Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews
Most Popular Products
5 out of 5
4.667 out of 5

Customer Reviews for University of Nebraska Press Little Britches: Father and I Were Ranchers

University of Nebraska Press Little Britches: Father and I Were Ranchers

Ralph Moody was eight years old in 1906 when his family moved from New Hampshire to a Colorado ranch. Through his eyes we experience the pleasures and perils of ranching there early in the 20th century. Auctions and roundups, family picnics, irrigation wars, tornadoes all give authentic color to the story.
Average Customer Rating:
4.364 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
5 out of 683%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Little Britches: Father and I Were Ranchers
Review 1 for Little Britches: Father and I Were Ranchers
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

OMGosh!!! Best Book Series Ever

Date:April 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
kari
Location:FL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read this book series to my 7 year old, and I loved them so much that I couldn't put them down. I can't say enough good things about this book and the series. There are quite a few "pearls of wisdom" scattered throughout as well. I Can't wait until my 2 year old is a little older so that I can read the set again to him. If you have boys I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS BOOK!!! You will not be disappointed!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Little Britches: Father and I Were Ranchers
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

story of character building

Date:August 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Wayne S. Walker
Location:Salem, IL
Age:55-65
Gender:male
It is 1906, and eight-year-old Ralph Moody’s family is getting ready to move. They live in East Rochester, NH, and Ralph’s father Charles works in the woolen mills, but it isn’t good for his lungs. Cousin Phil, who lives in Denver, CO, visits and convinces Father that ranching in Colorado would be better for his health. So Father, Mother, Grace, Muriel, Philip, Hal, and Ralph rent a ranch on the Fort Logan-Morrison road, near Littleton, CO, not far from Denver. This autobiographical book chronicles their first year which involves settling on the ranch, meeting neighbors, planting crops, raising animals, going to school, experiencing a huge wind storm,and fighting over irrigation rights. Ralph, who becomes known as “Little Britches,” learns how to be a cowboy and even participates in a rodeo, but will the ranch be successful? Will the family even survive?
This series of books has long been recommended by homeschoolers as the “Little House for Boys.” First, there are some negatives, one of which is language issues. One source says, “Be aware, however, that there is some inappropriate language used – no doubt in keeping with the actual verbiage of rugged cowboys and characters of the time.” Another source says, “an excellent read-aloud selection (which will allow you to filter out the smattering of ‘cuss’ words that occur, and which Moody himself wasn’t allowed to use as a lad).” And still another source says, “A customer pointed out that there are a few undesirable words used to watch out for.” Also, several who have read the entire series have noted that the later books, especially after Ralph goes to live with his grandfather in The Fields of Home, are not as good as the earlier ones which detail his childhood because they are more “dark” with lots of bad attitudes which are displayed over and over.
However, there are also some strong positives. Little Britches is rich in the values of family unity, honesty, inventiveness, earning others’ trust, and satisfaction in a job well done. And there is great emphasis on character development. Ralph gets in several predicaments and doesn’t always make the right choices, but he learns to do better by heeding hisfather’s wise advice, who said, “Any man who says the world owes him a living is dishonest. The same God that made you and me made this earth. And He planned it so that it would yield every single thing that the people on it need. But He was careful to plan it so that it would only yield up its wealth in exchange for the labor of man. Any man who tries to share in that wealth without contributing the work of his brain or his hands is dishonest.” Amen! What an important lesson that is so needed today! The seven sequels are Man of the Family, The Home Ranch, Mary Emma and Company, The Fields of Home, Shaking the Nickel Bush, The Dry Divide, and Horse of a Different Color.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Little Britches: Father and I Were Ranchers
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Read

