Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Oxford University Press NIV Scofield Study Bible III, Burgundy Bonded Leather, Thumb Indexed 1984

Oxford University Press NIV Scofield Study Bible III, Burgundy Bonded Leather, Thumb Indexed 1984

The Scofield Study Bible III offers an unparalleled package of tools designed to enrich the study of God's unchanging Word.

Augmented—not revised—with charts and sidebar articles in an easy-to-use format, it is one of the clearest and most accessible versions available today. Clean, clear text, and array of supplementary materials make this affordable bible a perfect choice for gift-giving or individual study.

This volume, bound in attractive burgundy bonded leather, includes a presentation page for gift giving and a full-color map section. In addition to being attractively printed and bound, it is also highly durable and made to withstand daily use.

Most important, the Scofield Study Bible III NIV includes all of the study and reference features that made it the preferred study bible for generations of readers. It includes cross references that link topics and words together, introductions to the various books of the Bible, a superb system of chain references, the concordance, study notes, charts and diagrams, a subject and a proper name index, and much more.

Features
  • An exclusive, subject-based topical chain reference system
  • Over 100 boxed factual articles and lists
  • Expanded introductions with detailed outlines of each book
  • An expanded Subject index
  • Study not biblical references are in "chapter-and-verse" format
  • Side-column references are grouped by chapter and verse
  • Over 550 in-text definitions of proper nouns for people and place names
  • Nearly 70 in-text black and white maps and charts.
  • In-text articles of nearly 250 notes crucial to understanding the Scofield Study Bible III
  • Indexes to Proper Nouns, Chain References, and Subjects
  • 14 pages of accurate, full color New Oxford Bible Maps (with index of places and natural features)
  • Bottom-of-the-page study notes
  • Sectional headings
  • Select NIV Concordance
  • Presentation & Family record pages
  • Ribbon marker
  • Gold page edges
  • 9.50" x 6.50" x 1.75"
Average Customer Rating:
4.846 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 out of 12100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NIV Scofield Study Bible III, Burgundy Bonded Leather, Thumb Indexed 1984
Review 1 for NIV Scofield Study Bible III, Burgundy Bonded Leather, Thumb Indexed 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Highly Recommend

Date:July 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
Pablo
Location:Harlingen, TX
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I always wanted a Study Bible and the version NIV. I saw this NIV Study Bible and I fell in love with it. I purchased it and it came within a week. I like it because it's the first NIV and it's nearly the same with recent NIV update 2011. I highly recommend this to a newly believer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NIV Scofield Study Bible III, Burgundy Bonded Leather, Thumb Indexed 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Oxfords Scofield III is simply the best ever made

Date:April 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
Dave
Location:Asheville, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simply the best bible you can own. There is so much in the bible that can confuse you and parts are cryptic at times and this can sometimes frustrate someone trying to learn the gospel. Well this Scofield III Study Bible provides all the answers with many conveniently placed maps throughout the notes as you need them (not just a couple in the back like most) as well as provide a concordance and name index that are second to none even when compared to the old Scofield (which does have some incorrect references that are corrected with this edition). Notes are conveniently and respectfully placed separately from the scripture along the bottom all while retaining the authorized KJV Holy Scripture.
Though some of Scofield's notes are the subject of contention at times, the arguments are nonsense and are only a lame attempt by some church leaders to stur up controversy out of fear that a bible that explains everything will result in lower attendance at church and less money in the coffers. Thats why the same anti-study bible pastors will tell you to just get a regular bible or only a reference bible and not to get any study material not provided by them.
As long as you can keep in mind that the notes are not Holy Scripture but tools to help you better understand, then you should definitely get the Scofield III above anything else. You would be doing yourself a great disservice by not getting one. There is some doctrines in the bible that are so intricate and complex that it takes some pastors their entire life to understand them on their own by reading only the bible and even then they still end up being ignorant to a lot of it if they never use study material.
That is why all of the greatest pastors in the world use a Scofield Bible. A trusted source of biblical knowledge for over a hundred years! My uncle is the pastor of a huge church and has been for over forty years. He has two doctorates, one in theology and one in pastoral care. This bible has always been his number one tool for guidance. He recommended it so much that he even presented some as gifts.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NIV Scofield Study Bible III, Burgundy Bonded Leather, Thumb Indexed 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The nicest bibles I own.

Date:March 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Seyah64
Location:Northern Florida
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is probably the nicest bible I own, I own one of these in NKJV also but this is my daily reader at this time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NIV Scofield Study Bible III, Burgundy Bonded Leather, Thumb Indexed 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Bible

Date:November 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
sun set
Location:Basel, BS (switzerland)
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a beautiful and useful bible. It has a nice leather cover, the NIV text is so readable and clear, the study notes are very helpful to understand the Word and get more insight. I love the combination Scofield-NIV, the result is a great study bible that wan't disappoint the reader. What you get is an all-over good quality bible (leather, binding, paper and print), well made. I never get tired reading this bible, it's worth the price. Thank you christianbook, you made it possible to have it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NIV Scofield Study Bible III, Burgundy Bonded Leather, Thumb Indexed 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful, high quality, well bound Study Bible

