Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Oxford University Press The Essential Evangelical Parallel Bible (NKJV/ESV/NLT/<C2>The Message<C2>), hardcover

Oxford University Press The Essential Evangelical Parallel Bible (NKJV/ESV/NLT/<C2>The Message<C2>), hardcover

Made exclusively for CBD, the Essential Evangelical Parallel Bible brings four translations essential to the evangelical Christian community together in one book. This Bible contains the New King James Version (NKJV), the English Standard Version (ESV, the New Living Translation (NLT), and The Message. From the more literal translation such as the ESV, to The Message paraphrase, you can deepen your understanding of Scripture by comparing these popular translations. The Updated Edition contains newly updated ESV, and NLT texts.

Features

  • Complete text of the NKJV, NLT, ESV, and The Message, laid out side-by-side on two pages
  • Helpful articles
    Understanding Bible Translations, Mark L. Strauss
    The Textual Basis of the New Testament Translation, Daniel B. Wallace
    The Textual Basis of the Old Testament Translation, John R. Kohlenberger III
  • Hardcover edition
  • 9.5" x 6.5" x 2.25"
  • 6.5 font

Due to the thickness of Essential Evangelical Parallel Bible, we recomend a Wide-Spine Bible cover.

Average Customer Rating:
4.747 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(79 Reviews) 79
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (79 reviews)
5 stars
61
4 stars
16
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
53 out of 5498%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for The Essential Evangelical Parallel Bible (NKJV/ESV/NLT/<C2>The Message<C2>), hardcover
Review 1 for The Essential Evangelical Parallel Bible (NKJV/ESV/NLT/<C2>The Message<C2>), hardcover
This review is fromThe Essential Evangelical Parallel Bible--bonded leather, black (A CBD Exclusive!).
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great quality

Date:November 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Robert Arthur
Location:Somerset, KY
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The book is great but a little small for my eyes but it is a great line up of translations.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Essential Evangelical Parallel Bible (NKJV/ESV/NLT/<C2>The Message<C2>), hardcover
This review is fromThe Essential Evangelical Parallel Bible--bonded leather, black (A CBD Exclusive!).
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Enjoy reading this Bible in all four translations!

Date:October 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dianne
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I truly enjoy reading this Bible in all four translations at once; what a pleasure. I don't think I've ever had a better Bible for devotions or to quickly look up a verse and see it in fours!
Thank you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Essential Evangelical Parallel Bible (NKJV/ESV/NLT/<C2>The Message<C2>), hardcover
This review is fromThe Essential Evangelical Parallel Bible--bonded leather, black (A CBD Exclusive!).
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great to aid understanding!

Date:June 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Gator
Location:Mansfield, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First-Christinbook.com is FANTASTIC!!! I'm an avid online shopper and if you're reading this you have found THE site for all of your Christian book needs. Their prices are the best on the net and their customer service is absolutely fantastic!!
Now this Bible: beautiful! Every two-page spread has the same chapter/verse. Far right is NKJV, then ESV. On the left side is the NLT and The Message. So it goes from a more strict word-for-word translation to a more message-based translation from left to right. It is enlightening to see the subtle variations. It really helps me with connecting to scripture. The book itself is well made with bonded leather. The bonded leather looks real! I keep it in a case so the cover wasn't that big of a deal to me. The paper is great as is the binding. I'm sure this Bible will last for generations!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Essential Evangelical Parallel Bible (NKJV/ESV/NLT/<C2>The Message<C2>), hardcover
This review is fromThe Essential Evangelical Parallel Bible--bonded leather, black (A CBD Exclusive!).
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very Useful

Date:April 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Robert
Location:Nanaimo, BC
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this bible for a month, and it's already been extremely useful. On its own, these translations offer a good resource for finding your opinion on "the Message" if you don't already have one. Coupled with Zondervan's Comparative Study Bible (AMP, KJV, NASV, NIV) you have the 8 most used translations out there. The quality is great, but my favorite feature is definitely the unique combination of translations.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Essential Evangelical Parallel Bible (NKJV/ESV/NLT/<C2>The Message<C2>), hardcover
This review is fromThe Essential Evangelical Parallel Bible--bonded leather, black (A CBD Exclusive!).
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
William Seale
Location:Indiana, PA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Font is a bit small for us "older" folks!! Great otherwise.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Essential Evangelical Parallel Bible (NKJV/ESV/NLT/<C2>The Message<C2>), hardcover
This review is fromThe Essential Evangelical Parallel Bible--bonded leather, black (A CBD Exclusive!).
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
secondfiddle
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
like the parallel structure in one book at the same page
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Essential Evangelical Parallel Bible (NKJV/ESV/NLT/<C2>The Message<C2>), hardcover
This review is fromThe Essential Evangelical Parallel Bible--bonded leather, black (A CBD Exclusive!).
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Does the Job

Date:April 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mike
Location:Pasadena, MD
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First, I purchased the Bible for the content. I wanted the the NKJV, RSV, NLT, and The Message and CBD had it! So, I am very happy. The font is a bit small so be aware. And I have come to realize that many folks concern themselves with the grade of leather and I understand that. This cover is a bit stiff but it appears to have a Smyth sewn binding so it lays flat. I think it's an excellent value and I love it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Essential Evangelical Parallel Bible (NKJV/ESV/NLT/<C2>The Message<C2>), hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great resource

Date:December 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Brian
Location:Colorado Springs, CO
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great bible for studying at home. It is a larger book that you may not want to carry around with you. I particularly enjoy that I can read from 4 different Bibles and very easily jump back and forth between them, in order of simplicity, because the verses of each Bible are displayed side by side. A wonderful companion for your personal study.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Essential Evangelical Parallel Bible (NKJV/ESV/NLT/<C2>The Message<C2>), hardcover
This review is fromThe Essential Evangelical Parallel Bible--bonded leather, black (A CBD Exclusive!).
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

What I was looking for in a Parallel Bible.

