Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Abingdon Press A Wild Goose Chase Christmas: Quilts of Love Series - eBook

Abingdon Press A Wild Goose Chase Christmas: Quilts of Love Series - eBook

Upon her grandmother's death, Izzy Fontaine finds herself in possession of a Wild Goose Chase pattern quilt that supposedly leads to a great treasure. Of course, once the rest of the family finds out about the "treasure map," they're determined to have a go at the treasure themselves. And, if that weren't enough, Max Logan, a local museum curator, contacts Izzy and says that Grandma Isabella promised him the quilt.What is it about this quilt that makes everyone want it? Is Izzy on a wild goose chase of her own, or a journey that will lead her to the treasure her grandmother intended?
Average Customer Rating:
4.692 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 out of 13100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Wild Goose Chase Christmas: Quilts of Love Series - eBook
Review 1 for A Wild Goose Chase Christmas: Quilts of Love Series - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

On My Keeper Shelf!

Date:December 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
S Dietze
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Wild Goose Chase Christmas by Jennifer AlLee is just the sort of book I love to curl up with at this time of year. Funny, touching, with memorable characters and a steady infusion of Christmas woven throughout, it's a keeper.
AlLee's plots are always so tight that the pace flows well, when I read her books, I realize I've been lost in the story a lot longer than I intended to be--but they're hard to put down! This book is no exception. The romantic journey between Max and Izzy is sweet, and the supporting characters are beyond enjoyable. And of course, I love the Christmas spirit in this book. Sometimes Christmas-themed books don't have much holiday to them until the very end, but from the start, Izzy and Max are surrounded by decorations, carols, the gift-giving plan of a spunky Grandma before her death, and the True Meaning of the season, which makes for a festive delight.
Thanks to Abingdon for providing a copy of the book for my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Wild Goose Chase Christmas: Quilts of Love Series - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Read with your four-legged friend...

Date:January 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jen Pen
Location:Midwest
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SUMMARY:
Izzy Fontaine inherits a Wild Goose Chase Pattern quilt after her grandmother passes away. Much to Izzy’s surprise, she is launched into what feels like a “wild-goose-chase” of her own. She must navigate her grandmother’s mysterious clues that are designed to lead her to a secret treasure. However, the treasure may just be family and new friends…
A PENNY FOR MY THOUGHTS:
This quilt themed book is a perfect read for a cold winter’s night. Paired with your own favorite book and cup of hot chocolate, you will find yourself immediately ready for Christmas. Don’t forget to invite your four legged furry companion to read along with you! The adorable Jack Russell Terrier, Bogie, is sure to warm your heart! (There are several novels in the Quilts of Love series; I am definitely interested in reading more!)
MY RATING:
4 (out of 5) pennies
*I received a complimentary copy of A Wild Goose Chase Christmas from Abingdon Press*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Wild Goose Chase Christmas: Quilts of Love Series - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Great read for Christmas time or anytime of the

Date:December 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
detweilermom
Location:Lancaster, Pa
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was a delight from beginning to the end. It is part of the Quilts of Love series but can be read alone. It is center around the holidays of Thanksgiving and Christmas but you could read this anytime of the year and still love it.
Like with a lot of families now a days Izzy's family is bit dysfunctional. they come together because they think that the quilt the their grandmother left will somehow lead to monetary gain. There is a mystery that keeps them looking for the treasure. And of course there is romance and all the mixups that many times go along with that. This book will give you that bit of peace you may need during this time of year when you just need to be carried away for a short time to unwind and decompress. This book is just the ticket you need.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Wild Goose Chase Christmas: Quilts of Love Series - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Endearing Story!

