Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Chosen Books Confronting Jezebel: Discerning and Defeating the Spirit of Control / Revised - eBook

Chosen Books Confronting Jezebel: Discerning and Defeating the Spirit of Control / Revised - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
3.778 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
3
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 out of 978%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Confronting Jezebel: Discerning and Defeating the Spirit of Control / Revised - eBook
Review 1 for Confronting Jezebel: Discerning and Defeating the Spirit of Control / Revised - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Balanced discussion of a challenging topic

Date:September 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Josi
Location:Baker City, OR
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
“Confronting Jezebel” by Steve Sampson is a balanced discussion of a topic that I used to cringe about as a teen. Maybe it was just the circle that I grew up in, but back in the 90’s “Jezebel spirit” seemed to be a phrase that generally got thrown at any woman who was perceived as some kind of threat to the old established church order. Perhaps that’s why I couldn’t quite decide if I wanted to read this book or not. I am thankful that I did, however, as I appreciated not only Sampson’s balanced perspective – (a Jezebel can be either male or female) – but the helpful insights on how a Jezebel operates, how to avoid falling for his or her schemes, and how to confront a person who truly is a Jezebel.
Sampson did a great job using engaging stories that demonstrate how a Jezebel spirit can operate through people, in relationships, and within churches. He clearly delineated between a control freak and a Jezebel- those who struggle with wanting to be in control of their own life and have difficulty surrendering to God versus those who want to control other people’s lives, and its critical to keep this clarification in mind as you read, because you’ll find yourself thinking of every remotely controlling person you know (yourself included) and wondering if they’re perhaps a “Jezebel.” After reading this book I can definitively say I have had experience with at least two very real “Jezebels” (and unfortunately have seen firsthand the devastation they can cause) and this book did help me understand some of the methods that Jezebels use to control and manipulate others, and how I can protect myself from getting sucked into those traps. I also appreciated how Sampson challenged the reader at the end of each chapter to take time to pray and examine areas where he or she may be operating under a Jezebel spirit; that was helpful and needed, as it was all to easy to contemplate the traits of other people I knew without looking inward and assessing myself.
Be warned though, that there are a number of instances where the author took shortcuts in addressing theologically tricky issues or he simply avoided them altogether. For instance, while I don’t argue with the premise, I felt that Sampson failed to give a thorough explanation for how a true Christian can be completely carnally minded and vulnerable to demonic strongholds in her life (pg. 30). That’s a huge theological issue that deserves more than a casual paragraph. The reader should not be expected to just accept that it is so, on the contrary, the author should be expected to take the time to make the case for how a Christian can be born-again and yet be altogether spiritually blinded. Along these lines Sampson doesn’t address how a Christian can be completely controlled by a demonic spirit. When he points out that you can’t just cast out a Jezebel spirit, and that he’s rarely seen a person completely delivered from one (because it becomes so much a part of one’s personality), this leads to more questions, such as the discussion of what exactly the Jezebel spirit is. Is it a demon? A principality? What’s the difference between the two? These issues are not succinctly clarified. In chapter 3 Sampson essentially equates every form of immorality in our society today to the Jezebel spirit, with the result that the Jezebel spirit pretty much cancels out Satan and any other demonic influence. My final criticism is that Sampson has a habit of making a theological statement and then inserting a random scripture that is remotely related to his point – or he inserts the scripture as if it makes the point without further discussion. Yes, you could accuse me of being too nitpicky, but it felt arbitrary, as opposed to being a purposeful use of Scripture in context as a foundation for his argument. But let’s end on a positive. Should you read this book? Yes – and yes especially if, like me you grew up with the feeling that the church elders were whispering “Jezebel” behind the back of every woman who desired that God use them as more than a body on a pew. Its time for a healthier perspective of what this spirit really is. Yes too, if you are in the clutches of a manipulative user and you don’t know what to do. And yes, by all means yes, you should read this book of you know that you are the manipulative user and God is calling you to confront it and repent.
I received a complimentary copy of this book for review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Confronting Jezebel: Discerning and Defeating the Spirit of Control / Revised - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Lacking Compassion

