Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Life in Defiance, Defiance, Texas Series #3

Zondervan Life in Defiance, Defiance, Texas Series #3

Ouisie Pepper is haunted by a terrible secret: she knows who killed Daisy Chance. And she refuses to tell. As her children inch closer to identifying the murderer, Ouisie has to make a decision. Will she tell the truth to protect Jed and Sissy? Or will the anger she fears silence them all?
Average Customer Rating:
4.842 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Life in Defiance, Defiance, Texas Series #3
Review 1 for Life in Defiance, Defiance, Texas Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I couldn't wait!

Date:February 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Grace Emanuel
Location:Bronx, NY
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Life in Defiance" does not disappoint. The previous trilogy parts left the reader hungry for the next and the third satisfies the desire for closure. It's amazing how Ouisie Pepper lives in defiance while living in Defiance. Well done!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Life in Defiance, Defiance, Texas Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Barbara Crawford
I really enjoyed this third book in the series. I do like the way she writes. It was a cliff-hanger all the way. By the way, I met a real live Hap Pepper at least part of his personality! He was truly awful!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Life in Defiance, Defiance, Texas Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 26, 2010
I read all three books of the Defiance Texas Trilogy as they were released. I know the story is too long to be one book, but it was hard to wait for the next installment so to speak. New readers will not have this same situation as all three are available now.I have read mystery/suspense from a young age. And I have a knack of suspision and figuring out "who done it." But this series had me puzzled throughout. Mary DeMuth is a gripping story teller and by the end of the story the loose ends are tied up and the ending was satisfying.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Life in Defiance, Defiance, Texas Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 16, 2010
The whole town of Defiance, Texas would like to know what Ouisie Pepper knows. But Ouisie is good at keeping her mouth shut. Shes done it her whole life, especially as the battered wife of Defiances minister, Hap Pepper.Her best friend, Emory Chance, once had an affair with Ouisies preacher husband. Without Emory and the bottle hidden in Ouisies bedroom, life would be unbearable for the reverends wife. Emory is one of only a few who know about Haps violent tendencies. One of the few Ouisie trusts with that knowledge. Ouisies children know. Theyve witnessed it, been on the receiving end of it. Sissy has a lisp and is growing old before shes grown. Jed, already bitter after the death of his friend Daisy, grows angrier and more belligerent as his mother refuses to protect herself or her children from Hap. But Ouisie guards her husband's reputation because, as an imperfect wife, surely his fits of temper are her fault.Life is spinning out of control. Shes on a collision course with disaster, and too afraid to take the reins and stop the headlong rush. Will she find courage before her world crashes in around herbefore her children are forever destroyed by life and Hap's cruelty?Life in Defiance is the third and final book in the Defiance, Texas trilogy. Mary DeMuth is a master at capturing human emotion and pouring it onto a written page. My heart bled as Ouisie suffered under Haps heavy hand and heartless comments. My heart cried for Jed and Sissy as they cringed beneath their fathers temper and their mothers inability to fight back. I longed to comfort Emory, who lived with not only her daughters murder, but her own failure as a mother prior to Daisys death. No one creates emotion like DeMuth. Absolutely unforgettable.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Life in Defiance, Defiance, Texas Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
LaJoyce Shrom
Mary DeMuth's masterful artistry of words have made their presence known in the conclusion of this trilogy once again.This story of a family has suspense mounting many times as Mary's words depict a family left out to dry as Ouisie Pepper endures the unmerciful tyrant of a husband and father that dares to call himself a preacher. Her description of the verbal and physical abuse can make a reader cry in sympathy for the victim and have revenge etched in their brain for the perpetrator.The story is set in a era of your imagination that would make a reader see what goes on behind closed doors and affects a whole town that could either bring a healing or a death.The killer of Daisy Chain must be realized in this third book and the end cannot be read until the whole is completed.LaJoyce Shrom, authorLearning About LifeRevealed Secret
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Life in Defiance, Defiance, Texas Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Angela
