Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan A Slow Burn, Defiance, Texas Series #2

Zondervan A Slow Burn, Defiance, Texas Series #2

Burying her grief, Emory Chance is determined to find her daughter Daisy's murderer-a man she saw in a flicker of a vision. But when the investigation hits every dead end, her despair escalates. Not even the kindness of her persistent suitor Hixon can soften her heart towards the community of friends that long for her healing. And as the questions surrounding Daisy continue to mount, and Emory's safety is shattered by the tattooed man's dark pursuit, she can't shake the sickening fear that her own choices contributed to Daisy's disappearance. Will she ever experience the peace her heart longs for?

A gripping suspense novel, A Slow Burn is about courageous love, the burden of regret, and the bonds that never break. It is about the beauty and pain of telling the truth and letting God take over. Most of all, it is about the strength of forgiveness and what remains when shame no longer has power. Mary DeMuth's distinctive new voice in Christian fiction will keep readers enthralled as they ask soul-searching questions in this second book of the Defiance, Texas Trilogy.

Average Customer Rating:
4.742 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Slow Burn, Defiance, Texas Series #2
Review 1 for A Slow Burn, Defiance, Texas Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Not really a suspense, but good book

Date:February 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Debbie from ChristFocus
Location:Harrison, AR
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"A Slow Burn" is a Christian historical novel set in 1977 in Texas. This is the second novel in the series. You can understand and enjoy the story even if you haven't read the first novel, but I got the feeling the story would have had even more depth (and there was plenty already) if I'd read the first book before this one.
This was one of those stories that drew me in and came vividly to life in my imagination, but I think it had more to do with a few, select setting details combined with vividly drawn characters. You truly got to know Emory and Hixon's deepest thoughts, hurts, and fears--nothing held back. The characters were realistic in their reactions to the events and in their coping mechanisms.
The low-level suspense came from the mysterious break-ins at Emory's house and people's worries that the murderer might strike again. When the story ends, we still don't know the name of whodunit, but Emory has finally admitted the truth about herself to herself and started down her road of healing. It's a long, hard, and painful road for her to get to that point, and I suspect it's not going to be an easy road for her from this point on, either.
There was a Christian element--God is clearly involved in these character's lives and is pursuing a closer relationship with them. It didn't come across as one character preaching to another, though--it's more people loving each other like Christ loves us. There was a minor amount of "he swore" style and fake bad language. Emory did use drugs. There were no sex scenes. Overall, I'd recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Slow Burn, Defiance, Texas Series #2
This review is fromA Slow Burn: A Novel - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kelly
Location:Medford, OR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great book, I do wish the next one in the series was available as an e-book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Slow Burn, Defiance, Texas Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jan Roach
Almost as good as the first novel, but not quite. There was a time or two that I became almost depressed, but told myself that she WOULD come to know Jesus somewhere down the line. I am eagerly awaiting the third novel, which is on it's way to me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Slow Burn, Defiance, Texas Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Amy Lund
In this follow-up novel to Daisy Chain, DeMuth had found her groove. Editorially sound, this gripping story set in Defiance, TX takes readers into the beauty and pain of real-life, and will touch their hearts along the way. I highly recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Slow Burn, Defiance, Texas Series #2
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:January 3, 2010
Iam disappointed that the author did not reveal who killed Daisy in her second book. There was too much jumping back and forth from the past to the present, This second book A Slow Burn should have finished the story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Slow Burn, Defiance, Texas Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 31, 2009
1973. Defiance, Texas.Emory Chances 13-year-old daughter, Daisy, was kidnapped and murdered. After her funeral, Emorys sorrow is made more acute by feelings of self-recrimination. She hadnt been a model mother. Shes never been a model anything woman, wife, daughter, mother, or employee, and the whole town knows it. When the investigation into Daisys death closes before a perpetrator can be found and made to pay, Emory sinks further into overwhelming despair and addiction.Then someone begins stalking her. Moving things inside her house. Taking Daisys picture. Haunting Emory. Taunting her. Pushing her to the very edge of sanity and endurance.Only two people in Defiance seem to care much about Emorys state of mind or physical safety. Police Officer Spellman cares, but Emory figures hes just doing his job, taking care of folks in trouble. And Hixon Jones. A humble, Bible-thumping black man, Hixon does maintenance work on Emorys housewhether or not she asks for it, or even wants it. When Hixons best friend dies of cancer, his sorrow and a sense of duty toward that friends final