Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Barbour Publishing Veil of Pearls - eBook

Barbour Publishing Veil of Pearls - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.76 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(50 Reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (50 reviews)
5 stars
41
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
49 out of 5098%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Veil of Pearls - eBook
Review 1 for Veil of Pearls - eBook
This review is fromVeil of Pearls.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Historical Fiction!!

Date:June 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
ibjoy1953
Location:Virginia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I think this is my favorite book from MaryLu Tyndale so far! This book stole my heart from the very first page, and still hasn’t turned it loose yet! Veil of Pearls will stick with me for a long time.
Amelia found employment with a local Dr. in the early 1800’s in Charleston, SC, but if anyone every finds out her secret, who she really is, her quite life as it is now will be over. No one knows she is a part black, runaway slave from Barbados. Things get even worse when she is attracted to the rich and famous, fast life ladies man Morgan Rutledge. But even though Amelia knows that she can’t have someone like Morgan, she is so attracted to him she agrees to go out with him anyway, thus bringing on more trouble than she ever imagined.
When I finished reading this book, all I could say was Wow! I love Amelia and I was scared for her so many times in this story because she is such a sweet young lady that was forced to live a inhumane life. The other characters, good and bad, were so real and believable, I don’t think I’ve ever felt I was living the story like I felt with Veil of Perils. The entire book was just amazing. And I can’t wait to see what MaryLu has in story for her readers next!
I highly recommend Veil of Pearls if you enjoy historical fiction. I was assure you, this is one book you do not want to miss!
I received this book from the author to read and review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 55
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Veil of Pearls - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

It was okay

Date:January 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sheriff
Location:MA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
A little frustrating to find the inconsistencies through the story. Although the main character was raised as a slave as a young girl, it appeared easy enough for her to cross over to a society she knew little about. Her speech, her mannerism, even the way she interacted with people outside of a society she knew nothing about seamed to be easily accomplished. Not a very credible story. Didn't care for it much.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Veil of Pearls - eBook
This review is fromVeil of Pearls.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Simply Breathtaking

Date:January 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jenuinerock
Location:Milwaukee, WI
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Veil of Pearls is simply another one of Mary Lu Tyndall's masterpieces. She has a way of capturing her audience like not too many can do. Veil of pearls is a romance worth having in your hands. It's a tale of discovering who you are regardless of your past. One thing I absolutely love about Mary Lu Tyndall's writing is through her books she some how increases your faith along with her character. This book is one of her best and to say the book was good would be a horrible under statement!! READ IT! I guarantee you won't put it down till you flip the last page!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Veil of Pearls - eBook
This review is fromVeil of Pearls.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A deep secret, romance, and two different worlds

Date:January 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
JoyGirl
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love MaryLu Tyndall's books and this is another great book by her. MaryLu does a great job of weaving this story together.
Tyndall tells of a runaway slave, Adalia, who wants to start a new life, but is hiding her true identity. She then meets a man from one of the most prominent families in the area and is swept off her feet by him. MaryLu keeps you wondering - Will Adalia be found out or will she share the truth? Will people accept her or reject her? Can she ever find love?
I would highly recommend this book! It is an invigorating story and one you are sure to love!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Veil of Pearls - eBook
This review is fromVeil of Pearls.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Yep! Read it!

Date:January 2, 2013
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Books are amazing. Big surprise right? I love that they can take you to the past, a different world, the future, wherever you want to go. Beats television any day. I know it’s an extra fantastic read when I’m thinking about the book throughout the day, at work (I hate when that gets in the way of my reading) and I’m looking forward to when I can dive back into the world I’m reading. That was the exact case with Veil of Pearls by MaryLu Tyndall.
Sometimes stories can be cheesy beyond what I can tolerate, but not so with Veil of Pearls. Taking place in Charleston in 1811 and following Adalia and Morgan, two people from two different classes and lifestyles, the story deals with standing up for what’s right, struggling to figure out purpose and trusting your faith, even in the darkest of times. Plus a little love story never hurt any one right? Tyndall is a fantastic story teller and you can’t help but get swept into 1800s Charleston.
I really enjoyed this book and will definitely be adding more of Tyndall’s books to my book pile. Plus the heroine of our story is mixed (she’s one fourth black) and to that I say MY PEOPLE!! I haven’t come across many (by many I mean zero) characters who are 1/4 black like me, so I think that means there’s a dashing and handsome man in my near future. Totally. ;)
booksandbeverages.wordpress.com
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Veil of Pearls - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This was a great book!

