Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Abingdon Press The Dog That Talked to God - eBook

Abingdon Press The Dog That Talked to God - eBook

What would you do if you discovered that your Schnauzer could talk? Recently widowed Mary Fassier decides to listen! But when Rufus starts sharing messages from God, she's not sure if she should follow the dog's advice. Would it be right to walk away from everything she knows and loves? A wonderfully quirky, tail-wagging read!
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 out of 1493%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Dog That Talked to God - eBook
Review 1 for The Dog That Talked to God - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Wished I Could Have Liked It More

Date:December 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
ruthhill74
Location:Yelm, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I had hoped I would like this book better than I did, but unfortunately, it was not to be. I love dogs, and the beginning of the book was fine. However, once our heroine had Rufus (the dog) "talk," I really lost interest. I know that we tend to think that our animals talk, but this was just too much for me to accept.
There were some points of the book that did interest me. I was intrigued when Mary first got Rufus. And then about the middle of the book, there was an area that certainly got my attention. And her entire discussion of her love life and views on dating were pretty intriguing.
I really struggled with the fact that she continued to have Rufus pray to God for her. Eventually, that stops, but I felt like Mary never truly finds her faith again. The gospel message is truly lost in this book. It is neat that God brings along "signs" to show her that she is doing the right thing.
The book is clean, and the message is pure. For that reason alone, many people will probably enjoy the book. Rufus is certainly a cute, smart dog, but I just struggled to truly embrace this book.
I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. I was not financially compensated in any way, and all opinions are 100 percent mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Dog That Talked to God - eBook
This review is fromThe Dog That Talked to God.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great for people dealing with loss

Date:June 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
JanniP
Location:Mesa, AZ
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great book, but I'd change the title... I bought it before and it made the circuit so much I lost touch of my original. So, bought another to send to my friend who lost her husband. The book brings consolation to the hurting, but in all things Our Father is the All in All.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Dog That Talked to God - eBook
This review is fromThe Dog That Talked to God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Talking Dog and Emotional Healing

Date:May 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jim Kraus in his new book "The Dog That Talked to God" published by Abingdon Press takes us into the life of Mary Fassler.
From The Back Cover: Sometimes the least expected can be the most amazing
Recently widowed Mary Fassler buys a Miniature Schnauzer, Rufus, and her world is turned sideways in the midst of her grief. It seems that Rufus speaks. And not just to her. He also talks to God.
When Rufus begins sharing advice that could result in major changes, Mary gets the feeling the pooch might not be steering her in the right direction. Or, is she just afraid to take the leap and discover something she desperately needs? Only Rufus...and God...knows.
"The Dog That Talked to God" reminded me of the old Disney movies, you know the kind the used to make when Walt Disney was alive. Rufus is a joy and I wish that I could have a dog like him. Mary is a complicated human being, aren't we all?, and God wants to heal her damaged heart and uses Rufus to accomplish this. "The Dog That Talked to God" is about grief and how not healing from grief can cause a person not to move forward and fulfill destiny. Mr. Kraus has given us a wonderful story where he can explore the pain of losing your spouse and child and how we blame God and withdraw, both from Him and the world. To heal from this kind of trauma it takes the love of God but we have to let Him. Sometimes it takes a Rufus to accomplish this. Besides if you are a dog lover you already know you talk to your dog and doesn't it seem that your dog understands? "The Dog That Talked to God" is a highly enjoyable adventure. I look forward to more from the talented Mr. Kraus.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Litfuse Publicity Group. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Dog That Talked to God - eBook
This review is fromThe Dog That Talked to God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Dog that talked to GOD

Date:May 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
debs
Location:Maine
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The story of Mary, a recent widow and Rufus the dog that becomes her companion and sounding board from GOD. Mary is going through a very difficult time of her husband and son being killed in a tragic car accident. As she gets Rufus she starts to realize how much in life you consider material and self centered issues and what is really the purpose of what GOD wants for you. When Mary and Rufus go for walks, that is when she talks to Rufus and then one day and everyday after Rufus starts to answer her back, sometimes he will even ask her questions. that leaves Mary to face reality. It made me smile, as a dog person you sometimes in life look at your own dog and wonder what they are thinking. This book gives a take on what they are thinking, many times I have made my own mind up as to what they are thinking, but this story puts it into perspective.
I would recommend this delightful book, it is different and so enjoying. If you are a dog lover, you will LOVE this book and if you are not a dog lover you will get a whole new insight on dogs, GODS creations and maybe become a dog lover. Everyone should read this book.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through theLitfues group review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Dog That Talked to God - eBook
This review is fromThe Dog That Talked to God.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

