Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Master Books Demolishing Supposed Bible Contradictions Volume 2: Exploring Forty Alleged Contradictions - eBook

Master Books Demolishing Supposed Bible Contradictions Volume 2: Exploring Forty Alleged Contradictions - eBook

It's "common knowledge" among skeptics and those who don't believe in inerrancy that the Bible has contradictions. Discover the truth behind forty of these supposed flaws with Demolishing Supposed Bible Contradictions Volume 2 Edited by the experienced apologetics team of Ken Ham, Bodie Hodge and Tim Chaffey, you can rest in the research backing their claims. Looking at the "problems" with two accounts of the creation of vegetation (day 3 or 6?), two dates given for the post-flood earth drying, whether the fifth plague killed Egyptian livestock or not, whether David was offered three or seven years of famine, who asked a special favor of Jesus, and other seeming consistency issues, you'll discover the answers that Christian scholars have posited as solutions that will set your mind at ease. 169 pages, softcover.
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Demolishing Supposed Bible Contradictions Volume 2: Exploring Forty Alleged Contradictions - eBook
Review 1 for Demolishing Supposed Bible Contradictions Volume 2: Exploring Forty Alleged Contradictions - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Powerful Truths

Date:October 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heather
Location:AK
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Demolishing Supposed Bible Contradictions (Vol. 2) is another excellent book written by the combined authorship of Ken Ham, Bodie Hodge, and Tim Chaffey. Designed to give Christians a Biblical basis to stand strong on God's Word, this book does away with the "smoke screens" that unbelievers will throw in your path.
This book has 40 chapters, one for each (you guessed it) supposed Bible contradiction. It's interesting to follow through Biblical chronological history, the original language the texts were written in, and other fact-revealing methods of determining what some have considered contradictory scripture passages.
Even several supposed inconsistencies I had heard of before (that seemed so obvious as non-contradictory) are laid out in reader-friendly terms. It's nice to have easy-to-relate answers to those who have questions.
The Bible doesn't contradict itself in any way. As the book states, it is written to show you that the Bible is completely trustworthy. If we have a difficult time understanding or accepting something, it doesn't mean it is false. We need to look into the issue on a deeper level. I believe that God has preserved His Word through the ages and the original manuscripts were inspired by God. Reading this book has encouraged me to dig deeper into passages before glossing over information that appears more tedious or difficult to understand.
I have yet to read Volume 1 of Demolishing Supposed Bible Contradictions; it is now on my to-read list. I received this book in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Demolishing Supposed Bible Contradictions Volume 2: Exploring Forty Alleged Contradictions - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for devotions :)

Date:July 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have you every been confused about how two different passages referring to the same things can possibly fit together, or even that the Bible got it wrong? If so, or even if you haven't, this book is for you.
The multiple authors of this book answer answer forty questions clearing up some Biblical question marks, using the Bible, science, and literal root translation. The questions ranged from simple misunderstandings to tough and scientific questions, such as, "Do rabbits really 'chew the cud'?" The book dealt with both Old Testament and New Testament scriptures in an understandable comprehensive manner, that added both humor and logic. I thought I knew most of the stuff that would be covered in this book, but I was happily suprised to learn many new things.
Our family used it as part of our family devotions, and it was a great addition! I highly recommend using it this way because the chapters are short and won't go over the heads of children 11 & up.
Overall and wonderful read that is made into many short chapters so that it is easy to pick up and put down whenever you have a moment to spare, and that moment will definitely be worth your time!
I highly recommend that you pick up this wonderful read that can also be a powerful tool.
I received this book from the publisher in return for an honest review. Thanks!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Demolishing Supposed Bible Contradictions Volume 2: Exploring Forty Alleged Contradictions - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
David Shaw
Location:Tecumseh, OK
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When doing apologetics we have to be ready with responses to objections to our faith and questions for those who don’t believe. This is what Peter meant in I Peter 3:15 when he wrote that we must be ready to give a defense for our faith to anyone who asks so finding resources to help us fulfill that passage is vital. Obviously the Bible is the most important apologetic book but if you are like me you haven’t thought of all of the possible responses or questions to ask someone. So books like Demolishing Supposed Bible Contradictions Volume 2 help us do just that.
In this book the author’s cover 40 alleged contradictions people bring up as objections to our faith. They take us from Genesis to Revelation discussing these objections. With each objection they describe “The Problem,” “The Solution,” and “The Conclusion.” They write each of these in a clear and concise manner that gives believers ammo to ward off attacks.
This is a reference I will turn to over and over. It is a resource that every believer will benefit from.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Demolishing Supposed Bible Contradictions Volume 2: Exploring Forty Alleged Contradictions - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good resource for thinking about scripture

