Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers When Love Comes My Way - eBook

Harvest House Publishers When Love Comes My Way - eBook

After the spoiled Wakefield Timber heiress loses her memory in an accident, handsome lumber foreman Jake tries to convince her that replanting the forest is a better use of her inheritance. But when Tess's memory returns, will she sell the company and go home to her fiance like she'd planned? Or will God intervene?
Average Customer Rating:
4.308 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 out of 1392%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for When Love Comes My Way - eBook
Review 1 for When Love Comes My Way - eBook
This review is fromWhen Love Comes My Way.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I haven't read a Lori Wick book in a while, Fun!

Date:February 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Shirshee
Location:Haysville KS.
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like books that make me want to stay up at night and finish it. This is one of those books.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for When Love Comes My Way - eBook
This review is fromWhen Love Comes My Way.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loss of memory and resulting mix ups

Date:October 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
ACS Book Finder
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When Love Comes My Way is a Christian love story that keeps you turning the pages. The story takes place in Michigan during the late 1800s. The author gives us a glimpse of how lumberjacks lived in the old logging towns. Reading this book gives you a better understanding for the courageous men who did that kind of life-threatening work. You will enjoy the way this book describes an era of long ago while the reader can only imagine a 19th century way of life. You can almost feel the bitter cold and smell the pine trees as the author introduces you to the main characters.
One of the main characters, Tess Wakefield, discovers she lost her memory after a horrible wagon accident on her way to sell her Timber Company. She is the only heir to the profitable company, but her interests are back East in her new fashion business. In the midst of losing her identity, she begins to lose her heart to the man that may know who she is and why she was headed to his town.
This man, Jake Lannigan, puts his interest first and conveniently allows Tess to believe she is the new school teacher the town has been desperately waiting for. Jake secretly begins to see Tess as a very special person in his life and begins to feel badly about not being honest with everyone regarding Tess' real identity. Tess settles into her new life well and eventually gains the respect of the townspeople and her unruly students. Will God help these two main characters discover that through forgiveness and His guidance they can truly be happy?
This book is a wonderful story and would be a great addition to anyone's library. (reviewed by M.Hicks)
DISCLOSURE: Harvest House Publishers provided a complimentary copy of When Love Comes My Way on behalf of the author for the purpose of our rendering an honest review. Opinions expressed are solely those of the reviewer.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for When Love Comes My Way - eBook
This review is fromWhen Love Comes My Way.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I just love romantic comedies - this is one !

Date:August 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Joan Kimlin
Location:Saugerties, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lori Copeland is a great Christian romantic comedy writer. I could really feel the characters in this story - a great story by the way. The woman was histerical and I love when the gruff characters are really softies inside. Great book !
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for When Love Comes My Way - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved this book by Lori Copeland

Date:June 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
wfnren
Location:St Cloud, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tess Wakefield is on her way to Michigan in 1873 to close down the Wakefield Timber camp that she inherited from her Grandfather. She left the camp at a very young age with her Mother, a few years later her Mother died and Talbot Wellington-Kent, a family friend, became her guardian until she became of age. Tess was more interested in staying in Philadelphia running her hat shop and opening more, this is with encouragement from Talbot, who is now her fiance, he also agrees that she should sell the timber camp.
After going as far as she could by train she boards a rickety old wagon along with Fedelia Yardley, who is to be the new schoolteacher at the camp, and a few men. On the way the wheel came off of the wagon and everyone was thrown into the icy river, two people managed to survive, Tess and the driver. Jake Lannigan, the camp foreman called Big Say by everyone, knowing the new schoolteacher was to arrive on that wagon, assumed that was the survivor. He did know that Tess was scheduling a trip but didn't know when to expect her. Fedelia was unconscious for a while and lost her memory. The only luggage found was Fedelia's and the woman didn't have an engagement ring on, further assuring Jake that this was Fedelia, although in his mind he really didn't think so, he felt it was Tess. Upon awaking, everyone around her told her she was Fedelia, she knew the name sounded strange, but didn't know anything so she accepted it.
Several days later she was shown her 'tiny' room in the corner of the bunkhouse for the 200 or so jacks. Oh she had privacy, it was enclosed, but it was tiny! Even though she still hadn't regained her memory she started teaching school, but she couldn't figure out why she would become a schoolteacher when some of the kids seemed to know more than she did. Tess spent almost as much time, if not more, studying for her lessons as the children did after she assigned them. And the kids, they were ruffians! Tess didn't give up though, she even learned a lot about the timber business and soon loved where she was in her life, even if she did think she was Fedelia. Not only did she love her life, she was falling in love with Jake and he was falling in love with her.
Will she ever remember who she is and will Jake ever be sure of who she is? If the truth is ever known will she hate Jake for not being honest with her and return to Philadelphia and Talbot? Has Talbot just forgotten her so he can live in comfort with her money or will he go to Wakefield Timber camp looking for her?
Lori did not disappoint, she pulled me in and I had to read late into the night. You will find yourself laughing and loving this book. Highly recommended.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the NetGalley book review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for When Love Comes My Way - eBook
This review is fromWhen Love Comes My Way.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Enjoyable