I had never read any of Mary DeMuth's books until this series came to my attention. I honestly didn't know what I was missing. Mary is they type of author that grabs you from the first phrase and keeps you wrapped completely in the stories she tells until the very last syllable. Life In Defiance is the final book of the Defiance trilogy telling the story of the horrifying murder of Daisy Chance and its reprecussions to not only her family but the towns people around them. Ouisie Pepper, knows who killed Daisy and refuses to tell, she doesn't even let anyone else know that she knows. As things escalate, Ouisie is confronted with difficult decisions all the way around. Trying to save an impossible marriage by becoming the perfect wife, keeping her children from learning the truth, and being the best friend, confidant to Daisy's mom Emory all take Ouisie on a path of deep introspection and she learns more than she ever bargained for about herself. Laced with suspense and intrigue Life in Defiance shows how God's mercy, and grace are intertwined in our every moment even when we don't notice them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Life in Defiance, Defiance, Texas Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
murjoyd
In a town she personifies, Ouisie Pepper wrestles with her own defiance. Desperate to become the wife and mother her husband Hap demands, Ouisie pours over a simple book about womanhood, constantly falling short, but determined to improve.Through all that self-improvement, Ouisie carries a terrible secret: she knows who killed Daisy Chance. As her children inch closer to uncovering the killers identity and Haps rages roar louder and become increasingly violent, Ouisie has to make a decision. Will she protect her children by telling her secret? Or will Haps violence silence them all?Set on the backdrop of Defiance, Texas, Ouisies journey typifies the choices we all facewhether to tell the truth about secrets and fight for the truth or bury them forever and live with the violent consequences.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Life in Defiance, Defiance, Texas Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cafe Lily Book Reviews
Life in Defiance is the third book in the Defiance Texas Trilogy. If you havent read the first two books, I think it would be helpful (though not necessary) to read those before reading this one in order to get a better idea of the character backgrounds. The storyline is so intense, complex and interesting that I think having the knowledge from the first two books makes this book even richer for the reader. Mary DeMuth is one of my favorite authors and once again drew me completely into the story and made me feel like I was really there.Read more reviews here:http://blogtourspot.com/defiance-tour/defiance-tour-stops
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Life in Defiance, Defiance, Texas Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Nikole Hahn
Life In Defiance left me in a vague disquiet. When I closed the book, I didnt know whether I wanted to cry or celebrate with Ouisie in her well deserved triumph. I recall getting ready for bed, brushing my teeth, and chewing over the story in my head because I couldnt shake the emotions it left with me.In book one, Daisy Chain, Daisy Chance abruptly disappears. 14-year old Jed Pepper searches for answers. In book two, A Slow Burn, Emory Chance grieves and struggles with a vision of who killed her daughter, Daisy. Now in book three, Ouisie struggles because she thinks she knows who killed Daisy. Ouisie is the wife of pastor in the towns small community church. She struggles with her secrets, her anger, and struggles to do the right thing by her abusive husband.I felt as if I were reading the pages of a book right out of some of my friends lives. There were times when I couldnt seem to catch my breath as I struggled right along with Ouisie. The book is written from Ouisies perspective. She talks about the voices in her head berating her for not living up to the perfect wife, for not doing anything good, and for defying God. Her pastor husband is not only the head pastor of the church, but he seems to own the church. Everyone knows Ouisie is abused, but no one wants to go up against the pastor. The pastor uses Gods Word to further break her spirit.(To read more go to www.thehahnhuntinglodge.com)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Life in Defiance, Defiance, Texas Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 5, 2010
I usually say a little prayer before I start a book review. I always try to do my best when talking about the books I read. Authors work so hard at crafting their stories and I feel it is important for me to ask for Gods guidance when writing a review. I needed some extra help for this review because I just dont know where to start.I suppose the best place to start is with the overall feeling I had while reading Life in Defiance. I dont know how Mary does it, but despite the tension and painful subject matter of this book, there is a tremendous amount of peace and grace that can be felt especially during the most difficult times in the story. The entire Defiance Texas series has been that way and I feel that this third and final book is a perfect ending to a tragic journey for this group of people. Mary never fails to remind readers of Gods grace and healing as she lets us into the world of Defiance, Texas.Ouisie Pepper is a very interesting character and I really enjoyed this book being told from her perspective. I also liked how she was written in the first person and actually addresses the reader throughout the story. That was a unique approach and one I liked very much.I will not soon forget the people and events that make up Defiance, Texas. I was really pulled into their world and even though I have finished Life in Defiance, I feel like a part of me is still there. Im sure that feeling will last for a while. Mary DeMuth is a tremendously talent author who continues to captivate me. My prayer is that this review has done the book justice and readers will find the love of Jesus that Mary has shared beautifully.