Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for David C. Cook Relentless Pursuit: A Novel - eBook

David C. Cook Relentless Pursuit: A Novel - eBook

Sax Landry is tormented by guilt. To escape his father's abuse he left home, abandoning his mother and sister. Now his parents are dead, and he's in Barbes, Louisiana, searching for his sister. But it's not safe---people are dying because of a bioterrorist attack. He should leave, but stays. Will he find his sibling---and peace?
Average Customer Rating:
4.545 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 1191%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Relentless Pursuit: A Novel - eBook
Review 1 for Relentless Pursuit: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Past regrets will haunt you!

Date:February 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
schoolmarm
Location:Heber Springs, AR
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sax is haunted by the past. He now is looking to
rectify it if possible. Can he find his sister and make
right what has haunted him for years or must he just
move on as he has been? This one will keep you guessing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Relentless Pursuit: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Bioterrorism & A Quest = An Adventure Thriller

Date:December 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kathy Herman in her new book, “Relentless Pursuit” Book Three in the Secrets of Roux River Bayou series published by David C. Cook takes us back to the town of Les Barbes in Louisiana.
From the Back Cover: Sax Landry left home at seventeen to escape his father’s abuse, leaving his mother and sister to fend for themselves. Now, twenty-eight years later, both parents are dead, and guilt compels him to find his sister and make peace. His search leads to Les Barbes, Louisiana, where authorities fear a bioterrorist has injected cyanide into water bottles at the local market. People are dead. It’s not safe. But Sax continues searching for his sister, his fear of dying not nearly as strong as his fear of living another day without peace. A divine appointment is about to change all of that — forever.
After the miracle of turning the water into wine at the wedding at Cana the wine steward went to the married couple complaining that they had held the best wine to the last. So has Kathy Herman. “Relentless Pursuit” is the last in the Secrets of Roux River Bayou series and, I feel, the best. Get ready for a page-turning thriller. Set aside the chores, order take out for dinner, make yourself comfortable because once you get started reading “Relentless Pursuit” you are not going to want to stop until the pages run out–and even then. Kathy Herman has delivered a winner that will chill you as you follow the adventure of Sax Landry. ”Relentless Pursuit” is a lot like an Alfred Hitchcock thriller as the story wraps itself around your nerves and just begins to squeeze and squeeze. This book will keep you up late until you finish it so I recommend that you start reading early. Ms. Herman does a wonderful job with all her characters you would think you had known them all your life. “Relentless Pursuit” is a great read that I was sorry to see come to an end. I hope Ms. Herman has another book in the Que so that we won’t have to wait so long for a new story.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book for free from Wynn-Wynn Media for this review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Relentless Pursuit: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great book!

Date:October 8, 2012
Relentless Pursuit by Kathy Herman was a solid conclusion to the Secrets of Roux River series. One of my favorite aspects of this series has been how the characters from previous books play such vital roles in subsequent ones. They’re not just fringe characters making spotty appearances. Instead, I felt like I really got to know them and saw how they grew, changed, and struggled throughout the entire series. Because of this, I would definitely recommend reading them in order (although you could probably catch up pretty quickly if you didn’t.)
Kathy is fairly unique in that she combines emotional family plots with tight, fast-paced suspense. The mystery around the cyanide poisoning was incredibly fascinating. Herman is a wonderful suspense writer, and I was thoroughly impressed with the intensity of this “case.” And because of this, I will definitely be on the lookout for more suspense from Kathy Herman in the future.
At times, I was annoyed by the repetitive nature of some of the conversations. I realize that the author was using this technique to show that the characters were really struggling with a particular issue, but at times it felt like the same conversation was merely pasted in multiple places in the book.
Overall, I truly enjoyed Kathy Herman’s latest offering. I’m a little sad to leave Les Barbes behind, but I know that wherever’s next will be just as good! [4 stars]
I received a free copy of this book from David C. Cook via Net Galley in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Relentless Pursuit: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great conclusion to this awesome series

