Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Moody Publishers In the Land of Blue Burqas / New edition - eBook

Moody Publishers In the Land of Blue Burqas / New edition - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.786 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 out of 14100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for In the Land of Blue Burqas / New edition - eBook
Review 1 for In the Land of Blue Burqas / New edition - eBook
This review is fromIn the Land of Blue Burqas.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love, Story, Truth

Date:March 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Sufficient in Jesus
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you ask me what the book *In The land Of Blue Burqas* is about, I'll tell you that it's mostly about Love.
It's about Jesus' Love for us, our love for our neighbor, and one woman's love for the women and men who make Afghanistan their home.
Kate McCord went to Afghanistan as part of an NGO. She stayed because she became friend and family to so many people.
And in this book, with names and details changed for protection, she tells us some of her stories.
This book is a real reminder of several things. One is that we all share common feelings and basic experiences.
From Afghanistan to American, from poor to rich, from Muslim to Christian: we all share our own humanity.
That seems far too self-evident, but it isn't. To some extent, we are all taught to resent and fear somebody.
When we encounter a stranger, we tend to look for a threat instead of a friend, especially when it's two whole cultures meeting.
Kate reminds us that an Afghan woman fixing dinner in her mud courtyard while her children play around her and her husband does business in the marketplace is probably feeling the same things you feel at the end of a long day.
Even when Kate's life was literally a world apart from her Afghan friends' lives, the women often rushed to empathize with her. They wanted to hear her story as much as she wanted to hear theirs. Sometimes, after hearing a story of a life scarred by war violence or forced marriage, Kate felt like her American story wasn't worth telling. The women wanted her to tell it anyway, and when she did they laughed, cried and connected. God moved in these intersections of life.
And the second thing is that the answers aren't found predominately in America, and the best way isn't the American way. The answers are in Jesus and the best way is God's way. When the Afghan women would ask shining-eyed questions about American life and marriage, she would always try to draw them back to the Source of Real Life.
Reminder number three is the power of Story. Possession of a Bible isn't exactly encouraged in Afghanistan, and Kate didn't quote verses and chapters to her listeners. Instead, when a spiritual concept was up for discussion- and that happened all the time- she would tell a story about Jesus. There was a great familiarity with OT stories in her audience, and a respect for Jesus as a Prophet. She would take that foundation and build from there, going higher and deeper through stories. As an American, I tend to forget that Jesus spoke to a culture that was far more Middle Eastern/Arabic than it was European/American. They understand the parables, the mindset, and the meanings of Jesus' words far better than I do sometimes. And when she gave them portions of the Gospel as stories, it laid bare Truth with great simplicity.
Thank you Moody for my review copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for In the Land of Blue Burqas / New edition - eBook
This review is fromIn the Land of Blue Burqas.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good read

Date:October 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
James Schreck
Location:NE Ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had decent knowledge of Islam going into reading this book but it gave me a more in depth understanding of it and the problems it presents to Christianity especially in Afghanistan.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for In the Land of Blue Burqas / New edition - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Challenging

Date:April 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
maekChina
Location:China
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I couldn't put this book down. The cultural, Biblical, and personal perspective of the author as she interacts with a people and place so wholly different that herself is fascinating. Ultimately, this book challenged me time and time again to renew my own personal faith and continue to truly invest in the people and place I serve overseas as well. The Father loves all equally and this book will challenge you to do that despite culture, language, religious, or socioeconomic differences.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for In the Land of Blue Burqas / New edition - eBook
This review is fromIn the Land of Blue Burqas.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Different Perspective

Date:May 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Geraldine
Location:Australia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Was not sure what to expect of this biography, but honestly it was a very easy read, with a challenge. A challenge to look at people from every nation in the light of Christ - what He has done not just for us, but for the world. Secular media can so taint our thinking that we do not even bother to pray for 'our enemies', but in fact these people are creations of God and need Him just as much as we do. Read this with an open mind and may it bring you to the point of loving even those who would desire you dead.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for In the Land of Blue Burqas / New edition - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A culture tour

Date:January 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
resnin
Location:New York
Age:55-65
Gender:female
This is such a good book. I think people in government or doing business with Afghanistan should read it to understand what kind of culture they are dealing with.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for In the Land of Blue Burqas / New edition - eBook
This review is fromIn the Land of Blue Burqas.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wise woman shares Jesus in a way they could hear.

Date:February 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Banning, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was so impressed by her openess and letting us see things that we in America have no clue exist. She was so careful to not offend but still share the good news of Jesus' love for them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for In the Land of Blue Burqas / New edition - eBook
This review is fromIn the Land of Blue Burqas.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Review: In the Land of Blue Burqas