Date:July 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
weatherlover1
Location:U.P Mi
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Jake is in charge of the lumber company that Tess owns. He had been good friends with her grandfather before he died. Now Tess wants to sell the company so she can buy more hat stores. Tess is coming to the Lumber camp in the U.P of Michigan to close the sale and Jake is not happy. On the way to the camp along with the new school teacher there is a bad wagon accident and Tess is the only survivor. Tess can not remember who she is and since she did not tell Jake when she was coming many thing she is the school teacher. Jake keeps it to himself that she might be Tess and tells her she is the school teacher and does not treat her very nice.
Even though Tess does not like all the things Jake has her do she does them with out complaining and slowly Jake finds himself falling in love with her. But when Tess’s old life comes front and center will they find true love or will their differences keep them apart?
This was a fun book to read. I live in the U.P of Michigan so it was neat to read a book based here.
What I liked: I enjoyed the fact this book took place close to where I live. Made it more interesting. I really liked how Jake and Tess interacted. I found myself laughing at their antics a lot.
What I did not like: This book was slow getting going. Thankfully it picked up about half way through. I also felt the way Tess and her fiancé handled things was kind of unbelievable. I expected a little more excitement from that storyline. The other thing I really did not like was the cover. I just did not feel the guy and lady where Jake and Tess. He does not even look like a lumberjack and they don’t look like people from the late 1800’s.
Over all I did enjoy the book and found myself really drawn into it the last quarter of the book. I just wish the first 75% had been a little more exciting. But the fun banter between the characters helped me give it a higher rating.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for When Love Comes My Way - eBook
This review is fromWhen Love Comes My Way.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Mixed Feelings

Date:July 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mixed feelings about this book that was in many ways charming.
Tess Wakefield, heir to a timber fortune, loses her memory after an accident and finds her self attractted to the cool and rugged lumberman, Jake Lannigan. Many incidents ensue, but will Jake and Tess be able to handle it when love comes their way?
As I said above I have mixed feelings about this book. I loved the setting and the oft-times humorous interactions between the characters, especially the teasing between Andre and Jake, and how the lumbermen reacted to having a woman among their midst! And I loved how determined Tess was to go along with the mix up -- because she didn't remember anything!-- and teach school, not to mention put up with a hoard of ill behaved children, who were far from the cute end of the spectrum!
To some extent I felt that Jake acted completely ungentlmanly and was just not much of a gallant hero, and while his actions may have made sense to him I thought it was rather unfair of him to take out his frustration at Tess on her, because she didn't remember who she was! And something that I really didn't like was how Tess formed the ladies of the community into a society, directing them to manipulate their husbands into building a new schoolhouse. In my opinion the way she went about it was just all wrong.
Overall, as I said above I really wanted to like this book, because there are some great parts, yet there are still some elements that I just get stuck on. One thing that I will note is that this book, though it is the second in a series, it has nothing to do with the last book, so picking it up out of order won't be a problem :) I can't give this book the glowing review that I wanted to, but I did like the interactions between some of the characters, and that everything did eventually get resolved :)
I received this book through a publicity program in exchange for an honest review. Thanks!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for When Love Comes My Way - eBook
This review is fromWhen Love Comes My Way.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

OK story

Date:June 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ruth
Location:Upstate SC
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Gave this a low star rating for being too wordy and thus slow moving; too much supposition/thought stuff making me grumble, "OK, go on already." (Talking to the book while I am reading! LoL!)
The CBD website does not say that this appears to be a re-write (re-package?) story? Published 2012; but the book says 1990 / 2012.
That explains my nagging deja vu thinking while reading. I even wondered if someone had taken Ms. Copeland's story and that I had seen and read it elsewhere previously.
Seeing the 1990 date, I am assuming that I read this in an earlier version.
After all this negative stuff, let me say that if you have NOT read this before, you will probably enjoy the book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for When Love Comes My Way - eBook
This review is fromWhen Love Comes My Way.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another GREAT book from Lori Copeland!

