Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Sex God: Exploring the Endless Connections Between Sexuality and Spirituality

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Zondervan Sex God: Exploring the Endless Connections Between Sexuality and Spirituality

Just as the physical world is linked with deeper spiritual realities, sex and God are intimately connected. But how? With unusual beauty and insight, Bell addresses this intriguing question to help you better understand that we can't talk about ourselves as sexual beings without asking who made us that way. An enlightening exploration of sexuality and spirituality. 208 pages, softcover from Zondervan.
Average Customer Rating:
4.381 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sex God: Exploring the Endless Connections Between Sexuality and Spirituality
Review 1 for Sex God: Exploring the Endless Connections Between Sexuality and Spirituality
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great thoughts on relationships

Date:December 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mummybarron
Location:New South Wales; Australia
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I devoured this book. I loved the way that Rob outlined what it means to be naked with each other. I will forever remember the quote "that when a woman is loved she opens up like a flower".
I have given this book to my 21 year old who is starting a new relationship. I haven't told him anything about it, apart from the fact that it may influence the relationship that he has and the direction that relationship goes. I can't recommend this book highly enough for those contemplating a relationship and even those who are in a relationship.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sex God: Exploring the Endless Connections Between Sexuality and Spirituality
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great info

Date:November 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Connie Shedd
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is very pertinent to the times we live in. It combats the cultural thinking of this world with the Word of God.
Rob Bell writes in such a way that is informative as well as entertaining with a purpose. It is a hard book to put down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sex God: Exploring the Endless Connections Between Sexuality and Spirituality
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Superb