Date:August 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
luv2readjen
Location:Lisle, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This useful book was intriguing. I had never read the first version, so I can’t comment on the expansion/revision aspect of it, but I can say it was definitely an eye opening experience to read of the ways in which this “Jezebel Spirit” can and has attacked the church and Christians, even while claiming to be one. The anecdotes of real individuals who have been (or continue to be) persecuted in this way were powerful and real. The descriptions of the personality traits and the woundedness that leaves someone vulnerable to this kind of spirit were also revealing.
However, there were some real challenges for me as I read this book. The idea that there are real evils that are grappling with Christians is not up for debate – that is very true. What I took issue with was the way in which Sampson describes dealing with this foe. He argues that it is not the same as a tangible demon that can be cast from a person, it is more a personality or character flaw that must be dealt with in human experience. Further, while he discusses this as spiritual warfare, he spends little time advocating that God’s power to deal with such individuals far outstrips our own, and that while we can make assertions and challenges on a human relationship level, God must ultimately convict and transform the heart of the Jezebel in question.
I also felt as though some of the stories and characterizations were redundant. Covering the Ahab portions included much rehashing of the Jezebel spirit, and I felt that some of this content was a little repetitive with earlier sections of the book. I did appreciate the prayers for guidance throughout, and the need to help some see how disastrous and conniving this type of spiritual poison can be. I was, though, a little disturbed by the lack of forgiveness, and even to a certain extent, the very real bitterness, that seemed to flow from the pages. God clearly tells us to love our enemies and pray for those who persecute us. This book seems intent on pointing out flaws, describing an administrative method for dealing with the issues, but lacks the compassion that must be part of the package as well. Those who would harm the church must be dealt with, but in such a way to not presume they are beyond the Lord’s help. That theme felt prevalent in the book, and while I get that this is a very dangerous adversary, it is not our place to presume that certain circumstances require other than a Great Commandment response. When we do, we have let the enemy defeat us in another way.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Confronting Jezebel: Discerning and Defeating the Spirit of Control / Revised - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

informative and easy to understand

Date:July 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
julies
Location:Prairie du Chien, WI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Confronting Jezebel is an informative, easy to understand book on the Jezebel spirit in our lives but also within the church with guidance on how to respond to those who possess this controlling/demonic spirit.
Very helpful to have Biblical references available as we try to deal with this issue.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Confronting Jezebel: Discerning and Defeating the Spirit of Control / Revised - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Confront Jezebel- PRAY - Keep an Open Mind

Date:July 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lori
Location:Mt. Pleasant, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a heavy book in many ways...it is something that you need to pray about...pray through...and realize that even if you don't believe in a "Jezebel Spirit" there are truly people out there with the characteristics listed in this book that manipulate and destroy other peoples lives and their ministries.
This is not a book to read straight through. Please stop and meditate on the things being said and pray over them. Ask the Holy Spirit to show you truth...remember the truth will set you free.
If you see things about yourself or others in this book...repent if it is about yourself...get an accountability partner...and ask your Pastor to help you walk through it...if it is about someone else...pray for them...believe me they need all the prayers they can get, as well as all of us do.
This has been an enlightening book for me...and I hope you grow as you read...i am not going to say you will enjoy this book..because it is heavy and serious...but you can grow...and we all need to grow closer to Christ and to become more like HIM!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Confronting Jezebel: Discerning and Defeating the Spirit of Control / Revised - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sampson discusses Deliah but calls her Jezebel

Date:July 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
mary
Location:nc
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a great book. But would have better been named, Sampson confronts Deliah because that is exactly what it is and what it does.
What Sampson says is true, but I know a Christian who admits to struggles with the thirst for power and after having gotten to know her I find that to be an honest admission on her part. She says you have to learn how to 'let go and let God' and shes 100% right. And that is what Sampson is trying so round about to say! Let go of the thirst for power and let God control you and your life!
The bulk of the book is devoted to discussing what the Jezebel demonic spirit looks like, as in controlling, manipulative etc. The end of the book offers help and its brief; yes because it is a simple fix!!! Pray, ask God to help; let go and let God. Its that simple.
I received a free copy of this book ffrom Chosen Books for writing a review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Confronting Jezebel: Discerning and Defeating the Spirit of Control / Revised - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Control Freak or Jezebel?

