Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Barbour Publishing Something Blue - eBook

Barbour Publishing Something Blue - eBook

Life is going well for Megan. She's always wanted to marry a missionary and now she's working with Chance, a charming and daring missionary pilot. Then Micah Zimmerman moves into her parent's home as a pastoral candidate for their Conservative Mennonite church-and he doesn't look anything like the gawky young man who had a crush on her in college. As Megan struggles with her own personal identity and faith, she begins to see the true difference between Chance and Micah. Will her insight come too late, or is there still time to find the hero of her dreams?
Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Something Blue - eBook
Review 1 for Something Blue - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My favorite of this trilogy.

Date:August 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jeannie Donaldson
Location:Statesboro, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the third in a trilogy that has been fun and delightful. If I had to choose one, this one was my favorite. I love the character of Megan and enjoyed seeing her grow into a godly young woman. She learns how to listen to God when a choice must be made. And then comes Micah Zimmerman. He is on a three month trial at her church to be pastor. Micah and Megan met originally in Bible College and she did NOT like him. But can they become friends while he is living in the guest cottage of her family home? Can it become more than friendship? You will have to read to find that out, because there is someone else who wants Megan's attention. That is missionary pilot, Chase Campbell.
This is a delightful story, and I recommend it for mature teens and adult reading. I am sure you will enjoy it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Something Blue - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Susie
Location:Zanesville, Ohio
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had read the Something Old and REALLY liked it. Really wanted the Something New which I now have but have not had a chance to read yet. I have not gotten to read very much of the Something Blue but as good as the first one was I know I will enjoy completing this one, I was really excited to find this available because I had not been able to get it at the library.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Something Blue - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Sweet and very touching

Date:September 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Merce
Location:San Juan, PR
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Megan always dreamed of marrying a preacher or a missionary. Now it seems that her dream may come true as her boss' brother, a handsome and charming missionary pilot named Chance, starts working alongside of her. However, Micah Zimmerman reappears in her life as a pastoral candidate in her church. She thought she didn't want anything to do with Micah, but immediately he starts to prove to her that he is not the same tall and gawky guy she knew in college. Now Megan has to choose between the life she always thought she wanted and the life she never knew she dreamed of.
This is a novel about second chances, the struggles we face in terms of our faith and our love life, about making good decisions, about trusting God to lead our way and the importance of understanding when God is the one doing the leading, not our own desires. Megan is a pretty strong character, very set in her beliefs and very straightforward. Micah is sweet, strong-minded, and somewhat needy but in a good, you want to reach out to him kind of way. Chance is likable, fun and interesting.
I like when a novel gives us not only the girl's point of view, but also the guy's, and in this case, guys'. Here we get to see things from Megan's perspective, but also from Micah's and Chance's. And I love to have an insight into the guys' mind, how they feel, what they are thinking. It makes for a more interesting and compelling story. However, as nice and well written as both guys are, I think that you will gravitate more towards one depending on your personality and type, which means that a few of you may be disappointed with Megan's choice in the end. But it will not come as a surprise, since the story, although nicely written, sweet and touching, is highly predictable, at least the romantic side of it.
Aside from the romance, we have a few side stories —Micah's possible job as a minister in Megan's church, a gossiping widow, changes in friendships— that are well told, keep you interested and make the story advance. However, I thought that the side story for Megan's mom was much ado about nothing and Megan's reaction to it was disappointing and exaggerated.
This is the third novel in the series, but it can very easily be read alone, which I really liked. I would recommend this novel to a teenage girl or an adult who wants to read a nice, sweet and endearing romance.
3.5 stars out of 5
*I received a copy of this book from Barbour Books through NetGalley in exchange of an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Something Blue - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Stand-alone but part of a series

Date:August 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Megan Weaver a Conservative Mennonite who works as the assistant to the owner of Char Air, a charter airline who also operate charity flights. Her boss is taking time out to mend his marriage, and his brother is taking over in his absence. Chance Campbell is a missionary pilot in Ecuador, and is immediately attracted to his pretty assistant, despite her unfashionable Mennonite appearance. The attraction is mutual, especially as Megan has always felt she would marry either a minister or a missionary. But Chance is not a Mennonite.
Meanwhile, Megan’s church is recruiting a new minister, and one of the applicants is her college nemesis. Micah Zimmerman has changed. He is still attracted to Megan, but finds himself competing for her attention. Micah is trying to get the church members to support hiring him, without giving any of the single women false hope.
I found Megan to be a bit naïve and shallow. I could accept her wanting to marry within her own denomination and even could understand her reluctance to move to another country. But I thought it a bit shallow that she felt she couldn’t marry outside her ‘faith’, the Mennonite denomination. After all, Chance is a Christian. Shouldn’t that be enough?
Micah was sweet, caring, sensitive, and hiding his true feelings so he could develop a friendship with Megan. And he’s a Mennonite minister – what more does Megan want? Well, it takes her a while to work out whether she wants the dashing Chance or the conservative Micah, but the ending was worth the wait, and made up for the mid-book dithering between the two.
Something Blue is the third book in the Plain City Bridesmaids series (following Something Old and Something New), but can easily be read as a stand-alone. Enjoyable romance, probably better suited for a younger readership.
Thanks to Barbour and NetGalley for providing a free book for review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Something Blue - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Something Blue

