Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for WaterBrook Press Twice a Bride: A Novel - eBook

WaterBrook Press Twice a Bride: A Novel - eBook

Young widow, Willow Peterson, decides to pursue her dreams to be an artist as she settles into a new life in the growing mountain town of Cripple Creek. When she lands a job working as a portrait painter with handsome entrepreneur and photographer Trenton Van Der Veer, the road before Willow seems to be taking a better-than-anticipated turn.
Average Customer Rating:
4.364 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
13
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
32 out of 3397%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Twice a Bride: A Novel - eBook
Review 1 for Twice a Bride: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I don’t know about you, but I like to have all the loose ends of a story tied up when all is said and done. That’s what happens in Mona Hodgson’s Twice a Bride. The setting is the same as in the prior three books in the series, Cripple Creek, Colorado. The year is 1898, and the town of Cripple Creek is growing rapidly.
Trenton Van Der Veer has moved to Cripple Creek to settle down after being a traveling photographer for several years. He is also running away from God and a broken betrothal. He is ready to expand his business to include portrait paintings, so he needs to hire someone.
Willow Peterson is a widow who has moved to Cripple Creek to start a new life, living close to her brother. She has lived through great tragedy and realizes she wouldn’t have made it through to the other side without God. She lives at Miss Hattie’s boardinghouse and is friends with the Sinclair sisters. Willow needs a job to support herself and longs to find a job that involves doing what she loves…painting.
Willow and Trenton have a rocky start to their relationship, with both of them not wanting to enter into a relationship other than for business reasons. Neither is looking to get married or find love. As they continue to work together, they realize they have much in common and the unthinkable happens; they fall in love. Trenton even goes to church once just to see Willow. He hasn’t been to church in years due to a preacher from his past telling him he was possessed by demons because he stutters! Willow shows him as well as tells him about God and how He has sustained her and continues to sustain her.
Miss Hattie finds love for herself in this story. We finally get to see the Sinclair sisters reunited with their father, and he brings a surprise with him. Each of the sisters is now married to a strong Christian man. Mr. Sinclair has raised four devout Christian daughters he can be proud of.
I finished this book quickly and felt satisfied with all the happy endings. It was encouraging to see Willow be vulnerable and share her past and her faith. Sometimes that can be so difficult for us. I hope you pick up a copy to read the end of an entertaining series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Twice a Bride: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

WARM, LOVING AND ENTERTAINING READ

Date:April 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
barbjan10
Location:Arlington, TX
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My first impression of Mona Hodgson's novel was the gorgeous cover with a picture of a young woman that reminded me of a young Judy Garland in appearance, and that's the way I saw Willow Raines Peterson throughout this entire warm and involving read.
Having not read the first three books in The Sinclair Sisters of Cripple Creek series did not detract from my getting to know the characters and story behind the Sinclair sisters and their brother-in-law Pastor Tucker Raines, Willow's brother, prior to this story written around Willow. Even though placed in the year of 1898, we see that Cripple Creek is a burgeoning town filled with like characters working hard to build their town that we might still see across our nation in the present day. Of course, we have much more modern day conveniences now, but it was a time of running water, plumbing, telephones, iceboxes, (refrigerators) ovens and other inventions of rough nature. It worked for those living in this historical era.
We first meet Willow, Tucker and his wife Ida Sinclair Raines at the graveside of their father. The family watched Willow closely, because she now felt twice the sorrow having just lost her husband, Sam, in a drowning incident; and just having spent time in an asylum for depression. Ida and Tucker tried to convince Willow to live with them at the parsonage, but Willow preferred to live independently. Willow soon became a boarder at Hattie Adams' Boarding House, the same home of the Sinclair sisters for a length of time after their mother's death and their father, Harlan Sinclair moved to Paris to conduct business.
Willow depending deeply on God's grace and mercy is determined to find employment to support herself. She is a talented artist. Enters Trenton Van Der Veer, a professional photographer a new resident of Cripple Creek whose heart had recently been broken by his ex-fiancé'. Trenton has a speech impediment and has been scarred by a temperamental and controlling father all his life. Even though Willow and Trenton can't seem to understand one another after their first meeting - he puts her to a test to prove her talent before he decides to finally hire her as his assistant. Their relationship evolves into one of admiration and respect. Could this be a potential romance?
Mona Hodgson artistically and talentedly twists story into story to bring about this delightful town of characters all closely related in one respect or another. The story becomes even more fun and complicated when the sister's father re-enters their lives. He brings with him a big mysterious surprise that baffles one and all. That dear landlady, Hattie, became my favorite character as she is beloved of all the book's personalities.....and turns Harlan's head just enough to make one wonder if there is romance in the air for Hattie.
Ms Hodgson writes in an entertaining manner, holding interest and particularly proficient in showing God at work and bringing the conclusion of her story to show Gods glory. Well done, Mona Hodgson - thank you for adding to my joy in reading.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah for this review. The opinions expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Twice a Bride: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Lighthearted Read