Date:June 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heather @ Marine Corps Nomads
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Demolishing Supposed Bible Contradictions Volume 2 teaches that we, as Christians, need to be able to stop being on the defensive and start being on the defensive when it comes to Biblical truths. It also reminds us that we need to make sure that all we say and do needs to be done in a manner which will be pleasing to the Lord. It gives us tools to help us dig deeper and start to answer some of the questions that are routinely thrown out at Christians.
The book is broken down into 5 main sections:
Genesis
Exodus - Deuteronomy
Joshua - Malachi
Matthew - John
Acts - Revelation
Within these sections, several different questions about supposed scriptural contradictions are answered by different authors. I like that they brought in different authors to help answer the questions as the different styles of writing and answering is a nice change of pace. The conversational style of the book makes it less intimidating and easy to read and comprehend.
The book can be read straight through as a way to prepare for questions that we receive, or it can be used as a resource for when we're hit with some of the seemingly tough questions. As always, we are strongly encouraged to really get into the Word of God for the answers. The book is only a resource as the truth is found in His Word.
Disclosure: I received a copy of this book from the publisher to help facilitate the writing of a frank and honest review. A positive review is not guaranteed, and all opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Demolishing Supposed Bible Contradictions Volume 2: Exploring Forty Alleged Contradictions - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Great Book To Strengthen Biblical Faith

Date:May 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
RDrisk5150
Location:Oklahoma City, OK
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Demolishing Supposed Bible Contradictions, Volume 2 by Tim Chaffey, Ken Ham and Bodie Hodge is the second installment from the Answers in Genesis team dealing with supposed contradictions in the Bible. Forty supposed biblical contradictions are dealt with in this volume.
Many times, Christians are stopped cold in their attempts to share the biblical message when someone accuses the Bible of containing contradictions. The Christian must be prepared to defend the Word of God against such attacks. This book is a helpful addition in this regard.
Being able to confront these so-called contradictions is a necessary preparation for the believer for two important reasons:
First, the believer who is prepared to give good answers to supposed Bible contradictions will be much more successful in breaking down the barriers that inhibit unbelievers coming to saving faith. We know that it is the Holy Spirit who convicts the heart, but it is our duty to be prepared to be used by God to aid in that conviction. We are to be ready with a defense for why we believe what we believe (I Peter 3:15).
Second, knowing that good answers exist for any question a skeptic might bring up gives the Christian more confidence in his faith and in his God. The Bible is the Word of God and it is Truth. There are no mistakes in truth. If there appears to be a contradiction in the Bible, it is due to our not fully understanding all the issues involved. Through prayer, Bible study, and helpful resources such as this book, seeming contradictions will disappear.
This volume, and its companion Volume 1, helps to prepare the believer to face the skeptic’s questions. It helps acquaint the Christian with some issues that might come up in witnessing situations. Many skeptics cling to their autonomy voraciously. Many will attack the Bible, and the Christian’s faith, violently. The believer must be ready for that attack.
This book helps the believer prepare a defense for some of the arguments that skeptics are liable to sling his or her way. This builds the believer’s faith and stops the skeptic’s argument at the same time. It makes the Christian a better prepared representative of Jesus Christ.
Christians will not be able to convince everyone we speak to of the veracity of the Word of God. However, with books like these to help us prepare our arguments, and the Holy Spirit’s power working in our hearts and the skeptic’s heart, we will be much more effective for the Kingdom of God.
Demolishing Supposed Bible Contradictions, Volume 2, and all of the books from Master Book publishers, is a helpful addition to any Christian’s library.
[I received a copy of this book to review. The opinions expressed here are my own.]
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Demolishing Supposed Bible Contradictions Volume 2: Exploring Forty Alleged Contradictions - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Defend Your Faith

Date:May 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Wanda Myers
Location:Dublin, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For years those of us in the Christian community have endured the skeptics of Christianity as they have tried to make everyone (including us) think that only uneducated people believe the Bible. Well, no more! Once again we have a resource from Answers in Genesis that shows the average lay person how to defend his faith in a very competent way.
This book has detailed answers to forty supposed contradictions in the Bible in a very clear and concise manner. It also has a really good introduction that explains why it is better to have a good offense than to just always be on the defensive. With tips on how to turn the tables on the skeptics without being rude, this book could very well change the way Christians see their role in the secular world.
I like a lot about this book. It is short (169 pages) but packed with information. Each “contradiction” is dealt with using the same format:
First, the “problem” is plainly stated and includes the Bible passages that pertain to it.
Second, there is the solution to the question explained in a logical way with scripture references and other sources to back it up.
Finally, there is a short conclusion that ties it all together.
Make no apologies or excuses for the Word of God.
Stand up for what you believe.
Defend your faith.
This book is a must have for the Christian home library.
You will not want to be without it.
I received a free copy of this book from the publisher for a fair and honest review. My opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Demolishing Supposed Bible Contradictions Volume 2: Exploring Forty Alleged Contradictions - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

