Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Love Comes Softly

Bethany House Love Comes Softly

She ventured West with the man she loved, but in one day her world crumbled around her...First around in 1979, Love Come Softly has become a beloved classic with over one million copies sold. A generation of readers has laughed and wept and rejoiced with Marty and Clark Davis whose tragic circumstances threw them together on the frontier prairies of the 1800s.
Average Customer Rating:
4.429 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Love Comes Softly
Review 1 for Love Comes Softly
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Robby J
Location:Smithfield, VA
Age:Under 18
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In Love Comes Softly, Janette Oke tells the story of Marty, a young woman on a venture West with her husband. But tragedy strikes, and Marty's world is turned upside down and forever changed. Janette Oke did a beautiful job in her story of tragedy, odd marriage, redemption, and love in Love Comes Softly. My grandmother gave me her copy of Love Comes Softly, and I was captivated by the story. The story of Marty and Clark will touch your heart and lift your spirits.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Love Comes Softly
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Diane
Age:18-24
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was not expecting to find such a nice story in what I found to be a short book. I actually did not know anything about the author or the series when I found it in a store and bought it during the summer, as I was looking for just any book to read and keep me from boredom... but "Love comes softly" was such a cute and inspirational story about two people who don't know each other, don't love each other either, but really needed each other to make it in the tough situations they were in.
The author makes the story very light and easy to read, while impregnating it with a very touching and strong message about the importance of Faith and Love.
I would definitely like to read the rest of the series...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Love Comes Softly
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 5, 2010
This is an wonderful book. A+++I would reccomend it to anyone. I Have read just about every book Janette Oke has every written. They are all based on christian background. It is a clean book 100%
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Love Comes Softly
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
emily
I love this book so much. I really dont like to read, but when i am reading this I just cant stop. I LOVE IT!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Love Comes Softly
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Tamara Johnson
I love Janette Oke's books and this series is one of her best. If you've seen the movies, the books are even better. The way that God has plans to help you deal with hardships is the best part of her books. I know you will enjoy it as much as I did.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Love Comes Softly
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
Emelia
This is an absolutely beautiful book! It arrived yesterday in the mail and I finished it at midnight last night! I just couldn't put it down!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Love Comes Softly
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 26, 2008
Customer Avatar
summer
I thought this book was very good, I didn't think it would be at first.It DOES mention God all through it.I can't wait to read the rest of the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Love Comes Softly
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 27, 2007
Customer Avatar
Kirsty Pearce
I absolutely LOVE this book. The characters are so real, and it is so romantic, and sad in some parts as well, but it was so interesting that I didn't want to put it down. I never lost interest once. And I love when Marty tells Clark that she loves him. It was so moving. This is definitely another excellent book by Janette Oke. I would recommend this book to anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Love Comes Softly
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 17, 2007
I ablsolutely LOVED this book!! Janette Oke is one of my favorite authors, and this book was AWESOME!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Love Comes Softly
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:February 24, 2007
Customer Avatar
Grace
I picked up the original version of this book at my library, looking forward to a good read. I was sorely dissapointed. The characters are so unrealistic, and the plot was terribly flat. I don't recommend it to anyone.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Love Comes Softly
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 30, 2006
Customer Avatar
Amanda
Absolutly love this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Love Comes Softly
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 14, 2006
Customer Avatar
Cassie
I read this book about two years ago. I loved it. I've even decided to re-read it. And a book has to be really good for me to want to read it more than once!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Love Comes Softly
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 11, 2005
Customer Avatar
Amaris Lansford
My grandmother introduced me to these books when I was 12 years old and they changed my life. I am now 22 and I still love them. I am buying the set for my sister because I want her to have a good example of what true love for God, spouse and family really is without the distortion that is so prevalent in our society today. If you know a young girl she needs these books!! The author's skills make for an effortless and captivating read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Love Comes Softly
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:October 13, 2005
Customer Avatar
Angie Castellaw
The (emotional) reactions of these people are so "inspirational" as to be completely 200% unrealistic. I need a little more realism to be able to get into a story!Besides, in a book of 240 pages, God is mentioned for the first time around page 200. What else need I say?
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.