from childhood to get saved, or even for salvation to just be mentioned! Nada. As a military fiction book, I think it's pretty good. As a Christian fiction book, it fails miserably. Very, VERY disappointed!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Deployed, Called to Serve Series #1, -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good read

Date:November 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ruth
Location:Upstate SC
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bloodlines (NCIS) series 'hooked' me on Odom's books. Deployed is good though I found it puzzling to reconcile faith and the bar scenario. The bad guys running the show for a while made me skip ahead to see if and what the solution would be. Usually I don't jump pages.
Beka at times appears a little naive and next is the mature helper and situation solver.
If you like the military conflict (sometimes a bit graphic and cruel), indications of romance thrown in, along with the good description of the relationships between Beka, her family and colleagues, you should enjoy reading this book.
I loved not having to keep a sticky note for language concerns. Clean writing. I like it!
Looking forward to book 2.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.