Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Conspiracy in Kiev, Russian Trilogy Series #1

Zondervan Conspiracy in Kiev, Russian Trilogy Series #1

A shrewd investigator and an expert marksman, Special Agent Alexandra LaDuca can handle any case the FBI gives her. Or can she? Connecting the dots between an assassination attempt in Ukraine, a murder in Paris, and a brutal attack on a remote village in South America takes Alex on a dangerous puzzle-solving, soul-searching journey that changes her forever.
Average Customer Rating:
3.714 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
4
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Conspiracy in Kiev, Russian Trilogy Series #1
Review 1 for Conspiracy in Kiev, Russian Trilogy Series #1
This review is fromConspiracy in Kiev - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great story!! A real pageturner!!

Date:January 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
midwestmom
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spy novels usually arent my thing, but this was a terrific book. Lots of twist and turns with engaging characters. Eager for the next book in the trilogy!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Conspiracy in Kiev, Russian Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:June 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Aleisha Vinson
I found this book unfit to be considered Christian. Just because people believe there is a God out there doesn't qualify them for Christianity. Not only was it more graphic in violence, it also contained drunkennes and profanity (by the "Christian".) I was definitely disappointed that it was even marketed by Zondervan and CBD. Even the secular market carries better books than this.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Conspiracy in Kiev, Russian Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
brknhrt
During the preparation for a United States presidential trip to Ukraine, Department of Treasury Special Agent Alexandra LaDuca was approached by the Secret Service for a special assignment. Her assignment was to keep an eye on organized crime leader Yuri Federov. Although conflicted, she accepted the job that would be a challenge to her both professionally and personally. Before the action ends, Part Two of the book changes the location and Alex finds and uneasy alliance.Conspiracy in Kiev is the first in this trilogy of international intrigue. I read these out of order, and although each of them was perfect as a standalone book, the three of them together are captivating.Alex is a smart woman of faith who can handle herself well in tough situations. The locations in the book are well described, so I had a sense of being there with the action. The characters are interesting and there is ample information to get to know and understand them. There is a perfect blend of narration and conversation without either being overdone. Plenty of action and adventure held my interest until the end.Although Alex is a person of faith. Her feelings of conflict in her faith and moral dilemmas are worked out in the book, but she is far from a perfect person. I highly recommend this book for anyone who enjoys a good thriller, adventure, and story of international intrigue.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Conspiracy in Kiev, Russian Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:January 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Hershel Clark
I thought that the book was fairly interesting, but by no means great. I got this book at a discount bookstore and am glad that I didn't pay full price for it. I don't usually review books , but this one was so offensive that I could not keep guite. There is entirely too much profanity for a book that is being marketed to Christians. Also, the drinking of alcohol is presented as normal Christian activity. I definetly would not recommend this book. And I am disappointed that CBD would even carry It.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Conspiracy in Kiev, Russian Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Carol Schultz
I really enjoyed "Conpiracy in Kiev" It kept me on the edge of my seat. I didn't want to put it down. I just started "Midnight in Madrid" that is how much I enjoyed this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Conspiracy in Kiev, Russian Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Natalie Hernandez
I love this series. The series is about a smart young woman (late 20's, I think) who works for the US Govertment in the area of international financial fraud. In the course of her work she meets love, tragedy, challenge to her morals and faith, as well as the physical dangers of her job. She operates in a tough world and there is some tough talk and violent action which one normally might not find in Christian fiction. But it works here because, I think, the author is trying to bring us a REAL woman in a real world. The writer writes suspense and intrigue VERY well and probably has some personal background in it because he shows it so well. I actually read the second book in this series first. A friend had it and gave it to me and I read it in two days and went out and bought this one. I was not disappointed and now am hooked into the character and her world.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Conspiracy in Kiev, Russian Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:September 17, 2009
The book had a slow beginning, I had a hard time getting into it, but then it picked up and was an exciting read. I was bothered by a few things:Cursing - has no place in a Christian bookAlcohol - I know opinions differ on it, but I still think it is out of place in a Christian book - and regardless, the main character - a Christian - got drunk & "buzzed" - something we all agree is wrongPolitical views - I get the idea that the author has more liberal political views, and I didn't appreciate them.I heard good about this series, but am disappointed and won't read anymore from this author.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Conspiracy in Kiev, Russian Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 21, 2009
As soon as I started reading the book, I was hooked in completely. Alex is a character that I absolutely adored from the beginning. She's the type of heroine that you want to be, and that you like very much. She's strong, yet you can see her weaknesses. I really enjoyed all the historical facts that were presented in this book. As a historian, I appreciated how the author used real history and didn't create events to make the story better. Some readers might find these bits boring, as the history of Ukraine and the former Soviet Union are told in details but they are relevant to the plot of the story and shouldn't really be skimmed over. The story is extremely well researched and I actually felt like I had traveled to Europe along with Alex. One other thing I really liked is that even though the author is male and writes as a first person female, Alex acts like a rational woman and does not fall into cliched stereotypes. I personally enjoyed the downplay of romance in this book.There is quite a bit of violence in this book. The story is very action packed and many characters do die. In fact, it seemed that there was someone that died in almost every chapter. Characters also do drink socially throughout the story. This book felt very realistic in the way situations were handled. Events that take place in this book could pretty much be ripped from headline news. To be honest, I don't consider this book Christian fiction at all. It may be by published by a Christian publisher, but the story doesn't really project anything preachy. Alex does grow stronger in her faith but it is not a main focus point. In fact I would just consider this book to be a good international suspense thriller. This was one of the best suspense books I've read all year. Tight storyline, thrilling action sequences, an engaging heroine and a page turning read make this one of my favorite reads of the year. VERY HIGHLY recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Conspiracy in Kiev, Russian Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:July 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Angela R.
I was bothered by several things in this book. As a previous reviewer said, there are far too many swear words in it that are not at all necessary considering this is a Christian book. Also, most of us have our political views but I felt the author shared his too much which caused me to get frustrated with parts of the story. I had already purchased book 2 or I probably would not have continued reading the series. I did however, like book 2 more than book 1. So...all that said, I will likely purchase book 3.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Conspiracy in Kiev, Russian Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Vee Spivey
I am now hooked on this author!! This book was a treasure to find! It is packed with intrigue, up-to-date politics and believable characters. The author keeps the reader's attention without having to use sex and offensive language, as we often see in this type of novel. Caution: violent scenes do appear in the story plot.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Conspiracy in Kiev, Russian Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Alice Burd
Well written; held my interest throughout the entire book; realistic; not the usual story line; good reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Conspiracy in Kiev, Russian Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 15, 2008
Customer Avatar
Hal Hulot
I thought this book was great. I'm a fan of Ludlum and Clancy. I like spy and military thrillers. Here you have a great female spy-investigator working for the US government and involved in some dirty doings in the Ukraine and south America. There was no issue of bad language in the edition I read. I'm looking forward to the continuation of the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Conspiracy in Kiev, Russian Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
Brita Carlson
I loved this book. I would highly recommend this book for the not faint of heart, the man in your life, or for someone who is looking for the experience of the chase as they are propelled into the pages of the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Conspiracy in Kiev, Russian Trilogy Series #1
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:November 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
chris whitcomb
Although well-written, this book contains a significant amount of swear words that not only add nothing to the book, but violate Christ's clear standard of not expressing unclean words, and not exposing our hearts and minds to unclean content. I would not recommend this book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.