wishes bring him ever closer to some kind of relationship with the beautiful, bitter woman he has always admired, but only from afar.Unspoken love. Shame. Forgiveness. Acceptance. Painful truth. Mary DeMuths second book in the Defiance, Texas trilogy brings them all into play. This talented author has the ability to reach deep into a readers heart and mind and leave her handprint forever imprinted thereon. As is to be expected from DeMuth, A Slow Burn is a tight, well-written tale packed with psychological nuances, shadowed with palpable human pain and heartache, and made bearable by an intricately woven thread that keeps the reader reminded of Gods constant love, even in the midst of tragedy and sorrow. I loved the first Defiance sory, Daisy Chain, and as a follow-up, A Slow Burn does not disappoint. Wonderful writing, an absolute must-read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Slow Burn, Defiance, Texas Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Heidi
A keep you rivited book. It is not helpful to start book if you have a lot of holiday stuff to do. Once you start you will not want to put it down. Artfully written.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Slow Burn, Defiance, Texas Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
Grace Emanuel
In "Daisy Chain" we were anxious to find the killer, but in this part of the trilogy it's different. Going through the pain with Emory Chance gives insight into another victim of Daisy's murder. It also teaches compassion from a viewpoint not often seen.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Slow Burn, Defiance, Texas Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Tina Ann Forkner, Author
Mary DeMuth has intertwined artful writing, a powerfully imagined plot, and characters that are startlingly human. A Slow Burn brims with a prevailing grace that abundantly covers even the most devastating of human regrets. DeMuth's novels just keep getting better. Tina Ann Forkner, author of Ruby Among Us and Rose House
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Slow Burn, Defiance, Texas Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 17, 2009
Dont let the title series fool you. You dont have to be a Texan to enjoy this book! I will admit I first misread the date; I was thinking it was a historical novel set in Texas, but it was set in 1977. A very fickled era of inter-racial situations, a lot of darkness with addictions and such. A very heavy read BUT I loved it! You can really feel the passion in this book the heart wrenching struggles of addictions and the joy of letting God take hold of your life. I think Mary did a great job with book and I really felt like I was there. I loved the depth of the characters and the pain she put into them. They were believeable and you just wanted to shake them silly!One of my favorite quotes is Death paralyzes saints and sinners alike.If youre looking for a different read that will wrench your heart into knots than scream out with joy this is your book! I was totally impressed with it. I give it a full five stars and than some!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Slow Burn, Defiance, Texas Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Christy Lockstein
A Slow Burn by Mary DeMuth is the second book in the Defiance, Texas trilogy. Emory Chance is "perfect in every way, but flawed to her marrow." Devastated after the disappearance and murder of her daughter Daisy, Emory can't forgive herself for not being the mother her daughter needed and deserved. Hixon Jones has determined to show Emory the love of God no matter how hard she pushes him away, eventually falling in love with her. Emory's spirit was broken again and again from childhood throughout her entire life: molested, abused by her malevolent mother, she's like a sack of broken glass: the shards are poking through, slicing anyone who comes near. DeMuth's writing is a revelation. Hixon's relationship with God is a beautiful message to every reader; his struggle at the police station to do the right thing resonates. How do we treat others? Do we speak the truth in love or does love cover a multitude of sins? She never gives a sermon in her books, and yet the reader can't help but close the back cover with a deeper and richer understanding of God and his love. DeMuth carefully renders a haunting portrait of a woman so haunted by her past sins that she can't see any way out from under them and makes Emory's incomprehensible actions understandable. This is a deeply moving and multi-layered story from a masterful author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A Slow Burn, Defiance, Texas Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
JS75
So many great comments are posted on this book, and I can't add much more. However, I urge everyone to read this great book! I have read all of Mary's books and could not wait to finish each one. She is such a gifted writer! I can't wait to read the third book in this series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for A Slow Burn, Defiance, Texas Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
tinaswede