Date:December 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Britney Adams
A Wild Goose Chase Christmas is an enchanting tale that will warm your heart! I fell in love with this story on the very first page and loved it even more as I read the last words.
Izzy Fontaine receives a very special gift, a Wild Goose Chase pattern quilt, from her beloved grandmother. Izzy does not understand the gift, or its value, and is surprised when Max Logan appears on her doorstep claiming ownership of the quilt. Max is a local museum curator and claims that Isabella promised him the quilt, to be used in a museum exhibit.
If that isn’t strange enough, notes begin to arrive from unexpected people and places. Soon everyone is on a wild goose chase searching for the treasure that Grandma has alluded to. What they find is something they least expect but need the most!
Jennifer AlLee has written an endearing story that is sure to delight readers! With a wonderful cast of characters, including Bogie, the Jack Russell Terrier, and important lessons beautifully woven throughout, A Wild Goose Chase Christmas is a story you won’t soon forget!
I received a complimentary copy of this book from Abingdon Press. All thoughts expressed are my own and no monetary compensation was received.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Wild Goose Chase Christmas: Quilts of Love Series - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another story in the Quilt of Love series

Date:December 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Brenda
Location:WV
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am really enjoying The Quilts of Love series and when I saw the cover of this one, with the cutsie dog I knew that I had to read it! An inherited quilt, the possibility of hidden treasure and a family that needs to overcome their odds is just a few things we find inside the pages of this book. Izzy Fontaine became the owner of the Wild Goose Chase Quilt after her grandmother leaves it to her upon her death,she also leaves a note saying that the quilt holds a key to treasure that's beyond price. Well Izzy's mother and brother see dollar signs and think there is a hidden fortune to be found. Thing is Max Logan a local historian comes along saying that Izzy's grandmother also promised him the quilt for a special exhibit, he even has a letter to prove it. What is the treasure that her grandmother hints at?
This book is the second in the Quilt of Love series and like the others can be read as a totally stand alone work. While I enjoyed the modern story that involves Izzy it is her grandmother's letters that really made this book a winner for me. It was significant that Izzy was named after her grandmother and happened to be the one to wind up with the quilt. She really just planned on house sitting and taking care of Bogie, the dog until her grandmother made it home little not thinking her grandmother might not make it back. I loved the balance of older and younger characters. The relationship that develops between Max and Izzy was ok, I would have like a bit more romance though.I always enjoy whenever a pet is included in a story and with this one we have Bogie the Jack Russell. There are several spiritual messages woven into this book but they are well done, and perfect for the holiday season. Anyone who enjoys a sweet romance, a story with a definite family feel, history, mystery and a Christmas time feel will enjoy this story. Anyone who enjoys quilts will find this a delightful series!
A complimentary copy of this book was provided for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Wild Goose Chase Christmas: Quilts of Love Series - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Blog Review!

Date:December 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jenni
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall, I really enjoyed this book. It was a touching read that really emphasizes the true value of family. I loved how this book didn’t make the family aspect seem picture perfect, yet highlighted that some families go through.
Throughout this book, Izzy goes on a journey after her grandmother dies and she moves into her house. She finds all about the historical significance the quilt brings along with her family.
The fact that her brother, along with her mother only seemed to come around for the holidays when grandmother was alive and their interest in fortune seems to strain their relationship.
Oh, and I can’t forget the underlying story of the museum man. Is he only in it for the quilt or is true love blooming between him and Izzy?
I highly suggest you add this to your library this Christmas season!
find more at www.photobugmama.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Wild Goose Chase Christmas: Quilts of Love Series - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Really Good Christmas Story

Date:December 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
ibjoy1953
Location:Virginia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Thoughts on this Book
A Wild Goose Chase Christmas is a really good story about the ups and downs of family life. I really like the Grandmother in this story, though she has passed away, she leaves something for the family that will be with them forever. Being one of Abingdon's Quilts of Love Series, one of the special things the grandmother left her family was a quilt with lots of memories that will help heal the family difficult situations, and bring them close together. Each scrap of the quilt has a special place in a family member's heart.
During the holidays, we think of family and love, and this book is just that. Though its a little different, because the love didn't come easy, but as the gifts from grandmother appear, and the memories flow throughout the family, hearts heal. This is a wonderful book to read anytime, but especially during the Holiday Season. I always enjoy reading good holiday stories, and this one is a really good one! I highly recommend it for a great enjoyable read!
I received this book from the publisher Abingdon Press to read and review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 55.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Wild Goose Chase Christmas: Quilts of Love Series - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A delightful Christmas story