Date:June 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Paula Greene
Location:Kansas
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Do you worry or feel anxious when things are out of your control? You may be a control freak. Do you get angry when you aren’t in control? Are you ambitious, independent, critical, boastful, self-centered, volunteer for everything, manipulate to get your way, play the drama queen, love to vent, and use self pity to gain sympathy? Or does this describe someone in your life? Then you, or they, might be operating under the influence of a Jezebel spirit, according to Steve Sampson in this book.
Steve Sampson shares chapter after chapter of stories of people who possess a Jezebel spirit to the extreme and the havoc they reap in people’s lives in business, in culture, and especially the church. While the illustrations seem extreme and leave you feeling disturbed that people could act like this, it is not hard to perhaps find some aspect of the characteristics in yourself or a key person in your life. Each chapter ends in a prayer that points you inward to repent of any Jezebel-like tendencies.
By the last chapter, I was desperate for the answer - how do I free myself from the cycle of manipulation at the hands of others? The final chapter was way too short, truncated, and lacking in illustrations. Throughout most of the book, Steve Sampson details the characteristics of a Jezebel and the destruction it causes with proliferous illustrations, but he ended abruptly with simplified solutions in the last few pages. By attributing it to a demonic spirit, the author seems to excuse the person from their behavior and doesn’t offer much hope for change in his examples, but his answers in the last few pages did offer hope, though illustrations were lacking.
Whether or not you believe controlling people are ruled by an actual demonic spirit, this book is at least interesting and opens up the eyes to the deceit in your own heart and more understanding of the behaviors of others.
Disclaimer: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Chosenin exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Confronting Jezebel: Discerning and Defeating the Spirit of Control / Revised - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Jezebel or Jaded

Date:June 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Danni
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was very excited to read this book, because I have read other book in the past about Jezebel. While I found this book to be an easy read and not over the top there were a few issues with it. But first the good:
I liked the way it read, easy and informative. Sampson was very clear in defining what the Jezebel spirit was. He had a decent amount of scripture to back up his argument but I wish there was a little more. I was relieved to see that not only did Sampson making it easier to identify the Jezebel spirit but what you should do when confronted with it. I did like how he didn't just make it her fault but that she was consumed with things other than God.
Although I did have a few minor issues. While I did enjoy the examples that help identify the Jezebels in our life, the argument seemed one sided. It felt as if Sampson was expressing hurt feeling rather than looking at it from an objective point of view. I did feel Sampson did rely a little much on his own personal experiences.
Overall a good book. I would hand it out to my friends that are rooted in the word, not so much new believers.
I received this book from Chosen Publishing in exchange for my honest review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Confronting Jezebel: Discerning and Defeating the Spirit of Control / Revised - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Confronting Jezebel by Steve Sampson

Date:June 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
cathy
Location:Kansas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Confronting Jezebel by Steve Sampson is a book describing the Jezebel spirit which is a demonic spirit of control. It further describes how to recognize the Jezebel spirit in one’s own self as well in those around you. It has strategies for how to bring it under control in the church and in the life of the people of the church and come under the control of the Holy Spirit in order to do God’s Holy work. It tells how to protect yourself and free yourself from those of the Jezebel spirit as well as strategies to expose others with the Jezebel spirit and get yourself free from them. It further details how to educate those who are of the Jezebel spirit and how to rid themselves of this demon spirit.
Confronting Jezebel does a better job as a self help book on recognizing the Jezebel spirit within yourself and how to free yourself from those tendencies than as a book for how to rid yourself of others with those tendencies. It comes off as preachy in that regard. Mr. Sampson comes off as a know it all who evidently only has friends who have been demonized by Jezebel. I read the revised and expanded version and maybe should have read the unexpanded version as even though it was short at 191 pages, it seemed it could have been shorter and still told all that it said. I would give this book only an average rating.
I received this book from Chosen for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Confronting Jezebel: Discerning and Defeating the Spirit of Control / Revised - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Gain greater discernment read this book

Date:June 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Wendy Gorski
Location:Happy Valley, Oregon
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What’s the difference between a control freak and someone influenced by the demonic spirit Jezebel? This book will answer that question.
How do you manage a relationship with a controlling, manipulative, self-serving, narcissist who’s bent on destroying your reputation, relationships and career? This book will provide you the tools to navigate such abusive individuals.
The author writes clearly, distinctly and provides examples from his ministry that help to clarify the behaviors of this spirit. His list of forty characteristics helps to define how the spirit operates. I find this list a great tool that equips those of us who have family, friends and coworkers under the Jezebel spirit to navigate these relationships and maintain our own sanity.
What I appreciated about the author most was his reminders that those who are under this demonic spirit are wounded and hurting. By providing how a person comes under the control of Jezebel one can have both compassion and discernment. He calls us to confront evil but do so while loving the individual.
Once I started reading this book, I could not put it down. It helped me to have a greater depth of understanding not just for those individuals who are controlling and manipulative, but also for the dysfunction I see in the church and the toxic culture of our society.
Ever been deceived, manipulated or controlled and wondered what was happening? Have you ever had someone twist the facts, make up lies about you who when confronted claimed to be the victim? Then this book is for you.
I received a copy of Confronting Jezebel from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for this honest review. This book has been a tremendous blessing to me. Thank you.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.