Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers Promise for Miriam, A - eBook

Harvest House Publishers Promise for Miriam, A - eBook

Amish schoolteacher Miriam King loves her students. At 26, most women her age are married with children of their own, but she hasn't yet met anyone who can convince her to give up the Plain school that sits along the banks of Pebble Creek. Then newcomer Gabriel Yoder steps into her life, bringing his daughter, an air of mystery, and challenges Miriam has never faced before.
Average Customer Rating:
4.767 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
30 out of 30100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Promise for Miriam, A - eBook
Review 1 for Promise for Miriam, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love in Pebble Creek

Date:May 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
Magister
Location:Michigan
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved meeting the community of Pebble Creek, Wisconsin. Vannetta Chapman has a knack for drawing such realistic characters - I always feel they are friends I've known for a long time. In this book you'll meet school-teacher Miriam as she welcomes a new student, young Grace Miller. She and her father, Gabe, have moved to the area to start fresh after the death of Grace's mother. Both Millers are crippled by their grief: Grace is literally mute, but Gabe also struggles to express his feelings, and instead, throws himself into rehabbing a run-down farm. He wants to keep to keep his emotional distance from the friendly folks of Pebble Creek, but an emergency shows him his need of friends. I love how each of the characters in this novel develop...they each face their flaws and grow in faith.
The humor and candor on each page weaves these folks right into your heart. I guarantee once you finish this book, you'll be reading the rest of this series and looking for more glimpses of Gabe and Miriam.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Promise for Miriam, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Such a Wonderful Story!

Date:May 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
Britt98
Location:Grand Prairie, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this book. The characters of Miriam and Gabe are just so personable. Miriam is a loving and smart teacher, able to discern the best ways to help her students learn.
Gabe and his daughter move into the community bearing a tragic past. They both still struggle over the loss of Gabe’s wife, the mother of Gracie.
Gabe wants to be left alone, not pitied. He refuses help for so long! Miriam wants to connect and help his daughter with a rather big issue she is having.
The attraction grows between the two characters and the way the author brings the two together at the end of the book is truly wonderful!
This is a great book and the first in a series of three stories.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Promise for Miriam, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Heartwarming Story!

Date:April 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
Sunnie
Location:USA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was such a good read! I was the lucky winner of this excellent book and hope that you will take the time to read this also. You can find Vannetta's link here.
Vannetta has written many Amish fiction books and her latest is Murder, Simply Brewed. This is from her Amish Village Mystery series.
Published in 2012, A Promise for Miriam is about a 26 year-old Amish woman, a teacher in the Amish community school. She loves teaching and those that she teaches. This heartwarming story is about Gabriel Miller who moves to Cashton, Wisconsin from his former home in Indiana. He finds himself in a much more conservative order than what he is accustomed to, yet a warm, friendly and helpful community.
Gabe is a widower with an eight year-old daughter, who has not spoken since the death of her mother. He and his daughter, Grace, meet the school teacher, Miriam where Grace begins to attend school. Gabe is somewhat taken aback when Miriam tries to encourage Grace to try to speak again. He feels this might be too difficult and informs Miriam of this fact causing some friction between them.
Because of the frightening incidents that occur, Gabe softens both towards Miriam and to the new community he has come to love and depend upon.
This book shares the importance of healing, friendship, community spirit, and love towards your fellow man. As their little community becomes involved in situations, both important to the Englisch and the Amish, Gabe plays an important role in matters of a civic nature. It is good to read how, even though there are differences in the Amish and Englisch, teamwork and community efforts can work out for all involved.
A Promise for Miriam is a warm and cozy read that will leave you wanting to read the rest of the series of The Pebble Creek Amish books by Vannetta Chapman.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Promise for Miriam, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Heartwarming story of unconditional love!