Date:April 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
jenilee220
Location:Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Book Description:
From bestselling author Lori Copeland, When Love Comes My Way is a love story about redemption, forgiveness, and renewed spiritual awakenings set against the backdrop of scenic Upper Peninsula, Michigan, in the days when pine was king.
Michigan, 1873—As Tess Wakefield wakes from a frightening wagon accident, she discovers she has lost her memories. In her recovery, she loses her heart as well to handsome lumberjack Jake Lannigan. It’s not a two-way street, though. Jake thinks he knows exactly who she is—the spoiled Wakefield Timber heir—but he believes the accident provides the means to show her that she has a responsibility to replant the trees and not to merely invest her inheritance opening another of her silly millinery shops.
Then he slowly he begins to fall in love with her. Jake wants to tell Tess the truth, but before he can her true identity is uncovered, and then both of them find the emotional stakes too high. Will God intervene and show this headstrong couple that only He in His wisdom could have paired them together?
My Thoughts:
Well, I'll start by saying that I'm a Michigan girl and that alone makes me love this book. Michigan is an incredibly beautiful state with a rich history and I love that Lori Copeland brought attention to those things!
I always love Lori Copeland books but this one might be my favorite. She wove a serious accident, the historical tragedy of the damage of the logging industry and the stress of running a family company with humor, fun, faith and romance. There were moments that I was laughing out loud or almost teary because of how things were working out for the characters in the book.
I am always amazed when I get so involved in a story that I think about it long after the book is done. This is one of those books.
Jake, Tess, and the other characters make a memorable story that you will truly enjoy reading!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for When Love Comes My Way - eBook
This review is fromWhen Love Comes My Way.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A fun book to read

Date:April 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Judy Glidden
Location:Kansas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had fun reading this story. The characters were full of life and the rugged timber country was descibed in such a way that made you want to travel there and visit. The setting is 1873 in the rough and tough timber camp of Wakefield Timber. You have the lumberjack Jake Lannigan who runs the camp in a strict but fair way, but he doesn't own the camp. The problem is that the Wakfield heir is Tess Wakefield, who wants to sell the camp. Jake prepares to meet with her when an accident happens en route and Tess can't remember who she is. Jake has a little fun at her expense and convinces her she is the new school teacher for the camp and puts her in the worst of accomodations. Tess has spirit though and nothing seems to get her down for long.
I loved the way Tess reacted to each situation she found herself in. She had tenacity and took on the handsome but belligerant lumberjack, Jake, and didn't let him bully her. This was one headstrong couple and it was fun watching them fall in love. Was it a predictable story with an ending you knew was going to happen? Yes, but it sure was fun watching it all take place.
I want to thank Harvest House Publishing thru NetGalley for sending me this story to read and review.
Paperback: 304 pages
Publisher: Harvest House Publishers (June 1, 2012)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0736930213
ISBN-13: 978-0736930215
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for When Love Comes My Way - eBook
This review is fromWhen Love Comes My Way.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A fun and uplifting story