Date:January 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Janet P
Location:El Cajon, CA
Twice A Bride is a novel written by Mona Hodgson and is the 4th book in The Sinclair Sisters of Cripple Creek series. The setting is in the late 1800s and Willow Peterson is a young widow who decides to pursue her dreams to become an artist. Willow's brother and his wife live in Cripple Creek and she decides to settle down there. Willow becomes employed by Trenton Van Der Veer to be a portrait painter and they start to develop feelings for each other. However Trenton's ex-girlfriend (Susanna) comes to Cripple Creek to try to win Trenton back. Who will he end up with? My thoughts: I enjoyed reading this book. Although I didn't read the previous three books in the series, the plot of this book stands alone. I would recommend this book to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Twice a Bride: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Enjoyable historical romance

Date:January 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
jnjdet
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Twice a Bride was the fourth in series Sinclair Sisters of Cripple Creek. I haven't read any of the other books but it didn't hinder my understanding of any of the characters. There were a few instances when I ran into a character that I knew their story was told in one of the previous books, but the author did a good job giving us just enough information to get a picture of what happened. I enjoyed the story as well as the historical aspect of women starting to enter the workforce and it being mostly accepted. One negative for me was all the characters in the story. They were difficult to keep straight at times. I'm sure if I had read the others in the series that wouldn't have been an issue. A good story if you enjoy Historical Romance.
I received this book free from Waterbrook Multnomah in exchange for my review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Twice a Bride: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Dull and Disinteresting

Date:January 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Crystal
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is my first time reading Book #4 about The Sinclair Sisters in Cripple Creek. I have no knowledge or opinions of the other series however. This novel 'Twice a Bride' focuses on recent widowed Willow getting a job as a photographer/painter for Trenton. Trenton is trying to start fresh in Cripple Creek, but his sordid history with Susannah, seems to have no end in sight.
The beginning seemed to really drag on, and I felt unattached from the other characters in the book. I would have loved to get to know Willow's deceased husband at least, to feel the connection between the couple, but he was cut out of the story from the start along with the other relationships creating a choppy unemotional group. Overall it was hard to relate with the many people throughout, and I was left with a rather simple, predictable romance, without drama or intrigue.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Twice a Bride: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
RMcGee
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Author Mona Hodgson places this historical fiction, Twice A Bride, in Cripple Creek, Colorado during the fall of 1898. Hodgson manages to draw her reader into the story line using the language, details, and actual places of the times. Cripple Creek is a fairly new community where most of the settler’s fled west in hopes of a better life. Twice A Bride is the last novel in the Sinclair Sisters of Cripple Creek series. The first three books are centered on the arrival of the Sinclair sisters. Hodgson brought back Willow Peterson-sister-in-law of Ida Sinclair-Raines- for her protagonist.
The story starts with Peterson in a state of shock after losing a husband and father. She is looking for a fresh start without wanting to be a burden on anyone. The one thing Peterson has on her side is that she is an artist, through her craft she meets a new photographer in town, Trenton Van Der Veer, and romance sparks. From this union Peterson starts her own business, Portraits by Willow. The reader will be introduced or reunited with the Sinclair sisters and other town’s people as they interact in each other’s lives. Hodgson portrays a God fearing community with God interacting in the lives of each character.
This is an excellent book for group study, because at the end of the book there is a reader’s guide. The guide is equipped with 10 situations and questions pertaining to the situations. The book is equipped with bible verses and appropriate Christian etiquette. The author’s notes at the end of the book discuss the real life people and places in the series. I enjoyed reading this book: it was an easy read. I look forward to reading other books by Mona Hodgson.
I received a copy free from Waterbook Multnamah in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Twice a Bride: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Twice A Bride

