Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The Shelter of God's Promises

Thomas Nelson The Shelter of God's Promises

Gain a trust in God that will sustain you for life! Weaving together her hallmark storytelling, personal experience, and Scripture, Women of Faith speaker Walsh unveils 10 foundational promises of God that safeguard our lives during the most difficult times. Discover how encounters with Christ are the eternal fulfillment of his unrelenting commitment to us. Includes a free, in-depth Bible Study. Hardcover.
Average Customer Rating:
4.605 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (38 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
13
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
38 out of 38100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Shelter of God's Promises
Review 1 for The Shelter of God's Promises
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Easy to understand and relate to.

Date:July 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
cjbol
Location:N. Manchester, IN
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just starting it in our study, but we like it very much so far.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Shelter of God's Promises
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Encouragement in difficult times

Date:January 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
A House Reviews
Location:Colorado
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is a powerful book to read to encourage you in the midst of life's struggles. In a world of uncertainty, life-altering events and some down right scarey times the place to find security is in God's promises.
Sheila has written a great book that will uplift you and help you trust in God's Truth and Word even more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Shelter of God's Promises
This review is fromThe Shelter of God's Promises.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Destiny
Location:California
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Keeping faith can be difficult during hard times. Sheila Walsh’s The Shelter of God’s Promises reassures readers of God’s promises and unfaltering reliability. Each of the ten chapters are focused on a different theme: Walsh addresses promises, provision, peace, confidence, love, grace, hope, strength, more/something better and home. Whether you are feeling alone, broken, loveless or poor, The Shelter of God’s Promises will life your spirits. Walsh intersperses personal narratives and in-depth Bible study throughout her book. Each chapter has a designated Bible study guide with assigned readings from the Bible and discussion questions. Walsh’s book isn’t just for people experiencing difficult times. Readers at any stage of life will benefit from its messages. Although this is a useful tool for Bible studies, Walsh’s personal anecdotes occasionally distract her message. However, the positive features of the book outweigh its faults.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Shelter of God's Promises
This review is fromThe Shelter of God's Promises.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Read this!

Date:October 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Blessed
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you have ever wondered how you would make it through the next day/hour/minute, grab your Bible and this book. Ms. Walsh knows where you are - maybe not the specific details - but she has been there, and she can help you through your "stuff." This has been a very valuable resource for me in a time when I truly wasn't sure I would make it through.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Shelter of God's Promises
This review is fromThe Shelter of God's Promises.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

God's Promises never fail

Date:September 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sue M
Location:Baileyville,Maine
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have just started teaching a class on this book. It is an excellent refresher for those that already know the Lord and a Great study for the newly saved. Gods promises nver change or fail. This study reenforced the promises of God in our lives. I would highly recommend this as a group or an individual study. No matter how many times we read a passage God shows us what we need to see at that time in our lives.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Shelter of God's Promises
This review is fromThe Shelter of God's Promises.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Enjoyed it

Date:September 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
kaquinlan
Location:Florida
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I received an advance copy of this book from Thomas Nelson for review.
The Shelter of God’s Promises was an easy book to read. Sheila Walsh writes in her typical style — down the earth, personal, and light-hearted! She opens with a neat testimony and story of one instance in which God showed Himself to her as her Shelter and Refuge. If you read the book, don’t skip this introduction! Each chapter opens with one of God’s promises. Walsh illustrates the promise with a personal story, then expounds on it through Scripture. She closes out each chapter with a challenge for the reader to apply and walk in the promise discussed. The book also includes a Bible study, which I didn’t do, so I can’t tell you much about it! Overall I enjoyed the book. It would make a good small group study. It’s not the most amazing book I’ve read, but it’s good and could definitely start some great conversations. I really appreciated how she went back to Bible stories to illustrate God keeping His promises.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Shelter of God's Promises
This review is fromThe Shelter of God's Promises.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

EXCELLENT!!!!

Date:August 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
mirmigaki
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
....a great book,more than i expected!!!! and easily read!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Shelter of God's Promises
This review is fromThe Shelter of God's Promises.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is great on it's own or used with the study.

Date:July 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Nessa
Location:Mesa, AZ
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this book to anyone who wants to get a deeper understanding about God's Promises to us.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Shelter of God's Promises
This review is fromThe Shelter of God's Promises.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Study of Promises of God

Date:July 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dee East
Location:Delaware
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this study on behalf of our Study Group; the ladies are all excited about it. We begin our study this evening, but the number in the group has increased since they learned of this new study. The anticipation is high, as the ladies all wish to grow in their knowledge and trust in God. Sheila Walsh has been a beautiful encouragement to many in the Body of Christ, and I feel sure this study will enhance the lives of many more. We have several new ladies who are being introduced to Sheila Walsh for the first time. My thanks to Sheila for her transparency in sharing her own struggles.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Shelter of God's Promises
This review is fromThe Shelter of God's Promises.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A good group study book.

