Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for WaterBrook Press At the Feet of Jesus: Daily Devotions to Nurture a Mary Heart - eBook

WaterBrook Press At the Feet of Jesus: Daily Devotions to Nurture a Mary Heart - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 1292%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for At the Feet of Jesus: Daily Devotions to Nurture a Mary Heart - eBook
Review 1 for At the Feet of Jesus: Daily Devotions to Nurture a Mary Heart - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Devotional

Date:January 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
SmileyMommy
Location:Bowling Green, KY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Looking for a great devotional? Look no further! At the Feet of Jesus by Joanna Weaver is a wonderful devotional book that is easy to read and helps put you in the heart of Mary.
Each day has a devotional, scripture to read and a reflection to end the session. At the end of the book is a yearly plan to read through the Bible as well
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for At the Feet of Jesus: Daily Devotions to Nurture a Mary Heart - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great addition to devotional collection

Date:January 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
1kyteacher
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am always looking for a good daily devotional, one that presents scripture with real life and makes it easier for me to connect.
That is what I like about Joanna Weaver's At the Feet of Jesus: Daily Devotions to Nurture a Mary Heart.
I have read Weaver's book Having a Mary Heart in a Martha World and have seen myself as a Martha, with my inner Mary trying to get out. It seems that this devotional is a good way to get on the right track.
Each day's devotion begins with scripture followed by a real life application. The daily read ends with extended scripture reading and a personal reflection. This devotional also includes a one year bible reading plan.
This is a wonderful addition to a woman's devotional reading.
I received a free copy of this book for the purpose of an honest review from WaterBrook Press
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for At the Feet of Jesus: Daily Devotions to Nurture a Mary Heart - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Some very good parts; some very troubling parts

Date:January 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
A Cluttered Mind
Location:Rochester, MN
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
At the Feet of Jesus by Joanna Weaver––a book review
My review––It's difficult to review a devotional book, simply from the standpoint that there is very little continuity in seeking to 'read it through.' So, my plan of approach was to simply start reading several different days worth and seek to evaluate what I read. While this may have left something wanting, it gave me a pretty good flavor for this particular book.
The flavor it left me with? Oatmeal.
Don't get me wrong; I really like oatmeal, but unless you add something to it (a good spoonful of brown sugar and a hefty sprinkle of cinnamon), you know it's just rather plain––beneficial, but plain.
I got the impression quite quickly that I needed to have read Weaver's other books for this to make good sense, at times. Granted, my random approach may have lent itself to missing some context. However, there were times where even a string of days seemed to still be missing something––the greater context of whichever book of Weaver's that series of days was drawn from. I've not read any of her other books, so I cannot comment upon those. I just know it left things a bit flat in this compilation.
There was one of the days, quite early on (January 7) that set off some alarms in my thinking. At the risk of lengthening this review beyond my norm, I'm going to quote the context so I'm not accused of misquoting the author:
Perhaps you've never considered how much your heavenly Father longs to know you and be known by you. We've been told that we were born with a God-shaped hole––a spiritual vacuum that can't be filled by anything or anyone except God Himself. But have you ever considered that God might have a you-shaped hole, an emptiness that only you can fill?
'…that God might have a you-shaped hole, an emptiness that only you can fill.' I'm sorry, but this is just so clearly wrong in it's view and understanding of God. Again, I do not know the author; I've not read any of her other books. So, I'm going to grant her 'the benefit of the doubt' and go with grace here. This is lighthearted fluff and nonsense at the very least; it is dangerous thinking at its worst. When we, as humans, created by our Great Creator God, begin assigning 'needs' and 'holes' in God, the slippery slope upon which we are set is steep and, indeed, very slippery. I think I know what the author is intending––God loves us so very much. But to move from that biblical truth to one of our own making––that God is not complete in and of Himself apart from having this loving relationship with us, elevates man to godlike status and demotes the Lord God Almighty to our meager level.
So, I would exercise caution with this devotional. One might be better off simply getting ahold of her other books and reading them. Use discernment and wisdom, let this be a book with which your mind is fully engaged (which is also one of my other 'pet peeves'––most people seem to let their guard down with devotional books, thinking they're simple and easy to read).
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Litfuse Publicity Group (www.litfusegroup.com). I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for At the Feet of Jesus: Daily Devotions to Nurture a Mary Heart - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent

Date:January 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
gcwfarmgirl
Location:Ohio
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"At the Feet of Jesus; Daily Devotions to Nurture a Mary Heart," is a wonderful, one page a day, devotional. This one-year devotional features a daily Bible verse (written out-no needing a bible for it )and the reading, as well as, a further Bible reading (you'll need your bible) and a reflection question. This book explains how we're not suppose to just read His word, but to slow down and enjoy God. You'll be encouraged to go deeper in your relationship with God.
Joanna's writing was so wonderful it felt more like a warm conversation between friends and I caught myself reading several 'days' at a time. The words are woven beautifully and it really motivated me to start the day at His feet, listening to His words, instead of being distracted by the busyness life can bring.
Extremely easy to read, wonderfully written, and not to mention the beautiful padded hardcover. I would defiantly recommend this book as a devotional. 5 out of 5 stars for sure!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for At the Feet of Jesus: Daily Devotions to Nurture a Mary Heart - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

At the Feet of Jesus: Book Review.

Date:January 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lukie
Location:Milford, NH
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are anything like me, you have purchased many devotional books throughout your lifetime. I am constantly on the look out for these books to help me with my walk with God. Most of the time I will use one for a week or so before placing it on the bookshelf next to the other books that just don't fit into my life.
I have, over the years, found a few that seem to inspire me. These are the ones that fit my life and speak directly to me on a regular basis. I particularly enjoy the devo's that make me want to write a little note about how it touched me in some way. Many times the passages slapped me more than touched me. I have one devotional book that has so many notes, from several years, in the margins that I have no room to add my current thoughts. I think the thing I enjoy most is reading something that I have written from a previous year that I feel like I finally obtained victory over that struggle.
At the Feet of Jesus: Daily Devotions to Nurture a Mary Heart by Joanna Weaver, already has notes on several of the pages. This is a one of those rare devotionals that I will find myself using for several years. I wish that they had left more room for notes and thoughts at the bottom of each page, especially since they ask such thought provoking questions.
My husband accuses me of being a Martha. I work in a church and at times become overwhelmed with the "business" side and forget to be still. This devotional speaks to me directly and offers me guidance. I need to be still and listen to God.
Because this book is a daily reader, it will be the first book that I have not read entirely before posting the review. I am very confident that this book will be covered in notes, as I have skipped around reading different dates. I highly recommend this book to my readers that struggle to find a good devotional.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for At the Feet of Jesus: Daily Devotions to Nurture a Mary Heart - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Challenge to Intentiaonally Choose Jesus

Date:November 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
richard r blake
Location:Bridgman, MI
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bestselling author Joanna Weaver challenges the reader to become intentional in their choice to lay aside personal busyness to focus on spending time alone with Jesus. In her book “At the Feet of Jesus” Joanna invites the reader to “fall in love with God’s Word in a whole new way.”
Each of the 366 one page daily devotionals begins with a verse of scripture, a thought provoking worshipful reading and suggestions for reflection and life changing application.
In addition to the devotionals featured I found the practical pointers included in the “Going Deeper” sidebars especially helpful in areas of journaling, creative ideas for meaningful quiet times, and the tips for getting more from my Bible study.
A resource reference list of powerful devotional writer’s and their works is included in a “Notes” section at the end of the book, in addition to a helpful one year Bible reading plan.
I highly recommended Joanna Weaver’s “At the Feet of Jesus” to anyone looking for a devotional guide designed to nurture their faith on a daily basis. The beautiful cover and devotional nature of the contents of the book make it ideal for gift giving for any occasion.
A complimentary copy of this book was provided for review purposes. The opinions expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for At the Feet of Jesus: Daily Devotions to Nurture a Mary Heart - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