This is the second book of fiction that I have read written by Mary DeMuth. Just like the first one, Daisy Chain, this one A Slow Burn kept me up all night, I simply could not put it down. Her character development is amazing, the descriptions of Defiance so real, I immediately feel transported to this slow town in hot Texas. I can almost hear the dialogues and the scents, sounds, the wind, the heat from the fire are so vivid, I truly feel I am right there and not in the comfort of my little house in CA. Mary has a way with words that make them jump off the page and become alive. It is a delight to read such well written work. I do not read a lot of fiction as most is so formulaic, and half way through the book I can usually predict the ending, not with Mary DeMuths fiction. Her characters are not black and white, good and evil, but a little of both and many shades of gray, much like most of humanity. I can easily identify, although reluctantly, with Jed, Hap, Emory, and Ousie, all of whom I share experiences and feelings with. The only one I wished I could identify with is Hixon but if I am truly honest with myself I have a long way to go to be like him. Although this is fiction, it forced me to think, to reflect, to readjust, to reconsider and redirect all the while keeping me at the edge of my seat as I followed the lives of the people in Defiance. Mary DeMuth shows that there is hope, there is redemption, and there is grace in this fallen world. This is a book that will force the reader to think, it will challenge common wisdom and conventions and it will vividly depict the immense and incredible love of Jesus. There is only one problem with this book, that the third book is not available yet. I cannot wait to learn what will happen to my friends in Defiance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for A Slow Burn, Defiance, Texas Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sherrie Ashcraft
What would you do if you were called to the morgue to identify the body of your thirteen-year-old daughter? What emotions would course through your soul as you were hit with the realization your drug and alcohol abuse may have played a part in the loss of your only child? What guilt might you attribute to her young friend, Jed, who was the last person to see her alive?Emory Chance is a mother living through such an unthinkable situation. She seeks to find out who murdered her daughter, and why. Things like this just don't happen in their small Texas town. Others deal with problems of their own: Hixon, a man who believes God has told him to marry Emory, though they have little in common, and Jed, the boy reeling under the regret of not walking his friend home after they had last played together. The lives of these three characters intersect in unusual ways, up to the last pages of the book.A Slow Burn is the sequel to Mary DeMuth's novel, Daisy Chain. It's important to read them in the correct order. Ms. DeMuth's writing is stellar--deep and flowing. The characters come alive and may remind you of people you've known in your past. Huge topics of forgiveness, regret, guilt, and blame are dealt with. This book will grab your emotions and give them a hard twist before leaving you with a satisfying ending. The two books would make a wonderful Christmas present. I give A Slow Burn one of my rare five-star ratings!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for A Slow Burn, Defiance, Texas Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Stella Mize
If you are looking for a story about God's Redeeming Love then take a journey to Defiance, Texas and meet Emory Chance. Emory has just lost her daughter, Daisy, to a horrible death. As she is trying to come to terms with her loss she must also deal with her past. Ms. DeMuth's depiction of each character is incredible. We are able to see inside the heart of each one; Emory's many regrets, Dixon's love and mercy, Jed's anger and resentment and Sissy's undeniable trust. Each character plays into the lives of each other so beautifully and just pulls you in. A "Slow Burn" by Mary E. DeMuth is a wonderful story of redemption. GOD is always willing and ready to meet us where we are and to pull us back to him.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for A Slow Burn, Defiance, Texas Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Suzanne Wesley
In a Slow Burn, main character Emory Chance is not only grieving the death of her daughter, Daisy, she is grieving the lost opportunity of 13 years that she squandered. She recounts every time she was asked by Daisy to hug her, tell her she loved her or to quit smoking pot. I tell my daughters I love them all the time, and I do hug them quite frequently, but I know that if I were in the same shoes as Emory I too would be regretting every lost opportunity to express it if my daughter were suddenly gone.Thats what had me in tears, waking my oldest daughter from her dreamy slumber to hold her closely! (She didnt seem to mind, or think me too insane anyway ...) I know that if a terrible accident were to take my child tomorrow I would regret ever saying I was too busy even if my reasons were to fix supper for everyone, rather than something more destructive like smoking pot. I would still feel the regret.Emory Chance sees the face of her mother, reflected onto her own, when she looks in the mirror the mother who never loved her, who either verbally abused her or neglected her entirely. Emory has become exactly the person whom she never wanted to be. Emory hates herself, and for much of this second book of this three-book series, she continues to spiral out of control hurting almost every person who tries to comfort her.She tries to lay the blame on Jed, her daughter Daisys best friend and the last person known to see her alive other than her kidnapper. However, she knows that she is just as much at fault because she let Daisy run around while she was strung out on drugs.I didnt like Emory at all in the first book, Daisy Chain, and I dont like her a lot in this book either but I think that is the point. Emory doesnt like what she has become either. Only at the very end do we see a glimpse of the Emory that God sees the child-like Emory that is full of wonder and promise so much like Daisy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for A Slow Burn, Defiance, Texas Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jean Hall