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Life in Defiance, Defiance, Texas Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jodi Whisenhunt
As Ouisie Peppers mysterious new friend, Elijah, observes of her, Ouisie has prisons aplenty. To Haps abuse, to the knowledge of Daisys killer, and to alcohol addiction Ouisie remains captive. But what grieves her most is her disobedience to the Lord. The Voice beckons her to baptism, for only by dying to herself will she be set free from her burdens. But she consistently resists. Ouisie confesses, All I know is that someone seems to be watching me out behind the woods, Shebas bent on fixing me, and Haps not going to be thrilled with the state of the house when he gets home. Its all too much, really. Too much for a woman to bear. All the secrets she holds inside drag her down and hold her under. They stifle her, suffocate her hope. She fears releasing her secrets will unleash a torrent and send [her] drowning on a river [she] never knew was there. Ousies longing to make God smile outweighs her fears, though. Justice. Finally.Readers of Life in Defiance, Mary DeMuths third book in the Defiance Texas Trilogy, anguish in Ouisie Peppers hesitance to expose Daisys killer, reel from the blows of Haps fists, and sighing relief, revel at her release from burdensome secrecy. Read all three in the series and find it is better to reveal truth than to live with the consequences of burying it forever.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Life in Defiance, Defiance, Texas Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Edwina Cowgill
When one is a published author, each succeeding published book is expected to be bettergreaterthan the last one. Mary E. DeMuth has not only exceeded that expectation, she has soared above all expectations in Life in Defiance.I have read Book One, "Daisy Chain," and Book Two, "A Slow Burn", in the Defiance Texas Trilogy. Both books were well-written, insightful and thought-provoking. Both books had that stick-to-your-ribs quality the characters, theme and learned lessons stayed with me long after I had finished reading.Book Three, "Life in Defiance," touched a chord in me that very few books have ever done. I believe it will touch a cord in every woman who reads it. Not that this is a book just for women men can benefit from reading it as well. But there is something about the main character, Ouisie Pepper, with which most women will easily identifyher continual work on self-improvement and her constant struggle for perfection. We follow Ouisie on her path towards perfection only to discover, as if we didnt already know, there is no such thing as perfection in a human being. Jesus is the only Perfect One.There is another important lesson learned in this book. To reveal a truth or live a liewhich brings me back to perfection. Are we not living a lie when we pretend to be perfect?"Life in Defiance" is full of forgiveness, reconciliation and hope. It shows us that we cannot continually live a lie. We must reveal the truth before forgiveness can occur. And forgiveness must happen before there is a chance at reconciliation and hope.Ms. DeMuth has taken fiery emotions and provocative words and woven them together into a quilt with characters who will insinuate themselves into your heart and mind and a message that will change your life
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Life in Defiance, Defiance, Texas Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 27, 2010
I so looked forward to reading this book for long time, waiting to find out who murdered Daisy Chance. I thought I knew who it was, and figured my guess would be confirmed after finishing the book. I joined the 0% group those folks who have guessed the perpetrator and were wrong. After reading the book, however, it was no longer my greatest desire to know.What piqued my interest and shocked me throughout the book is the domestic violence between Hap and Ouisie. Ive never been around anyone personally going through this type of circumstance, so it came as a shock to my senses. The behaviors and excuses, followed by apologies, are typical of abusive relationships Ive seen on TV. But it was Marys in-depth descriptions of the emotions and violence that made it so much more real and personal.The desperation of Ouisie trying to perfect her behaviors, using a self-help book for women, so that Haps anger wouldnt explode defied my understanding. Yet I know it happens every day to millions of women. Is anyone responsible for someone elses anger and violent behavior?The other basis of the storyline is choosing to disclose the truth at the prospect of rejection/betrayal or covering it up forever to keep the status quo and suffering further consequences of a murderer at large. The way Mary describes the crisis of disclosure for Ouisie while in the throes of her domestic issues was done in a heart-wrenching manner.Mary is the queen of redemptive prose. Be sure to read Daisy Chain and A Slow Burn before tackling this book. This book was provided free from Zondervan in exchange for my honest review. My thanks to Mary and Zondervan for this privilege to suggest a great set of books to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Life in Defiance, Defiance, Texas Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jan Coates