Date:December 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When her grandmother dies, Izzy finds herself in possession of a Wild Goose Chase pattern quilt. Gran left a note saying the quilt held a key to a treasure beyond price. Izzy's mother and brother think that might mean money and view the quilt as a treasure map of some kind. As if that wasn't causing enough trouble in the family, a museum curator, Max, shows up claiming the quilt had been promised to him for a special exhibition.
Izzy is frazzled beyond words. And just when she thought the situation couldn't get any worse, her mother falls and breaks her leg and will have to stay with Izzy for a couple of months. Her mother who still openly shows disappointment because Izzy could not pursue her dream of being a professional dancer. And there was that pesky museum curator who kept bothering her. That handsome man who was really so nice to her.
This novel was a delight to read. Izzy is herself on a wild goose chase as she tries to figure out the mystery of the quilt's treasure. Her grandmother speaks from beyond the grave, so to speak, as she has arranged steps for Izzy to follow. It was fun to read how Izzy and her family grew together as the real treasure is uncovered. The budding romance between Izzy and Max is a riot as tender feelings get squelched by a misunderstanding, and then reconciliation, and then another disaster. A cute Christmas story with a great ending.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Wild Goose Chase Christmas: Quilts of Love Series - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Don't let the quilt fool you!

Date:November 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
April Erwin
Location:Independence, MO
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I usually avoid books with quilts on the cover. They generally don't interest me. I want a story with a little more action and romance, and I seldom see the potential for that in a "Quilt" book. Now that's my opinion and I'm sure there are a dozen people out there or more that could give me examples to prove me wrong. But in general, that's been my experience. They're just a little boring.
I almost passed on A Wild Goose Chase Christmas simply because of the quilt on the cover. But the story was intriguing. Mystery? A Treasure Hunt? Romance and Christmas? Okay, I'll give it a try. I'm so glad I did! Here is a book to prove my theory wrong. I loved it. It was funny, sweet, romantic and intriguing. It was like watching one of the romantic Christmas movies they play on Hallmark.
I've never been so glad to be reminded that you can't judge a book by it's cover.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Wild Goose Chase Christmas: Quilts of Love Series - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Intriguing story about relationships.

Date:April 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
card4
Location:Kelowna, B.C. Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A story about misconceptions in families that can break up their relationship with each other. The death of the grandmother ends up changing the lives of all involved.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Wild Goose Chase Christmas: Quilts of Love Series - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A true Christmas treasure to read!!!

Date:November 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When Izzy Fontaine's grandmother dies, she leave behind much more than a legacy of her family and the love she has for each of them. She leaves behind a Flying Goose Quilt that began in the early 1800's and has been passed down from a generation of women to their daughters ending with Izzy. She always knew that her grandmother had a special place in her heart for Izzy because they understood the value of things. It was all material but within certain objects a sense of love and tradition developed along with many memories. It was why her grandmother left it to her along with her house. Unfortunately Izzy's mother Janice and her brother Brandon, don't feel the same way. They feel as if they deserve something as well and feel slighted that Izzy was her favorite family member.
Not to mention the fact that the only time her mother, Janice and Brandon ever made time for their grandmother was during holiday dinners or when they needed something from her. It was Izzy who spent time with her grandmother, moving in with her when her health began to fail and in doing so, found a true treasure worth more than any amount of money ever could. Only one thing is standing in her way, a promise from her grandmother that the quilt belonged to Max Logan, a local museum curator, whose goal is to obtain the quilt and showcase it in a Moving West exhibit that may land him the dream job of a lifetime at the Smithsonian Museum. If he can convince Izzy that the letter of intent from her grandmother supercedes the gifting of the quilt to Izzy by his father, Virgil. He had promised to give it to Izzy upon her death and now seems to be the one thing keeping Izzy and Max at odds or is it in fact a plan her grandmother had all along to bring them together much like a quilt does in keeping people huddled beneath it warm?
In the latest novel in the Quilts of Love Series, author Jennifer AlLee enchants her readers with a treasure hunt of sorts dealing with the legacy and history in the quilt left to Izzy Fontaine. Some would see it as a monetary item of great value, but Izzy sees it for something more. In the end, it's her grandmother's spirit that restores the rift between the family and unearths something more valuable than any of them would ever believe is possible in the fabric of a multi-generational quilt. I received A Wild Goose Chase Christmas compliments of Christian Fiction Blog Alliance and Abingdon Press for my honest review. Being an avid quilter myself, I could see the draw in this novel not only with the love of creating a lasting keepsake but also in passing along part of a family's legacy through the weaving of pieces of fabric. I absolutely loved how this one ended and have to rate this one a 4 out of 5 stars. This book does contain discussion questions so it's perfect for book clubs and groups to share.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A Wild Goose Chase Christmas: Quilts of Love Series - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