Date:October 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Linn
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Promise for Miriam is truly a story of unconditional love. Miriam is a schoolteacher and she opens her heart and her mind to the fact that there is no one out of reach of our Savior. She meets Gabe, a newcomer to the community, and his daughter Grace, her student. Author, Vannetta Chapman, draws you into the lives of these three people and shares the heartaches of loss, and the redemption of our King through healing. I enjoyed this story, and quickly became enthralled into the lives of the characters as if they were my own family. Grace truly takes the stage in A Promise for Miriam!
I recommend this book whole-heartedly!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Promise for Miriam, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sweet Amish story

Date:July 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
MaryAnn
Location:OR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Promise for Miriam by Vannetta Chapman, the first book in the Pebble Creek Amish series tugs at the heart. Miriam King has lovingly taught Amish scholars for the past decade. She doesn’t know if she’ll ever marry because she finds teaching so fulfilling.
When Gabriel Miller moves with his motherless daughter, Grace, to Miriam’s small Wisconsin community, he attempts to keep to himself as he struggles to fix up the rundown farm he purchased sight unseen. Eight-year-old Grace presents an additional challenge to both her father and her new teacher. How can they help her?
Although Gabe and Miriam sense an attraction to each other, Gabe hesitates because he has little to offer and another Amishman from a wealthy family wants to court her. Will she choose either of them or remain content with her single life?
The characters in this book are so real and the story springs to life with the challenges and growth they experience. It does slow down mid-book, but that gives the reader more time to spend with these new friends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Promise for Miriam, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another delightful Amish fiction romance!

Date:March 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bitsymc
Location:Red Lion, PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the first in a series. I read the second in the series, A Home for Lydia, first but each is a stand-alone book. I adore little Grace in both books. She puts precocious on the map! You fall in love with the characters and root for them as they find their way through life. I so admire the Amish way and Vannetta's real-to-life approach to writing helps me get back to what is important in my own life. You will enjoy this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Promise for Miriam, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An excellent Amish story about building a family..

Date:February 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
TellNJasmine
Location:Montana
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First off let me say first that this A Promise For Miriam is now my all-time favorite Amish novel. I don't know if it was the likable and real characters, the different location (Wisconsin), the storyline that was a little different than the average Amish story, or what it was...
One thing I like about this book is that Vannetta Chapman shows us that even though the Amish dress alike they are just as individual in personalities as the Englischers. Miriam is outspoken at times and you will love how she tricks her brother, not exactly stereotypical Amish.
I identified much with Miriam, even down to liking the middle cinnamon rolls because they are softest.
She became a friend for awhile and I will definitely be coming back to visit her, not only in the next books in the series, but her own book will be re-read with appreciation.
Gabe is a good man, loves his daughter and simply wants to build a life for them with peace and no prying eyes.
Grace is the most lovable little girl I have read about in ages! She is loving, talented, and smart.
This book is well written, with plenty of family warmth and a dash of romance that isn't saccharine. Once again the little-movie-projector-in-my-head had plenty to work with, the descriptions of Pebble Creek in Wisconsin are lovely and made me wish I could just drive there and spend some time.
A Promise For Miriam is a gentle and very enjoyable trip into the Amish country of Wisconsin.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Promise for Miriam, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A winner by Vannetta Chapman!

Date:January 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Susan Hollaway
Location:Kansas
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed reading Miriam and Gabe’s story and particularly liked Vannetta’s unique characterization. It was if I lived alongside them in the story. I’m looking forward to reading more books from the Pebble Creek Amish Series
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Promise for Miriam, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Delightful Read!

Date:January 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Judy K Burgi
Location:Kendallville, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read several books by author Vannetta Chapman and I have enjoyed them all. A Promise for Miriam did not let me down.
I fell in love with the Characters in this book. Who wouldn’t be concerned for Gabe who lost his wife to death 3 years ago. Would he ever get over losing his wife? Could he, would he, be able to move on? His eight year old daughter Grace captured my heart. She is simply adorable. Miriam, the school teacher, has never married but she is content with being single because her students are her life. Will she always be content with teaching? Will she long for a family of her own some day?
My emotions loved this book. I found myself laughing our loud, I found myself worrying, and I found myself shedding a few tears.
This book in my opinion deserves a 5 star rating; one that I will gladly give.
I urge you to buy a copy of this book. I promise you will not be disappointed.
I can’t wait to read A Home for Lydia, Book 2 of The Pebble Creek Amish Series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Promise for Miriam, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Promise for Miriam

Date:January 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kimberly
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I wasn't sure I'd like this first story in the Pebble Creek Amish series, since the people portrayed have severe beliefs (no toilets in the homes?!) even for those called Old Order Amish, but I was drawn to Miriam's bubbly fun personality, and intrigued by Gabe's standoffishness. I wanted to find out what Miriam and Gabe did to get Grace to talk again. I enjoyed the peek into Amish schools, too. Looking forward to the next book in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Promise for Miriam, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I heartily recommend this as an I-must-read book

