Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Death & Resurrection Of The Messiah DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 4

Zondervan Death & Resurrection Of The Messiah DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 4

Pack your bags. We’re going on a journey. A quest to uncover Scripture and its meaning across history. Filmed on location in Israel and throughout the Middle East, the Faith Lessons DVD series is an adventure in biblical learning. You will discover why Jesus turned the world upside down with his compelling call to follow him.

Teacher and historian Ray Vander Laan brings together history, culture, and geography to illuminate the Gospels. Eight DVD lessons supported by an interactive Discovery Guide will let you, your family, or your small group walk with Jesus through the days of his ministry on this earth. The insights you gain will transform your reading of the Gospels and inspire a deeper faith commitment.

Faith Lessons on the Death and Resurrection of the Messiah focuses on the last week of Jesus’ life, his death and resurrection, and the Holy Spirit’s visit on Pentecost.

Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for Death & Resurrection Of The Messiah DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 4
Review 1 for Death & Resurrection Of The Messiah DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent

Date:May 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Diana
Location:Oklahoma City, OK
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We were introduced to this series of DVDs in the mid 1990's at church and began buying them for our family. At first we used them for homeschooling Bible studies but we continued watching them over and over. Back then they were VHS and lately we've had problems with them wearing out and getting stuck in the VCR so we just ordered the first five again, this time on DVD. That's how good they are. We have all 12 and the study guides that go along with them and just continue to watch them in order from start to finish and never tire of them. Ray Vander Laan is an incredible, humble, insightful teacher and teaches from his heart as well as his mind. The scripture becomes much more real as he explains different cultures, customs and meanings of the Bible. Even though we have watched them many times it seems we still learn something new each time that we didn't pick up on before. Can't recommend these highly enough. Every time we get a catalog from CBD I open it first to these DVDs to check and see if #13 has arrived yet. We will continue to purchase them. It's the best Bible teaching my husband and I have ever received and we've been in church all our lives.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Death & Resurrection Of The Messiah DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great series

Date:March 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sragal
Location:Indianapolis IN
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would highly recommend this series to all. I have used the "That the world may know" in three different settings and it has always been well receive.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Death & Resurrection Of The Messiah DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great!

Date:April 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kat R
Location:Norridgewock, ME
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These DVDs are so neat. They just add so much to the insight of what scripture is talking about.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Death & Resurrection Of The Messiah DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A view of God's Word presented with great thought.

Date:March 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Servant
Location:Central Pennsylvania
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have a small group of men that have been viewing this DVD on a weekly basis and openly discussing each session or lesson. Many in the group have had their minds and hearts opened by new revelations because of the way Ray Vander Laan presents God's Word. I have read and heard the scripture's, used in this DVD, many times through the years and Ray never stops amazing me by directing our group to look at other references in the scriptures that really drive home what took place, the why, the how and the who. We chose this study to lead us up to Easter and we feel the Lord lead us in this direction. Ray asks some powerful questions of his group in the DVD and of each person who views this DVD. We also appreciate the actual places and its beauty that Ray takes our group to each week.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Death & Resurrection Of The Messiah DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Study and Video Series

Date:January 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
jackie
Location:Cary, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I teach an older single adult Sunday School class at my church. We started with the first book in this series and everyone loves each one. New ideas come forth to explain happenings in the Bible that we have never heard before. The video is very also very beneficial in that it takes you to the place of the lesson and it becomes even more personal and real. We plan to continue thru this whole series.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Death & Resurrection Of The Messiah DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very informative video

Date:January 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
SarahM
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I always enjoy Mr. Vander Laan's videos. He has a way of using the locations around him to bring a new way of seeing the gospel.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Death & Resurrection Of The Messiah DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
blest
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an incredible aid for Bible study. It brings the Word of God into a fresher light as Mr. Vander Laan teaches the whys and ways of Jewish culture.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Death & Resurrection Of The Messiah DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Much Better than Name Suggests!

Date:October 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
RevKev
Location:Monroe CT
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These video teachings offer great modern day visuals of Isreal and have insightful and interesting teachings from the life and ministry of Christ. Not all focused on His death and ressurection. Great basic study of the Gospels, I use it for a seniors group, and they are really enjoying the visuals!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Death & Resurrection Of The Messiah DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kathy Penrod
This whole series is excellent. It opens up the New Testament by investigating the Jewish culture. It has transformed the way I look at the teachings of Christ. I would recommend the entire series to anyone wanting to be a better student of God's Word.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Death & Resurrection Of The Messiah DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Beatrice Farris
These lessons are awesome just as everything I have seen done by Ray Vander Laan. Would love to be in a group that he takes to the Holy Land. His knowledge of the culture of Jesus day make the scripture come alive. Awesome!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Death & Resurrection Of The Messiah DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Larry Short
Beautiful filming, teaching unbiased. This DVD is longest of all Ray Vander Laan, so great value.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Death & Resurrection Of The Messiah DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 11, 2009
The resurrection of Jesus validates His claims and His whole life, so I am glad Ray VL didn't try to rush through this period, but divided the life of Jesus into two volumes of films. My family loves the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Death & Resurrection Of The Messiah DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Larry Short
Ten lessons of about 20 minutes, 8 are true lessons, 2 are survey of Jerusalem. Video and sound is extremely good. Low doctrine, good location based Bible lessons. Slight and noted speculation.This is absolutely first rate instruction, video and sound. Several lessons, you will not heard or read better. Probably none will you find better video.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Death & Resurrection Of The Messiah DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
Tammy Serafini
AWESOME!!! It was a fantastic DVD. And with a great host Ray Vander Laan is fantastic.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Death & Resurrection Of The Messiah DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kathy Leonhardt
Ray Vander Laan is an excellent teacher and this DVD is such a blessing. His teaching is incredible and his Bible based lessons inspire me. I love to learn the history, the foundation of Christ... the truth of His word. This DVD is great for all ages... as my children (Ages 18, 16, 14, 11, 9 and 7) enjoy Ray's teaching. The kids will watch sessions over and over and each one keeps their attention. I am grateful for these lessons... and Ray's gift of teaching is a blessing to us all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Death & Resurrection Of The Messiah DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Nancy House
very good video. This series has made the Bible come to life for my husband and I. We could picture Christ teaching, preaching, and healing where the events actually happened.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Death & Resurrection Of The Messiah DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Deborah Speicher
Faith Lessons on the Death and Resurrection of the Messiah is a wonderful series! It was a blessing for my whole family. Ray Vander Laan is an excellent teacher. I will be ordering more of these dvds! What a perfect gift for Easter. Thank you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Death & Resurrection Of The Messiah DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Susanne Lovett
We have just started this study and it is great, it takes you to place that we have only read about in the bible, very good
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Death & Resurrection Of The Messiah DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lizabeth Thompson
WOW!! Get this and don't hesitate.You and everyone who you share this with willgrow in their faith. A blessing. Hear the call.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Death & Resurrection Of The Messiah DVD, Faith Lessons Volume 4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lynda Holmes
I had seen one of the That The World May Know series earlier and really liked it. This one did not disappoint our family. My 8 year old said "This makes the Bible really interesting! Can we watch some more?" Since i may not get to visit Israel it is very helpful to see the places that Jesus taught and did miracles. Great product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.