WONDERFUL!

Date:November 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
My Book Addiction
Location:North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
A WILD GOOSE CHASE CHRISTMAS by Jennifer Allee is an interesting contemporary romance with a Christmas theme. Book 2 in the "Quilts of Love" series,but can be read as a stand alone. See," Beyond the Storm". A powerful story of love,adventure,a hint of suspense,a secret,a hint of mystery,a dog,a treasure,romance,faith,quilt,healing and a bit of Christmas magic. Follow Izzy Fontaine on her journey to a great treasure. What is the greatest treasure of all I ask you: love? A heart warming story from start to finish. "Quilts of Love" is a beautiful series so far and one I would highly recommend. I can hardly wait for the next installment to this amazing series. "A Wild Goose Chase Christmas" is a beautifully written story of love. A must read for anyone who enjoys inspirational,romance,Christmas,and a heart felt story that will have you laughing and crying as you read. Received for an honest review from the publisher and Wynn-Wynn Media. Details can be found at Abingdon Press,the author's website, and My Book Addicton and More.
RATING: 4.5
HEAT RATING: SWEET
REVIEWED BY: AprilR, My Book Addiction and More/My Book Addiction Reviews
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for A Wild Goose Chase Christmas: Quilts of Love Series - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Quilt, A Mystery, An Adventure and Romance

Date:November 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jennifer AlLee in her new book, “A Wild Goose Chase Christmas” Book Two in the Quilts of Love series published by Abingdon Press takes us into the life of Izzy Fontaine.
From the back cover: A quilt, A secret message, a dog, and a possible treasure make for an unforgettable Christmas!
Upon her grandmother’s death, Izzy Fontaine finds herself in possession of a Wild Goose Chase pattern quilt that supposedly leads to a great treasure.
Of course, once the rest of the family finds out about the “treasure map,” they’re determined to have a go at the treasure themselves. And, if that weren’t enough, Max Logan, a local museum curator, contacts Izzy and says that Grandma Isabella promised him the quilt.
What is it about this quilt that makes everyone want it? Is Izzy on a wild goose chase of her own, or a journey that will lead her to the treasure her grandmother intended?
This book is what they used to call a romp or a real good time. If you have ever seen the movie with Spencer Tracy, “It’s a Mad, Mad, Mad, Mad World” then you have some idea of how much fun this story really is. Izzy doesn’t even time to mourn the death of her grandmother for as soon as she dies all the excitement begins. Virgil arrives with the quilt and a story that sounds like a conspiracy theory. Then all of sudden this theory may prove out to be true. On top of this being a mystery of sorts ”A Wild Goose Chase Christmas” is a very sweet romance. Ms. AlLee makes you care for all the characters and their chase. If you want to have a real good time trying to figure out everything that is going on while enjoying yourself simultaneously then ”A Wild Goose Chase Christmas” is the perfect book to read. And just in time for Christmas, too.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Abingdon Press. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.