Date:October 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Linda
Location:Dallas, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
This book held my attention from the beginning to the end. I would highly recommend it!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Veil of Pearls - eBook
This review is fromVeil of Pearls.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Swashbuckling Fun!

Date:October 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
AddLibrarian
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
While MaryLu Tyndall never disappoints, Veil of Pearls is my favorite book by her since her original Legacy of the King’s Pirates series! Veil of Pearls is kind of a Cinderella tale, but Prince Charming is a little snobby and a lot prejudiced, and Adalia, as a runaway slave, is in more danger than Cinderella ever dreamed of! Don’t miss this chance to dive into Tyndall’s trademark exotic settings, adventurous plots and high-seas romance!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Veil of Pearls - eBook
This review is fromVeil of Pearls.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome and exciting!

Date:October 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
sarahjmcb
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I highly highly recommend reading Veil of Pearls! This stand-alone novel is wonderfully written, and really brings to light the struggle we all face to feel welcomed and popular, to fit in with the "cool crowd." Adalia hides her heritage to protect herself, but in the process becomes so enamored with the wealth and social scene that she completely forgets who she was. Morgan does what is expected of a man in his position, causing him to deny the things he really longs for. The book shows other characters' struggles, too, as Adalia sees that each of them is a slave in their own way - whether a slave to wealth and power, a slave to their beliefs and memories, or a slave to others.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Veil of Pearls - eBook
This review is fromVeil of Pearls.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Best to be true to yourself

Date:September 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Teresa
Location:Milwaukee, Wi
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I liked the story. I wished the author would have delved into Adalia's parentage a little more. And why on earth if
you're hiding your heritage would you hang on to your
shackles. For the storyline of course.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Veil of Pearls - eBook
This review is fromVeil of Pearls.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

enjoyable

Date:September 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
helphand
Location:Venice, Fl
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoy historical stories and this was one. I could not put the book down. The ending took me by surprise. The moral of the story:Love conquers all. would recommend this book for the story content and it was well written.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Veil of Pearls - eBook
This review is fromVeil of Pearls.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful story of love!!

Date:September 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
jms1047
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MaryLu Tyndall has written 10 wonderful seafairing adventures over the last several years & her 11th "Veil Of Pearls" is by far her best work to date! There is not one bad thing that can be said about this book.... (but who am I kidding, there never is when u read one written by MaryLu Tyndall...lol!). "Veil Of Pearls" is the story of a beautiful runaway slave named Adalia. Trying to escape her past & the abuse she has suffered, Adalia leaves her home in Barbados & boards a ship bound for Charleston. Tho she is a negro, Adalia is so light skinned she secures herself employment without question & is able to put her past behind her to begin a new life. Along the way she meets the younger son of one of Charleston's most prominent families & is swept into a world of which she never dreamed. While trying to keep her identity a secret Adalia struggles with many different emotions, feelings, & human weaknesses which really endeared this character to me more than any other one MaryLu has written (including Hope, from her book "The Blue Enchantress", who, till now, has always been my favorite). Beautifully written, this story will cause you to feel many different emotion, you will laugh & cry, as well as enjoy an adventure on the high seas (I mean who doesnt enjoy a good sea batttle?). Truly, throughout the entire book I felt as if I could be Adalia, at so many different points in the story; like her struggles with keeping God as a prority even when things in life seem to be going great! Ms. Tyndall has such a talent for writing tales such as this, & reaching the heart, that I never want one of her books to end! (& believe me I have read them ALL!) If you want to enjoy a wonderful tale of adventure, love, & human growth then this book is right up your alley! I promise you will not be dissappointed!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Veil of Pearls - eBook
This review is fromVeil of Pearls.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book

Date:September 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Leona Koziarski
Location:Alberta, Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love stories about the slave trade and this one is no exception. A great read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Veil of Pearls - eBook
This review is fromVeil of Pearls.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Book I have read this year! Love it!!

Date:August 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Johnette
Location:Salem, VA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow! I just finished reading Veil of Pearls and what a
joy this book was. I have read a few of MaryLu's books and this one is by far the best to me. I enjoyed it from start to finish. I think I really was pulled into the story...while reading it, I felt like I was watching it all take place. Rooting for Adalia in so many situations ....I really understood her on many levels. I have gone through a small portionof what she has and her character spoke to me....I loved how she comes full circle in her life (yes I know this is fiction..lol) and most of all with God. And how she shares her love for God with those around her..even through her failures and imperfections she gets up and walks with the Lord.
MaryLu did a wonderful job of crating characters that
you could relate with....the questions in life...who to marry, what line of work, should I be with this group of friends, is God real, Is my relationship with the Lord where it should be.....is this a right way to trat people....society says it is okay etc.
Not only was this enjoyable to read, but it also shared the Lord with you, taught you that no matter what you go through the Lord is with you...and so much more. I couldn't put it down and I was smiling when I finished the last word. It left me wanting more.
You should def pick this one up...share it with your friends
too! I have purchased several for gifts!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Veil of Pearls - eBook
This review is fromVeil of Pearls.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderfully Written Page Turner

