Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Undaunted: One Man's Real-Life Journey from Unspeakable Memories to Unbelievable Grace - eBook

Tyndale House Undaunted: One Man's Real-Life Journey from Unspeakable Memories to Unbelievable Grace - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.357 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
13 out of 1493%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Undaunted: One Man's Real-Life Journey from Unspeakable Memories to Unbelievable Grace - eBook
Review 1 for Undaunted: One Man's Real-Life Journey from Unspeakable Memories to Unbelievable Grace - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great personal story of a well known man

Date:July 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kris
Location:Fairfax, VA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have heard of Josh McDowell and his book More than a Carpenter since I was a child. Yet I never knew all the trials he went through as a child and all the ways God revealed Himself to Josh as a young man. What a case this makes for forgiving others - seeing the results in his life was amazing. I loved this story - it gave me goosebumps at times to see how God provided miraculously for Josh McDowell in so many different ways! I was bummed he didn't go further into his life - more info about his wife and the writing of his book More than a Carpenter - but still this was a fabulous book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Undaunted: One Man's Real-Life Journey from Unspeakable Memories to Unbelievable Grace - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Dramatic, Heart-Breaking, and Inspirational

Date:July 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
eb7bibliophile
Location:High Desert West
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This biographical book told of an intellectual quest that led to spiritual awakening. The early experiences in his life were difficult to take, even heart-wrenching. His trials show he can relate to those who are suffering. Knowing where it led because he is such a public figure, I was not surprised by the conclusion, but the journey leading there was quite interesting and inspiring. His life can draw you to renew your own faith. I was reaching for the tissues when he wrote how God answered prayer in Chapter 19, at the end. This book did not take long to read, it flowed like a novel, and it had the evangelism I expected from Mr. McDowell.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Undaunted: One Man's Real-Life Journey from Unspeakable Memories to Unbelievable Grace - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Terrific demonstration of God's faithfulness

Date:July 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
luvs to cook
Location:Virginia Beach, VA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Terrific demonstration of God's faithfulness, July 13, 2013
By Louise Pearson "luvs to cook" (Virginia Beach, VA)
This review is from: Undaunted: One Man's Real-Life Journey from Unspeakable Memories to Unbelievable Grace (Paperback)
Josh McDowell writes with incredible openness of his horrendous childhood as the last child of a woman so fat she couldn't walk through a doorway without hitting both sides and an abusive alcoholic father whose helper on the farm sexually abused Josh until Josh was strong enough to attack and almost kill him. Promising his mother he'd never be an alcoholic or swear, but be the son she'd be proud of, Josh managed to graduate from high school, join the Air Force, get out of it, go to college, and travel to Europe for evidence to debunk Jesus' resurrection. Amazingly, great professors, lawyers, clergy, librarians and scholars spent time with Josh, challenging and pointing out truths to him. Finally one suggested that his perception of his heavenly Father might have been affected by difficulties with his earthly father and that Goethe who wrote Faust said "Man errs until he stops striving." Josh recognized these truths, but it would take time before he was ready to ask God for forgiveness and His presence. Once he did, remarkable miracles took place. God truly directed Josh's paths, making impossible things happen, like finding out if his dead mother ever accepted Jesus as her savior.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Undaunted: One Man's Real-Life Journey from Unspeakable Memories to Unbelievable Grace - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Story

Date:July 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Virginia
Location:upstate NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the true story of Josh McDowell, author and evangelist. The book chronicles his childhood and college years, and was written by Josh and film director Cristobal Krusen.
This is a powerful story of Josh's upbringing. He overcame many struggles in life to get where he is today. I have read some of Josh's books but did not know his story or seen the film based on his life. I would have liked to see the story continue past his seminary years, which is where the book stops.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Undaunted: One Man's Real-Life Journey from Unspeakable Memories to Unbelievable Grace - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

easy read, good story

Date:June 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pauline
Location:Muscatine, IA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reading a biography can be interesting for a number of reasons. What events and forces shaped the person who later became a public figure? If the book is written from a Christian perspective, how did God work in the person’s life, how did the person come to faith, and how did faith contribute to dealing with various challenges? And in the case of a published author, who is the person behind the books?
Undaunted answers those questions regarding Josh McDowell’s childhood and early adulthood. It is an easy read, never bogged down in details. It is perhaps somewhat lacking in depth, but it tells an inspirational story of God’s power to change lives.
People struggling with painful childhood memories may appreciate seeing how God enabled McDowell to trust Him and to do ministry for Him. People with doubts about the truth of Christianity may be interested in following McDowell’s search for answers – and may want to consider reading other books by McDowell where he answers these questions directly.
One thing that surprised me is that McDowell’s reasons for rejecting God when he was young were emotional, yet what seemed to convince him were arguments based on evidence and logic. I had thought that people with emotional reasons not to believe were generally not swayed by intellectual arguments, any more than people with doubts related to facts and logic would be turned to faith by emotional arguments.
Perhaps McDowell was unusual in that regard. Or perhaps there is more to the story that is not included in this short book. A note on the cover of the book identifies it as “the true story behind the movie,” and while the book no doubt covers more material than the movie, it seems likely that complex events and issues may still have been simplified a great deal.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Undaunted: One Man's Real-Life Journey from Unspeakable Memories to Unbelievable Grace - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Definitely worth reading.