Date:December 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Vera
Location:North Carolina
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In the summer of 2012 I received a beautiful signed copy of A Promise for Miriam by Vannetta Chapman as a courtesy from the author. I sorely regret that it has taken me so many months to sit down and read this delightful story of the Amish of Pebble Creek. What a joy I missed by not reading it early after receiving it. Well, here is what I thought.....
Ms. Chapman has woven a beautiful tale of the Amish in their gentle ways. In developing Miriam King, she shows that even though the Amish usually marry young and raise large families and their lives are centered on family, Miriam has waited to marry and is the "spinster" school teacher in the Amish school house.
Into the Pebble Creek community there is a new arrival, Gabriel Miller and his young daughter, who moves to this settlement of Amish from another in a different State. Both are old order Amish with similar guidelines and rules for their people. Gabriel is a widower having lost his wife three years prior. His young daughter is smart, artistic, and mute. Her ability to speak has not always been lacking, though. Just since losing her mother.
Miriam has a definite talent for working with children. And Gabriel has a definite desire to devoid himself and his daughter of interaction with the others in the community as much as is possible. However, the bucolic scene of country life and the Amish is not always a constant. Sorrow, danger, and a spirit of community mingle to break the shell of the hardest nut.
I heartily recommend this as an I-must-read book for those who especially love stories of the Amish, and an I-think-I-should-read this book for others who simply want a really good read.
DISCLOSURE: I was provided a complimentary copy of A Promise for Miriam by the author in exchange for my honest review with no obligation for a positive review. Opinions expressed are solely mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Promise for Miriam, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It was a great book couldnt put it down

Date:September 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Smithy
Location:Ormeau, Qld Australia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Promise for Miriam-It was a book that you felt that you could relate to and the faith that she had in God.
I just couldnt put the book down and had to finish it.
I laughed and cried along with Miriam and the way that they lived there lives and how they respect each other and their love for God has shown in all their lives.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Promise for Miriam, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sweet right to the satisfying end

Date:October 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mary
Location:Ohio
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I thoroughly enjoyed Vannetta’s look at the Amish of southwestern Wisconsin. Her heroine, Miriam, rings with authenticity. In A Promise for Miriam, the characters have realistic imperfections and encounter plenty of challenges to keep readers turning the pages. Their faith and strong sense of Christian community help them through life’s difficult challenges. Vannetta’s hero, Gabriel, is multi-dimensional and well-crafted. It was a joy to witness his change of heart. I eagerly look forward to the next installment of the delightful Pebble Creek Amish series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Promise for Miriam, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fell in love with the characters and community