Date:March 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Pamela Gessler
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My son recommended the "Little Britches" series to me; and I'm hooked! They are a continuing saga of a boy attempting to be a man early in his life, after the untimely death of his father. He works hard to help provide for his mother and five other siblings.
Based on the real life of the author, the scene is 1910 America. I think of it as a male version of Little House on the Prairie. It's exciting, dramatic, endearing, and inspiring. I recommend reading it together as a family (although I can't wait for the next chapter, so I read it on my own too).
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Little Britches: Father and I Were Ranchers
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Marie
Location:Idaho
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book is very interesting. It holds your interest through out the entire book. My one complaint was some of the language.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Little Britches: Father and I Were Ranchers
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great action book; early 1900 values/consequences:

Date:November 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
sandepen
Location:Santa Clarita, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an autobiography, and Ralph Moody's first book. He wrote it from his own point of view, starting as an eight year old child moving from NH to a ranch in CO.
Times were different back in the early 1900, Teachers often looked the other way as boys had to "settle" issues between themselves.
The mother does decide after attending church near Fort Logan, to curtail attendance at church, resorting to holding bible sessions over the kitchen table for her family. This decision was based entirely on some new language skills gained from some of the local boys, and demonstrated by Ralph's brother Phillip after the family's first attendance at the local church.
True the autobiography does show aspects of the 1900 that aren't in keeping with values we aspire to now. I doubt in 2110 that a look back at our current lives will find us meeting all future standards.
I first read the books with my oldest son, and again and again, with countless others (beyond my own children), we use the differences in culture as TEACHABLE moments.
Each time I feel blessed to read Ralph's father description of his "character house." Ralph's father is a man of few words, whose council becomes valued quickly in the families new community. He is sought out and a found to be a man with laudable skills.
Obviously, I'm a big fan of the books. And highly encourage you to experience it and share the series with your own children.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Little Britches: Father and I Were Ranchers
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not a book to be sold at a Christian Bookstore

Date:October 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
MommaK
Location:PA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Its difficult to find books for children that aren't pure fiction, so I decided to try this one out. People compared it to Little House, but the writing style wasn't nearly as good. I wouldn't have cared about the writing style, but the teaching that revenge is justifiable (a problem I had with two of the Little House books as well) as well as the language and Sabbath breaking made it not worthwhile. We didn't get past the fourth chapter, when I was starting to get an impression that only the Mother in the family read the Bible. One commentator said something about cursing in the dialogue, which wouldn't have been bad if scratching that out was all it took to make this a worthwhile read. I am sorry that I purchased it, and thought I would tell others in this review in case they worry about these things also.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Little Britches: Father and I Were Ranchers
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Tabitha Merritt
This book was a favorite of mine as a child, and I have enjoyed sharing it with my children. It is written just as it was remembered by the author, and the child's perspective makes for a charming and sometimes comedic story. Slight warning: there are several curse words repeated in the story, not really for dramatic emphasis as much as outlining a person's character, but I still wish they were not so prevalent. It is a great story, and as a read-aloud I just skipped the words! This story will provide several happy and adventurous hours of reading fun!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Little Britches: Father and I Were Ranchers
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Dee S.
Our 16 year old son who has NEVER been a reader, but is a cowboy, has been lost in this book series for hours at a time. He loves them and I love that he is reading!!! We now have the whole set.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Little Britches: Father and I Were Ranchers
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 18, 2008
Customer Avatar
Angela Roberts
My nine year old son loved reading this book on his own. He says he learned alot about pioneer life. I plan on collecting all the books in this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Little Britches: Father and I Were Ranchers
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
Michelle
Our family has loved this book! It has inspired the boys to take more responsiblity around the house and strengthened their love for the rural life. Wonderful read-aloud.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Little Britches: Father and I Were Ranchers
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
Brenda
Our family used this book for a family read-aloud and the adults as well as the children were enthralled - we looked forward to it every evening and many times had requests for "one more chapter" - even from my husband! Ralph Moody is a very talented writer and the plot and the characters were not only great for entertainment but gave us a lot to talk about for character development. By the end of the book, we were all sad to say goodbye to the characters and decided to buy all of the books in the Little Britches series. I have already recommended this book to several friends and am planning on giving away a few copies as gifts!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.