Date:August 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Clover, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MaryLu Tyndall’s Veil of Pearls is one of the best books if not the best that I’ve read this year. I’ve read and enjoyed all of her novels and each time think her stories just can’t get any better, but she proves me wrong every time. Veil of Pearls is a wonderfully weaved story full of passion, romance, villains, misguided people and suspense. I fell in love with both the hero and the heroine, both came alive and were easy to connect with. But I have to say Morgan, the hero won my heart. He is the epitome of what men struggle with not only in the 19th century but also today. One of the things I really enjoyed about this book was the way that Ms. Tyndall showed all of her characters being a slave to something. The suggestions were subtle and she did a beautiful job of tying it all up in the end. It was an eye opener and shows how even today both Christians and non-Christians have a tendency to fall into the same trap. A wonderful story with a message one can take to heart. I can’t recommend this book enough. It is a must read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Veil of Pearls - eBook
This review is fromVeil of Pearls.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very interesting!

Date:August 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cafe Lily Book Reviews
Location:USA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book was interesting, and the first I’ve read by Tyndall.
The heroine, Adalia Winston had me rooting for her, from page one. She escapes her life of slavery, changes her name and starts over where no one knows her, her background or her heritage. But her new life is far from carefree when the wealthy Morgan Rutledge is determined to win her heart.
Morgan is one of those characters you want to hate, but can’t help be charmed by. He’s smooth and persistent and has all the right words. Though Adalia is wary of him, and knows she shouldn’t entertain the notion of allowing him to court her, the dreams of what he could provide for her are tempting. However, Adalia is hiding the fact that she is of Negro descent. Though no one can tell by looking at her, Adalia knows that if Morgan finds out, her cover will be blown and she may be forced back into the life she’s fought so hard to forget.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Veil of Pearls - eBook
This review is fromVeil of Pearls.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Historical Christian Fiction at its Best!

Date:August 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Daisy
Location:Chicago, IL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
I recently finished reading MaryLu Tyndall’s newest book, Veil of Pearls and I can honestly say that it is her best book yet. I am an avid fan of MaryLu, have read all her books, and have enjoyed them all; but I have to say that Veil of Pearls is now at the top of the list. I was hooked from the first chapter, and it was hard to put down.
Veil of Pearls is a beautiful story about Adalia, a runaway slave and Morgan, an aristocrat who falls in love with her. The setting is Charleston, SC in the early 1800’s when slavery was a common practice. MaryLu has a way of writing about her characters that make you feel like you are right there with them, feeling what they are feeling. Your heart will ache when they ache and rejoice when they rejoice. I also love how MaryLu weaves her Christian faith throughout her books.
If you are a fan of Historical Christian fiction than I highly recommend this book. You will not be disappointed! When you are finished with Veil of Pearls, pass it on to a friend! They will thank you for it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Veil of Pearls - eBook
This review is fromVeil of Pearls.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Incredibly engaging novel