A novel written in present tense, first person? Yes! Fasten your safety belt before reading Life in Defiance. This fast paced, yet thorough and deep, novel is filled with masterfully crafted twists and turns that grab readers by the heart, beginning with the first sentence of Chapter One and ending with the surprise close on the last page. Mary DeMuth is more than a gifted storyteller or a superb writer--she's a bright light with a life-changing message of hope, redemption, forgiveness, transformation, and grace. I'm sure you'll agree that's a universal message we could all use! If you're a counselor, a pastor, a friend of someone with secrets, or a survivor of life's dirty little secrets, I highly recommend you read DeMuth's Defiance Texas Trilogy. You'll experience real-life issues that plague every community as well as the One and only solution. Before I pass my copies of the Defiance Texas Trilogy to my church library, I'm going to reread them for the simple joy of absorbing finely-tuned characters, skillfully crafted plot and lyrical prose that waltzes into my soul. Buy the trilogy . . . you will be blessed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Life in Defiance, Defiance, Texas Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Carole Ledbetter
Ouisie Pepper knows who killed Daisy Chance. But readers will have to wait until the end of the book. And no fair peeking!Prepare yourself for adventure as you rejoin Ouisie and Hap Pepper, their son, Jed; daughter, Sissy, and other residents of the small town of Defiance, Texas, in this third book in the Defiance Texas Trilogy, by Mary E. DeMuth. Mary DeMuth keeps readers guessing what will happen next, as she explores the difficult topics of abuse, murder, spirituality, infidelity, forgiveness and alcoholism in the intertwining lives of her quirky characters. Having read the two earlier books in the trilogy, I found this one the most intriguing. As in previous books, DeMuth employs striking metaphors throughout the book. Her prose is delightful! Her message, says DeMuth, is that, that authentic, gritty faith is the kind that changes the world.We follow Ousie in her quest to become the perfect wife to her abusive pastor husband, Hap, and the perfect mother to her daughter, Sissy, and son, Jed. Ousie elicits advice from Sheba Nelson, author of The Godly Womans Guide to Marriage, who surprises her with a personal visit.All the while, Ousie battles her own demons of addiction, grief and fear, finally finding the courage to begin facing herself and God, with the help of the mysterious, Elijah. I found Elijah the most unlikely character in the book. He is the one character, among all the others, who didnt fit for me.I might have had difficulty picking up on the story line if I hadnt read the previous books in the trilogy. But Life in Defiance, Ouisie, Hap, Jed, Sissy, Emory, Ethrea Ree, and the cast of many others will live in my memory for a long, long time. I thoroughly enjoyed this book.Reviewed by Carole LedbetterMay 22, 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Life in Defiance, Defiance, Texas Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Melissa Mashburn
Oh.My.Word...never in a million years would I imagine that a book series would completely captivate me and have me completely clinging to the pages of my book.This series, the Defiance Texas Trilogy, is absolutely one of the most gut wrenching book series I have ever read.I went on an emotional roller coaster reading the books, The Daisy Chain, A Slow Burn, and now the last book in the series called "Life in Defiance".Mary DeMuth has completely out done herself with this series and I can't wait to watch what God does in it and through it.Don't just pickup this book go ahead and get the entire series...you won't regret it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Life in Defiance, Defiance, Texas Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
tinaswede