Date:June 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mark
Location:USA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Relentless Pursuit is the third and final book in the Secrets of Roux River Bayou Series. I noticed a common theme throughout this series of forgiveness. In all three books, someone had to deal with forgiving another person of a great offence. There was also the issue of people needing forgiveness from God also, but it was a great message to weave into a suspense series of the need to forgive others.
Kathy Herman continues to put out top notch books. She never gets very graphic or gory in her writing, yet writes excellent suspense/mystery novels. This one was no exception. I held onto the book to read while I was on vacation, and once I started it, I did not want to put it down, and stayed up rather late to finish it the evening that I read it. The book was a terrific read. It was suspenseful and showed that no one is beyond hope and redemption, even a killer.
There was even more character development in this book of characters that have appeared in other books of Kathy's, which is something I really enjoy about her writing. She does great character development and shows the depth, or lack of in some cases, of her characters.
There is a lot of discussion about Christian fiction, of what it is or is not. Too many authors are dropping curse words into the books and defending their use. Many try to write a book with a Christian worldview that doesn't necessarily mention God, but has a battle between good and evil with good winning. Kathy Herman is an author who I can never see putting curse words in her books, and who unashamedly puts God in her books and shows through a fictional suspense story that He changes lives and is the answer to anything we face.
This book deserves 5 out of 5 stars. I am looking forward to the next book and series bt this great author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Relentless Pursuit: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rudy Lady
Location:Rudy, Arkansas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have all three of these books in this series and I loved everyone of them. I would highly recommend them to anyone who is looking for suspense books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Relentless Pursuit: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was a terrific ending to the series, and over all I enjoyed it. We got some more back story on Zoe and Emily (Vanessa's sister) was featured in this book. Although by the middle of the book I had figured out who "did it" and Vanessa meddling in Emily's decisions got tiresome at certain points I am glad I chose to read it. I can't wait to see which characters the author takes to her new series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Relentless Pursuit: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Great Mystery Story

Date:May 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Edna Tollison
Location:SC
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Relentless Pursuit started out with a bang and people started dying and some just being sick from somthing in the town of Les Barbes, Louisiana. It seem all had ate or bought something from a local market. This had everyone scared and really upset. They found that someone had injected cyanide in water bottles and it was just one brand as far as they could tell.
Sax Henry came to town looking for his sister he had lost track of when they were in their teens. They had an abusive father and Sax could not take it anymore, now he is feeling guilty for leaving his younger sister. It has been twenty-eight years and now both parents were dead and he just wanted to find her and ask forgiveness. He had changed his name and in a rock band that traveled a lot, but he had some time between tours.
There are a lot of characters in this book and they are not all who they seem to be. It kept my interest for a long time and then there was so much about the water bottles that I got bored there for awhile. But I had to see if the killer was who I thought it was and sure enough it was. Also I had the sister of Sax fighured out a long way back. But I read so much that in some books I just know how it will end.
I want to thank Jeanne from Wynn Wynn Media for sending me this free book to read and review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Relentless Pursuit: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not her best book.

Date:May 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sherry
Location:Southfield, MI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I read it through as it was the last in a series. I was rather disappointed in this one. It was so predictible and I am always disappointed when I figure out who the killer is before I am half way through the book. She made a statement part way through that was a dead give away. Better writers would not do that. They would keep you guessing to the end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Relentless Pursuit: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

good ending to this series

Date:May 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Herman brings the Secrets of the Roux River Bayou series to a close in this novel.
Les Barbes, Louisiana, is rocked by murders. Someone has injected cyanide into water bottles sold at a local market. Several people have died, including a young boy. When others become ill it is discovered that cyanide was also added to a buffet line. Authorities suspect a terrorist attack although no group has claimed responsibility.
Into Les Barbes comes Sax Henry. He's following the trail of his long lost sister. They were part of a terribly dysfunctional and abusive family. Sax is trying to find forgiveness as he abandoned his sister when he left the family the night he turned seventeen. Would she forgive him, now, thirty years later?
Herman has done a great job, closing out this series. Running through this novel is the strong theme of forgiveness. When we have been forgiven much, can we forgive those who have hurt us so deeply? Other themes include family relationships and responsibilities. There is the overarching theme of relying on the Lord for strength.
A couple of areas were, perhaps, less than perfect. I knew who the murderer was early on. That did not stem my interest, though, as there was always the thought that a main character in the novel, close to the murderer, might be the final victim. And that leads to the second less than perfect aspect of the novel – the ending. I was ready for a suspenseful rescue but that was not to be.
Nonetheless, I think I have read all of Herman's books and like them enough to continue reading them. I'll be looking for her next series, in which, she says, will appear some characters from this one.
I received a complimentary egalley of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Relentless Pursuit: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Gripping Series Finale