Date:August 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rachel Ropper
Location:Scotland, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
GENRE: HISTORICAL ROMANCE
PUBLISHER: BARBOUR
PUBLICATION DATE: JULY 01, 2012
RATING: 4 OUT OF 5 - VERY GOOD
PROS: Great presentation of the power of prayer and the Holy Spirit; excellent chemistry between the characters; once the action gets started this book is very hard to put down
CONS: Slow start with very little action; hero is initially very unsympathetic
Adalia Winston knows that her fair skin will make it easy for her to blend into the crowd after escaping from the Barbados sugar plantation where she has been enslaved for the last eight years. But it's not so easy to forget what she's running away from, especially when she's frequently called to attend to the slaves owned by the Rutledge family. Although Adalia is relieved to have found employment with a kind, fatherly doctor, she cannot overlook the way that he treats his own slaves, or the way that the most of Charleston treats those of her race. Adalia isn't looking for love and acceptance - merely employment and safety from her former master - but her frequent visits to care for the slaves owned by the Rutledges bring her into contact with Morgan Rutledge, who has taken a liking for Adalia. Despite her convictions, Adalia slowly lets herself be taken in by the luxury and excitement of Morgan's privileged life, even if his friends are more reticent towards her. But when it becomes evident to society that Morgan is keen to formally court Adalia, a spurned lover sets out to uncover something from Adalia's past that she can use to sabotage their relationship. When news reaches Charleston that Adalia is a Negro, and an enslaved one at that, how will her beau, her employer and all of her new friends react? Will Adalia's desire for luxury and frivolity cause her to lose her freedom? Or could all of this have been avoided if she'd never lied about her heritage in the first place?
MaryLu Tyndall is another of those authors that I missed out on because I didn't truly discover Christian fiction until 2010. By the time I read The Red Siren in early 2011, she already had a massive back catalogue of books for me to catch up on, and she never stops pumping out more books that I want to read. I never really thought I'd be a pirate girl (besides drooling over Captain Jack from Pirates of the Caribbean, like every other teenage girl on the planet) but I do love the mixture of romance, action and spirituality that appears in MaryLu's books. Initially, I thought that Veil of Pearls was going to be a bit of a disappointment in terms of the action and suspense, as the start of this book seemed rather slow. Adalia was settling into life in Charleston and paying visits to slaves with her herbal medicines, and although she ran into Morgan fairly early on in the book, it didn't feel like much was happening to begin with. Thankfully, the story really got going around one-third of the way into the book and at that point I was gripped, but this is definitely a slower start compared to the other books that I've read from this author.
While it was the concept of a slave who could pose for a white woman that drew me to this book in the first place, I actually found myself more interested in Adalia's descent into desiring after the privileged life of the wealthy, and I kept forgetting about the possibility of someone discovering Adalia's race. Some reviewers have commented on how unlikely it is that Adalia would want to court a slave-owner and fall for his wealthy life so easily, but the way it was written in this book came across as very believable. Adalia flaws and susceptibility to temptation make her a very relatable character, and I'm sure that plenty of readers will find themselves sympathising with her dilemmas. Adalia did make a lot of mistakes over the course of the book, and the fact that her entire life in Charleston is built on a deception is a bit of a conundrum - is it right to lie in order to escape a sinful life? Should she tell the truth even if it means returning to her lecherous master? These are issues that make Veil of Pearls all the more intriguing to read.
Morgan was a much less sympathetic character, in my eyes at least. I'm just not a fan of the self-assured, confident Alpha Hero, although I know that he is fairly prevalent in MaryLu's novels. Morgan's pompous attitude and belief that every woman should want his attention just because of his family name was a major turn-off for me, as it was also for Adalia. While he gradually became more sympathetic over the course of the novel, I wasn't really particularly fond of him until the end of the book when he finally realised that he could be happy without his family's wealth and name. I'm sure that this won't be an issue for all readers, but those of us who prefer our heroes to be Betas rather than Alphas may take a while to warm up to Morgan. Again, he is flawed character, much like Adalia, but his flaws made him more annoying than sympathetic to begin with.
That said, I did love the chemistry between Morgan and Adalia. Even if Morgan didn't make me swoon, I did enjoy reading about the progression of his relationship with Adalia. After reading several novels where the characters didn't even kiss until the last page of the book, I appreciated the physical chemistry between Adalia and Morgan. A physical connection does often appear long before an emotional and spiritual one, although plenty of Christian authors try to shy away from this fact, and I'm glad that this is something that MaryLu chose to feature in her novel. It showed how easy it is for a flawed human being to be tempted into a relationship with someone despite their best intentions - and also made for a slightly more sizzling romance!
Veil of Pearls wasn't all romance and chemistry; it also included an excellent portrayal of the power of prayer and the Holy Spirit. Manifestations of the Holy Spirit are something I've rarely seem presented in Christian fiction, particularly in the historical genre, perhaps because some denominations have different views on how it manifests itself and how powerful it is in today's day and age. This is an issue that is discussed in Veil of Pearls; when Adalia prays for healing for a sick girl and she makes a rapid recovery, some believe she's used witchcraft, others find it to be a coincidence, and only a few truly believe that God healed the child. I loved how MaryLu was able to bring a discussion of prayer and healing into her novel without making it too preachy or forceful. There are also several times throughout the novel when Adalia is approached by an angelic presence giving her guidance during the times when she'd fallen away from talking to God due to the distractions of high society. While this isn't something I've ever had a personal experience of, I did think it was approached very well considering the context.
Although I had my initial hesitations regarding the slow start to the story and the slightly unsympathetic character of Morgan, Veil of Pearls turned out to be an incredibly engaging novel. While MaryLu is most known for her action and suspense, I'd have to say that it was the flawed nature of the hero and heroine and their romantic chemistry that really made me enjoy this book. The combination of the characterisation, chemistry and action - not to mention the spiritual dimension of the novel - made it very hard for me to put this book down, even for a second. Fans of MaryLu Tyndall are sure to be pleased with this new addition to their collections, and as a standalone novel, Veil of Pearls would make a great introduction to her writing for new readers.
Review title provided by Barbour.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Veil of Pearls - eBook
This review is fromVeil of Pearls.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The plantation owner and the princess

