Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Life & Ministry Of The Messiah Discovery Guide, Faith Lessons Volume 3

Zondervan Life & Ministry Of The Messiah Discovery Guide, Faith Lessons Volume 3

Faith Lessons by Ray Vander Laan illuminate the historical, geographical, and cultural context of the sacred Scriptures. The Life & Ministry of the Messiah Discovery Guide focuses on Scripture explored in the DVD (WW279624), and includes sidebars, maps, photos, charts, and questions that facilitate discussion at group sessions. An added feature to the revised guide is 5 personal Bible studies between each session that help you deepen your learning experience and application.

8 sessions cover Herod's palace, Masada, Qumran, the Mount of Beatitudes, the Rabbi, language,. misguided Faith, and the living water/ En Gedi.
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 11100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Life & Ministry Of The Messiah Discovery Guide, Faith Lessons Volume 3
Review 1 for Life & Ministry Of The Messiah Discovery Guide, Faith Lessons Volume 3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Brings the meaning of scripture to life.

Date:October 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
June
Location:Clarksville, MI
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book and the whole series is Excellent. If you want to learn more about the culture and how it sheds new light on scripture this series does that. Example I learned in this book the bride went to live in the groom's father's house when she got married. He would build unto the father's house and then come and get her. It really makes since when God calls us his bride and he is going to his Father's house to prepare a place for us.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Life & Ministry Of The Messiah Discovery Guide, Faith Lessons Volume 3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Really Great Study

Date:September 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bob B
Location:Kingsport, TN
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Having lived and worked in Israel for three years, this study allows me to bring more to the table. Ray VanderLaan's presentation, in itself, is truly fascinating, interesting, and to the point. Whether you agree with all his points or not, you will rethink all you've learned in the past. I've facilitated this study as well as quite a few others from this series. People attend! They dig into Scripture. They investigate. They become involved. I highly recommend this study and the entire series to anyone wanting to understand more fully the Holy Land, the time of Jesus (and his ministry), our Christian roots, and how God's plans will be fulfilled . . . no matter what we, as human beings, do. Additionally, it gives you scope of the land, erasing what I refer to as the "Cecil B. DeMille mentality" -- all that we've been exposed to in cinema throughout the years. Give it a try. You'll be pleasantly surprised.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Life & Ministry Of The Messiah Discovery Guide, Faith Lessons Volume 3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Participant Guide

Date:April 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
LadyByrd
Location:O'Fallon, MO
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This guide is great for personal study as well as participation in a small group study. Ray Vander Laan is and excellent teacher!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Life & Ministry Of The Messiah Discovery Guide, Faith Lessons Volume 3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Bible study

Date:November 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
phil213life
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Bible study includes many scriptures on each topic, allowing the student to delve deeper into God's word. In addition, the cultural information provides a wonderful insight to Biblical lands, peoples, and archeological findings. All this helps one gain a deeper understand of the scriptures. Our church group has enjoyed and appreciated this study.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Life & Ministry Of The Messiah Discovery Guide, Faith Lessons Volume 3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Happy Trainer
Location:Lynnville, IA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great book that goes along with the DVD. The book has a great indepth study that goes along with each lesson.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Life & Ministry Of The Messiah Discovery Guide, Faith Lessons Volume 3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
darla
Location:florida
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i think these discovery guides are great. doing a Bible study next month with several ladies. anxious to hear their comments as ray vander laan takes us to israel and shares his knowledge with us. it's almost [not quite, but almost] as good as actually being there. his dvd's bring the Word to life for me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Life & Ministry Of The Messiah Discovery Guide, Faith Lessons Volume 3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

we love any thing from Ray Vander Laan

Date:March 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
tamms
Location:Aurora, Il
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are using this for a women bible study. After watching the video we just feel closer to the story of the day. The questions for the week we use as a way to start our discussion. Seeing where things took place and the photos in the workbook bring the story alive. Ray brings the story in simple terms that all can understand. I would recommend this to any one looking for a great bible study.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Life & Ministry Of The Messiah Discovery Guide, Faith Lessons Volume 3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great product for Bible study

Date:November 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
calgee
Location:Helen, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you're involved in a Bible study that uses the That The World May Know videos, this workbook is a must. It contains great resources to help you understand the context of a particular biblical event. The individual lesson plans help guide the student into discerning the applicability of the lessons learned for the life of the believer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Life & Ministry Of The Messiah Discovery Guide, Faith Lessons Volume 3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Take your faith to a new level!

Date:August 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Becky
Location:Alexandria, VA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome study! Use it with the DVD for the maximum understanding. Excellent, excellent study!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Life & Ministry Of The Messiah Discovery Guide, Faith Lessons Volume 3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great study

Date:January 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Topconnie
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great way to learn what the scriptures are talking about when they mention specific places or people. This study helps you learn more about the setting, the customs and the people and makes them more real.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Life & Ministry Of The Messiah Discovery Guide, Faith Lessons Volume 3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Life @ Ministry of the Messiah Discovery Guide

Date:November 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lanier United Methodist
Location:Cumming, Ga
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have not finished the study yet, but the lessons I have done have been very in depth and very interesting. Not a lot of home work, and the info included is vast. All together I recommend this study to all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Life & Ministry Of The Messiah Discovery Guide, Faith Lessons Volume 3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jo Livingston
This is an incredible study...like no other!! Ray Vander Laan is a wonderful teacher. This is our second in this series and our study group has grown weekly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Life & Ministry Of The Messiah Discovery Guide, Faith Lessons Volume 3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ann Anderson
This study guide looks like a great book to use with a group. They lesson plans were clear and interesting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Life & Ministry Of The Messiah Discovery Guide, Faith Lessons Volume 3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Bill Yingling
This is an extraordinary study providing an in depth view of how the people of Israel and their culture influenced they way they saw Jesus.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Life & Ministry Of The Messiah Discovery Guide, Faith Lessons Volume 3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kathy Leonhardt
Ray Vander Laan's Faith Lesson videos are EXCELLENT!! We bought the complete set after our local church began showing one lesson every Sunday. Our children (Ages 18, 16, 14, 11, 9 and 7) really enjoy Ray's teaching. These study guide books give me "more to chew on" as the lesson continues. Ray's teaching is SUPER and this book gives a more in depth understanding and study that allows our learning to grow! EXCELLENT!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Life & Ministry Of The Messiah Discovery Guide, Faith Lessons Volume 3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Susanne Lovett
Have not started the study yet, but if it is anything like his others I am sure it will be GREAT!!! Very good service and rapid delivery, will continue to use Christianbook.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.