Date:May 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Stella
Location:Toronto
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This biography gives encouragement to young people, and helps them to see the healing hand of God (NOT support groups, psychologists, psychiatrists.) This is the way of healing--our God is enough for broken lives and broken hearts.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Undaunted: One Man's Real-Life Journey from Unspeakable Memories to Unbelievable Grace - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great addition to collections of faith stories

Date:February 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Millstreetreader
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a powerful story of discovery, redemption, and forgiveness. If you do not believe that God is present in the shaping of our modern day life journeys, you must read Josh McDowell's memoir.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Undaunted: One Man's Real-Life Journey from Unspeakable Memories to Unbelievable Grace - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jeannie
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good book. A bit challenging to read, perhaps because of the story itself is dealing with such a difficult and sad subject. Well written.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Undaunted: One Man's Real-Life Journey from Unspeakable Memories to Unbelievable Grace - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Undaunted

Date:August 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ma Ingalls
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Undaunted
Josh McDowell
Beautiful. Well done.
In the beginning, Undaunted is a difficult read. Josh McDowell's childhood was filled with pure evil: an alcoholic father, sexual abuse, and family discord. On the other hand, Undaunted is the story of redemption and restoration.
As a reader, I valued Mr. McDowell's rising to challenge, putting forth questions until answers came ,and his pursuit to find God in the midst of his suffering. Our God is Mighty to Save. I value his desire to make his journey of faith more than just an intellectual exercise. In the book, I love the way Mr. McDowell shares his calling to minister specifically to young people (being a recipient of this blessing), and I love how Mr. McDowell sincerely cries out to God and follows His message of extending forgiveness.
Mr. McDowell's truth resounds in other languages: Err irrt der Mensch solang er strebt. Man errs until he stops striving. Truly, a life molded by the hand of God and another transformed life...we will overcome by the Blood of the Lamb and the Words of our Testimony. ..
I received this book free from Tyndale publishing.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Undaunted: One Man's Real-Life Journey from Unspeakable Memories to Unbelievable Grace - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

You won't be able to put this down!!!

Date:September 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
janelleshillito@yahoo.com
Location:New Yrok
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tyndale House Publishers has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book for my honest review.
Last week, I received the book, "Undaunted" by Josh McDowell with Cristobal Krusen. I had never heard of Josh McDowell or his public talks to people all over the world. I enjoy reading memoirs and thought that this book sounded interesting. Little did I know that I would find the book riveting and unable to put it down until I had read every page.
"Undaunted" begins with Josh McDowell's anything but ideal early childhood. His father was the town drunk and abusive to his wife. Josh was one of ten children and because of some health issues his mother had, they also had a housekeeper. The housekeeper began to sexually abuse young Josh all the way into his teenage years. Even after the abuse had stopped, the emotional damage and scars continued to follow Josh.
As Josh entered the teenage years, he completely turned his back on God. Josh was well know for living a wild life and ridiculing Christians and their lives while attending high school. One day, while making fun of a group of christian's, Josh was challenged to disprove the resurrection. Convinced that Christians were fools to believe in Jesus Christ and His resurrection, Josh set out to find the crack in the christian faith and prove that there was no resurrection. After saving up enough money, Josh traveled to Glasgow, Scotland and the Glasgow University library, then to the university libraries of Cambridge and Oxford. He met a few professors that were very knowledgeable in theology and history and was able to discuss and examine the evidences of history and whether or not the resurrection happened. Josh examined the "wrong tomb theory", the "hallucination theory", the "swoon theory" and the "moved body theory".
Slowly, Josh began to realize that the resurrection was a real part of history. And even though the evidence pointed to the resurrection, Josh was still not ready to fully grasp what he had discovered. Through a series of events, Josh realized that he couldn't run away from God. He knew the truth but his mind and soul was slow in professing Christ. During this time, hs was very troubled and perplexed. But one night during a church service, Josh prayed and asked for God's full and unconditional forgiveness. This marked the beginning of a new life for Josh.
The rest of the book continues to document Josh's post-conversion life. As I read the book, I was amazed at seeing God's hand in this young man's life and how through events, directed his way in becoming the man he is today.
I personally found the book, "Undaunted" an outstanding example of God's love for us and how He can change a persons life. I was refreshed reading it and would highly recommended reading this book!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Undaunted: One Man's Real-Life Journey from Unspeakable Memories to Unbelievable Grace - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Powerful Testimony of a Life Changed by God