Date:August 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
potosrose
Location:Colorado Springs, Co
Age:25-34
Gender:female
“Am I beautiful, Daddy?” The cry of every girl’s heart, young and old, is to hear that their father thinks they are beautiful. As a child Althea’s father made sure she knew she was beautiful and cherished. But that all changed the day her parents were killed and she and her sister were taken captive and made slaves in the home of the odious Sir Walter. Because of the girl’s mixed parentage they were seen as less than human in his eyes, plus he was just evil. He abused the girls in a multitude of ways, until finally Althea is able to escape and make her way by ship to Charleston and start a new life as a healer and physician’s assistant. She lives a quiet, happy life and is continually worried that people will discover her past as well as her parentage. For in 1812, black slavery is rampant. Enter Morgan Rutledge, second son of a wealthy plantation owner who is captivated by the beautiful Althea and pursues her despite her reservations and efforts to dissuade him. When his little sister falls ill and none of the doctors can help her, Morgan calls Althea to see what she can do. Althea goes and prays for the little girl, who is almost past the point of no return. Miraculously the little girl is healed and Althea becomes the talk of society. Morgan pursues her even stronger after this, and he finally breaks down her resistance and escorts her to a party, where she begins to admit she is developing feelings for him. Along the way people get jealous of the relationship and sabotage it in various ways that I can’t share or else it would give away big plot points :) There is a happily ever after, the best part of which is Morgan ensuring Althea knows that she is beautiful to him and cherished by him no matter what :)
This was a wonderful book that I highly recommend. I laughed, I cried at least twice, and I am contemplating reading it again in the next few weeks. It was a great encouragement to me as I am still on the lookout for my prince, and now I have added a few of Morgan’s qualities to my list for my prince :) Thank you to the author, MaryLu, for providing me with a copy in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Veil of Pearls - eBook
This review is fromVeil of Pearls.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Definitely pick this one up!

Date:August 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
gjo50
Location:Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kidnapped into slavery on the death of her parents, Adalia Winston escapes of Charleston, a city full of slaves supporting the Southern lifestyle. Fair skinned Adalia fears discovery, not just from her slave master, but also the fact that she is one quarter black. Morgan Rutledge is the son of a prominent family who becomes enamored with Adalia on sight. Adelia finally agrees to attend a party with Morgan, and slowly Adalia is accepted into society. She begins to believe that she can live in this fairy tale world. Now, she has to hide her heritage, along with the love of the Lord. When Morgan’s old girlfriend decides to discredit Adalia, anything can happen.
This is a romance, but the themes running through it make it so much more. I thoroughly enjoyed Adalia’s dilemma, and the depth of the characters enriched the story. If you like historical Christian romances, definitely pick this one up.
Received Galley from NetGalley.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Veil of Pearls - eBook
This review is fromVeil of Pearls.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Work of Historical Fiction

Date:August 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Casey
Location:Oregon
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been a fan of MaryLu Tyndall since I picked up the first title I found by her. Since that moment I’ve rejoiced each time her new novel hits my hands and this time was far from an exception.
Veil of Pearls combines so much into a solid novel. Historical controversy (in this case the plight of slaves pre-Civil War), strong characters that aren’t afraid to grow and learn to embrace change. A love story that moves the depth of my heart with impassioned precision. And writing that completely grips me, painting word pictures upon my mind that only make me want to stop and savor the impact of their words.
Tyndall’s novels have progressively improved to where I do believe, she is even better than when she started, though not to detract from her previous titles. The power of each word to build a story complex in emotion and plot is carefully built until at the end of the story I was disappointed to leave these characters behind.
Adalia and Morgan’s love story is one that the reader can never escape from knowing it possibly cannot succeed. Adalia has come from a slave’s descent and bears the marks on her very back. Knowing this the entire time I was reading the book kept an element of unease waiting to break lose.
Spiritual threads, romantic elements, wordsmithing! I truly adored this title. It’s unique and different. Yet entertaining and compelling. Tyndall’s latest is not to be missed!
This review is my honest opinion. Thanks to the author for my copy to review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.