Date:January 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Its About Time Mamaw
Location:Cleveland, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In Book 4 of the Sinclair Sisters of Cripple Creek series the young widow Willow Peterson knows what she wants to do with her life and that is to be an artist and sell her paintings in order to support herself. Her mother doesn't seems to think being an artist as a career is practical and that she should work at the families Ice Company.
Willow notices an add in the local paper by a photographer, Trent Van Der Veer that just opened a shop in town. He is needing artist to paint portraits from the photographs he has taken. She can't believe her luck. This is just the opportunity she has been hoping for her future as an artist.
Trent receives several answers to his add and notices one applicant, Willow Peterson lives in Cripple Creek and decide to ask her to come in for an interview and bring an example of her work. He is very impressed but not sure about hiring a woman. But he decides to give her chance at the job. Trent finds he is attracted to Willow but he is under the impression she is married. Just so happens Willow seems to be attracted to Trent.
Evidently Willow and Trent are not the only couple in town that has caught the love bug and that is none other than Miss Hattie. Miss Hattie has fallen for a new comer to Cripple Creek and it surprises not only herself but the Sinclair Sisters are ecstatic over this possible match.
Will there be another wedding or two in Cripple Creek. Or will the two women prefer to continue there life as widows?
The author managed to write another heartwarming story of family ties, new babies and reconciliation with our Lord Jesus Christ. She shows the reader that if a person would ask God into their hearts and pray asking Him to heal their suffering heart He will fill them with Peace living their lives fuller in Him.
I love all the characters she has created in this series. I enjoyed reading about their trials and tribulations as the Sinclair family grew in numbers and most importantly Spiritually.
Disclosure
I received a free copy of this book from Waterbrook Press/Blogging for Books for review. I was in no way compensated for this review. It is my own opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Twice a Bride: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Charming Book!

Date:December 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
GBCPastorsWife
Location:Knoxville, TN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was a nice surprise. I had not read the earlier books in the series, so I was coming in to this fresh. The thing I liked most about this book was the lack of a big misunderstanding between the main characters. It seems a good portion of books these days--especially romances--spend half of the book (or more) concentrating on some huge misunderstanding that could easily be fixed by a conversation. It gets so frustrating for the reader. What a breath of fresh air that the characters actually talk about what happened and what the truth really is very quickly.
I really enjoyed the characters with all their little quirks, flaws and charms. I came away from this book wanting to go back and read the others in the series. I thoroughly enjoyed the characters and want more!
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review. All opinions stated are my own.
http://waterbrookmultnomah.com/catalog.php?work=212055
http://waterbrookmultnomah.com/author-spotlight.php?authorid=108368
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Twice a Bride: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Slow at first, but wonderful story

Date:November 29, 2012
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Twice a Bride is book 4 in The Sinclair Sisters of Cripple Creek, but is fine as a stand alone. I hadn't read the first three books and didn't feel like I was missing anything.
I enjoyed this story, but it took me a bit to get into it. Having not lost a spouse, I had a hard time connecting with Willow's grief. Despite these things, I felt compelled to keep reading because the story pulled me in. I wanted to find out how Willow and Trenton reached their happily-ever-after.
***I received this book free for the purposes of review.***
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Twice a Bride: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Overcoming Adversity

