Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Life & Ministry Of The Messiah DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 3

Zondervan Life & Ministry Of The Messiah DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 3

Pack your bags. We’re going on a journey. A quest to uncover Scripture and its meaning across history. Filmed on location in Israel and throughout the Middle East, the Faith Lessons DVD series is an adventure in biblical learning. You will discover why Jesus turned the world upside down with his compelling call to follow him.

Teacher and historian Ray Vander Laan brings together history, culture, and geography to illuminate the Gospels. Eight DVD lessons with a Leader's Guide will let you, your family, or your small group walk with Jesus through the days of his ministry on this earth. The insights you gain will transform your reading of the Gospels and inspire a deeper faith commitment.

Faith Lessons on the Life and Ministry of the Messiah focuses on the birth of Jesus, his life, and his short but powerful ministry—a ministry that has shaped empires and changed the course of history. 2 hours, 35mins. Designed to be used with the revised interactive Discovery Guide sold separatly: WW279648.

Average Customer Rating:
4.714 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Life & Ministry Of The Messiah DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 3
Review 1 for Life & Ministry Of The Messiah DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent

Date:May 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Diana
Location:Oklahoma City, OK
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We were introduced to this series of DVDs in the mid 1990's at church and began buying them for our family. At first we used them for homeschooling Bible studies but we continued watching them over and over. Back then they were VHS and lately we've had problems with them wearing out and getting stuck in the VCR so we just ordered the first five again, this time on DVD. That's how good they are. We have all 12 and the study guides that go along with them and just continue to watch them in order from start to finish and never tire of them. Ray Vander Laan is an incredible, humble, insightful teacher and teaches from his heart as well as his mind. The scripture becomes much more real as he explains different cultures, customs and meanings of the Bible. Even though we have watched them many times it seems we still learn something new each time that we didn't pick up on before. Can't recommend these highly enough. Every time we get a catalog from CBD I open it first to these DVDs to check and see if #13 has arrived yet. We will continue to purchase them. It's the best Bible teaching my husband and I have ever received and we've been in church all our lives.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Life & Ministry Of The Messiah DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

very informative!

Date:July 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
gratedin
Location:Santa Ana, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ray Vanderlan teaches in a way that is true to biblical text and content. His approach is from the perspective of Christianity's Hebraic roots, something that has been lost for far too long! This will open your eyes to accurate and very informative biblical teaching!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Life & Ministry Of The Messiah DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A tour of the Holy Land from home

Date:July 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
CathyAnn
Location:MA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is part of a rather extensive video series of the Holy Land. It gives a lot of background for the events of Biblical times and allows you to see the places where it all took place. It is a wonderful complement to a study of scripture. Our church is using the series for Sunday School and I bought this individual video for my dad for Father's Day. I highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Life & Ministry Of The Messiah DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Our home group thoroughly enjoys the series/

Date:April 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
sunny
Location:Berthoud, Colorado
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1. The photography is excellent.
2. The historical value is excellent.
3. The application of Biblical teaching to modern day is excellent.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Life & Ministry Of The Messiah DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Barry Mershon
I have used this CD along with another one for our small group on Wedesday nights. Every one was thrilled with what they saw and what they had learned. No matter how long you have studied the Word of God, Ray Vander Lann always has something to stir your soul and to make you want to study more. His insights are always so enlightening..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Life & Ministry Of The Messiah DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 3
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:March 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
JW
It's nice to add in culture & historical background, but going too far is to take away from the authority of the Scripture. Our understanding of culture and historical events can be wrong, therefore should "NOT" let that supersede the Bible.
-5points
0of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Life & Ministry Of The Messiah DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
John Chapman
Historian and teacher Ray Vander Laan is has the gift of finding life faith lessons through the archeological ruins of Bible time settings. Looking through the lenses of culture, language and settings the teachings of Jesus aremade alive and fresh as if I was there. This is an excellent resource for teaching life application as well as personal reflections on the key points. Excellent!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Life & Ministry Of The Messiah DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sharon Osborne
The whole series is great. Being able to travel to the areas of the Bible and not leave your home is awesome. The message from Ray Vander Laan is most meaningful. Knowing the history of the area and time adds so much to the Word/
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Life & Ministry Of The Messiah DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Philip Smith
As a minister I enjoy learning more about the context in which the Bible was written. This video accomplishes just that. I have enjoyed most everything that Ray Vander Laan produces. Excellent DVD!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Life & Ministry Of The Messiah DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 11, 2009
I bought this for my father for Christmas, we have vols. 1,2,5,6,7, so my mom and I are filling in the gaps. We all love the series, and highly recommend it to anyone and everyone!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Life & Ministry Of The Messiah DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kathy Leonhardt
WOW!!!! This DVD is INCREDIBLE!! I purchased Ray Vander Laan's DVD Faith Lessons after our church began showing one session every Sunday. My children wanted to know, see and learn more. These Faith Lesson DVD's have opened doors to teach and grow in Christ. Ray's passion and personality is wonderful, his teaching, explanations and thoughts are excellent. My desire to learn more of the Bible and of Jesus Christ has been spurred on through these DVD's. The study guide books are a great compliment. Ray's DVD's are such a treat and blessing... we are grateful!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Life & Ministry Of The Messiah DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Janet Clayton
This DVD is awesome as are all the Faith Lesson series. Ray Vander Laan is an excellent teacher and I highly recommend the entire series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Life & Ministry Of The Messiah DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Susanne Lovett
Have not started the study yet, but if it is anything like his others I am sure it will be GREAT!!! Very good service and rapid delivery, will continue to use Christianbook.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Life & Ministry Of The Messiah DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lizabeth Thompson
I can't even express my deepest appreciation to Dr. Dobson for being so visionary as to get the Focus on the Family ministry, to get Ray Vander Laan's THAT THE WORLD MAY KNOW, FAITH LESSONS, VOL. 1-7.....they are incredible and have been a huge tool in GOD's hands. A blessing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.