Date:September 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Annette
Location:Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
On a farm outside Union City, Michigan during the summer of 1939, Jos McDowell was born. He had three older siblings, two of them much older than he was. His father was an abusive alcoholic. His mother suffered under the weight of her own physical restraint, and her husbands tyranny and abuse. Family life was a swarm of dysfunction. As Jos grew into young adulthood he hid behind a mask of bravado in order to hide the scars from his past. What fragment of faith in God he had as a child, diminished quickly as a teenager. By the time he was in the Air Force and then college he was an agnostic. The careful planting of an idea by a Christian acquaintance led Josh to spend a summer in Europe seeking to discredit the Gospel of Jesus. Their were three intelligent, educated, wise, godly men that Josh spoke with during his summer trip to Europe. Each of these men instilled in him a desire to want to know more, to seek the truth for himself, and to continue to be open-minded. One man in particular had a "courage of convictions" that impressed Josh. Josh's mind whirled and his heart beat faster as he pursued this quest.
While in high school an incorrect spelling of his first name stuck with him, Jos became Josh.
I love this story, and I am so glad Josh was transparent in sharing his life story.
Positive Points:
When I first began reading Undaunted, I felt as if Josh detracted emotionally a bit from the painful abuse of his early life. Sometimes an author when writing their memoir will with descriptions worthy of a microscopes detail, emphasize the painful memories of their past. I believe that Josh knew the memories of his earlier life could have easily swallowed up the entire story, and left no room for the One who is most worthy to be praised. The emphasis is not on Josh's painful past. The emphasis is on God's patient and loving pursuit of Josh.
With humility Josh looks back on his life and sees God at work. Even though God did not want the abuse to happen to Josh, God used it to create and bless Josh in order to bless other people, and to mold Josh into a servant God used. Only God can take a horrible painful experience, and in His grace, create something of beauty. Beauty can rise from ashes, but only in God's grace.
Josh's story is more than a memoir, it is a work of apologetics. Josh's search for the existence of God, and then His radical transformation into God's servant.
The story carefully peels back the layers of Josh's insecurities, fears, doubts, anger, sadness, all deeply buried.
I have no negative points for this book. I highly recommend it and am grateful to have read this powerful testimony of a radically changed life "in" Christ Jesus.
Thank you to Josh McDowell and Tyndale House Publishers for my free review copy in exchange for an honest review.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Undaunted: One Man's Real-Life Journey from Unspeakable Memories to Unbelievable Grace - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

good biography and apologetic lesson too

Date:September 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a Christian bookseller, I was certainly familiar with Josh McDowell's books on apologetics. I had no idea how he came to that ministry until I read Undaunted.
Josh (Jos) grew up on the family farm in Union City, Michigan. His father was an alcoholic, losing his management job, then running the farm into the ground. His mother had a thyroid condition and was obese. She was unable to do the household chores for the family, so a man was hired to work in the house and cook. This man molested Josh until Josh was old enough and big enough to make him stop.
By the time he was eleven years old, Josh considered himself the loneliest, most God-forsaken person on the planet. He turned his back of God.
Josh was at Kellog Community College harassing some Christian students when they challenged him. Josh had plans to become a lawyer so they asked him to disprove the reality of the resurrection, just like you would do so in a courtroom. Josh took up the challenge and went to Europe to investigate, checking original documents and interviewing specialists. The evidence for the truth of the Bible was overwhelming and Josh became a Christian.
Josh's story is more than just a biography of a boy with a difficult life making good. Josh takes us through the conversations he had in Europe and we receive a very readable lesson in apologetics in the process.
Josh's biography is meaningful in two areas. First, it is a good story. It is well written and really keeps your interest. It is an encouragement to anyone who has had a horrible childhood. With God's help, you too can live life undaunted.
Second, this would be a great book to give to an unsaved friend. Not only is the story good, but the reader is right along with Josh as he tries to disprove the Bible. All the evidence for the reliability of the Bible is laid out in an dialog manner, not like a textbook.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Undaunted: One Man's Real-Life Journey from Unspeakable Memories to Unbelievable Grace - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Okay book

Date:September 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mazzou
Location:St. Louis, MO
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I thought the author was too verbal with his memories, so I felt uncomfortable reading this book. Although I am glad that God brought the author up from the depths to the heights of Christianity, I believe the book should have been written differently. I also thought the book not incredibly well-written, and the end disappointing.
I have expressed my opinion as I was encouraged to do; I received this book free through the Tyndale blog program! Thanks.
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Undaunted: One Man's Real-Life Journey from Unspeakable Memories to Unbelievable Grace - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Angel
Age:25-34
Gender:female
This book is the true story of the life of Josh McDowell, a life that began with abuse and heartbreak, and the amazing way God can turn ashes into joy. In the beginning, I wanted to stop reading. The abuse he went through was just heartbreaking. But I kept on, and found his search to prove the gospel wrong intriguing. The end of the book was absolutely amazing, with all glory going to God!
This book was released along with the movie, Undaunted, to share Josh's life story and the amazing work the Lord has done in Him.
I received this book in return for an honest review from Tyndale Publishing.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.