Date:November 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Karen1356
Location:NYC
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Mona Hodgson's Twice a Bride is an engaging novel that portrays the triumph of God's love over all. In an attempt to overcome the loss of loved ones, Willow Peterson, a widow, relocates to Cripple Creek in search of a new beginning never imagining she could really have one. Trenton Van Der Veer has also relocated to Cripple Creek fleeing what he once thought would make him happy only to find out it was a deception. Will each find the happy ending they are in search of?
The story itself is a slow read but not a boring one. The author takes time to develop the characters all the while showing glimpses of the would-be villain lurking about. One can certainly identify with the characters of this novel which are not portrayed in the usual "perfect" style of few, if any, faults. Their weaknesses actually come to show themselves as strengths once surrendered into the hands of the Lord. The unlikely heroes have marred pasts and physical hurdles to overcome and they do so beautifully portraying the God-given strength to do so rather than their own. Whereas one would have liked to see a culmination of events in all the characters, those that were center stage provided enough closure to the book without leaving any loose ends.
This book is recommended to anyone who enjoys reading about flawed heroes finding victory in the midst of pain.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Twice a Bride: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Charming Story

Date:November 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Piper
Twice A Bride by Mona Hodgson is the heartwarming story of two widows whose tragedies have left them in dire need of a fresh start, and second chance at love.
After the loss of both her husband and father, Willow Peterson is in need of a fresh start. Planting roots in the quaint mountain town of Cripple Creek, she decides to pursue her dreams of being an artist and lands a job as a portrait painter for the handsome town photographer, Trenton Van Der Veer. She is unsure of where this new life may lead, but the outcome proves to be most satisfying.
Boardinghouse owner Hattie Adams has been through her share of tragedies, and it seems unlikely that an older woman such as herself should have a second chance at love. But when Harlan Sinclair arrives in Cripple Creek, it seems she may be proven wrong, despite the fact that they got off to a rickety start.
This book was the fourth in The Sinclair Sisters of Cripple Creek series, and though I had not read the previous books in the series, it didn't seem to hinder me too much from following the story. I could tell that it was later in a series, as it talked about the characters as though you should already know who they were. Still it wasn't too confusing, and I found this to be a pretty charming story. It wasn't all that in-depth, but still an enjoyable love story that is filled with many of the joys and tragedies that all women face.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Twice a Bride: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Second Chances

Date:September 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Marianne
Location:Wanham, Alberta
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Twice a Bride is an intriguing novel about second chances at love, which come because of death of a spouse, parents, or a broken engagement. Each character's story is told with compassion and insight, giving the reader a look into the life in the new country of Colorado. It follows the stories of the Sinclair sisters, and unlike a lot of serials where the characters from former novels only made token appearances, you do follow their families' lives closely. With the exception of Suzanne, the ex-fiance, the persons in the novel are well developed and move from being trapped in their bereavement to experiencing God's Love and understanding that He is all about second chances. In the case of Suzanne, perhaps there was a little haste at getting her out of the picture without creating too much sympathy for her, and I do think there might be a story following up on her, as well as the fifth Sinclair sister Cherise.
Although this is definitely about second opportunities at love, I found my thoughts going to second chances with God, and how He is not limited by our choices, nor does he cease to call us to Himself when we have left Him.
I read this as an ebook, which I received free from Waterbrook Multnomah Publishers through their Blogging For Books Program for the purpose of reading and writing an honest review. A positive critique was not required. The opinions stated are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Twice a Bride: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Well Written Second Chance at Love!