Date:August 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rachel Ropper
Location:Scotland, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GENRE: AMISH ROMANCE
PUBLISHER: HARVEST HOUSE
PUBLICATION DATE: JULY 01, 2012
RATING: 5 OUT OF 5 - NEAR PERFECT
PROS: Wisconsin setting brings something new to the genre; great characterisation; engaging sub-plot
CONS: None!
Gabriel Yoder decides to uproot himself and his daughter and move to a new community in Wisconsin, hoping that this will help them to move on from the death of Hope, his wife and Grace's mother. The Pebble Creek community is far more conservative than they're used to - no indoor toilets, no heated buggies and ice boxes rather than gas-powered fridges - but a new start is necessary. But Gabriel doesn't expect Grace's new schoolteacher to become such a large part of their lives. Grace quickly becomes attached to Miriam King, but Gabriel doesn't appreciate the teacher meddling in their lives. Although his daughter hasn't spoken since her mother died, Gabriel has learned to adapt to Grace's needs and thinks that Miriam's suggestions will be more harmful than helpful. But as Gabriel and Grace become more integrated into the Pebble Creek community and start to open up to their neighbours, he comes to appreciate Miriam's help, especially when tragedy strikes during a snowstorm. Will their relationship become something more than one between a concerned teacher and loyal parent?
There have been times when I have a large stack of books waiting to be reviewed, all from the same genre, and I find myself wondering if I might end up getting bored or find it hard to review yet another Amish novel. I love Amish fiction, but reading one book after another about the same topic can make me feel a bit Amished-out. I really didn't know what to expect from A Promise for Miriam. When I started this book, I needed to escape. I was buried in wedding stress and the audiobook I'd picked up from the library contained so many divorces and broken relationships that I was starting to feel a bit discouraged. Knowing that A Promise for Miriam was next on my list, I felt a bit happier, as I've rarely come across a depressing Amish novel. I figured that even if this book didn't completely blow my mind, it would at least be a nice, easy read. Well, it was far more than that, and it did end up encouraging me, in more ways than one.
Firstly, the relationships between Gabriel and Grace, Miriam and her parents, Miriam and her fellow schoolteacher, not to mention Gabriel and Miriam, and those of the general community, were very heart-warming. In a world where everyone is out to help themselves, often at the expense of others, it really encouraged me to see how everyone in the community pitched in to help Gabriel and his daughter. I may have had a tear in my eye at a couple of points, but then again, I am overly emotional right now. But even if you don't end up bawling your eyes out at this book, I'm sure you'll be able to appreciate the beauty in the way that the Amish reach out to each other.
I was also incredibly encouraged to find that, even if there are probably around a hundred new Amish books coming on to the market this year, authors can still come up with new and original material. I did not feel Amished-out in the slightest while reading A Promise for Miriam and it was so refreshing to read about a new community and setting, as well as the fascinating topic of Grace's loss of speech due to a traumatic event. Both the introduction of a new community and Grace's problem were dealt with in a way that was touching and informative, without feeling overly sentimental or too much like reading a textbook.
While I loved the sweet, slowly-blossoming relationship between Gabriel and Miriam, I'd have to say that Grace was probably my favourite character in A Promise for Miriam. I'm a sucker for stories about widowers who have kids, but I've come across very few authors who can accurately write from a child's perspective. Vannetta is one of the authors who manages this well, and I loved being able to see events from Grace's point of view; it definitely brought something fresh to the story. The dynamics between Grace and her dad were brilliant as well, and it made a nice change to read about a caring, supportive Amish father for once. Even if Gabe cut himself off from the rest of the community to begin with, including Miriam, he never shut out his daughter.
As well as the insights into dealing with a child who has stopped talking, A Promise for Miriam was also educational in terms of the conflict with a businessman who wanted to start up an Amish tourist attraction in a nearby town. While I know that a lot of Amish fiction fans like to visit places like Lancaster County, Pennsylvania to see the sights and pick up some Amish-related trinkets, they might think twice about the Amish-inspired cafes and gift shops after reading A Promise for Miriam. While this sub-plot was wrapped up rather quickly, I still found it interesting to read about the dilemma over how the Amish should attempt to fight against the possibility of their community being turned into a stop on a tourist trip, as well as figuring out whether they could work with the English community to sell Amish-made goods and present an accurate depiction of their faith.
I genuinely thought that A Promise for Miriam was just going to another light read that would take my mind of the stress of planning a wedding, but I ended up falling completely in love with the characters and the community of Pebble Creek. I now recall why I thought so highly of Vannetta's debut novel, A Simple Amish Christmas, and I'm glad that she hasn't lost her touch. A Promise for Miriam brings something refreshing and original to Amish fiction and will hopefully remind many readers of why they fell in love this genre in the first place. I can't wait for to read the sequel, A Home for Lydia, in February 2013.
Review title provided by Harvest House.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Promise for Miriam, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

An Enjoyable book.

Date:July 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
weatherlover1
Location:U.P Mi
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
4.5 Stars!
Miriam is the school teacher and at the age of 26 she is not sure if she will ever marry. She has resigned herself to her teaching which she loves but when Gabriel Yoder shows up in her class room with a young mute little girl she finds herself struggling to keep the line between teacher and friend in check while she helps Grace to speak again. Gabe has moved to Pebble Creek to start over after losing his wife three years ago. He does not want help from anyone and only wants to raise his daughter and be left alone. Though one cold winter night he finds himself in need and the community comes to the rescue. Gabe starts to rethink his plans. Will his new plans include one pretty school teacher?
This is the 2nd book I have read from this author and I really liked it. I am really looking forward to the rest of the series.
What I liked: The characters came across very real and I found myself liking them a lot. I also liked how the little girl helped tell the story and how it added a different perspective in an adult world. I have read a few books where a child is included in the 3rd person storyline and it does not fit well but the author did a great job meshing it all together.
What I did not like: There is a sub storyline dealing with a planned tourist business that might move into Pebble Creek. To me it almost seemed like an add on and really did not add a lot to the storyline. It did help build the characters but it seemed to slow the book down towards the end.
Over all I really liked this book. I am hoping that we might hear more from Grace in future books of the series. She was such a sweet little girl! I highly recommend this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Promise for Miriam, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Charming beginning to a new series!!