not the best devotional I've read

Date:October 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Weaver has taken excerpts from her three books with Bethany and added previously unpublished material (labeled “outtake”) to create this daily devotional. She includes a short Bible verse, a reference to a longer Bible passage, and a reflection question for each day. There are also nine sidebars called “Going Deeper” to help the reader develop a quiet time.
It is Weaver's prayer that readers will fall in love with God's Word in a brand new way and discover the message of grace interwoven throughout the Bible.
There are different ways to write a daily devotional and using material from previously published books is one of them. I don't think it is the most effective way to create a devotional.
One reason is because some of the quoted material is very long and covers several days of reading. The story from one of her books took three days to tell (January 9-11) and then the lesson was on the fourth day (January 12). So you have three incomplete days where you are just getting a portion of something, and then, finally, on the fourth day you get the lesson. I found that not satisfactory.
It was shortly followed by another lengthy series. The teaching on Flesh Woman begins January 16. January 17 is about Joanna having a public persona and a private one. She ends the devotion by hoping no one would find out what she was really like. “Because I wasn't certain I could be any different.” Romans 7 is covered on January 18. January 19 ends, “Though the Flesh Woman would never admit it, she's determined to do whatever it takes to remain in control of your life.” Finally, January 20 is an excerpt (from a different one of her books than the previous three days) on the battlefield of the mind. For me, that was just too much of a disconnect and it was kind of depressing, hearing the bad news for three days and finally getting the remedy on the fourth day.
A similar thing happens February 11-13 where an article by Robert Munger takes three days to get through.
I am also very picky when it comes to theology. For January 7, Weaver writes about humans having a God-shaped hole – a spiritual vacuum that only God can fill. Then she writes, “But have you ever considered that God might have a you-shaped hole, an emptiness that only you can fill?” Wow! Red flag! That God might somehow be incomplete without a relationship with me...well, that does not describe the God I worship!
Well, that's the bad news. The good news is that Weaver is very honest about her own spiritual walk. That should be great encouragement to women. And this book is definitely for women (much about feelings and other things particular to women).
The Going Deeper pages are excellent. I think I'd buy the book just for the valuable material contained in them. Her outline of how to journal your Bible reading is superb. So is the one listing tips for getting more from Bible study.
Weaver wants her readers to get into the Word and she has added a Bible Reading Plan at the end of the book. It can be started at any time. She also gives a web site where you can choose your starting date and the book of the Bible you'd like to begin with and print off your own reading plan.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from The LitFuse Publicity Group for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for At the Feet of Jesus: Daily Devotions to Nurture a Mary Heart - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Daily Devotional To Help Us Focus On Jesus

Date:October 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Joanna Weaver in her new book “At the Feet of Jesus” published by Waterbrook Press gives us Daily Devotions to Nurture a Mary Heart.
From the back cover: You were made for more than serving God; you were made to know Him.
Intimacy with God—to know Him and be known by Him. It is what our hearts desperately need, but somehow life conspires to keep us busy and distracted.For anyone who struggles when it comes to daily devotions, At the Feet of Jesus extends an irresistible invitation to set aside your duties and find the amazing peace and incredible joy that come from time alone with Him. Drawn from Joanna Weaver’s beloved Bethany trilogy, each reading in this 365-day devotional includes a Bible reading passage and reflection question. All-new material and “Going Deeper” sidebars are also woven throughout.
Discover for yourself the riches that come from spending a portion of each day alone with God. At the feet of Jesus—where true life begins!
Includes a unique One-Year Bible Reading Guide.
Why do we need a new daily devotional? Most of us need help to focus our attention. There are so many things that vie for our attention and we juggle so many that, sometimes, we lose sight of what really is important. So we need this devotional to help calm and center us. We can use this in the morning to help focus us on God and His plans for us rather than our plans for the day. We can use this in the afternoon to help re-energize us when the activities of the day have drained us of our energy. We can use this in the evening when we are weary from the world’s battering and we need rest and peace in God. “At the Feet of Jesus” is not a time-consuming read. Each devotional starts with scripture, followed by the devotional, followed by a recommended verse to read and then the Reflect will help you dig into the life-changing Word of God for yourself. They are only a page or less in length but they are oh so helpful to properly channel our energies in the right direction. Sprinkled throughout the year are “Going Deeper” helps to help develop a daily quiet time. If we use these daily devotionals correctly we will all be the better for it.
Celebrate the release of At the Feet of Jesus with Joanna Weaver by entering to win an iPad and RSVPing for the “True Life” Webcast Event on 11/8!
One blessed winner will receive:
An iPad
The Year in Bethany Trilogy (Having a Mary Heart in a Martha World, Having a Mary Spirit and Lazarus Awakening
At the Feet of Jesus for YOU and Five of your friends.
Enter today by clicking one of the icons below. But hurry, the giveaway ends on November 7th. Winner will be announced at the “True Life” Live Webcast Event on November 8th. Connect with author Joanna Weaver and her special guest for an evening of encouragement, laughter and a Q&A! There will also be gift certificates and books given away to participants.
So grab your copy of At the Feet of Jesus (or one of Joanna’s other books) and join Joanna on evening of November 8th for a chance to connect and make some new friends. (If you haven’t read the books – don’t let that stop you from coming!)
Don’t miss a moment of the fun, RSVP today. Tell your friends via FACEBOOK or TWITTER and increase your chances of winning. Hope to see you on the 8th!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Litfuse Publicity Group. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for At the Feet of Jesus: Daily Devotions to Nurture a Mary Heart - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Spend Time with the Lord