40 alleged contradictions

Date:May 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Melanie Ski
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a Christian I have often heard non-Christian, and even uneducated, luke-warm Christans, mention contradictions in God’s Word. I haven’t given it much thought, instead choosing to have the faith as a child and just know that God didn’t make any mistakes, that it must be through the interpretation that there was error.
That is exactly what this book is intended for, working out those interpretations and bringing them into the light through additional passage references, looking at the times during when they were written, and taking into account translation from the original Word.
40 supposed contradictions from Genesis through Revelation. Each one given a problem statement, or verses that allegedly contradict one another. Then offers a solution for the reader to demolish this contradiction, and then a conclusion for the reader to take the knowledge and utilize it when confronted.
Many of these I have seen scattered around the Creation Museum on signs as you walk through the Bible. I remember reading them then and thinking they were a great treasure to remember. Being of little memory, I of course didn’t retain them from that and was so glad to see them written in this second volume of Demolishing Strongholds.
This is a book to read through, and get an understanding of the scriptures that those questioning the faith may present to you as contradicting. It is an excellent reference to hang on to when those times present themselves and you may or may not as in my limited memory be able to give a solid reason why. I can always say, hold on.. I have a book on that!!
From a homeschool Mom standpoint I think this would be a wonderful book for the teens to read and reference as well. They will come up against many of these once the leave the nest and need to take their biblical worldview out into the world. Perfect guide for young graduates to take with them as well. I am thankful for the editors and researchers who commit time to bringing these contradictions under scrutiny and glorifying God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Demolishing Supposed Bible Contradictions Volume 2: Exploring Forty Alleged Contradictions - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Breaking thru the smoke screen of "contradictions"

Date:May 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Haelie
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Do you believe that the Bible is the inerrant, infallible, perfect Word of God?
Have you ever been reading the Bible and thought you just read something that contradicted itself?
Has it been pointed out to you by someone (friend, coworker, family member, etc.) that the Bible contradicts itself, so it therefore must not be true?
Upon re-reading the supposed contradictory passages and/or listening to the skeptics reasoning, have you found yourself confused and at a loss as to how the true Word of God could contradict itself in such ways?
I have good news for you.
The Bible does NOT contradict itself and there are a few folks who have set out to not only prove it but also to help us to understand why it does not.
In Demolishing Supposed Bible Contradictions (edited by Tim Chaffey, Ken Ham, and Bodie Hodge), a host of contributors give very specific, thorough accounts of forty alleged contradictions in the Bible and explain very clearly why they truly are not contradictions at all.
Often times skeptics who use these supposed contradictions as "proof" that the Bible is false do not even realize that they are just falling for throwing up a "smoke screen" to hide the fact that their own beliefs have more contradictions than the Bible supposedly has. Bodie Hodge and David Wright said it better, so check out what they have to say on that point:
Pointing out supposed contradictions in the Bible is really nothing more than a smoke screen to keep people distracted from the real issue---the numerous contradictions in the humanistic worldview. The sad thing is that the skeptics don't realize it is just a smoke screen.. Not only are they blinded from the truth of God's Word, but they also have a tendency to be blinded to the contradictions and inconsistencies of their own worldview. Scripture refers to such people as those "whose minds the god of this age has blinded, who do not believe" (2 Corinthians 4:4).
As Christians, it is difficult to know all of these supposed contradictions as well as how to break them down and see that they are in fact not contradictory at all. That is why this resource of Demolishing Supposed Bible Contradictions is so valuable. Additionally, when faced with these seeming contradictions either in our own Bible reading time or when they are pointed out by skeptics, what are we as Christians to do?
First, we need to remember God's Word is perfect and relevant in all areas of life (2 Timothy 3:15-17; 2 Peter 1:3). We are sinful, imperfect human beings (Romans 3:23). The correct approach would be to state, "How am I misunderstanding these two passages?" With further study of the Scriptures, guidance from the Holy Spirit, and a desire to uncover the truth, you will likely find the answer. ~ Bodie Hodge and David Wright
With that, I send you on a mission (skeptic and believer alike) to reconsider any supposed Bible contradictions you have read or heard about before, but now in a new light. As a matter of fact, if you are able, I suggest you get a copy of this valuable resource of a book, Demolishing Supposed Bible Contradictions and see how the various authors in it have clearly and accurately dissected each situation to reveal the truth of God's Word. Then, follow their example and learn to do the same for yourself (with the guidance of the Holy Spirit, of course).
Disclaimer: I received this book for free from New Leaf Publishing Group. No other compensation was received. The fact that I received a complimentary product does not guarantee a favorable review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.