Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Oxford University Press NIV, The Scofield Study Bible III, Basketweave BK/BG, Bonded Leather, Thumb-Indexed 1984

Oxford University Press NIV, The Scofield Study Bible III, Basketweave BK/BG, Bonded Leather, Thumb-Indexed 1984

This edition combines the renowned Scofield notes and reference system with the New International Version, one of the most popular modern Bible translations. But that's not all: The fruit of Dr. C. I. Scofield's decades of reflection upon the Word of God have been augmented (not revised) to make the ideas underlying the Scofield Study Bible's annotations clearer to modern readers. An abundance of factual information is presented in topical articles, charts, and lists that add depth and richness to study time. Enhanced book introductions, accurate in-text maps, authoritative full color maps, and page bottom notes broaden the context of the reader's understanding.Everything about this edition has been designed to encourage serious Bible study. First-time students and seasoned believers alike will find this volume to be a trustworthy guide to the panorama of God's plan of salvation.

Features:
  • Side-column references
  • Subject-based topical chain reference system
  • Words of Christ in Red
  • Concordance
  • Book introductions and outlines
  • Full-color maps
  • Presentation & family record page
  • 9 point type
  • Double-column format
  • Ribbon Marker
  • Bonded Leather Black/Burgundy Basketweave
  • Hundreds of black and white in-text maps, charts,
  • Thumb Indexed
  • Gold page edges
  • 9.50" x 6.50" x 1.50"
Average Customer Rating:
4.833 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NIV, The Scofield Study Bible III, Basketweave BK/BG, Bonded Leather, Thumb-Indexed 1984
Review 1 for NIV, The Scofield Study Bible III, Basketweave BK/BG, Bonded Leather, Thumb-Indexed 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The nicest bibles I own.

Date:March 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Seyah64
Location:Northern Florida
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is probably the nicest bible I own, I own one of these in NKJV also but this is my daily reader at this time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NIV, The Scofield Study Bible III, Basketweave BK/BG, Bonded Leather, Thumb-Indexed 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Bible

Date:November 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
sun set
Location:Basel, BS (switzerland)
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a beautiful and useful bible. It has a nice leather cover, the NIV text is so readable and clear, the study notes are very helpful to understand the Word and get more insight. I love the combination Scofield-NIV, the result is a great study bible that wan't disappoint the reader. What you get is an all-over good quality bible (leather, binding, paper and print), well made. I never get tired reading this bible, it's worth the price. Thank you christianbook, you made it possible to have it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NIV, The Scofield Study Bible III, Basketweave BK/BG, Bonded Leather, Thumb-Indexed 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful, high quality, well bound Study Bible

Date:November 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Robert Shipley
Location:Wishram, Washington
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Scofield study Bible would be a great addition to your library.
This version has the 1984 NIV text.
The bonded leather is soft, flexable, and attravtive. It should hold up well in daily use. I am impressed with Oxford bindings, and the fact these Bibles are sewn, not just glued, is impressive.
I highly recommend this Bible to anyone wanting to study scripture for more understanding.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NIV, The Scofield Study Bible III, Basketweave BK/BG, Bonded Leather, Thumb-Indexed 1984
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Product fits my study needs

Date:April 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Spence
Location:North Carolina
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product is fitting my study needs for the area of the bible I am studying. I recommend this study Bible. Good value for the price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NIV, The Scofield Study Bible III, Basketweave BK/BG, Bonded Leather, Thumb-Indexed 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love this bible!

Date:February 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Connie
Location:NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to read - extremely understandable - makes me want to pick my bible up and read it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NIV, The Scofield Study Bible III, Basketweave BK/BG, Bonded Leather, Thumb-Indexed 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jordan
Location:Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect bible for my teenage son. At an reasonable price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NIV, The Scofield Study Bible III, Basketweave BK/BG, Bonded Leather, Thumb-Indexed 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent product

Date:October 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Nathan
Location:Rockwell, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought for my sister who has used a hard back bible for most of her adult life. She loved it and is enjoying it as of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NIV, The Scofield Study Bible III, Basketweave BK/BG, Bonded Leather, Thumb-Indexed 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
bobby
Location:Saint Pauls, NC
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The NIV translation is so easy to understand and the Scofeild study system is the best
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NIV, The Scofield Study Bible III, Basketweave BK/BG, Bonded Leather, Thumb-Indexed 1984
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

this is a great product add on to my library

Date:June 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Spoony
Location:Los Angeles, CA.
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really enjoy having the scolfield study bible as a part of my library because its very informative as well as enlightening. I am able to grasp hold of a greater understanding of the word of God. I would gladly reference this Study Bible to all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NIV, The Scofield Study Bible III, Basketweave BK/BG, Bonded Leather, Thumb-Indexed 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Scofield Bible

