Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Oxford University Press The Essential Evangelical Parallel Bible (NKJV/ESV/NLT/<C2>The Message<C2>), hardcover

Oxford University Press The Essential Evangelical Parallel Bible (NKJV/ESV/NLT/<C2>The Message<C2>), hardcover

Made exclusively for CBD, the Essential Evangelical Parallel Bible brings four translations essential to the evangelical Christian community together in one book. This Bible contains the New King James Version (NKJV), the English Standard Version (ESV, the New Living Translation (NLT), and The Message. From the more literal translation such as the ESV, to The Message paraphrase, you can deepen your understanding of Scripture by comparing these popular translations. The Updated Edition contains newly updated ESV, and NLT texts.

Features

  • Complete text of the NKJV, NLT, ESV, and The Message, laid out side-by-side on two pages
  • Helpful articles
    Understanding Bible Translations, Mark L. Strauss
    The Textual Basis of the New Testament Translation, Daniel B. Wallace
    The Textual Basis of the Old Testament Translation, John R. Kohlenberger III
  • Hardcover edition
  • 9.5" x 6.5" x 2.25"
  • 6.5 font

Due to the thickness of Essential Evangelical Parallel Bible, we recomend a Wide-Spine Bible cover.

Average Customer Rating:
4.545 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
5 out of 5100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for The Essential Evangelical Parallel Bible (NKJV/ESV/NLT/<C2>The Message<C2>), hardcover
Review 1 for The Essential Evangelical Parallel Bible (NKJV/ESV/NLT/<C2>The Message<C2>), hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great resource

Date:December 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Brian
Location:Colorado Springs, CO
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great bible for studying at home. It is a larger book that you may not want to carry around with you. I particularly enjoy that I can read from 4 different Bibles and very easily jump back and forth between them, in order of simplicity, because the verses of each Bible are displayed side by side. A wonderful companion for your personal study.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Essential Evangelical Parallel Bible (NKJV/ESV/NLT/<C2>The Message<C2>), hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Renee
Location:Atlanta, GA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For anyone who is serious about studying the Word, this is an excellent tool.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Essential Evangelical Parallel Bible (NKJV/ESV/NLT/<C2>The Message<C2>), hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Bible!

Date:April 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Daniel Tibuni
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's great to see four different versions all at the same time and at the same pace. Chapters all line up on the same page and finish on the same page. Great Bible to have!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Essential Evangelical Parallel Bible (NKJV/ESV/NLT/<C2>The Message<C2>), hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

my companion from now

Date:January 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
pr claudio arantes
Location:Caçador, Santa Catarina - Brazil
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An excellent Bible for devociona time, biblical classes and to go to the church. 4 loveable versions which allow going deep into biblical reading.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Essential Evangelical Parallel Bible (NKJV/ESV/NLT/<C2>The Message<C2>), hardcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

It's a great parallel Bible

Date:December 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cindy
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like the different versions side by side b/c it makes it easier to compare the different translations/paraphrases.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Essential Evangelical Parallel Bible (NKJV/ESV/NLT/<C2>The Message<C2>), hardcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cindy Bechel
So far I am loving this bible. The only thing that could be better would be more of a selection of what versions you want. I think that I would of rather had a different translation included besides the Message. The New Living is very easy to read so I feel like it makes the Message version a little over kill. I think I would of liked maybe the NIV or Amplified instead. Over all though, love it.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Essential Evangelical Parallel Bible (NKJV/ESV/NLT/<C2>The Message<C2>), hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Daniel
This is an amazing Bible. It is everything I was looking for. It has added depth and clarity to my daily bible study.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Essential Evangelical Parallel Bible (NKJV/ESV/NLT/<C2>The Message<C2>), hardcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 16, 2008
I really enjoy this Bible. My wife purchased this for me. I would give it five stars if it had any other translation other than the Message. If this had the NASB in place of the Message, that would make this a five star Bible. Even with the the one short fall, I would still recommend it.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Essential Evangelical Parallel Bible (NKJV/ESV/NLT/<C2>The Message<C2>), hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
Alfred Schmoeller
I got never ever a better way to Bible understanding. The MESSAGE hits even more the point than the very good NLT. GOD bless Christianbooks for the excellent service and low prices!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Essential Evangelical Parallel Bible (NKJV/ESV/NLT/<C2>The Message<C2>), hardcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
Cheong Beck Koon
My first comparative Bible, nevertheless I find it scant reading, with quite similar translations and interpretation between the NKJV, ESV and NLT, with The Message a layman's interpretation which must be compared to the other translations so as not to lose content and correct perspectives. For more serious scholars, the comparative translations between KJV, NIV, Amplified and NASB will yield deeper understanding and meditations, compared to this one.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Essential Evangelical Parallel Bible (NKJV/ESV/NLT/<C2>The Message<C2>), hardcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Trinity Caver
I love the parallel bibles, they are great for bible study. I like being able to see three other translations beside the on that you are reading. I like the ESV, NLT, and the NKJV. The Message is okay, but I think that it takes too much of the emphasis out of the text. I am pleased with the overall product. I would like to also say that Christianbook.com was fast at getting my order to me. I had my name engraved on it and I am overseas in the military right now so it came fairly quick compared to other things.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.