more than meets the eye

Date:May 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Marianne
Location:Wanham, Alberta
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jim Kraus is not only a great writer, he also thinks outside the norm, and, is a dog person. Has your dog ever talked to you? Yes? See, that is not fantasy, it is reality. Well, maybe dogs do not talk in audible words, but those of us that have dogs are sure to see the expressions of Rufus in the actions and looks of our own dogs and it is not that much a stretch of our imagination to figure that dogs talk. We all know how intelligent these friends of ours are. Now that I have told you that, I will tell you that I found this book hard to connect to. Perhaps it was only that the Point of View was first person, and that is a personal thing. This fact does not stop me from picking up another one of his books and enjoying it. The story is well told, and completely realistic (well, i think that even those readers that are not dog lovers will think that, except for that little bit about a dog being able to talk in human voice that humans can understand). Jim does a great job of bringing out the aspects of grief....from being angry at God, to closure.
Thank you to Litfuse Publications who provided a free book in exchange for an honest review. A positive critique was not required. The opinions stated are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Dog That Talked to God - eBook
This review is fromThe Dog That Talked to God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

cue and entertaining

Date:April 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
no nick name
Location:Oklahoma city
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found the book to be delightful. I liked the dog asking if he was getting fat among other cute funny statements he made to his owner.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Dog That Talked to God - eBook
This review is fromThe Dog That Talked to God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved it!

Date:April 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
homeschoolmom24
Location:Alabama
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
About the Book:
Recently widowed Mary Fassler buys a Miniature Schnauzer, Rufus, and her world is turned sideways in the midst of her grief. It seems that Rufus speaks. And not just to her. He also talks to God. When Rufus begins sharing advice that could result in major changes, Mary gets the feeling the pooch might not be steering her in the right direction. Or, is she just afraid to take the leap and discover something she desperately needs? Only Rufus...and God...knows. "Jim Kraus has written a funny, heartfelt novel in the tradition of Garth Stein and John Grogan. For a long time dogs have been man's best friend. It only made sense one would finally come along to save our souls." - Rob Stennett author, Homemade Haunting and The Almost True Story Of Ryan Fisher "I loved this story. Quirky and unusual, this unique tale wove a spell around me and drew me in. It wasn't what I expected at all, and when I turned the last page, it left me wanting more." - Ane Mulligan, Sr. Editor of Novel Rocket "The Dog That Talked to God is a moving and powerful read, inspirational long after the last page has been turned." - New York Journal of Books
About the Author:
Jim Kraus grew up in Western Pennsylvania and is a graduate of the University of Pittsburgh. He attended the Paris-American Academy in 1971 and has spent the last twenty years as a vice-president of a major Christian publishing house. He has written more than 20 books and novels (many with his wife, Terri) including the best-selling The Dog That Talked to God (Abingdon Press, 2012). His book, The Silence, was named as one of the top five releases in 2004 by the Christian Book Review website. He is also an award-winning photographer. He and his wife and 14-year-old son live outside of Chicago with a sweet miniature schnauzer and an ill-tempered Siberian cat.
My Review:
A terrible accident has left forty something Mary Fassler alone. She decides after awhile that a companion may do her heart some justice so she purchases a Miniature Schnauzer from a very uptight breeder. She soon settles on the name Rufus but has no reason for the choice. Rufus seems to be a very sweet, spirited, lovely dog. He doesn't act up and isn't violent. But soon kind hearted Mary sees that there is so much more to this dog than meets the eye.
Jim Kraus is a very articulate writer. The Dog That Talked to God is a very unique book written from the main characters point of view. You are soon entrapped in her life but not in a bad sort of way. You want to learn more about her and her predicament. I found myself falling in love with her and Rufus almost immediately. This book is a different book than what I'm use to but above all it was very enjoyable and speaks right to the heart.
**Disclosure** This book was provided to me free of charge for my honest review from Litfuse Publicity.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Dog That Talked to God - eBook
This review is fromThe Dog That Talked to God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Dog That Talked To God ~ Don't we all?