Date:December 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Bruce
Location:Spokane, WA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
While the Scofield Bible has been the object of criticism over the years for its premillennial, pretribulational theology, no other theology has ever come close to challenging its consistency and overall cohesiveness. I am aware of no other work that better presents, not only the escatology of this theological position, but more importantly, the overall thesis of scripture - God's plan of redeeming love - as the Scofield Bible. The updates to the work have made this Bible more readable and more easily understood.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for NIV, The Scofield Study Bible III, Basketweave BK/BG, Bonded Leather, Thumb-Indexed 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Brenda Plummer
This is a quality Bible. I have the NKJV and never considered anything other than this for my 21yo son who is just beginging to want to know the Lord. It's so easy to use all of the references. I also gave one of these to my daughter last year.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for NIV, The Scofield Study Bible III, Basketweave BK/BG, Bonded Leather, Thumb-Indexed 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Pamela Rhyne
Bought one for my husband and myself. Very pleased. Enjoy the topical articles and book introductions. The bottom notes are very helpful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for NIV, The Scofield Study Bible III, Basketweave BK/BG, Bonded Leather, Thumb-Indexed 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Wanda Roam
I am very pleased with the large print. It makes reading and studying scripture less stresssful on my eyes especially in low light. I am especially pleased with the study notes and chain references in the margins which help you trace a word or doctrine from the earliest reference in scripture to the last. Anyone wanting to read and study scripture with a fuller understanding will enjoy this Bible. It is rather large and heavy for carrying to Church, but a great study tool at home.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for NIV, The Scofield Study Bible III, Basketweave BK/BG, Bonded Leather, Thumb-Indexed 1984
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Matt Fino
Great version, essential o the growing Christian. I got it for my 2 High School sons it was time to step up for them.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for NIV, The Scofield Study Bible III, Basketweave BK/BG, Bonded Leather, Thumb-Indexed 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Brian Roberson
The Scofield NIV is a very good tool in learning God's Word with the notes and everything that is included with it I know I'm not going to be sorry because this a Very Good Version as well as a Good purchase. Thanks!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for NIV, The Scofield Study Bible III, Basketweave BK/BG, Bonded Leather, Thumb-Indexed 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Larry Hammett
This Bible is outstanding..... the study notes help me gain a deeper understanding of God's Word!... It is a great work.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for NIV, The Scofield Study Bible III, Basketweave BK/BG, Bonded Leather, Thumb-Indexed 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jack Hill
I am well pleased with my large print edition of the Scofield III, NIV Bible that I purchased. The font size makes it easy for a senior citizen (like myself) to read, yet the overall size of the Bible is small enough to be carried to church. The study helps in this Bible give an abundant amount of information to assist one in studying the Bible alone at home; it is a library within itself. I highly recommend this Bible for beginners as well as the advanced students of the Bible.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for NIV, The Scofield Study Bible III, Basketweave BK/BG, Bonded Leather, Thumb-Indexed 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Rev Dr Gloria Gay
I first purchased this bible in 1983. Finally after 25 years with the same bible I have had to reluctantly put it out to pasture. The cover is long gone and the pages are beginning to fall out. It has been my constant companion out of a slew of other bibles. The quality has been proven by the years of endurance and I use the notes and study references even when I refer to other bibles. I have replaced it with another one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for NIV, The Scofield Study Bible III, Basketweave BK/BG, Bonded Leather, Thumb-Indexed 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
Debbie Scott
Awesome Study Bible - I highly recommend this Bible, especially if you are new to the Word and trying to learn more. I love the NIV version, and the study notes are very helpful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for NIV, The Scofield Study Bible III, Basketweave BK/BG, Bonded Leather, Thumb-Indexed 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
Patricia Shelhart
My first new Bible in 30 years and it is AWESOME! Easy to read, easy to read chain references and wonderful study notes. Service from Christianity.com couldn't be better!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>