Date:January 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Carole Jarvis
Location:Jonesboro, Georgia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
In the Land of Blue Burqas by Kate McCord (not her real name) is a collection of vignettes tethered together by the real danger that Muslim women face in Afghanistan. Kate is a single female missionary who worked for an NGO (non-governmental organization) in Afghanistan for five years, with the goal of helping Afghani women.
Afghanistan has been called “the most dangerous place to be born a woman.” Kate McCord decided to live in Afghanistan, visiting women in their homes and getting to know those who usually remained hidden behind their blue burqas. She listened to their stories and lived among them. And in the midst of all of that, she found Kingdom responses to the beliefs Afghani Muslims hold to be true.
My attention was immediately caught as the book opened with a tense scene of Kate riding in a rickshaw with two Muslim mullahs, who attempt to convert her on the spot. As she diplomatically but firmly declines to convert, her physical safety becomes at risk. "You should become a Muslim. It would be better for you in this life and the next."
Faith is foundational to the culture in Afghanistan, but I was surprised at how eager and willing the women were to talk. Faith "motivates and defines virtually every aspect of Afghan life, so we talk about it, often." But the greatest topic of conversation is different for men and women. Kate writes: "For men, the most interesting conversation is about government and war. For women, the first most interesting conversation is marriage and family. But the second great conversation is always about our faith and our practice."
There is so much rich material in this book. I liked the way Kate was able to convey her Christian faith by connecting to beliefs held in common: Adam and Eve, Abraham, Moses, the Honorable Prophet Jesus, etc. In one chapter, she plans a party for the women, wanting to tell them that God loves them - for in Islam, "there are ninety-nine names for God, but none is 'love.'"
In the last chapter, Kate sums up the theme of this book as she writes: "We foreign aid workers, doctors, and educators who move into their communities shatter the stereotypes many Afghans have been taught to believe. We non-Muslims are supposed to be evil, and yet we cradle their dying children in our arms. We make arrangements for their sick to get medical care. We feed their widows and orphans. We give blankets against the cold, and in hundreds of other ways we demonstrate a different way to live. We tell a different story."
Last fall, Kate McCord did a six-part interview with Nancy Leigh DeMoss on the Revive Our Hearts daily broadcast. You can listen to or read transcripts of these interviews here: http://www.reviveourhearts.com/resource-library/Programs/p/Revive%20Our%20Hearts/series/In%2520the%2520Land%2520of%2520Blue%2520Burqas%252C%2520with%2520Kate%2520McCord/
Kate writes in a simple, easy to follow, heartfelt style, giving great insight into a little-understood world. I highly recommend this book to anyone interested in knowing more about Afghani women and the role fundamental Islamic beliefs play in their daily lives.
This book was provided by Moody Publishers through NetGalley in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for In the Land of Blue Burqas / New edition - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Ebook

Date:November 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
pandaroo
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ordered for the new ebook app and all is working well. Thank you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for In the Land of Blue Burqas / New edition - eBook
This review is fromIn the Land of Blue Burqas.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great way to understand Islam

Date:December 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
andee
Location:Clear Spring, MD
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book clearly illustrates the way of life an Afghanistan Muslim lives. I highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for In the Land of Blue Burqas / New edition - eBook
This review is fromIn the Land of Blue Burqas.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Compelling

Date:September 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Terry
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dynamic first hand accounts in a dangerous land by a single Christian woman.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for In the Land of Blue Burqas / New edition - eBook
This review is fromIn the Land of Blue Burqas.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Read!

Date:August 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
dog lover
Location:Indiana
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was so valuable in gaining a better understanding of the Muslim religion and culture. It made me look at my faith in Jesus Christ and appreciate what Jesus means to me. This would be a good book for any Christian who is in the military and about to go over to Afghanistan. It gives the reader insight into how differently the Afghan Muslims think.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for In the Land of Blue Burqas / New edition - eBook
This review is fromIn the Land of Blue Burqas.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Sobering, thought-provoking, insightful

Date:July 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Missions Catalyst
Location:Eugene, OR
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kate McCord (not her real name) is an American single woman who went to Afghanistan to start a nongovernmental organization to help Afghan women. Recently returned to the US after five years, she writes about her experiences living and working among the women of Afghanistan.
McCord’s stories reveal the sometimes harsh realities of Afghan culture and worldview and explore how these shape the lives of women. She recreates conversations with both men and women about such central aspects as marriage and family life, Muslim and Afghan identity, and community expectations.
She also describes how she and other believers responded to the most common questions they faced and learned to share the love and truth of Christ with the people of their host culture.
The resulting volume is a sobering but informative and thought-provoking read.
Note: We received a free review copy of this book from Moody Publishers in order to promote it in our online missions magazine, and this is how we described it there.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for In the Land of Blue Burqas / New edition - eBook
This review is fromIn the Land of Blue Burqas.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Christian woman lived among Muslims in Afganistan

Date:June 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
cillanag
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Usually I only read novels. This is an exciting book that actually reads like a novel. I am enjoying it. It is building my faith as well as my ideas about sharing the Gospel.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for In the Land of Blue Burqas / New edition - eBook
This review is fromIn the Land of Blue Burqas.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Valuable Resource and an Interesting Story

Date:April 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
samcivy
Location:Eugene, OR
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In the Land of Blue Burqas
Kate McCord (pseudonym) ©2012
Moody Publishers
ISBN 978-0-80240814-4
320 pp. (p-bk)
This author spent five years in Afghani villages listening to natives so she could clearly understand their beliefs. She learned the language and how to relate her faith within the context of Afghani culture, often using parables they would understand and enjoy.
She was in Afghanistan for a private humanitarian organization, and her life was often in danger. Constantly pressured to become Muslim, she easily conversed about faith, the most frequent subject of interest to people there. Her understanding of Jesus’ beauty grew during her talks with Muslims.
She met Afgani’s ‘where they were’, sometimes teaching someone how to forgive or praying for their healing. These people usually related that they’d sensed God in a satisfying way.
She was respected for being a person of prayer, as someone firm in her commitment to God and for her honesty. She presented God as loving and personal, a concept missing in Islam.
She ‘spread seeds’ for God, never trying to convert anyone, and often won the hearts of Afghani’s, the real way to a better life for them.
Her methods of presenting Christian truths can be a model for all followers of Christ—using intelligent examples with a friendly manner to compare Islamic beliefs and Christianity.
In the Land of Blue Burqas is valuable resource to understand both the goodness and the threats of Islam and to know effective way to converse with Muslims. The book is also an interesting, well-written account of lives in this far-away country
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.