Date:November 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Prairie Scraps
Location:Idaho
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I started to read this book, I had no idea that it was a fourth book in the series! In fact, this was so well written, that throughout the book, the author, Mona Hodgson gave me hints that there was a story before this book, but I didn't feel like I missed out, either. Well, I have to say that I was extremely curious to know what happened in the other books. In fact, I usually don't read books out of order in series, because it gives the other stories away, but I didn't feel this book ruined the other books.
"Twice a Bride" is based on Willow Peterson, a new widow and trying to put her life back together after an extended stay in the Glockner Sanitorium. Willow sets about to follow her new dreams of being an artist, but of course, puts her life in the Lord. Cripple Creek seems like a good place for Willow to put her roots down and recover from her love of her life's death.
Trenton Van Der Veer, for the first in time in his life, has decided to settle down after his life on the road as a traveling photographer, to recover from a disappointing break-up with his fiance. His life on the road, afforded him to move one when he felt outcast by people because of his stuttering. In his new life in Cripple Creek, can Trenton come to terms with his hurts and fears that he experienced in his past involving his walk with God?
As Willow and Trenton work together as photographer and portrait painter, will they be able to get over their pain from lost loves of the past? Will God heal their broken hearts to give Willow a chance to be "Twice A Bride?"
I highly recommend this book to anyone who loves a great Christian novel and is a fan of Mona Hodgson. It is well written and a believable story. Of course, read the first three in the series, before reading this one! I personally will be going back to read the rest of the Sinclair Sister's saga in this Cripple Creek series. Although I was given a copy of this book by Waterbrook Press in exchange for my review, all opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Twice a Bride: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I loved Twice A Bride

Date:September 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
GodBlessAmerica
Location:Hills of Kentucky
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Review:
I love the scripture at the beginning of the book.
Hear my cry, O God; Attend unto my prayer. From the end of the earth will I cry unto thee, when my heart is overwhelmed: Lead me to the rock that is higher than I.
Psalm 61:1-2
I found this quote on the very first page and how very true it is!
'Tis better to have loved and lost than never to have loved at all. ~ Alfred Lord Tennyson
I loved Willow because I was a widow at a young age also and I could really relate to her and her trials. I also lost my son at the same time so I also could identify with Miss Hatitie having lost her daughter and husband. My father passed away after an extended illness, so from page one God used this book to talk to me. It was a truly wonderful, heart tugging experience for me. I was able to learn as well as relive some of the exact feelings expressed in the book.
I was a little lost at times since I have not yet read the first 3 books in the Series, but the story
can stand on its own.
I would give this book a 5 out of 5 and will read it again.
Waterbrook Multnomah Publishers provided me with a complimentary e-book for review purposes.
I was not paid to review this book and give my honest opinion for each book I read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Twice a Bride: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent addition to the series

Date:September 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kristie
Location:upstate NY
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Twice a Bride" is book 4 in Mona Hodgson's Sinclair Sisters of Cripple Creek Series and it is just as great as the earlier 3 books in the series!
Willow has suffered quite a bit and dealt with a lot the past few years with losing her husband and father and being in an asylum, but now it is time to move on with her life. Willow is in Cripple Creek where her brother, Tucker and his wife Ida live. Willow is thrilled with a chance to work doing something she loves; however the man she is working with is stealing her heart. Willow is not sure she is ready for love again and if she is will things work out as planned?
I loved this book! It is full of romance, twists and turns, family/sibling relationships, coping with loss and grief and characters whom I just loved spending time with! In the beginning of the story, Willow determines not to be a "Weeping Willow" any longer and she really does grow, determines to stand on her own and move on with her life. Ida and Tucker are two of my favorite characters from this series and I enjoyed reading more about them and all of the characters in this series. This is a must-read series for anyone who enjoys historical fiction!
*I received a complimentary copy of this book from WaterBrook Press in exchange for a honest review.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Twice a Bride: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lovely Conclusion

