Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Swope's Ridge, Lije Evans Mysteries Series #2

Zondervan Swope's Ridge, Lije Evans Mysteries Series #2

September 12, 2001. Four members of the Klasser family are found dead outside Dallas, Texas. In the wake of 9/11, the Klassers' neighbor, Omar Jones-an American citizen of Arab descent-is convicted of their murder.

A month before Jones' execution, attorney Lije Evans searches for evidence that will prove the man innocent. But Evans' quest goes deeper than solving one crime. He is determined to find the secret behind the dark history of sleepy Swope's Ridge-and how it ties into his wife's murder.

Interlocking mysteries lead Evans and his team to the battlegrounds of former Nazi Germany, the dirt roads of Kansas, and a rusty cargo ship in the Gulf of Mexico. Along the way, they discover a secret that offers the promise of great power-and the greatest temptation they've ever faced.

Average Customer Rating:
4.889 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Swope's Ridge, Lije Evans Mysteries Series #2
Review 1 for Swope's Ridge, Lije Evans Mysteries Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ladi Di
Location:New Milford,CT
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book was different in the sense it was involving 2 mysteries.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Swope's Ridge, Lije Evans Mysteries Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Buddy
Location:Seymour, TN
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The suspense was so great you didn't want to lay the book down; I couldn'r wait for this book to see what would happen after the fist book. They were both very good!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Swope's Ridge, Lije Evans Mysteries Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sally Steele
After reading Farraday Road I could hardly wait to getmy hands on Swope's Ridge. Ace Collins sure knows how to hook an audience and write a great mystery. Ihope that these two are the start of many books to come. My friends at church enjoyed them also.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Swope's Ridge, Lije Evans Mysteries Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Brita Carlson
Outstanding book and follow-up to Farraday Road. I could not put this book. Excellent writing and plot development. Even though I figured who the "leak" could be, I sometimes doubted with all the twists and turns that this book takes. Every wall in my apartment would be filled with this story board. I am anxiously looking forward to a third book and I want to find out more about Curtis, Jamie, Heather, and Lije. Don't keep us waiting Mr. Collins.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Swope's Ridge, Lije Evans Mysteries Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kristen H.
Swope's Ridge continues the story of Lije Evans, a small-town, Arkansas lawyer, trying to find the answer to who killed his wife. He thinks that her death is somehow related to her purchase of the property at Swope's Ridge. After he and his friends make an unusual discovery there, the team goes on a world-wide search for answers.The book is fast-paced with lots of twists and turns. I found it difficult to put down and hope to read more adventures of Lije Evans. Like Farraday Road, Swope's Ridge wasn't overtly Christian, but it did have a few more references to faith and several of the characters did attend church. I am not mentioning this as a negative factor, but for information. If you are expecting a book with Christian content, you will be disappointed. On the other hand, if you typically steer clear of "Christian fiction" and like mysteries, you should definitely consider reading this series.I received a copy of Swope's Ridge for free from Zondervan in exchange for my honest review. I was not compensated for this review.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Swope's Ridge, Lije Evans Mysteries Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 23, 2009
Every time we read about a person on death row who declares they are innocent up to and including their last breath we have to wonder. Are they really guilty? Are they innocent? Or are they delusional and believe their own lies?This kept me riveted to this story to see how the cross and double cross was solved . . . or not.I like a book that makes me think and ponder and search for truth.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Swope's Ridge, Lije Evans Mysteries Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
brknhrt
Swopes Ridge is a fast-paced mystery loaded with political intrigue. The main characters are likeable and interesting. I do wish I had read Farraday Road, the first of the Lije Evans Mysteries, before I read this one. Still, it was an interesting and entertaining mystery, and I will catch up with the first one next. I enjoyed that the characters considered matters of faith openly and with honest feelings that many people experience especially after the loss of a loved one. The mystery behind a piece of property spans all the way to Germany and involve events in the past. It is all brought together to a tidy conclusion. Look for the next Lije Evans Mystery to come.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Swope's Ridge, Lije Evans Mysteries Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 20, 2009
Swopes Ridge continues the story Ace Collins began in his riveting debut work of fiction, Farraday Road. Lije Evans and his cast of characters follow the mystery of Swopes Ridge to places none of them could have possibly imagined. What began as the hunt for the murderer of his wife becomes Lijes quest to stop something far bigger than the individual pieces of the mystery.The stakes are raised as we realize what happened in a sleepy corner of Arkansas was only the precursor to something much more sinister than first believed. The author expands the story this time to include international terrorism and the last soldier of the most infamous of all terrorists, Adolf Hitler. This time around we are carried from Arkansas, to England, to Germany, to Mexico, to Kansas, and back home again on a wild ride of suspense, mystery, and espionage.Though the stage is much bigger than the first novel, Collins still manages to keep us close to the characters; something that is often lost in sequels. Swopes Ridge is not a book for readers looking for stereotypical cut outs of characters. Through all the adventure we are presented a sobering look at racism, betrayal, and misplaced loyalties. Once again the plot is tight and the dialogue, engaging. And the really good news there is no to be continued at the end of this one. Though Lije Evans may be back another day you will be satisfied with the conclusion of the mystery of Swopes Ride. Very satisfying.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Swope's Ridge, Lije Evans Mysteries Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lorene
I thought this was an excellent mystery book and enjoyed it throughout. My disappointment is that the story didn't end on the last page and there is no follow up book. It's the first mystery/suppense book in all of the books I have read where I feel the book is not completed. Even at that, I will recommend this book to my friends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.