Date:January 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Crystal
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As an avid animal lover, dog owner/owned proudly, I was thrilled to be able to request this faithful title! You might expect a cheesy story, but it's FAR from it! A very thought-provoking, witty read from the very beginning to the last. You are drawn in to the devastating reality of Mary Fassler's pain as she grieves for her husband and son lost in a tragic accident. Angry at God, she has many questions but no answers. Can a furry, four-legged schnauzer be the answer Mary has been asking for? No wonder Jesus was born amongst the animals, as you will read and see through the the eyes of a dog the innocence, and unconditional love.
He is your friend, your partner, your defender, your dog. You are his life, his love, his leader. He will be yours, faithful and true, to the last beat of his heart. You owe it to him to be worthy of such devotion.
-- Author Unknown
*I received this book free from the Publisher in exchange for an honest, unbiased, non-profit review*
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Dog That Talked to God - eBook
This review is fromThe Dog That Talked to God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Brenda Dardinger
Location:Ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The book is excellent fiction reading material for all . The story line has a sad beginning with a good ending. Rufus comes into Mary's life to give her companionship. Mary receives more than a friend. She receives a blessing that God speaks through her friend. The friend speaks God's words to help her heal from the pain of the past. Amazing gift in a small package that most wouldn't believe unless you know God and His miracles. Great book that inspires us to move forward in our own jouney even when sorrow is heavy.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Dog That Talked to God - eBook
This review is fromThe Dog That Talked to God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great animal story!

Date:March 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mary Fassler has a unique friend in her dog Rufus. Having recently lost her husband and son in an accident with a drunk driver, Mary has been blaming God since it has happened. At first Mary didn't notice much about Rufus that was unusual when she adopted him from his breeder. He was the runt of the litter and Mary felt lead that Rufus was the perfect dog for her.
One night while taking him out for a walking, she posed a general question to her dog like all of us have asked our pets at one time or another, and this time, Rufus answered. Yes, he really spoke to her. She claims his voice is similar to that of Eeyore from Winnie-The-Pooh, in that his speech is slow and calculated. Most of the time Rufus has the intelligence of a young child when he poses questions to Mary such as is he fat because he heard from another dog that he has to lose a few pounds because he's too fat, referring of course to Gus, the dog he has seen around the neighborhood on their walks. Gus has also told him that his rear legs hurt and he wants to move to Orlando where it's warm. He says it helps him when it's warmer.
Mary and Rufus develop a close bond and friendship, in their nightly walks. Rufus only speaks at night and only to Mary. He has also told Mary he has a close bond to God, in fact all dogs do, but mostly the good dogs talk to God and the bad dogs could but sometimes they chose not to. The grief that Mary's been dealing with has kept her from moving forward even though its been five years since the loss of her family. Well meaning family and friends try to set her up on dates and offer unsolicited advice which Mary takes in stride but soon she feels it may be time to start over again some place new. If only she knew what God wanted her to do, then perhaps she could move forward. Maybe she could talk to Rufus to see if he knows what God has in store for her instead?
In the novel, The Dog That Talked to God by Jim Kraus, the author writes a delightful and charming story of a unique friendship between an owner, Mary and her miniature Schnauzer, Rufus. Along the way, Rufus teaches Mary much about God and what how He works according to the simplicity that only a dog would understand. Can Rufus help point the way back to God for Mary? You'll have to pick this heart-warming book up to see for yourself. This one is definitely one for pet lovers everywhere who truly know what it means to talk to your dog! I rate this one a 5 out of 5 stars in my opinion!
I received this book compliments of Christian Fiction Blog Alliance for my honest opinion and know that animal lovers everywhere will want to pick this one up!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Dog That Talked to God - eBook
This review is fromThe Dog That Talked to God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a delightful novel

Date:March 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Do you ever just want to read a good novel? A novel that keeps your interest, has nothing bloody or scary? A novel that has great characters, a good plot and a tear jerking ending? If so, this is the one for you.
Mary lost her beloved husband and son to an automobile accident four years ago. She is mad at God so she is not talking to Him. She still has the pain and she can't move on.
She decides to buy a schnauzer, a warm body to have close by. She names him Rufus and they enjoy their walks in the evening.
Then, one night, Rufus speaks, out loud, to Mary. He not only speaks to her, he speaks to God too. Through Rufus, Mary begins to see her way to healing. It is a slow process and there are some mistakes along the way. But Rufus is there to help her, even to the point of being willing to give his life to keep her from harm.
What a delightful book. I am usually frustrated when a male author writes with a female lead character. But Kraus did an excellent job.
Strictly speaking, there is no Jesus in this book. There are plenty of references to God, however. And the point is clear. Life is only “right” when one is in an honest relationship with God.
This book kept my interest from cover to cover. I loved the theological issues that Rufus and Mary deal with. Rufus talked to God once a week, like the animals do. What wisdom he got in those conversations.
Be sure to have a tissue nearby when you get close to the end of the book. You'll happily need it.
I received an egalley of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review. The opinions expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Dog That Talked to God - eBook
This review is fromThe Dog That Talked to God.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Listening To God