Date:January 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sergeant
Location:New Mexico
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have been looking for a Parallel Bible for quite some time. When I saw this NKJV, ESV, NLT, & MSG I decided this was what I was going to get. The quality is excellent with good binding, material, and thickness of paper. I liked the rounded corners of the pages as they are less apt to bend. My only complaint is the print is a little smaller than preferred but is not a problem.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Essential Evangelical Parallel Bible (NKJV/ESV/NLT/<C2>The Message<C2>), hardcover
This review is fromThe Essential Evangelical Parallel Bible--bonded leather, black (A CBD Exclusive!).
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nice Bible

Date:January 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
crshutt
Location:New York
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my husband and he especially likes that it has all versions on the same page to help with Bible study and understanding.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Essential Evangelical Parallel Bible (NKJV/ESV/NLT/<C2>The Message<C2>), hardcover
This review is fromThe Essential Evangelical Parallel Bible--bonded leather, black (A CBD Exclusive!).
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product is great

Date:November 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bobby
Location:Leominster,MA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was everything I expected it to be. Thanks for a great bargain.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Essential Evangelical Parallel Bible (NKJV/ESV/NLT/<C2>The Message<C2>), hardcover
This review is fromThe Essential Evangelical Parallel Bible--bonded leather, black (A CBD Exclusive!).
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

For those who want to know God better.

Date:November 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
he is due
Location:Auburn, Me
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent book for anyone who is serious about studying God's Word. My favorite Bible is the KJV, but I cannot always comprehend the meaning of the passage clearly. By being able to read multiple translations at once, I can better understand God's Word, bury it in my heart and give Him praise. The NLT is a thought for thought translation and is very practical in understanding. The Message is just plain interesting and enjoyable, it is in very modern language. This book is a wonderful tool, I want to thank CBD for this CBD exclusive which they have made very affordable.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Essential Evangelical Parallel Bible (NKJV/ESV/NLT/<C2>The Message<C2>), hardcover
This review is fromThe Essential Evangelical Parallel Bible--bonded leather, black (A CBD Exclusive!).
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Unbelieveable for the price.

Date:September 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
marilynfgml
Location:Glen Ellen, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is everything for which I had hoped. The font is clear and easy to read. It has a nice leather cover and fits perfectly in my large zippered bible cover.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Essential Evangelical Parallel Bible (NKJV/ESV/NLT/<C2>The Message<C2>), hardcover
This review is fromThe Essential Evangelical Parallel Bible--bonded leather, black (A CBD Exclusive!).
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is the one of the best Bibles if not the Best

Date:August 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Pauline
Location:Patterson, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The side by side readings is easy to follow. No going round and tound trying to see how things are written differently. Very esay to read. Only down side is there are no notes; I guess that is a good things for you have to study the word and not just read it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Essential Evangelical Parallel Bible (NKJV/ESV/NLT/<C2>The Message<C2>), hardcover
This review is fromThe Essential Evangelical Parallel Bible--bonded leather, black (A CBD Exclusive!).
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

this item is a really easy read

Date:August 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
kbobo
Location:Iron Mountain MI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Searching book after book after book to understand verses has just been brought down to 1 book! seeing the same verse side by side in different forms really makes my studies much better!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Essential Evangelical Parallel Bible (NKJV/ESV/NLT/<C2>The Message<C2>), hardcover
This review is fromThe Essential Evangelical Parallel Bible--bonded leather, black (A CBD Exclusive!).
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Wesley Nishimura
Location:Portland, Oregon
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
it helps me in my studies. The only downfall is that the fonts are tiny. However, if the fonts were any larger the bible itself would be too large to carry around
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Essential Evangelical Parallel Bible (NKJV/ESV/NLT/<C2>The Message<C2>), hardcover
This review is fromThe Essential Evangelical Parallel Bible--bonded leather, black (A CBD Exclusive!).
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Bibles at a great value!!

Date:April 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
JGward
Location:Tyler, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Bibles at a great value!! Enjoying them. Looking for more deals.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Essential Evangelical Parallel Bible (NKJV/ESV/NLT/<C2>The Message<C2>), hardcover
This review is fromThe Essential Evangelical Parallel Bible--bonded leather, black (A CBD Exclusive!).
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful addition to your BIBLE library

Date:April 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Robert Shipley
Location:Wishram, Washington
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This beautiful Bible, with NKJV, ESV,NLT, & The Message side by side, is a wonderful addition to your Bible Library. I have several different parallel Bibles, all of which are great helps in my study of GODS WORD. One of the great things about CBD is the way they make the things we want, and need affordable .
The print size used in this Bible is small. If this is a problem, CBD has several sizes of page magnifiers available that will make reading the small print easy.
GOD bless you in your search of HIS WORD.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Essential Evangelical Parallel Bible (NKJV/ESV/NLT/<C2>The Message<C2>), hardcover
This review is fromThe Essential Evangelical Parallel Bible--bonded leather, black (A CBD Exclusive!).
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent!

Date:January 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Carolyn
Location:NW Ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a gift for my brother and both he and I thought it was very nice. I thought it was certainly worth the price paid for it. He liked it right away and thought it would be a big help in his Bible Study.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Essential Evangelical Parallel Bible (NKJV/ESV/NLT/<C2>The Message<C2>), hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Renee
Location:Atlanta, GA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For anyone who is serious about studying the Word, this is an excellent tool.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.