Date:June 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Busy Biz
Location:Austin
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The Shelter of God's Promises by Sheila Walsh is definitely a book I would recommend for group setting and not as much for in individual study.
Sheila Walsh states her main objective in writing this book was that she wants to show the promises of God that we can use through the good and bad we encounter daily.
As this book begins it explains what promises are and how God's promises differ from our own man made promises. Once she explains what promises are she explains what provisions are. What are the things that we need on a daily basis? Not the things that we THINK we need, but the things we actually need and how can we trust that God will provide those for us? Which leads back to God's promises. Ultimately, if we can believe in God's promises we should feel a certain sense of peace in our life that is unmatched by anything that is of this earth. This peace grants us the ability to give up fear and know that we are never truly alone. The next step in understanding the shelter of God is to understand that even when we can't see through our pain God is still there and his plan in still in motion. We must dig deep to find the confidence to know that God's plan is bigger and better than anything we could have planned for ourselves.
About half way through the book we start to touch on the topics of love, grace, hope and strength. These topics teach us that we are ALWAYS loved, ALWAYS forgiven, NEVER broken beyond repair, and that God will never give us more than we can handle.
As you finish this book you will discover that Walsh is telling us what God has been trying to convince us of for quite some time. There is something better, it's HIM. No matter how far we have strayed or how far we feel we've pushed from HIM we always have a future with him. He has a home prepared for us and it's as simple as trusting in the promises he set before us before we were born.
As previously stated I highly recommend this book for a group study and urge the use of the study in the back of the book to provoke questioning and thought.
I received this book free from the publishers through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Shelter of God's Promises
This review is fromThe Shelter of God's Promises.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Eliza
Location:Bangalore, India
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is very encouraging as the writer takes us on a real journey with Jesus as He ministered to different people at their point of need.The Gospel times dont seem remote any more! The same Jesus walks with us , fulfilling all His promises in His Word. That is how the writer seeks to encourage Christians in the 21st C. The style is so captivating that it's difficult to put down the book once you're on the journey! One who has not even read the Gospels , will feel the compulsion to do so!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Shelter of God's Promises
This review is fromThe Shelter of God's Promises.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Where to seek shelter

Date:April 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
kaeb
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Usually when we seek shelter, we want to rest in God's promises. But what if we don't know them? What if when storms rise we're stuck without that shelter? Well in Shelia Welsh's book- The Shelter of God's Promises- she lays down 10 promises. Not only does she lay them down, she lays them out. Each one getting the focus and attention it needs so that the next time we're facing a storm, we can call upon the promises of God.
For me the book was a difficult read in the fact that I had to face a lot of personal stuff. The book does a great job weaving scripture with real life stories that so many can relate to. The book helped give life to scripture as I was able to apply it to my life and really see how his promises can work in the modern world we live in today.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Shelter of God's Promises
This review is fromThe Shelter of God's Promises.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

When You are Feeling Down, Pick Up This Book

Date:March 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kat1616
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Having been to Women of Faith events in the past and enjoying sheila Walsh immensely, I was thrilled to able to read a book she had written.
I loved how effortlessly she flowed from scripture to stories of her life and the lives of others. It was a way to see God's words in action in their lives.
I would definitely recommend this to anyone who has been praying about something for awhile and feels like God is not listening. It will put you back on the path of beliving in God's promises.
I loved this quote.... "Do you still love Me? Will you tuck your life into the cleft of the rock and let Me be" your shelter there> The wind will still howl and the night will still be dark, bt I will never, ever leave you. that is My promise to you, and until you make it all the way home, I will be your home. I will be your Shelter."
I received this complimentary copy from Thomas Neslon Publisher to review as part of their BookSneeze blogging for books program.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Shelter of God's Promises
This review is fromThe Shelter of God's Promises.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

"Whatever God says, we can stake our lives on"