Date:February 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mary Fassler has been grieving for her Husband and Son, who were killed almost 5 years ago, by a drunk driver. She is still angry with God, and is struggling with her grief. Enter a sweet baby schnauzer, whom she names Rufus.
What a delight he turns out of be, and then he starts talking. He is at times very deep in his thoughts, and at other times hilarious! At one time he asks her if she thinks he is "fat". All the time he is talking I pictured in my mind the dog in the youtube spot!
The main problem I had was the ending seemed very rushed, and the lack of Church attending. I think it is an enjoyable book, and would recommend it for a quick read.
I received this book from the Publisher Abingdon Press, and was not required to give a positive review.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Dog That Talked to God - eBook
This review is fromThe Dog That Talked to God.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A delightful, though different tale

Date:February 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
samcivy
Location:Eugene, OR
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Novel writer, Mary Fassler buys a miniature Schnauzer puppy, unaware of his unusual talent--he talks to God and sometimes to her. She admits she is confused, lost and needing to return to an awareness of God, but can’t. She actually is angry at God and doesn’t understand how her life could have become so tragic.
In lesser skilled hands, Jim Kraus’s tale would be unbelievable. The book, however, leaves readers satisfied and feeling good about the dog and Mary.
Mary’s name for the wee puppy, Rufus. He isn’t a angel in disguise but like a preschool child is often fearful and ignorant about ordinary life.
Mary slowly reveals the huge tragedy she experienced and from which her friends believe she is not recovering. She is also lonely. Two girlfriends convince her to try dating again, another disaster. Rufus nearly dies to save her from creating a worse mess in her life.
To please Rufus, Mary sells her five bedroom, four bath home and many of her belongings and buys an eight-year old Volvo. Then, because Rufus doesn’t like cold Illinois weather, they pack up and agree to find a new home near some place warm alongside an ocean.
Planning to explore the east coast for several months, after three days, Mary is tired of traveling. She and Rufus settle into a Cape Cod house in Atlantic City, NC, a small town.
That’s when the story turns especially heart-warming and delightful. You won’t be sorry if you read this lovely book.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Dog That Talked to God - eBook
This review is fromThe Dog That Talked to God.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Prophetic Dog

Date:January 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Floyd Johnson
Location:Upstate NY
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We do not own a Schnauzer - we own a Shih Tzu. But he does talk. In fact, most people who own dogs know that they can talk. The bigger problem comes when we try to understand what they are saying.
The problem was that Mary Frassler could understand her pet Schnauzer. And he claimed to speak for God. Theologically, one might describe him as a prophet - though I doubt he would claim the title for himself. But he did talk for God and to God:
“How often do you talk with God?” I continued … I wanted to know how this dog came to have a direct line to the Almighty.
“Once a week. Like all the animals.”
“Only one a week?”
“It’s enough for a dog.”
The problem is that nobody else would understand her ability to have a real conversation with Schnauzer. A conversation that would help her past the grief of losing her husband and son, Jacob and John, three years ago. A conversation that would help her to understand the new relationship she was developing with Brian. And a conversation that would help her to renew her relationship with God - a relationship that was seriously damaged when …. why would God take the two most important people in her life away. The accident brought a quick halt to any relationship she had with God or with the church.
I enjoyed the writing. I enjoyed the intentional weaving of new vocabulary words into the story; words like parsimonious, pithy, and torpor. Some I had heard before, some were new, but I had to verify the definitions as I came across them in the story.
Jim Kraus has written an interesting story of how a dog fits into the life of one woman. His role of healer, confidant, and friend, is portrayed in a way that I could clearly see my dog - his sounds, his behaviors, his attitudes - yep, there was Bo Dandy alright. This dog, my dog, can be used by God touch the lives of their humans. Rufus did it in The Dog That Talked To God, Bo Dandy does it our own lives.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.