Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for David C. Cook Two Testaments: A Novel - eBook

David C. Cook Two Testaments: A Novel - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.714 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (7 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 out of 7100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Two Testaments: A Novel - eBook
Review 1 for Two Testaments: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A very interesting read

Date:November 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Catiensilli
Location:Saskatchewan, Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this book. It had all the components of a great story, romance, danger and a great plot. I have been to France and lived in Africa as an MK so I could visualize the places and characters. Well done, kept me reading!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Two Testaments: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Historical fiction at its best!

Date:January 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
1classygal
Location:Indiana
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Truly enjoyed these and will read all her books now past and future published. Can just see these stories evolving just like a movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Two Testaments: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

History, Adventure, Romance Thriller

Date:December 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Elizabeth Musser in her new book, “Two Testaments book coverTwo Testaments” Book Two in the Secrets of the Cross Trilogy published by David C Cook continues the story of Gabriella Madison.
From the back cover: Love for war’s victims keeps them apart. Will love for each other see them through?
The slightest spark will ignite an explosion. And the tinderbox of broken political and racial relations in 1960′s France and Algeria provides plenty of kindling. In the midst of the chaos, Gabriella Madison guards the orphans in her care while battling jealousy with Anne-Marie Duchemin, David’s former flame who has recently arrived in Castelnau, France. Even more problems arise when the townspeople start expressing their discomfort with the multicultural orphanage. They want it shut down…permanently.
Meanwhile, David is trapped on the other side of the Mediterranean, caught in the turmoil of a country gone mad. He seeks a way to guard his life and, at the same time, protect the refugees he came to help. But even if he accomplishes his mission, can he get out of Algeria alive?
I like history and Elizabeth Musser is doing her best to increase not only my knowledge of history but political and religious freedoms as well. The Algerian war of independence, begun in November 1954, is still raging as “Two Testaments” begins. We pick the story up in March, 1962 just a few months from when the war will officially end on July 3 1962, when France’s President Charles de Gaulle will formally renounce his nation’s sovereignty over Algeria and proclaim its independence. However there is still quite a bit of story to cover in these few remaining months. David and Gabriella are separated; she stays in Castelnau while David is in Algeria. Gabriella is defending the orphans, David is protecting the refugees. For this romance to really work these two are going to have to get back together. “Two Testaments” is filled with danger, suspense, thrills and romance. Ms. Musser knows a thing or two about France as she and her husband are missionaries there. Once again Ms. Musser has provided us a gripping adventure with plenty of action and memorable characters that you really care about. If you are looking for history you will find it here. If you are looking for a really good romance you will find it here. I liked this book and am really looking forward to where Ms. Musser will take us in the third and final book in this series.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book for free from Wynn-Wynn Media for this review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Two Testaments: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Intricate tale

Date:August 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A skillfully interwoven tale that though set many years past is more than relevant in today's world.
Political unrest between France and Algeria spark unrest and plenty of danger, Gabriella Madison finds herself caught in the middle. Gabriella courageously fights to protect the orphans under her care. Things only get tougher when her beau's former love and mother of his child arrives, to work along side Gabriella.
I loved how intricate the storyline was, and I will tell you now that it would be most helpful to read this series in order because reading this one without the first (Two Crosses) might be more than a bit confusing. I loved how relevant this series is, though set in the 60's with everything that is happening it is almost like it was happening today!
This book is also emotionally strong, with main characters having to make tough choices, and deal with the unrest around them. The characters were well done, and they were so realistically written that they felt like genuinely real people. I loved how deep each of them ran.
Overall this is not a lightly written book that will take you to another time and place, not too much unlike the world we live in today. I loved how there was so much going on and how it all came together, there were so many characters and I liked the complexity of this book. A book and series that I heartily recommend.
I received this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. Thanks!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Two Testaments: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Definitely Read!

Date:August 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
sallyds
I've now read these book twice. The first time was several years ago. I was ashamed to admit that reading this was one of my first exposures to the Algerian wars. One reason I love Elizabeth musser is for her historical fiction told so delightfully through lovable and detestable characters. I loved them even more the second time I read it knowing I would be able to complete the series now that the third will finally be printed in English in September. I would definitely recommend it!!
The second book is my favorite so far. . . possibly because I knew the characters and was already enthralled in the story! There is some closure to what you are left hanging with from the first book and new plot lines arise which leave you waiting for the third! Thankfully we will finally be able to finish it now that Two Destinies is coming out in September 2012!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Two Testaments: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A very detailed book

Date:June 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book picks up where the book “The Two Crosses” ends. It continues this complex story. It centers on the turmoil taking place in Algeria and in the lives of the main characters.
Like the first book in the series this book is pretty heavy reading. The characters are well developed but if you haven’t read the first book you might be lost at first. The story itself moves along at a slow pace but is an intriguing one. You have war scenes and very good relationship conflicts that keep you reading. As in the first book the characters are so well developed you will put the book down thinking they are based on real people.
I enjoyed this book more then the first and because of that I look forward to reading the last book in the series too. I gave this book 4/5 stars because it was a slow read and pretty deep subject matter.
I would like to thank NetGalley and the publisher for the copy of this book I enjoyed reading. I gave an honest review based on my opinion of what I read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Two Testaments: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great addition to the series

Date:June 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
gjo50
Location:Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gabriella and David are still in France, working to save as many orphans as possible while coming to grips with their discovery of David’s daughter. Gabriella goes to class and works at the orphanage, while David teaches classes until David goes to Algeria to bring back his former lover, the mother of his child. As more orphans come to the orphanage, the town turns against it out of racism and the parents of the students in the exchange program begin to grumble. David and Gabriella’s love is tested as they continue their efforts to save children from the Algerian war and an evil Algerian seeking retribution. Gabriella takes a larger role at the orphanage and David goes to Algeria to help Anne-Marie get to France, but he stays behind to help Mustapha.
As with the first book, I loved Two Testaments. Musser does an excellent job with all the characters, but especially Mother Griolet as she deals with the racism of the town, overcrowding, and her successor. The story is interesting, exciting, and heart rending. This is definitely one of the best I have read this year. I would recommend it to anyone enjoying history, romance, and suspense.
Provided by Netgalley.com.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.