Date:July 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ronna L
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Widower, Gabe Miller and his 8 year old daughter, Grace, have
just moved into an old farm in an Amish community in Wisconsin.  He plans to start a new life by taking care of everything himself, without help from others.  Happy and friendly Grace doesn't speak but she draws like a dream.  Gabe starts her in the Amish school, where Mariam King teaches.
Twenty six year old Mariam, and her friend, Esther, teach the children.  Grace fits in nicely, but why doesn't she speak?  Mariam loves teaching and her school children, and wants to help Grace. Esther is sewing a quilt as she prepares for her upcoming wedding.  Gabe questions changes for her daughter.
All Is going well, when a potential tragedy throws the whole community into action.  We grow closer to all the characters , becoming part of their community through the charming writing of Vannetta Chapman.  This is a well written start to a new series about this peaceful, loving, but 'character filled' Amish community  and their Englisher neighbors.  
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Promise for Miriam, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Sweet Love Story

Date:July 18, 2012
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A widower, Gabriel Miller, and his daughter Grace move in next door to Amish schoolteacher Miriam King. When she goes bearing food to welcome them she finds him as a man who wants to be left alone. He spurns all offers of help to restore his barn and house. But when he takes Grace to the two-room schoolhouse for her first day at school, Miriam learns that Grace can’t or won’t speak. After a near tragedy Gabriel is surprised that all the community comes to his house to help. Gabriel has a past he doesn’t want to talk about and is astonished at the community turning out to help him. Can he trust his secret and his heart to love again? A well written book that will pull you into reading one more chapter. Memorable characters.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Promise for Miriam, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Amish romance

Date:July 16, 2012
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow! And that still doesn't describe how wonderful A Promise for Miriam turned out to be. Vannetta did an awesome job pulling me into the lives of Miriam, Gabe, and Grace. I lived with them for a whole day--the amount of time it took me to read the book--and loved every minute of it. I especially loved the ending, so unexpected, but no spoilers here, so you'll have to read it to find out. :)
***I received this book free from the publisher/author for the purposes of review. The above is my honest opinion***
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Promise for Miriam, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Well Rounded Amish Novel

Date:July 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A completely enjoyable read, with wonderfully realistic and believable situations, and characters.
Wow! This was in my mind the perfect vacation read, charming, with a touch of humor, yet with a realness to it that drew me in. I absolutely loved the characters, and thought that they were well built. I especially liked how in this Amish Romance I got to see things from Gabe's daughter, Grace's prospective too! Which was different in an enjoyably refreshing way. This is the kind of book that I was able to relax with, yet couldn't put down for too long, thus the perfect vacation read :)
I liked how in this novel the relationship between Gabe and Miriam developed naturally and at its own pace, out of a friendship. And how all of the characters had a good head on their shoulders.
There were also other elements to the story that added a sense of realness to it, like how the Amish might feel about all the tourists dropping by and such. The setting was well developed as well.
Overall, this was a completely lovely book, that was highly enjoyable, with lovely characters and setting. I also loved the author's sense of humor, which was easy, like not trying too hard, yet there were a few moments that were laugh-out-loud hilarious :D A book that I happily highly recommend.
I received this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. Thank you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Promise for Miriam, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

GREAT

Date:July 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
FERN COX
Location:CLEBURNE, TX.
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I HAVE READ 3 OF VANNETTA CHAPMAN'S , AND I CAN'T PUT INTO WORDS HOW MUCH I ENJOYED THEM ALL. THEY ARE NOT JUST LOVE STORIES' , I ESPECIALLY LIKED THE MYSTERIES . IF YOU DON'T READ VANNATTA C.'S BOOKS YOU ARE MISSING OUT,THEY ARE GREAT !!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>