Mary DeMuth's newest book, A Slow Burn, is the second book in the Defiance Texas Trilogy. It is a moving story of unconditional love, sacrifice, and grace.In A Slow Burn we get to know Emory Chance whose life takes a slow but steady turn after her daughter, Daisy, is kidnapped and murdered. We watch as she sees God's unconditional love played out in her life through Hixon, who wants to marry Emory. As I read, I kept asking myself whether or not Hixon's love could bring Emory around to God's saving grace. Or would she lose herself completely in the drugs that haunted her like the heart-breaking memories of Daisy's unhappy life?Emory's story was touching, but I had difficulty getting into it. In the first half of the book I found it difficult to sympathize with Emory and to become fully engaged in the story. The truth is--I didn't like Emory Chance.Hixon was another matter. I liked Hixon, I sympathized with his struggle to know and do God's will in his relationship to Emory. And I felt his pain as he struggled with his own feelings for her.I found the second half of the book more engaging than the first half. And the ending was a total surprise to me. Mary did a great job of dropping subtle clues, but also dropping that twist in at the very end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for A Slow Burn, Defiance, Texas Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Carla Stewart
The second book in the Defiance Texas Trilogy takes us deep into the lives of Daisy Chances fragile, drug-addicted mother, Emory, and Jeds warm-hearted friend, Hixon, whose own life is marked by uncertainty and grief. From the storys opening with the discovery of Daisys body until the very last page, Mary paints a heart-wrenching picture of the colors of grief, the depths of regret and guilt, and the stranglehold that drugs have on Emory. There are breathlessly touching moments of grace in Emorys life as the reader is shown her inner struggle and the desperation she lives with each day. Doubts plague Hixon as he ministers faithfully to Emory even when nothing makes sense and his efforts seem futile. Mary endears her characters to the reader by making them real even with the quirks that set them apart from the other residents of Defiance, Texas. Redemption shines through the pages as we realize that every life is precious, that God has a plan even when we cant see it, and our job is to trust Him. I look forward to the final installment of this trilogy to find out what happens to these characters whove become like friends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for A Slow Burn, Defiance, Texas Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jeanne Noorman
This is Christian fiction at its best. Mary DeMuths characters struggle. They have problems, many that they have created for themselves, and there wont be a happily ever after ending for some of them. The reality of life is that some of us are not raised in loving Christian homes, and even Christian homes can have their dysfunctions. Life is hard. We're all human, and we all make mistakes.Emory Chance is living with the consequences of her mistakes. Her only daughter Daisy is dead, and Emory is left to pick up the pieces of her life. But what do you do with a life that is full of bad decisions? Where do you turn when the pastors hell and brimstone sermons are about you? How do you respond when you dont feel worthy of even the smallest kindness that come your way? In A Slow Burn DeMuth doesnt put a happy Jesus face on the problems or make them go away. She shows us the good and the bad in each of her characters. We see their strengths and their weaknesses. We see their struggles, their victories and their failures, and through her characters, we see ourselves more clearly. In A Slow Burn, as in the first book of the Defiance Texas Trilogy Daisy Chain, DeMuth gently helps us see that there is grace to cover guilt; there is healing for the hurt, and with faith you can face the future one day at a time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for A Slow Burn, Defiance, Texas Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Linda
Daisy had been missing for two months when Emory, Daisys mother, got word that Daisys body was found. Following her identification at the morgue and funeral, Emory tried to escape the loneliness and guilt by abusing drugs, wondering if her behaviors throughout Daisys childhood could possibly have made her partly responsible for her kidnapping. The trips mercilessly drug her through the pits of hell and back, taking her through deep, slow, burning torment in the depth of her being, with visions of Daisy and her past. Yet she kept returning again and again to escape.Hixon, the only black man in Defiance, had a traumatic childhood, unwanted by his mother. Muriel took him in as her adopted son and he cared for her throughout her days of cancer. Muriel told Hixon that he was to marry Emory, which he also believed was from God. He took on the role of protector of Emory from that day on. Then, on the back doorstep of Daisys funeral, Muriel passes away.Its during Muriels funeral that mysterious things begin to happen. Emory sees a man whom she thinks is Daisys killer. Her house is ransacked and Daisys picture is stolen. Shes chased home from work one night. Daisys second shoe is found sitting on Daisys bed. Daisys picture is returned. Yet no one could say who this man is or how he gets into Emorys house.What I appreciated was how well Mary described the indepth emotions of everyone with such clarity, which included past hurts, bad childhoods, bad attitudes, grieving, hopelessness, and vengeance. There is only One way, and Emory needed to find it. Will she? Was she willing? Would the killer get to her before she has a chance?Other things I liked about Marys book that really stood out for me was her poetic word pictures and how she would jump from first person to third person and back all within the span of a page or a chapter. Made you really reason out what was going on.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>