Date:August 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
weatherlover1
Location:U.P Mi
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Megan has watched her two best friends fall in love and get married. She has always seen herself either marring a missionary or a preacher so when her bosses single missionary pilot brother Chance takes over for 6 weeks Megan finds herself drawn to him only problem is he is not Mennonite and off limits. Also adding to her problems is Micah the possible new preacher to her church and someone who tried to date her in college. She finds herself drawn to Chance and his work yet Micah soon becomes a trusted friend. Who will she choose the missionary or the preacher?
This is book three on the series and again deals with the issue of possibly choosing your faith and community over love.
What I liked: I liked how Megan and Micah became friends and got to know each other in this book. So many stories jump straight into love and we don’t always see how friendship can lead to more but how it can also be just that, friends. Megan also had to grow up and see things differently as well and I enjoyed seeing her mature in her faith.
What I did not like: The story line of marry a Mennonite gets under my skin as well as her being upset when she finds her genetic gene pool may not be full Mennonite. I get that the author is telling a story from the more strict Mennonites but I felt the story line could have done a better job of letting that go and seeing how we all are children of God not based off of a denomination. I have read plenty of Amish books that deal with a similar issues but this book bugged me a little more then others.
Over all it was a good book and the romance was sweet and the author does a good job of keeping you guessing who she is going to choose. I thought the one she did not choose was given more of a bad wrap then he deserved but it was just how the storyline went.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Something Blue - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love is found in the most unlikely place!

Date:August 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Megan Weaver has a true heart for those in need. As the only daughter of Mennonite parents, she has had to define her own boundaries when it came to protecting her own heart. She is also the only Mennonite working for Char-Air, a company that offers charity flights to those in need from natural disasters or medical supplies that need to be flown in simply based on donations and volunteers. When her boss, Ray leaves work on a temporary leave to work on his own marriage, he has his brother, Chance Campbell fill in for him. Yet sparks begin to fly as Chance tries to find a way into her impenetrable heart and she tries to keep the wall up even though she is clearly attracted to him. Yet she vows she can never fall for a man who isn't a Mennonite, no matter what he believes.
When the pastor of their long time church dies suddenly from a heart attack, the church decides to find a replacement. When their choices are narrowed down to just two men, Megan learns that both will be staying with them at her family home. What she doesn't realize is that one of the men, she knew from her time in Bible college, Joe Zimmerman, who she knew as Micah Zimmerman who was relentless in his pursuit of her affections. Now how will she ever be able to deal with this man living across the hall from her?
In the novel, Something Blue by Dianne Christner, Megan Weaver finds herself at a difficult intersection in her personal life. Faced with friends that have already found a man to marry, she finds herself with two likely candidates who couldn't be more different from one another. One is the man who relationship and standing with God is the one she promised herself she would willingly accept in a marriage, and the other one has not only claimed her attraction but it seems her heart as well for missionary work around the world as a pilot. When she decides to leave fate up to whatever God decides, she finds faced with two difficult situations; when a tornado threatens Megan's life and home, will the new pastor be able to save her? Or when a chance to finally go on a missionary flight to help out disaster victims in a nearby city as a fellow Mennonite, will Megan be able to keep her heart from taking flight as well?
I received Something Blue compliments of Barbour Publishing and author Dianne Christner for my honest review and LOVED it. This is the third book in the Plain City Bridesmaids series and never having read the previous two, I found this can be read as a stand alone book as well. But trust me when I say, that once you begin this book, you will be hooked! Dianne has a way to engage her readers right from the beginning that you immediately feel a part of the story and have to keep reading just to see where it will end up! For that reason I rate this one a 5 out of 5 stars and can't wait to pick up the first two books in this series, Something Old and Something New!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Something Blue - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Third book in this series

Date:August 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the third book in the series called The Plain City Bridesmaids. It is about Megan Weaver as she decides the next steps to take in her life. She is working with Chance Campbell and drawn to his personality. She is also finding herself attracted to Micah Zimmerman, whom she has known for awhile. Will she go against her family and choose adventure or stick with her principles and follow her heart?
Overall this was an entertaining book and this is why I gave it 4/5 stars. The dilemma of the main character was realistic but some of the struggles she encountered were not. I did enjoy how the character worked through her problem. The author did great at writing the steps Megan Weaver thought about and some good advice was given in the book that could definitely apply to real life situations. I also think this would be a great book for a teenager girl to read.
I would like to thank NetGalley and the publisher for the copy of this book I enjoyed reading. I gave an honest review based on my opinion of what I read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Something Blue - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Something Blue

Date:May 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
jenilee220
Location:Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product Description:
Life is going well for Megan. She's always wanted to marry a missionary and now she's working with Chance, a charming and daring missionary pilot. Then Micah Zimmerman moves into her parent's home as a pastoral candidate for their Conservative Mennonite church-and he doesn't look anything like the gawky young man who had a crush on her in college. As Megan struggles with her own personal identity and faith, she begins to see the true difference between Chance and Micah. Will her insight come too late, or is there still time to find the hero of her dreams?
This was a new series and a new author for me. I have not read the previous books in the Plain City Bridesmands series and maybe that would have helped me to have connected more with this book.
I liked reading about Megan's journey. There were parts that seemed long or too drawn out but, again, that could be because I didn't read the first books. I loved the setting because I've been to Plain City many times. It is a sweet little town and I could picture this book as it played out.
Overall, I enjoyed the author's writing style and was drawn into the main character's dilemma. It was interesting to follow her inner struggle that created an outward struggle of what she was really looking for in a mate. The fun banter between the characters and the charming Mennonite families was well worth reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.