Date:March 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Breanne
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I received a copy of the book The Shelter of God's Promises by Sheila Walsh from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. While I enjoyed the book, it embarrassingly took me over a month to complete it. The content is solid and focuses on ten particular promises of God including promises of peace, hope, strength, and "more". Each promise is presented from Scripture with a biblical example of its fulfillment in Bible times and in lives today.
While I did enjoy the premise of the book, I found the writing style to be a bit disjointed at times. I'm a linear thinker and, often, when I would think that the culminating point was about to be made the author would take a cyclic turn and the book would again build back up. This is not necessarily a bad thing, but it did make it difficult for me to read in a sitting of any great length.
Overall, I found The Shelter of God's Promises to be an encouraging read that points me to Christ and reminds me of His many promises that I can depend on. The author says it best: "Whatever God says, we can stake our lives on."
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Shelter of God's Promises
This review is fromThe Shelter of God's Promises.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

God's promises in our storms of life

Date:March 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
HS Mom of 4
Location:Georgia, USA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Where do you go when life's storms are raging all around you? You run to God and His promises. In Sheila Walsh's book, The Shelter of God's Promises, she reminds us of many of them - God's promises of provision, peace, confidence, love, grace, hop, strength, and more!
Throughout the book, she weaves scripture with the hard realities of life. Yes, life is difficult. God didn't promise us a bed a roses, but said, "In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world." ~ John. 16.33
In typical Sheila-style, you will be welcomed into the stories of hardship and rejoice with the promises of God that each person clings to.
As a Women of Faith attendee, this book is an extension of her testimony and her willingness to show us her imperfect side.
This book includes a free, in-depth Bible study. Also, a separate DVD-based Bible study program is available for purchase with its own participant's guide.
Book Rating: 5 out of 5 stars
I received this complimentary copy from Thomas Neslon Publisher to review as part of their BookSneeze blogging for books program.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Shelter of God's Promises
This review is fromThe Shelter of God's Promises.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Sheila Walsh has done a great job...

Date:February 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Apryl
Location:Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Usually, I tend to shy away from books geared toward women because they often end up with a soft tone that I don't care for. Sheila Walsh has done a great job in getting her point across without being overly emotional and sappy. She writes well, and the book is engaging.
In The Shelter of God's Promises, Walsh explores what it means to rely on what God has promised us through Christ, and to use those promises to guide us through the hard times in life. In this exploration she uses scripture, illustration, and personal anecdotes to take you through the promises of God.
While this book is written as a study of God's promises, it is also an exploration of Jesus' life. She exposits scripture from the New Testament in a way that brings the scripture to life.
In the back of the book, an in-depth Bible study guide is included. This is great to use as you read through the book, and can lead you into further study of the Bible.
I enjoyed reading this book, and found it to be a good addition to my library.
**Disclaimer**
I received this book through BookSneeze.com for the sole purpose of providing my honest review. I received no further compensation for this review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Shelter of God's Promises
This review is fromThe Shelter of God's Promises.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Biblical, practical and relevant!

Date:February 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lori
Location:Granbury, Tx
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When the inevitable storms of life move in, where do you turn for direction and hope?
In The Shelter of God’s Promises, Sheila Walsh points us directly to God’s Word to find enduring hope. Sheila selects ten promises from scripture “as foundation stones” upon which to build an unshakable faith that will withstand life's most devastating storms. Through personal and biblical stories Sheila unfolds these timeless truths.
Being familiar with Sheila Walsh as a Women of Faith speaker, I have been blessed by her transparent, real faith. I am happy to say that she relates the same to her reader. Sheila connects with readers through revealing her own life struggles and the paths God has led her down that have strengthened her own faith. In Shelter, Sheila dives deep into the Biblical passages relating to each of ten promises to paint a clear picture of understanding of God's promises. She leads her reader to understand how God's promises are fulfilled in Jesus. That not only does God provide for us a shelter in the storm, but that Jesus IS that Shelter.
Whether it is a light drizzle or a full-out thunderstorm with no end in sight, holding on to the hope that the sun will shine again can be difficult. But after reading The Shelter of God's Promises, you will come away with a deeper understanding of how faithful God is, even when we, His children, are not.
To view a preview of The Shelter of God's Promises by Sheila Walsh go to: http://booksneeze.com/blogger/resources/9781400202447
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Shelter of God's Promises
This review is fromThe Shelter of God's Promises.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Shelter of God's Promises - Sheila Walsh