Date:April 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sherry K
Location:Kansas
Tess Wakefield has inherited a lumber business from her grandfather but knows nothing about it. Besides she's interested in fancy hats not logging. Her fiance encourages her to sell the lumber business and reinvest the money in her hat boutiques. With that decision made she travels to the logger camp to sign all the necessary papers but before she arrives, she's in a terrible wagon accident. She wakes to find she has no memories of who she is. But she does know that Jake Lannigan stirs her heart like no one else has. Jake has an idea that she's Tess Wakefield and uses her loss of memory as an opportunity to show her about the responsibility of replanting the trees. What he doesn't count on is falling in love with the pretty little fire ball. Jake knows he should be honest with Tess about who she is but before he can do that, she regains her memory. When the truth is made known, can Jake and Tess overcome their emotions to see that the Lord just might have worked out everything for good?
This was a wonderful story and I thoroughly enjoyed my journey to the Wakefield logging camp in upper Michigan. What a rugged life those men (and some of their wives) lead. All the dangers they faced daily in their work is something you don't really think about. I enjoyed getting to know the characters who were all larger than life and fully fleshed out. While I was reading, I truly felt as if I was there at the camp. I could feel the cold frigid air touching my face, smell the food cooking in the bunkhouse and hear the saws of the men working to cut the trees. Along with the heart-felt emotion in this story, there was also plenty of humor. Even when I finished the book, I found myself recalling some of those memorable moments. One verse that kept running through my mind as I was reading was 'man plans his course but the Lord determines his steps'. Sometimes what we have planned is not what the Lord has planned and we need to be open to His leading and trust Him. When Love Comes My Way is a fun and uplifting story that I would definitely recommend.
Paperback: 304 pages
Publisher: Harvest House Publishers; Expanded edition (June 1, 2012)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0736930213
ISBN-13: 978-0736930215
*A thank you goes to Harvest House Publishers for providing this complimentary ARC through Netgalley for my review*
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for When Love Comes My Way - eBook
This review is fromWhen Love Comes My Way.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Recommended read for everyone!!

Date:March 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mary
Location:Ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love Lori Copeland's books. They are inspiring, wholesome and hilarious all at once. I have been reading her books for many years now and enjoy the uniqueness of each title that she writes.
This new title is no different. The story of Tess and Jake is a true love story, battling the odds to find true love isn't easy. Lori captivates her audience with her usual stlyes and humor. Once I picked up thsi title I couldn't put it down!!!
Definitely will pass this along to all my dear family and friends!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for When Love Comes My Way - eBook
This review is fromWhen Love Comes My Way.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another great title from Lori Copeland!

Date:March 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Love2Read
Location:Missouri
Age:25-34
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When it comes to Historical Western Romance, Lori Copeland has written some of my favorite titles. She once again has created another compelling story with "When Love Comes My Way." In this story we are introduced to Tess and Jake, two very different people who discover a love for each other that they never thought possible.
With her usual humor, exciting plot, and positive message, Lori Copeland has written a great title that fans (new and old) should read!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for When Love Comes My Way - eBook
This review is fromWhen Love Comes My Way.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

When Love Comes My Way

Date:March 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Debbie
Location:Yukon, OK
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This Book was supplied to me by Harvest House Publishers through NetGalley for a review in return.
Book Description
Michigan, 1873—As Tess Wakefield wakes from a frightening wagon accident, she discovers she has lost her memories. In her recovery, she loses her heart as well to handsome lumberjack Jake Lannigan. It’s not a two-way street, though. Jake thinks he knows exactly who she is—the spoiled Wakefield Timber heir—but he believes the accident provides the means to show her that she has a responsibility to replant the trees and not to merely invest her inheritance opening another of her silly millinery shops.
Then he slowly he begins to fall in love with her. Jake wants to tell Tess the truth, but before he can her true identity is uncovered, and then both of them find the emotional stakes too high. Will God intervene and show this headstrong couple that only He in His wisdom could have paired them together?
My Review
This book is by Lori Copeland. I had high hopes for this book but it just didn’t do anything at all for me. It was too slow moving for me. It was funny in places of the book and tears did come in other parts of it. I think it is just me, but I just didn’t care for it.
The book is about Tess Wakefield who is the granddaughter of a big time logger in Michigan, Wakefield Timber Company. Tess lives in Philadelphia and is engaged to marry a wealthy tycoon. But, when her grandfather dies, she leaves for Michigan to sell the trees. Jake Lannigan doesn’t want her to do this, but her and her fiancé want to do this. When she arrives in Michigan, she is involved in a wagon accident but loses her memory. No one tells her who she is because there were 2 women in that wagon accident, one is a schoolteacher and the other one is Tess.
She falls for Jake Lannigan during her recuperation and he eventually falls for her. It is a good story, just too slow moving for me.
Thank you to Harvest House Publishers for giving me a chance to read and give a review of this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.