Date:October 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Pam Burke
Location:Potosi, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Like Mary, Jesus' friend from Bethany, do you long to find the "better thing"? In At the Feet of Jesus Joanna Weaver offers a way to help you do just that. In short, manageable daily readings, she shares simple, yet thought-provoking, devotional ideas and leads you to scripture for further reflection.
In addition to a year's worth of daily devotionals, bonus features in the book include "Going Deeper" segments and a yearly Bible reading plan. Each "Going Deeper" section gives practical suggestions for improving your time with God. The Bible reading plan alternates between Old and New Testament passages, listing two passages per day which would easily conform to morning and evening readings.
Much of the material in these devotional readings comes from other books by Joanna Weaver -- Having a Mary Heart in a Martha World, Having a Mary Spirit, and Lazarus Awakening. I have not yet had the opportunity to read those books but look forward to doing so after reading At the Feet of Jesus.
(This book was provided free of charge by Litfuse Publicity Group in exchange for my honest review.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for At the Feet of Jesus: Daily Devotions to Nurture a Mary Heart - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful book!

Date:October 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Virginia
Location:Nebraska
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was recently blessed with the chance to read Joanna Weaver's latest book, At the Feet of Jesus. It is a daily devotional full of excerpts from her previous works (Having A Mary Heart in a Martha World, Having a Mary Spirit and Lazarus Awakening), as well as some portions that were edited out.
When At the Feet of Jesus arrived in the mail, my first response was WOW!!!! The cover is beautiful!
This book is the perfect compliment to your library. We all have good intentions, and maybe sometimes we actually follow through and re-read books that caused growth, but we don't always do that. This book is perfect because it takes the best of her previous books (which I have read!) and puts them into one volume.
At the Feet of Jesus would be the perfect gift to give someone this Christmas. You might even want to get it for yourself and plan on starting the devotions on January 1. One year of learning to be more like Jesus!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for At the Feet of Jesus: Daily Devotions to Nurture a Mary Heart - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Life begins at the feet of Jesus

Date:October 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jill Jones
Location:Opelika, AL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you’ve ever read Joanna Weaver’s books “Having a Mary Heart in a Martha World”, “Having a Mary Spirit” or “Lazarus Rising”, you will enjoy her Daily Devotions to Nurture a Mary Heart called “At the Feet of Jesus”. Excerpts from passages in her books are used in the devotional.
I loved how Weaver kept one day flowing into the next leaving you looking forward to reading the next day. The read and reflect portions at the close of each day will help you discover for yourself the truths of God’s Word and the value of spending time with Him daily. Weaver weaves her wisdom with her ability to tell a good story or relate a story from Scripture.
You won’t be able to wait until January to begin this wonderful devotional filled with encouragement and wisdom. Weaver also challenges you to read through the Bible with her unique guide at the end of the book.
Joanna Weaver is a best-selling author with more than one million books in print. Her articles have appeared in Focus on the Family, Guideposts and In Touch and she has appeared on a number of national TV and radio broadcasts. She is a highly sought after speaker. Her greatest joy is being a pastor’s wife and a mother.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Litfuse Publicity Group as part of their blogger review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for At the Feet of Jesus: Daily Devotions to Nurture a Mary Heart - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

At the Feet of Jesus

Date:October 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Tammi
Location:maine
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Do you like to use a devotional book as a part of your daily time with Jesus? If you do, or have been thinking about getting one, I think you will like At the Feet of Jesus...Daily Devotions to Nurture a Mary Heart by Joanna Weaver. This is a one-year devotional that
features a daily Bible verse and reading, as well as, a further Bible
reading and a reflection question. Once a month there is a Going
Deeper section that cover topics such as The Invitation, Journaling,
Scripture memorization, prayer, and more.
Why did I choose to review ? Well...I have read and enjoyed Joanna's
Having a Mary Heart in a Martha World and Having a Mary Spirit,
(actually, I think it would be more accurate to say that I devoured
them). So, when I saw Joanna's newest book being offered to be
reviewed, I requested it without a second thought.
What do I think of this devotional? I think It is one that I will enjoy
for many years to come. I like to rotate devotionals, using a
different one each year. I will be using At the Feet of Jesus in 2013
as a part of my daily devotions.I also like that there is a daily Bible reading guide in the back of the book.
**At the Feet of Jesus by Joanna Weaver was provided for me free by Litfuse Publicity Group in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.