Sleepless in CaliforniaNo that is no the title of Mary DeMuths most recent book, the third book in the Defiance Texas Trilogy series, the title is Life in Defiance; yet like the two previous in this trilogy, the book kept me up at night. I simply cannot put it down. It is impossible to read Life in Defiance and not feel transported there, hearing the noises, seeing the sights, feeling the coolness of the night. Reading Marys writing is like reading a movie. The characters are complex, multi dimensional just like humans are in real life. There is nobody perfect, nobody completely evil, not even the toughest character is completely void of kind moments. It is so refreshing to dive into a novel when the author does not shy away from the complexity of the human heart. Mary poses questions that are found deep in the human heart, questions that require thought, reflection and introspective. Although a novel it, deals with difficult subjects, the effects of war, the dark secrets that play out behind close doors, the phoniness of the faade we put on as we enter the world and especially at church on Sunday mornings, the loss of dreams. Just like the characters complexity, these are not subjects with clear cut solutions and formulae answers, not subjects often discussed and dealt with in the public square. Mary is not afraid to tear away the veil of secrecy and shame to expose sin for what it is, sin. She does not shy away from uncomfortable topics, and she accurately depicts the coward behavior and lazy attitude that is so much easier to take rather than tangle with the sin, name it, reveal it, and eradicate it. She describes the hurt, the pain, the sorrow and the consequences of sin without condemnation and or the arrogance that is so common from Christian authors; there is no sense of holier than thou in her writing, just raw, real and authentic emotions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Life in Defiance, Defiance, Texas Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jeanette Morris
In my review of the first book of Mary DeMuths Defiance Texas Trilogy, I asked the question: why are people in Defiance so defiant? Now I know the answersecrets. So many secretsso much pain and grief because of them. And isnt that just like us? There lies the beauty of Mary DeMuths "Life in Defiance." She writes relevant fictionstories that mean something. In the case of this book, her impeccable writing sucked me right into the inner world of Ouisie Pepper and held me there until all the secrets holding Defiance, Texas, captive could come up for air and dissipate into the breezes of another sweet-smelling Texas spring. I identified with Ouisie and the despair caused by all the secrets she tried to stuff behind the church pew and in her secret stash of booze in the flower vase (although I never drank vanilla extract!). I also cheered for Emory Chance (previously not one of my favorite characters) as she rose out of the proverbial ashes, found redemption and forgiveness, and then was able to offer it sacrificially. And yes, we find out who killed Daisy Chance. But Im not going to spoil that one for you. I will say that we get to know him before we know his identity . . . and that was, for me, an unexpected treat as I stayed up later and later pursuing the ending, but wishing the story wouldnt end. Too bad CBDs highest rating is only a 5. This book deserves a 6! From the first chapter, which in my estimation qualifies for one of the top 10 best first chapters EVER, to the last, somewhat mysterious sentence, I found not a single flaw. Mary delivered far beyond my high expectations. This trilogy is not to be missed, and I believe that any discerning reader will be changed in some (good) way because of reading these stunning stories.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Life in Defiance, Defiance, Texas Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Donna Collins Tinsley
Life in Defiance: A Novel (Defiance Texas Trilogy) (Paperback) I was torn between wanting the savor the book as I knew it was the last one in the Defiance Texas Trilogy and hurry up and finish so I could see who killed Daisy Chance. It was so hard to put down and go about what I needed to do during the day; my reward was coming back to the book as often as I could. I will savor it the second reading. I love everything that Mary E DeMuth has written! I will always be a fan of her writing, her overcoming spirit and her fiction story telling.Daisy Chain (Defiance Texas Trilogy, Book 1) A Slow Burn (Defiance Texas Trilogy, Book 2) must be read first, although there is enough background for this to be a stand-alone book. But you don't want to miss a word that Mary has written. Powerful, scorching, melodic and spiritual words that will sear your soul.I will always love Mary's characters and Hixon is still my favorite but Emory grew to be a close second. Strange how things can change from the first book to the second. And in Life in Defiance she became a woman after my own heart.Perhaps it was a bit harder for me to read this one as I lived through seeing my own mother abused horribly when I was a young child. Not only her, but I still remember the purple welts on my brother's back. Maybe I didn't want to read deeply and find those memories and flashbacks are still deep within me; forgiven but who could forget memories like those?I so love this trilogy that I had to email Zondervon Publisher and ask: Why would you let Mary end with only 3 books when the story's characters call out to be elaborated on in many other books; Defiance, Texas trilogy surely is only a beginning? Mary's readers are crying for more.Mary, you are a magnificent writer and I feel you deep in my soul. I only wish I could buy all your books for all my friends and family. Blessings, peace and fruitfulness I pray for you and yours.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.