Date:October 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Chuck
Location:Houston TX
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book caught my eye with the title. I ordered it on a whim. I have been so enriched by this book. I want to recommend it to everyone. A wonderful read and very very helpful. Great insight. Awesome! Thank you Rob Bell for this work!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sex God: Exploring the Endless Connections Between Sexuality and Spirituality
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Oscar Gomez
my take on this book is nothing about sex , is all about the relationship. Jesus said our first commandment is to love God with all our heart, might and soul and the second is to love our neighbor as we love ourselves. It's all about the relationship, first is God and the rest is easy. Love God and life good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sex God: Exploring the Endless Connections Between Sexuality and Spirituality
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jessica Monnich
I believe Rob Bell is right on point and relevent to our culture. My husband and I are youth pastors at a Vineyard Church and we are currently going through this book. I was surprised to find out that some of our christian youth didn't believe in waiting to have sex. Had we not gone through this book we would have never known this was an issue. As a christian culture we are so afraid to talk about one of the greatest gifts God has given us. We need to not be ashamed of it and be able to explain it to our kids so that they have a godly understanding of it and not pull their sex ed from tv or even school now a days. I highly recommend this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sex God: Exploring the Endless Connections Between Sexuality and Spirituality
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Bessie Duval
I haven't finished reading this book yet but WOW! What a great book. Finally, someone that gets it and puts it down on paper in such a beautiful way. We can not seperate our sexuality from our spirituality. When we do it God's way (no pun intended) it is a beautiful, meaningful thing. Outside of God disaster. Just another way Satan is destroying God's creation. Get this book for your kids, singles groups, and MARRIED people.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sex God: Exploring the Endless Connections Between Sexuality and Spirituality
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:August 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
MD
I was uneasy about the information Rob Bell preaches. Rob Bell fails to mention that our only salvation is through the only begotten son of God, Jesus Christ. Scripture tells us to be discernful. I would not recommend this or any Rob Bell's teachings for it falls short to pointing his readers to Jesus Christ as Lord and Saviuor. The bible said in the last days there will be many deceivers: 1 John 2:18,22; 1 John 4:3 and 2 John 1:17. Ask the Holy Spirit to guide you. I pray you will not be deceived.
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sex God: Exploring the Endless Connections Between Sexuality and Spirituality
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Dhana
I was so blessed by this book. It is refreshing to be able to see someone go beyond religious doctrine and help you under stand truly what being one with the Lord is. Because of all the condemnation out there, few want to learn about walking with the Lord. Men like Rob Bell show you that our Lord is not one that is looking down his nose at us, but one that has his arms open waiting for us to come running so he can love us. This is truly one of my all time favorites, and I can't wait to get thru all of the Nooma series too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sex God: Exploring the Endless Connections Between Sexuality and Spirituality
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Stacy
This was a GREAT book! Bell approaches sex in a smart, non-condescending way. This book will change your outlook on relationships for the better. Both men and women of all ages could benefit from this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sex God: Exploring the Endless Connections Between Sexuality and Spirituality
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2007
Customer Avatar
Fr John Reeves
While I have a mainly positive opinion of most if not all of the writer's conclusions, I am disturbed by his profering of what appears to be an un-orthodox anthropology, namely his statement that man bears in himself a "divine spark". This is not a Christian position about mankind at all. To have been created in the image and likeness of God is one thing. To posit the existence of a spark of the divine in humanity is more compatible with gnosticism and/or transcendentalism than Christianity. Such a position ultimately leads to the conclusion that no Saviour is needed, only a guru or guide, "to realize the divine in everyone". However, I don't believe this to have been the author's intention.As well, I would have appreciated a more thorough treatment of the fall and its ultimate distortion of human relationships in all aspects including sexuality and how the union of the two natures in Christ heals this wound. Thank you.Fr John ReevesHoly Trinity Orthodox ChurchState College, PA
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sex God: Exploring the Endless Connections Between Sexuality and Spirituality
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 3, 2007
Customer Avatar
Aran Walter
Welcome to the Deep Shift that is occurring in what it means to be a Christian. Everything matters. The things we have focused on during the 500 years of modernity are changing. Rob Bell is at the forefront of this Shift. May God bring us through another Reformation and soon. He knows we need it.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sex God: Exploring the Endless Connections Between Sexuality and Spirituality
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 30, 2007
Customer Avatar
Bill Akins
Another great book by Rob Bell (Velvet Elvis is his best). This should be required reading for all young marrieds.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sex God: Exploring the Endless Connections Between Sexuality and Spirituality
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:October 4, 2007
Customer Avatar
Patrick
This is a good example of the neo-othodoxy movement coming forth into contemporary Christianity bordering on heresy. Rob Bell's Scriptural references were weak, and his interpretation of the language we extremely liberal. If you want to know about the sacred nature of sex, read the Bible.
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sex God: Exploring the Endless Connections Between Sexuality and Spirituality
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 24, 2007
Customer Avatar
Kathryn Fischer
Rob Bell is Amazing! I probably would have given it 5 stars. I guess i just like <I>Velvet Elvis</I> better so hard to give it a five as well! Amazing book!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sex God: Exploring the Endless Connections Between Sexuality and Spirituality
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 1, 2007
Customer Avatar
August Garritano
This book is awesome! I am only 18 years old and am not married, but this book changed the rest of my life. I see how beautiful marriage truly is in the eyes of God. Everyone should read this book! 5 stars!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sex God: Exploring the Endless Connections Between Sexuality and Spirituality
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 7, 2007
Customer Avatar
Cathy Smith
Every single person should read before they marry. Every married person would enjoy. Rob is an amazing author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Sex God: Exploring the Endless Connections Between Sexuality and Spirituality
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 8, 2007
Customer Avatar
Rev. Donald F. Thornburg
Rob Bell has done it again. His unique picture of the relationship between God and man sexuality as the norm, the way it was meant to be, will be a blessing to any newlywed couple. This book is great, and I highly recommend it. May God use it to help you grow together and truly become "one flesh".
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Sex God: Exploring the Endless Connections Between Sexuality and Spirituality
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 10, 2007
Customer Avatar
bruce hasenauer
This was an incredible book. Our searching for God and our searching for sex makes sense when you understand how sexual God made us. Thank you for this insight and for it making so interesting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Sex God: Exploring the Endless Connections Between Sexuality and Spirituality
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 11, 2007
Customer Avatar
Paula
This isn't just for the twentysomething ages. I have been married 24 years and thought it a great book. I recommend for every married couple.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Sex God: Exploring the Endless Connections Between Sexuality and Spirituality
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 4, 2007
Customer Avatar
Debra Hasselman
Never have I ever heard this topic discussed in such a manner. A big thumbs up to Rob Bell for writing with such clarity on the topics of sex and marriage. Rob Bell adds much insight into the depths of our creator. I would recommend this book to all of my friends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>