Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell Joy Takes Flight: A Novel - eBook

Revell Joy Takes Flight: A Novel - eBook

Kate Evans and Paul Anderson are finally married, settling in, and starting a family. They rejoice when Kate finds she is pregnant, but soon it is clear that there are hurdles ahead. Should she continue in her dangerous profession as an Alaskan bush pilot? Can she really fall into the role of a wife? Then tragedy strikes, life begins to unravel, and Kate fears she may have lost Paul for good.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Joy Takes Flight: A Novel - eBook
Review 1 for Joy Takes Flight: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

1930s Alaskan flying adventure continues

Date:June 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
MaryAnn
Location:OR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kate Evans Anderson, the female bush pilot we love and admire from Bonnie Leon’s Alaskan Skies series, is off on more adventures in this third and final book, Joy Takes Flight. It begins with her marriage to Paul, which doesn’t occur without some worry and trouble—just like the rest of their lives. Kate’s independent nature and the desire to prove herself adds stress to their sometimes perilous lives in the harsh Alaskan wilderness.
Paul’s past finally draws him back to deal with all he left behind in California years ago, things he still hasn’t shared with Kate. Will their marriage survive? Join the wild ride in another adventure dealing with both the forces of nature and human nature. Along the way, readers may glean wisdom for handling the drama of their own lives.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Joy Takes Flight: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Alaska - beauty and mystery

Date:February 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
schoolmarm
Location:Heber Springs, AR
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Being a bush pilot in Alaska was Kate's dream and it came
true. Now add a husband and a child on the way and
things begin to change. Will she be able to keep flying or
must she settle down? Only time will tell.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Joy Takes Flight: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Peggy Perriman
Location:St Joseph, Mo.
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved reading about Paul and Kate and the way it is so true to life. Ive enjoyed following them on their journeys in Alaska and even in the lower states in this last book. A wonderful series to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Joy Takes Flight: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Satisfying Conclusion to Series

Date:August 23, 2012
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kate, a bush pilot in Alaska, has forged her position in an area where men pilots dominate. Before Kate and Paul, a medical doctor, marry he promises her she can continue her role as pilot. When a doctor is needed in any part of Alaska, she flies and he is the doctor she takes to where ever the need awaits. When tragedy hits the newlyweds, Paul blames himself. His brother calls him that their mother is near death and Paul returns to his former home in San Francisco. Kate, impatient that Paul hasn’t returned when planned, flies to San Francisco to urge him to return to Alaska. Can the two find a compromise that will meld them together? A great conclusion to Leon’s Alaskan Series of books. The vivid description of setting makes the reader feel the cold as Kate pulls her parka’s hood tighter around her face. Action-packed adventures, romance, and memorable characters.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Joy Takes Flight: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Adventure

Date:August 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ellen
Location:Fort Worth, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my second Bonnie Leon series to complete. Such excellent stories that place me on location. I love the Christian lives portrayed; it's so encouraging to my faith!
While reading this series, I actually had to bundle up with a lapgan even though it's summer time and the temps are over 100 here. Realistic and engaging.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Joy Takes Flight: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A satisfying series conclusion

Date:August 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sarah Sundin
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Joy Takes Flight is a gripping story filled with adventure and excitement, but it also shows wonderful character development for both Kate and Paul as married life forces them to stretch. Those who have enjoyed the first two books in this series (and they DO have to be read in order) will love watching the sub-plots come to satisfying - although never easy - conclusions. I highly recommend this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Joy Takes Flight: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good story; great writing

Date:August 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Adam77
Location:Missouri
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Joy Takes Flight by Bonnie Leon
Here’s another good book in the Alaska Skies series by Bonnie Leon. Bonnie brings reality to the airplane cockpit flying in and out of the primitive frozen Alaska runways .
You hear the crunch and feel every bump as the wheels touch down or prepare for takeoff.
The author brings readers to the skies and into the frigid valleys of Alaska but Bonnie Leon doesn’t live in there, and she’s not a pilot.
How does an author write effectively from a location where she doesn’t live and a career she’s never experienced?
Bonnie Leon says you pick brains and do research. Ah, but there’s more to Bonnie Leon than that. She also knows how to plot a compelling story. We get the feel of flying through blue skies, looking down on moose, bear—and the rustic cabin where a murderer probably is holed up.
Bonnie characters are so true to life it feels like a close friend is telling (actually showing) you the story about real people. Newlyweds Kate and Paul fuss and have head butting arguments just like normal couples, but their love is deep, their risks and problems large.
As with many Christian novels, there is spiritual pay dirt in this book and good advice on making sound marriages as characters discuss the challenges and the way to work them out.
The story is wrapped in brilliant writing and inspiration. Writers will notice good craftsmanship, strong active verbs, and good examples of showing instead of telling.
How you dodge bullets and an attacker when you’re flying a plane?
The way to find out is to read this compelling book. A great read.
Note: I was provided a review copy, but the opinions here are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Joy Takes Flight: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great conclusion to a wonderful series

Date:July 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Annie
Location:Oregon
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kate believes she’s living her dream when she and Dr. Paul Anderson marry. After all of the hurdles their relationship faced, now life promises smooth sailing.
But some promises can be misleading. Kate visualizes her life as an Alaskan bush pilot continuing without a hitch. Unfortunately, Paul has other ideas, especially after they learn they are expecting a child. Demons from his past haunt him, and Kate is unable to break through the barriers he’s erected around himself. She wants one thing, Paul wants another. As their life unravels, Kate comes to believe she’s lost Paul for good.
Joy Takes Flight is an engrossing story, filled with authentic details of Alaska in the 1930’s. Reading Leon’s skilled descriptions of flight in a bush plane will have you clinging to the edge of your seat.
Joy Takes Flight is the thrilling conclusion to Leon’s Alaskan Skies series. If you haven’t read the first two books, hurry out and buy all three! You’re in for a treat.
My thanks to Revell for providing my review copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Joy Takes Flight: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Fantastic Conclusion

Date:July 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kristen Johnson
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The finale to the Alaskan Skies series ended with a fantastic conclusion, and is not to be missed. As Kimberly mentioned, I wanted to sit down and have a chat with Kate over her attitude at the beginning, but I loved her growth, as well as the changes in Paul. Bonnie Leon has made these characters so real to me that there was a section of the story where I cried for them, and I rarely cry when I read books. Not everything is perfect in their lives at the end, and the story wasn’t wrapped in a big happiness bow, which I appreciate. It’s more real and gives my imagination room to wonder about these character’s futures. Leon’s writing is so smooth that it takes me from page to page and I don’t want to stop. I can’t wait to see what new characters and story lines she will delight us with next. (Thank you to Revell for the review copy.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Joy Takes Flight: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Read

Date:June 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kimberly
Location:Oregon
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you've been following Kate's adventures you won't want to miss the conclusion to Leon's Alaskan Skies series. Although this book can stand alone I recommend starting the series from the beginning.
I really enjoyed seeing Kate grow into her role as a wife and career woman in Joy Takes Flight. At first her attitude annoyed me, but her growth through the story was a delight to witness.
Leon has a knack for making me feel like I'm right there with the characters in the book. Her descriptions and characterizations are fantastic.
Special thanks to Revell for my review copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.