Date:October 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A wonderful conclusion, that ties up all the loose ends.
While this is Willow's story, it is also a story about all of the Sinclair sisters from the previous books as well, and I wouldn't really recommend reading this without having read the first three amazing books, otherwise this book won't make quite as much sense or might seem rather scattered.
I liked how this book kept up with the heroines from the previous books, because it was nice to be able to see what they were up to and what had happened in their lives since they'd gotten married.
The story was well-written and the sisters had to deal with many heartaches. This book made the perfect conclusion to a wonderful series, and just made it all wind to a close effortlessly.
I really liked the characters of Trenton and Willow and how they both had to deal with being outcasts and learn to forgive and move on from past hurts. Hattie and Boney were some lively side characters, that really brought the setting of Cripple Creek to life with a real sense of community.
Overall, this was a great read, that had some cute moments. I guess the only thing is that I wish that Willow and Trenton had gotten to spend more time together and there had been more interaction between them, though I really liked how past main characters were still very prominant in the story it left less room for Willow and Trenton. Probably one of my favorite things was the powerful symbolism and reminders that God is always there. A terrific conclusion.
I received this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. Thanks!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Twice a Bride: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fourth in Series

Date:October 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Willow Peterson has finally recovered from the death of her husband, and finds a job as a portrait painter in the studio of Trenton Van Der Veer in Cripple Creek, Colorado. Trenton is still single, his previous relationship with Susanna not having ended well and leaving him distrustful where women are concerned. Well, having an employee who he thinks is married turn out to be single is really going to help that. Meanwhile, Susanna is on her way to Cripple Creek to reunite with Trenton, then move to New York with him (not that he is privy to this plan).
Some of the vocabulary seems out of place for the 1898 setting (e.g. ‘mental health’ and ‘businesswoman’).
As the fourth book in the Sinclair Sisters of Cripple Creek series, Twice a Bride obviously expands on the characters in the previous books. This makes it a little hard to get in to, and I suspect it would be best read as part of the series rather than on its own. As well as Willow, Trenton and Susanna, there are four Sinclair sisters: Nell, Kat, Vivian and Ida, along with their respective husbands and children as well as assorted friends and neighbours. It’s a lot of names and relationships to keep straight.
The author does a good job of adding enough backstory to make the plot understandable, but not so much that it gets bogged down. What does slow the book down is the sub-plots around the minor characters, which distract from the main plot. They are all fully-developed characters (which is excellent), but the effect is like having walked into a party or a church where you don’t know anyone, yet everyone else does know every other person and has done for years. It’s confusing and uncomfortable. An enjoyable story, but best read as part of the series.
Thanks to WaterBrook Press and NetGalley for providing a free ebook for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Twice a Bride: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kara
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Twice a Bride, by Mona Hodgson, is a charming book. It is the fourth and last book in her series, The Sinclair Sisters of Cripple Creek. This book tells Willow’s story, a young widow who was so in love with the husband that she had to be institutionalized for a time after he died.
Willow comes to Cripple Creek to live near her brother, Tucker, who just happens to have married Ida, one of the Sinclair sisters. She is looking for a fresh start and hoping to be able to use her skill as an artist. When she lands a job working with photographer Trenton Van Der Veer painting portraits from his photos, she is thrilled. Trenton is recovering from a broken engagement, and neither of them is expecting to find love again.
The beloved Miss Hattie, who has taken care of all of the Sinclair Sisters when they first arrived in town, does not like their father at all when he finally comes for a visit, but she finds herself attracted to him nonetheless.
I thoroughly enjoyed this story. The author’s note at the end reveals an upcoming prequel series that includes some of the characters from this one, and I will look forward to reading it in the future.
Kara
I received this book free from the publisher and was not required to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Twice a Bride: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A family of sisters in 1898

