Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Summerside Press Love Finds You in Annapolis, Maryland - eBook

Summerside Press Love Finds You in Annapolis, Maryland - eBook

Never did Lark think she'd want to escape Emerson Fielding, the man she's loved all her life, but then he betrays her with her cousin. She flees to Annapolis, Maryland, the country's capital, and throws herself into a new circle of friends who force her to examine all she believes.

Emerson follows, determined to reclaim his bride. Surprised when she refuses to return with him, he realizes that in this new country he has come to call his own, duty is no longer enough. He must learn to open his heart and soul to something greater... before he loses all he should have been fighting to hold.

Average Customer Rating:
4.889 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Love Finds You in Annapolis, Maryland - eBook
Review 1 for Love Finds You in Annapolis, Maryland - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Definitely worth reading

Date:April 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Demarie Webb
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really liked this story. I liked the way she made him work for their relationship instead of just giving in to him. Overall, it was a very enjoyable read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Love Finds You in Annapolis, Maryland - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great story!

Date:April 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:CT
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was one of the best books I've ever read! The characters were intriguing and the story line was wonderful. I don't think I've ever read a book set in this time period before and was wonderfully surprised at how much I enjoyed it. This book was hard to put down. Especially of interest was the Loyalist family in the story. The story showed this particular family as individuals you grew to love and how they were treated at the hands of the Patriots after the war. A great read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Love Finds You in Annapolis, Maryland - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fast-paced, romantic delight

Date:February 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Christine Lindsay
Location:British Columbia, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I’ll admit I am a huge fan of Roseanna White’s novels. And in her latest book, Love Finds You in Annapolis, I am treated once again to characters with emotional and spiritual depth, and believable plot twists that keep me entranced.
I thoroughly enjoy how the hero of the story, Emerson, is a truly human character. The man has faults!!!! At the beginning of the story he is treating the heroine of the story, his fiancé Lark, with a callousness that makes me want to smack him. Yet White manages to make Emerson attractive and likeable even before he begins to learn what he really needs to learn. It takes a gifted literary hand to do that.
Same thing with White’s female lead, Lark—what a heroine!! Lark is also a believable human character that suits the era in which she lives, but also a woman I can relate to in this century. Lark is being neglected and mistreated, and yet has the gumption to stand up for herself in ending her engagement to Emerson.
I highly recommend this story to readers of Christian romance between the ages 12 to 96. As a lover of history I was delightfully educated while watching the character development during the era of General Washington. White did this educating with a light touch. And it was such great fun to watch Emerson work like mad to try to win back the hand of Lark.
Roseanna White’s writing style is fast-paced. Yet within a few aptly chosen words she is able to convey the deepest of human emotions. Bravo once again to Roseanna White and her growing list of wonderful books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Love Finds You in Annapolis, Maryland - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Simply Delightful!

Date:December 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
MaryLu Tyndall
Location:San Jose, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a lover of the colonial time period as well as the city of Annapolis, which I have visited often, I was excited to pick up Ms. White's latest novel. But after only a few chapters, I have to say that I was completely absorbed in both the time period and the characters! Not typical for someone like me who is not only an author herself, but who has read a gazillion historical romances! Ms. White has a wonderful way with language that makes it seem like you are gliding across the pages as one would skate effortlessly over ice. Her characters are charming and interesting. The heroine is someone every woman can relate to, and you'll meet other characters who will invoke your anger one minute and your affection the next. I love the history in Annapolis right after the Revolutionary War and Ms. White injects it beautifully within the story without making it seem like a history lesson. I must admit, this was one book which I adored every minute of and which I anxiously waited until I could pick it up again and immerse myself in the romance and adventure.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Love Finds You in Annapolis, Maryland - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

5 Stars! 5 Stars! 5 Stars!

Date:December 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
kattrox
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
5 Stars! 5 Stars! 5 Stars!
Larksong Benton and Emerson Fielding engaged 2 years are to be married, sometime... Lark growing tired of waiting for the day to arrive, wonders at what extent Emerson's love for her lies. Lark's brother Wiley is very protective of his sister and her interests. When their cousin Penelope arrives to stay for awhile at their home, she is not favored by either of them due to her flirtatious ways.
Lark travels to Maryland and Emerson harbors deep regret for her decision. Upon arriving Lark finds a kindred friend in Sena, daughter of the family she is staying with. Sena, having only brothers has longed for a sister to share things with. Humorous with a cherry personality is just what Lark has needed. Will different scenery and friends soften Lark's heart and will she be able to escape the hurts of her past?
Extremely well written this book also hosts a few well known figures of history. Travel back to the 1700's in a way no history book can provide! Romance, humor, heartbreak and civalry will take hold of your attention and fill your hours with pleasure. This hard to put down book comes alive with well developed characters, rich scenery, interactive dialogue along with a gripping ending that will leave you wanting more. I was highly entertained, I found the overall message inspiring and will recommend this novel to others! I hope to read more from this author in the future!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Love Finds You in Annapolis, Maryland - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Great Revolutionary War Era Novel