Date:February 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
KarissaAngel
Location:Central Point, OR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Although I am aware of the promises God has given us, it is nice to renew those. Sheila Walsh's book 'The Shelter of God's Promises' was a book that I did not want to put down. This book brought back more confidence, joy and continued hope of God's promises to me (us). She writes about personal testimony and backing it up with scipture to help understand more. Although we know the Bible and read it, having it relate in a different way makes you stop and relate. Just like Jesus did by putting the understanding into parables. Reading this book was spelled out clearly to understand the ten promises Sheila points out in the book. I have to admit, she chose the best promises for the NOW that we are living in. I felt such comfort reading this book and the renewed feeling that God watches out for me; not that I did not think He did, but we all need to be renewed to get our heart pumping again. This would be a great book for small Bible study groups as the chapters are sectioned off to provide more group discussions. For myself, I enjoyed the chapters sectioned off as it made me stop a bit and relate it somewhere in my life to grow more. At the end of the book, includes a free in-depth Bible study. I highly recommend reading this book.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from BookSneeze as part of their Blogger Review Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Shelter of God's Promises
This review is fromThe Shelter of God's Promises.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Discover 10 Promises of God!

Date:February 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jagette
Location:North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Where do you turn for shelter in the storms of your life?
We know God’s promises, but we wonder are they for me, are they for today, and are they for this storm in my life? We like to look at life on our own. When we do it looks as if God has forgotten us, turned His back on us or deserted us. But God won’t forget you or turn His back on you or leave you. The promises God makes He keeps.
In this book, Sheila Walsh has studied Scripture for God’s promises and their meaning. Sheila talks about ten of God’s promises, from provider, peace, love, grace, hope to a future.
A wonderful in-depth Bible study is included for each chapter at the end of the book. This is such a great addition. It has you searching through Scripture, answering questions, so you can see how these promises relate to you.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Shelter of God's Promises
This review is fromThe Shelter of God's Promises.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book surprised me!!!

Date:February 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
just4marshel
Location:Oklahoma
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review of Sheila Walsh's Book
Being snowed in from the blizzard we had 8 days ago (nearly 4 feet of snow then and 2 more feet this morning), I was able to finish my book. I read Sheila Walsh's book "The Shelter of God's Promises." When deciding on a book to chose to read, this book caught my eye from the list and I knew it was the one. I am the teacher for my church's women's group. We began a new theme for the year in January called "Claiming God's Promises in 2011". I figured this book would be a good companion to our monthly studies. What I expected was another book, listing some of God's promises and the verses they come from in the Bible. List, explain the promise, and read the verse. That is how most of the books I have been researching handles God's promises. But I was sincerely surprised with the way Sheila Walsh approached God's promises. It is not written in a one dimensional approach. You, too, will enjoy this book as much as I have.
The author has written her book with the reader in mind. She presents 10 promises that we can relate to: Needing something to hold on to; not having enough; afraid and feeling alone; not being able to see God's plan while in pain; not really believing anyone can love us; failing; feeling broken; feeling as if things are crashing down around us; knowing there is something better; and finally, having a future. Each chapter is written using a personal introduction or analogy relating to the particular promise and a story from the Bible, either Old or New Testament that supports the promise. She explains how God is in the midst of each promise and how He will not break any of His promises. I read each chapter intrigued on how she shared the promise in such a way that I knew God meant the promise for me.
It was not another list of promises. I felt as if she was speaking directly to me when explaining how the Lord makes a promise and how we can claim it personally. When she began thinking and praying about writing this book, she had one objective in mind: "What are the promises of Christ that we can stake our lives on in the best and worst days?" Sheila Walsh stated "Clearly, there are more promises than those I have included in this book. There are more than three thousand promises that take us from the first page of Genesis to the last words of the Revelation of John on Patmos. But I chose the ones that I saw, almost as foundation stones in a shelter, those that would take a lot of weight and weather the worst of storms." She did just that. And after reading her book, I was able to see how I, too, can trust the Lord to be my shelter no matter what is happening in my life. I can turn to Him in the best of times or the worst of times. God promises to be my shelter.
There is also a plus to this book. It has a free, in-depth Bible study included with it. The Bible study centers on each chapter with special sections labeled "Discovery", "Believe", and "Live" and at the end of each chapter study it has a verse to memorize. I am going to encourage the ladies in my group to all read this book and then suggest that we do a group study together.
When deciding what book to read, I thought this book would be just another companion to all of the other books that list God's promises I have collected over the years or checked out at the library. Only Sheila Walsh was able to keep my interest and did not write in the same format as others have. After reading her book, I truly believe that God's promises are not just for someone else - they are for me, too. I know you will come to trust the Lord and His promises in a more personal way once you have read "The Shelter of God's Promises."
I received this book free from BookSneeze.com and am submitting this review for other readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>