Date:October 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Meadow Rue
Location:Midcoast Maine
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I think of Christian romance, I think of Janette Oke writing about those early pioneers crossing seas of grass in canvas covered wagons, of finding love in unexpected places (isn’t it always unexpected?), of a handsome Canadian Mountie riding off with his bride. And I loved it, right from the age of twelve, when my best friend loaned me “Love Comes Softly,” right up until I went to college and became too busy to read for pleasure.
Plus, I had a real-life romance with the skinny, shaggy-haired guy who would one day be my husband. So, it’s been a fun diversion to delve back into a genre that isn’t on my regular reading list. Ah, romance! After eighteen years of marriage, I’ll take it in whatever form it comes!
This month, it came in the form of Mona Hodgson’s novel “Twice a Bride,” the fourth in a series just released by Waterbrook Press. Having not read the preceding books, it was a bit like stepping into the middle of a family reunion and trying to remember who was who. How many sisters? Who is married to whom? Who’s pregnant? Who just had a baby? And who is the cute photographer standing in the corner?
Whether or not you’ve read her previous books, Hodgson does a good job orienting the reader to the small town of Cripple Creek, somewhere outside of Denver, during the gold-digging days of 1898. The novel centers around the life of Willow Peterson, a young widow, who takes a job as a portrait painter for photographer Trenton Van Der Veer. And yes, romance blossoms despite past wounds and ongoing misunderstandings. A rival swoops in to compete for Trenton’s affections while the lively Sinclair sisters seek to mend a relationship with their father, who pursues a relationship of his own.
Hodgson, who also writes for children, weaves multiple story lines together as she deals with themes of love, loss, and faith in this well-paced novel exploring the lives of working Turn-of-the-Century women. If you can, start with book one. A free review copy of this book was provided to me by the publisher.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Twice a Bride: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Emotional Trauma, Friendship, Healing and Romance

Date:October 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mona Hodgson in her new book, “Twice A Bride” Book Four in The Sinclair Sisters of Cripple Creek series published by WaterBrook Press brings us into the life of Willow Peterson, Ida Sinclair’s sister-in-law.
From the back cover: Love lost doesn’t mean love lost forever.
Can unexpected romance deliver a second chance for two deserving widows?
Full of resolve, young widow Willow Peterson decides to pursue her dreams to be an artist as she settles into a new life in the growing mountain town of Cripple Creek. When she lands a job working as a portrait painter with handsome entrepreneur and photographer Trenton Van Der Veer, the road before Willow seems to be taking a better-than-anticipated turn.
With questions tugging at several hearts in town, including the Sinclair Sisters’ beloved Miss Hattie, new developments promise more uncertainty as some unexpected visitors make their way to Cripple Creek. Will the arrivals threaten the deep family bonds of the Sinclair sisters and the roots of love that are just taking hold for Willow?
Filled with resonating questions that all women face, this romance awakens hope against grief, love against loss, and dreams against life’s unexpected turns, revealing the ways a loving God turns brokenness into beauty.
I like Cripple Creek. I like what the name implies, that this place is a haven for wounded people to go to be refreshed and healed. Reminds me of the Gospel story where Jesus went to the pool where the ill were for healing and, of course, He healed a man who needed Him. When Willow Peterson comes to Cripple Creek to settle down she is carrying a lot of emotional wounds and trauma. Ms. Hodgson does a wonderful job of showing us how Willow’s unresolved issues affect her relationship with her family, Trenton Van Der Veer and her choices. ”Twice A Bride” is more than just a great romance it is a story about love and loss, mental illness, miscarriage and how God can make something good out of all trauma. Not only that Ms. Hodgson gives us some excitement and adventure in this story as well. Ms. Hodgson gets us caught up in the story and the characters to the point that we actually hate to say goodbye to them when the book ends. While it is sad that this series is actually ending with this book, the good news is that a series is coming soon with some of the Cripple Creek characters.
If you would like to listen to interviews with other authors and professionals please go to Kingdom Highlights where they are available On Demand.
To listen to 24 hours non-stop, commercial free Christian music please visit our internet radio station Kingdom Airwaves
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book for free from WaterBrook Press for this review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>