Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Simple Compassion: Devotions to Make a Difference in Your Neighborhood and Your World - eBook

Zondervan Simple Compassion: Devotions to Make a Difference in Your Neighborhood and Your World - eBook

Many of us would like to make a greater impact on our world, but don't know where to start. Simple Compassion by Keri Wyatt Kent offers 52 weekly devotions that will help inspire you to greater service and compassion. Along with each insightfull reading she makes practical suggestions for living out principles of justice, right where you are. Step into the adventure of following God's heart for people.
Average Customer Rating:
4.556 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for Simple Compassion: Devotions to Make a Difference in Your Neighborhood and Your World - eBook
Review 1 for Simple Compassion: Devotions to Make a Difference in Your Neighborhood and Your World - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Andrea Schultz
Being that we are at the start of a New Year, it is always constructive to start it out right; the proverbial New Years Resolutions. That involves developing new habits if you have old or bad ones!Keri Wyatt Kents new book, Simple Compassion: Devotions to Make a Difference in Your Neighborhood and Your World is the perfect way to begin! Ms. Kents devotional is broken down into fifty-two week sections, and the objective is to live a more compassionate life. Each weekly section provides application steps for the individual and for the community if a small group decides to use this study. Ms. Kents book is broken down further into four sections:1.Compassion Begins with You2.Compassion Grows in Community3.Compassion Extends Beyond Our Comfort Zone4.Compassion Offers Gods Love to the WorldEach section expands further out - from the individual, to the family, to the community, and to the world. Ms. Kent is very open and transparent in this book. She shares a lot of her heart and her journey in reaching the point at which she is able to show so much compassion.A 'side effect' of loving others without discretion is that we will grow and learn to have more compassion for them. This devotional is a perfect companion to those lessons.With all of the turmoil that this country has experienced over the last few years economic collapse, etc. I believe the Lord wants us to press in closer to Him even more than ever! I thank Ms. Ellis for providing these tools that will help us do just that.This book was provided to me from Zondervan Publishing Company via the Blog Tour Spot for review purposes. There was no financial remuneration, and the thoughts and opinions are mine only.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Simple Compassion: Devotions to Make a Difference in Your Neighborhood and Your World - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 19, 2009
This is an inspiring devotional filled with personal stories and Bible examples that inspire the reader to go beyond inner Christian growth and to help other people. Consisting of 52 weeks of devotionals, I read only a few before reviewing this book, rather than waiting one year to offer my opinion.Keri Wyatt Kent is the author, and she has topics ranging from Jewelry to Heroes to Overfed, which gives readers easy suggestions to move from what difference can I make? to lets do one thing today.When I read the chapter titled Jewelry I was happy to see that the author recommends 2 groups that I have purchased from, and that buy directly from poor people who make things: http://beadforlife.org and http://tradeasone.orgThe section titled Neighbors has good advice which I followed, introduce yourself to two neighbors you dont know. People had moved in next door and I took them a poinsettia plant, and they were very pleased. Kent wrote Part of loving your neighbors is letting them love you, and being humble enough to let them know that you are imperfect, in fact a mess, but youve been rescued by Gods generous love.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Simple Compassion: Devotions to Make a Difference in Your Neighborhood and Your World - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Mary A. Wilhelm
I found Keri Wyatt Kent's Simple Compassion to be a practical, thought-provoking book. The topics - framed in one chapter per week for a whole year - are wide-ranging, and are sure to include areas of needed compassion you hadn't previously considered. The applications are practical and attainable. You're certain to find plenty of ways that you can practice more Biblical compassion and make a difference in your world.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Simple Compassion: Devotions to Make a Difference in Your Neighborhood and Your World - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jan ODaniel
It's a rare Christian author - and Keri Wyatt Kent is one of them - who can successfully blend story, scripture and soul into something worth reading. Like her other books, "Simple Compassion" is personal and thoughtful. The weekly devotions address some of the same fears, frustrations and failures we all face, and, as usual, Kent does so with humility and grace. Unlike her other books, however, this one lacks a payoff of the promise. Yes, "Simple Compassion" opens basic dialogue on social injustice. Yes, it provides questions for contemplation and discussion. And, yes, it offers starter ideas for compassionate action. But it stops short of stirring the heart, provoking change, and inspiring the reader go beyond basic Christian servant hood and neighborly acts of kindness. Perhaps it's best paired with a community of committed believers as Kent recommends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Simple Compassion: Devotions to Make a Difference in Your Neighborhood and Your World - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lynsey