Date:November 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Robert Shipley
Location:Wishram, Washington
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Scofield study Bible would be a great addition to your library.
This version has the 1984 NIV text.
The bonded leather is soft, flexable, and attravtive. It should hold up well in daily use. I am impressed with Oxford bindings, and the fact these Bibles are sewn, not just glued, is impressive.
I highly recommend this Bible to anyone wanting to study scripture for more understanding.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NIV Scofield Study Bible III, Burgundy Bonded Leather, Thumb Indexed 1984
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Product fits my study needs

Date:April 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Spence
Location:North Carolina
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product is fitting my study needs for the area of the bible I am studying. I recommend this study Bible. Good value for the price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NIV Scofield Study Bible III, Burgundy Bonded Leather, Thumb Indexed 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love this bible!

Date:February 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Connie
Location:NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to read - extremely understandable - makes me want to pick my bible up and read it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NIV Scofield Study Bible III, Burgundy Bonded Leather, Thumb Indexed 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jordan
Location:Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect bible for my teenage son. At an reasonable price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NIV Scofield Study Bible III, Burgundy Bonded Leather, Thumb Indexed 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
bobby
Location:Saint Pauls, NC
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The NIV translation is so easy to understand and the Scofeild study system is the best
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NIV Scofield Study Bible III, Burgundy Bonded Leather, Thumb Indexed 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent product

Date:October 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Nathan
Location:Rockwell, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought for my sister who has used a hard back bible for most of her adult life. She loved it and is enjoying it as of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for NIV Scofield Study Bible III, Burgundy Bonded Leather, Thumb Indexed 1984
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

this is a great product add on to my library

Date:June 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Spoony
Location:Los Angeles, CA.
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really enjoy having the scolfield study bible as a part of my library because its very informative as well as enlightening. I am able to grasp hold of a greater understanding of the word of God. I would gladly reference this Study Bible to all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for NIV Scofield Study Bible III, Burgundy Bonded Leather, Thumb Indexed 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Scofield Bible

Date:December 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Bruce
Location:Spokane, WA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
While the Scofield Bible has been the object of criticism over the years for its premillennial, pretribulational theology, no other theology has ever come close to challenging its consistency and overall cohesiveness. I am aware of no other work that better presents, not only the escatology of this theological position, but more importantly, the overall thesis of scripture - God's plan of redeeming love - as the Scofield Bible. The updates to the work have made this Bible more readable and more easily understood.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for NIV Scofield Study Bible III, Burgundy Bonded Leather, Thumb Indexed 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Brenda Plummer
This is a quality Bible. I have the NKJV and never considered anything other than this for my 21yo son who is just beginging to want to know the Lord. It's so easy to use all of the references. I also gave one of these to my daughter last year.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for NIV Scofield Study Bible III, Burgundy Bonded Leather, Thumb Indexed 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Pamela Rhyne
Bought one for my husband and myself. Very pleased. Enjoy the topical articles and book introductions. The bottom notes are very helpful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for NIV Scofield Study Bible III, Burgundy Bonded Leather, Thumb Indexed 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Wanda Roam
I am very pleased with the large print. It makes reading and studying scripture less stresssful on my eyes especially in low light. I am especially pleased with the study notes and chain references in the margins which help you trace a word or doctrine from the earliest reference in scripture to the last. Anyone wanting to read and study scripture with a fuller understanding will enjoy this Bible. It is rather large and heavy for carrying to Church, but a great study tool at home.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for NIV Scofield Study Bible III, Burgundy Bonded Leather, Thumb Indexed 1984
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Matt Fino
Great version, essential o the growing Christian. I got it for my 2 High School sons it was time to step up for them.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for NIV Scofield Study Bible III, Burgundy Bonded Leather, Thumb Indexed 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Brian Roberson
The Scofield NIV is a very good tool in learning God's Word with the notes and everything that is included with it I know I'm not going to be sorry because this a Very Good Version as well as a Good purchase. Thanks!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for NIV Scofield Study Bible III, Burgundy Bonded Leather, Thumb Indexed 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Larry Hammett
This Bible is outstanding..... the study notes help me gain a deeper understanding of God's Word!... It is a great work.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for NIV Scofield Study Bible III, Burgundy Bonded Leather, Thumb Indexed 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jack Hill
I am well pleased with my large print edition of the Scofield III, NIV Bible that I purchased. The font size makes it easy for a senior citizen (like myself) to read, yet the overall size of the Bible is small enough to be carried to church. The study helps in this Bible give an abundant amount of information to assist one in studying the Bible alone at home; it is a library within itself. I highly recommend this Bible for beginners as well as the advanced students of the Bible.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for NIV Scofield Study Bible III, Burgundy Bonded Leather, Thumb Indexed 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Rev Dr Gloria Gay
I first purchased this bible in 1983. Finally after 25 years with the same bible I have had to reluctantly put it out to pasture. The cover is long gone and the pages are beginning to fall out. It has been my constant companion out of a slew of other bibles. The quality has been proven by the years of endurance and I use the notes and study references even when I refer to other bibles. I have replaced it with another one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>