Date:December 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Naomi Rawlings
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book entranced me from the first page. I found myself feeling so bad for Lark and hoping she could do better than marry a rich man who wouldn't care if the earth opened and swallowed her whole. I was rooting for her the entire story, as she leaves the protection of her family in rural Virginia and heads to the nation's capitol in 1783 to put some space between her and her scoundrel of a fiance.
Lark is bold and daring and unwilling to accept what life conveniently tries to hand her, and I loved her for fighting for happiness instead. And though I wanted to be angry at her fiance for the way he ignores her at the beginning of the book, I couldn't stay angry for long, as he has some haunting scars from the Revolutionary War that hold him back from loving Lark the way he should.
All in all, this is a great story of love and redemption, happiness and second chances. The author made me feel like I was in 1783 Annapolis, with all these important founders like Thomas Jefferson and George Washington walking around, and treaties with England being ratified, and hatred toward the Tories. It's a book I plan to keep on my shelf. And trust me, I don't keep everything I read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Love Finds You in Annapolis, Maryland - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A fresh, captivating romance

Date:November 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Stephanie Morrill
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love historical fiction, but I've never before read anything set in the colonial era. One of the ways I was immediately drawn into the time period was with the dialogue. I think Ms. White did a great job capturing the unique phrasings of the time.
I, of course, studied the Revolutionary War in school, but I was amazed by how fresh the author made it feel. Ms. White pointed out issues to me that I'd been completely ignorant of, like how loyalists were treated after the war ended and slavery during those times. The author pushed me out of my modern mindset and had me fretting about the future of America along with her characters.
Another thing I loved about this book was the uniqueness of the romance story line in that when the novel opens, Lark and Emerson are engaged. Their story felt like something that would actually happen because it wasn't perfect or magical. They were broken people trying to make their relationship work for reasons like convenience and family expectations. I loved watching Lark grow into the person she was meant to be, and I loved watching Emerson wake up to the world around him.
A wonderful, witty read. The best of the "Love Finds You" books that I've read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Love Finds You in Annapolis, Maryland - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful 18th Century Story - No Cookie Cutter!

Date:November 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Carrie
Location:Virginia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review of Love Finds You in Annapolis, Maryland
By Roseanna M. White
Summerside Press (December 2011)
Roseanna has written a beautiful book. Her voice is fresh and lovely. She lends authenticity to the story with her own history of having attended college in historic Annapolis. Her love for the city is evident in her descriptions. The story is set during the time Annapolis was the nation’s capital during a short time in 1783-84. Roseanna is a member of Colonial American Christian Writers, a group which I founded, and Roseanna also contributes to Colonial Quills, our group blog. It was so fun seeing some of the topics we researched together as a group showing up in the book! That was one of the neatest things about this novel, on a personal level. We appreciate her acknowledgement of the group, as well!
The premise for this book is not a typical romance nor even for historical romances. So if the reader is expecting a cookie cutter romance this is not going to be their book. This is not a “let me settle in for my light romance” read. Both the hero, Emerson Fielding, and the heroine, Lark, are flawed people who have a very significant parting right near the beginning. This is a Christian fiction and both of these characters have the strongest character arcs I have seen since I can ever remember. I suspect that is one of the many reasons RT gave this book their top amount of stars and selected it as the December Top Inspirational Pick. There is profound change in Lark and Emerson, particularly as God leads them to be the persons they were meant to be and not who they had been at home in Virginia.
One thing unique about this book is that the life issues of the young woman are portrayed with such authentic emotion as are Lark’s interpretation of her former fiance’s actions. Because Ms. White is still in her twenties, I believe she is well able to capture with a freshness and vivacity and authenticity the angst of this age group. Granted, Roseanna married young and has little children, but it is clear when reading this book that she offers a unique and fresh author’s voice, and a way of characterization that is more in line with how a young person would indeed react.
If you are going to read this book, don’t pick it up until you have several nights open in a row. You will want to know what happens and won’t want to set this one aside and come back to it.
Bibliotherapy: The hero is a Revolutionary War of veteran with PTSD. The heroine has been “acting” out a role rather than displaying who God intended her to be. She has been dishonest with herself and with others in revealing who and what she is. Forgiveness and mercy and restoration of relationship are main themes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Love Finds You in Annapolis, Maryland - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent writing

Date:November 22, 2011
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love Finds You in Annapolis, Maryland by Roseanna M. White is one of those books that once you pick it up it's almost impossible to put down. I started one evening and finished the next day. The book drew me so much that I rushed through what I knew I HAD to finish so I could get to my reading. I also found that at the end I didn't want it to be finished. Though the story wrapped up neatly, I just wanted to keep reading. I didn't want it to be over. The characters became real to me and I wanted to learn more about the rest of their lives. Can you tell I enjoyed it immensely?
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.