Simple Compassion" has encouraged me in many ways as a stay at home mom of two! As a mom I have not found a lot of books I have enjoyed as most of them seem to be encouraging one thing, "Do more and be more!" I was afraid I would see the same thing in Kerri Wyatt's book. The great thing about Kerry Wyatt Kent is her words are heart felt. There are many challenges in this book to the reader yet she takes on the challenges herself and includes them in the book. This helps make the struggle of being a light in our world more real and truely felt uplifted while reading this book! Each section is very insightful. Some parts of the Bible she includes I had never heard written/talked about before. This was refreshing for me as I have been a Christian for many years now. I encourage you to pick it up and read it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Simple Compassion: Devotions to Make a Difference in Your Neighborhood and Your World - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Mike Murphy
After I read Keri's recent book I wrote to her saying"Keri, this book really packs a punch. I can think of a whole lot of folks who'd throw it against the wall wondering why they picked up a book written by a 'feminist, egalitarian, social justice oriented, probably a democrat, Willow Creeker?"The truth is that description might actually scare some folks away. Maybe some of you reading it. That would be too bad. You see, Keri is also someone I'd call 'thoughtfully orthodox'. All the way through these devotions you'll see a woman trying her best to be more and more like Christ in today's world. She's biblically solid and wants to find out what an informed faith does with issues like fair trade, caring for the least of these, standard of living, diversity, etc. She pokes and prods, lays out her own issues and will challenge you to think about yours.Bottom line. I think if folks really go through this book devotionally, prayerfully and then read it again with others, allowing the Holy Spirit to work in their hearts ...wow. What could happen? Lives would change. Hearts would soften. Eyes opened. New habits would need to be cultivated. Keri raises important issues. Although geared towards women I found it hitting home for me in a variety of ways. Keri pretty masterfully raises issues that are vital to our understanding of how to live as Christ followers in today's world. She helps put compassion into a biblical framework that goes beyond just 'do something'.Keri also understands the world of the suburban working mom. She doesn't pretend to have it all together. She's trying to figure out how to weave compassion in and through a life that's pretty full. But to Keri compassion isn't just an add on, another thing to do. She's trying to make compassion central to our understanding of the the 'good news' we all desire to live into and proclaim.So, for what it's worth ...I think this is a 'dangerous' book. Read it. Talk about it. Apply it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Simple Compassion: Devotions to Make a Difference in Your Neighborhood and Your World - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kimberly Goh
Keri Wyatt Kent's latest book "Simple Compassion" invites us to take the next step in our journey toward spiritual maturity. While many of her previous books showed us how to slow down and make space for God, this book encourages women to build on those spiritual disciplines, and focus our attention on the needs of others. The weekly devotions are filled with unique and sometimes hard-hitting stories, that gradually draw you out of your comfort zone and into a world that desperately needs God. Yet since people often don't take action because they feel overwhelmed by the sheer magnitude of the world's needs, the author also provides examples of simple, practical steps that can make a big difference. I would recommend "Simple Compassion" to anyone who hopes to make a difference in today's world.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Simple Compassion: Devotions to Make a Difference in Your Neighborhood and Your World - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
JShort
I read Simple Compassion with enthusiasm and excitement as I began. Skipping through the book and taking in random chapters / weeks of devotions, took discipline. It was a struggle not to read each page and linger with the exercises. At other times, as I considered slowly savoring the book with other women, a sense of invitation to change both excited and niggled me making me a bit nervous. Do I really want to change? Keri Wyatt Kent's books consistently invite me to deeper relationship with Jesus. Each time I read one of her books, I am reminded of my dearest friend from high school. I don't see my dear friend often, but we can always pick up where we left off. Keri although I haven't met her, seems like an old friend that I would love to sit down with & reconnect with. I love how these weekly devotionals / invitations are brief, yet compelling. Slow, intentional steps toward Jesus. Again I am challenged & encouraged by this author, to step out of my comfortable place and boldly respond to God's invitation to an intimate relationship with him, now. A relationship that naturally compels me to action. So now as I consider the invitation to be simply compassionate, I wonder who will join me on the journey? I don't think it will be for the faint hearted. I rather think it will take a bold response to God's invitation to act justly, to love mercy, and to walk humbly with him.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Simple Compassion: Devotions to Make a Difference in Your Neighborhood and Your World - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Reading Room Reviews
What I love most about Keri Wyatt Kent's books is that she doesn't write "fluff". Her writing always has an underlying purpose of making the reader reflect on their own lives and make changes to become all God intended them to be. She follows this same pattern in "Simple Compassion".This book is a splendid weekly devotional on social justice that goes straight to your heart. No lofty, pie-in-the-sky ideas here, just practical "can do" ideas that make you take a look at how YOU can make a difference in your sphere of influence right now. The author peppers the devotionals with personal stories and examples that are not only a delight to read but and encouragement to you on your own journey. But she doesn't stop here. Kent takes the reader to the next level by giving action steps that encourage personal involvement in the community."Simple Compassion" makes a great personal devotional, yet I feel it will work even better in a group setting with like minded individuals that want to reach out the needy in their communities.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.