Date:April 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Relentless Pursuit is the third and final book in the Secrets of Roux River Bayou trilogy, following False Pretences and Dangerous Mercy, and begins two years after the events in Dangerous Mercy. While the main mystery plot is a stand-alone story, the subplot is related to the characters from the previous books, so it would help to read them in order. I read Dangerous Mercy and Relentless Pursuit books back-to-back, which made it easier to keep track of the multitude of characters.
More murders are occurring in Belle Fourche, this time as a result of poison injected into locally-bottled water. This gives the police two problems: catching the culprit based only on a grainy security camera photo, and ensuring that all the bottles of water sold are located before anyone else dies.
While the murder hunt is going on, there is a visitor in town - Zoe’s brother, who has returned to find the sister he abandoned many years ago. They had an abusive father, and Zoe has to work on forgiving her brother for not taking her when he left. Even though she has been a Christian for many years, she still find this difficult.
Overall, I enjoyed this series, even though the concept of a murder mystery where the police force where not the main character was a novel concept (if you will excuse the pun), and I did work out who did it before the police (I prefer that the culprit not be so obvious). The books are well-written, the characters are strong and likeable, but not perfect, and the setting is well done. These are solid mysteries with underlying themes of faith and forgiveness.
Kathy Herman is now working on another trilogy, Tales of Foggy Ridge, which will be set in the Ozark Mountains of Arkansas, and will contain some characters from this series.
Thanks to David C Cook and NetGalley for providing a free ebook for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Relentless Pursuit: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Herman Gives us another Excellent Story

Date:April 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
HollyMag
Location:Covina, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Summary: Kathy Herman is quickly becoming one of my favorite authors. With this third installment of the Secrets of Roux River Bayou I’m again captured by the lives of the characters of Les Barbes. This story broke my heart but also warmed my heart as the characters struggle with real life issues of understanding senseless deaths and the need to forgive. The one drawback for me, is very early on I had a good idea who our culprit would be, but this didn’t diminish my enjoyment of the story. As in Dangerous Mercy Herman deals with the attitude too many have toward God and with grace and mercy she deals with the topic of why a good God would let such bad things happen.
Digging Deeper: Although this is part of a trilogy, one doesn’t necessarily need to read the first two books to enjoy this one. The author gives just enough back story throughout that you have a basic understanding of where the characters came from and some of their hang ups with life. Of course, reading the previous two installments will add to the impact of the story’s conclusion. This story happens about 4 years after book one and two years after book two, so the characters have grown in many ways.
The Characters – One of the primary characters is a new comer to Les Barbes, but no strangers to Kathy Herman readers, Emily Jessup was part of Herman’s Sophie Trace series. She’s now 19 and attending college at LSU planning to be a doctor. She comes to Les Barbes to spend the summer with her sister, Vanessa Langley. But she soon finds herself dealing with a grief-stricken, Chance Durand, who’s parents are both killed along with several others in this quiet city.
We also meet Sax Henry who is in search of peace and relief from the guilt he has dealt with for almost 30 years. He’s looking for the sister he left behind in the hell they knew as home. His search as brought him to Les Barbes and the doorstep of Adele Woodmore. Again, Adele plays a key role in this story and she is truly wonderful. She is an example of God’s grace in action. She is tough and willing to speak her mind, but she loves people deeply. She may be my favorite character in the series.
The key characters from the previous two books are back and an active part of the story. The author does an amazing job tying the characters together through the book and the series.
The Story – It was solid and a little too real life. Bottled water and a food bar have been tampered with and people die. I thought he author did an amazing job with the funeral mass of the child who died. It was touching and spoke some good truths that we can take to heart.
As I said in the summary, I was pretty sure early on who our killer was and the basics of why. The author leaves subtle clues throughout the story to lead you.
There’s a lot more I could say about this story, but I don’t want to give you too much. It’s a solid story with a fairly strong mystery plot, but I think the story of Sax Henry is even stronger. I really liked it!
Disclaimer: I did receive this copy from the publisher but was under no obligation to give anything but my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.