Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Thin Places: A Memoir

Zondervan Thin Places: A Memoir

In this moving spiritual memoir-Thin Places-Mary DeMuth traces the winding path of thin places in her life, places where she experienced longing and healing more intensely than before. From surviving abuse as a latchkey kid to discovering a heavenly Father who never leaves, Mary's story invites you to a deeper understanding of your own story. She calls you to discover new ways to look for God in the past so that you might experience him more profoundly in the present. What if you could retrace your life and discover its thin places-places where the division between this world and the eternal fades?
Average Customer Rating:
4.898 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(49 Reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (49 reviews)
5 stars
44
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Thin Places: A Memoir
Review 1 for Thin Places: A Memoir
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Spoke to my heart

Date:March 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
angie
Location:Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User submitted photo
Mary put to paper the words I have wanted to write myself. My book is highlighted with so many phrases, quotes etc that spoke to me to the depths of my soul. Somehow Mary seemed to know exactly what I needed to hear and she was able to speak exactly the right words to me. I love everything that Mary writes but I would definetly say that this is one of her best yet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Thin Places: A Memoir
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Real, Honest, Inspiring

Date:October 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kymberly
Location:Morenci, AZ
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Engrossing from the start. The author is engaging, raw, & honest. I felt like I was listening to a friend, courageously, share her story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Thin Places: A Memoir
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Diane Froeber
Mary invites the readers to explore deep emotions that may have been covered up since childhood. She gives words to the abuses so that those who cannot put their pain into words will have a way of coming out of isolation knowing that their experience is not unique by what happened but unique by the way they perceived it. She gives hope in that in meeting God in those thin places, He will have a specific way to take them for healing. God bless you Mary. You are a real trouper.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Thin Places: A Memoir
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sherri Sand
Thin Places is a powerful retelling of Mary DeMuth's journey through childhood abuse to adulthood. Mary has a unique ability to share deeply personal aspects of her life in a way that express her fragility and pain, yet conveys her desire to overcome the horrible circumstances she endured. She reaches for God and the reader watches her, straining with her as hope and healing start to take place, and a new strength develops out of the pain. A significant memoir.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Thin Places: A Memoir
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Patricia A Radaker
Mary DeMuth's Thin Places is a book you will want to pass on to others while keeping one for your bookshelves. She is open, vulnerable, and so honest about the way life treated her as a youth. It is an encouraging work as it shows God at work in her life -- and ours as we allow. Put your tissues nearby, read a little, cry a little, wait a little and repeat as many times as you need. Thanks, Mary, for this book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Thin Places: A Memoir
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
LaJoyce Shrom
Never has there been a outpouring of a human soul in so many words articulating the ravishes from innocence's as in Mary De Muth's 'Thin Places.'Mary is a woman exceeding in wisdom as she understandingly and forgiving expresses so eloquently her feelings of every detail hidden in her heart. Being thrown into an unkind childhood of various proportions of devious acts of impropriety, Mary's life is strangely familiar. Now grown, her understanding with the wisdom of the love of Christ enables her to put into words her most heart felt insecurities. She forgives the hurt that embraces her inner most being. Her life is a testimony of bearing heartbreaking, unkind acts of selfishness from others, to finding the unconditional love of Jesus to walk through the throws of everyday life is to properly commented. Thank you Mary for opening up your life to the lost and hurt so they may know they are not alone.LaJoyce ShromAuthor of 'Revealed Secret and 'Learning About life'
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Thin Places: A Memoir
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
T. Forkner
Thin Places needs to be read from the first page to the last in the same way that our society needs to stopping closing the book on the stories of abuse survivors. Statistics tell us we all know people who have experienced what Mary did, but we dont usually know who those people are. I suspect we go to church with them, sit by them at soccer games, eat lunch with them and work beside them every day and never know the pain they carry.Mary speaks what has been unspeakable in many churches for too long and shows us how her abuse followed her throughout life and most importantly, how she survived and how she is still surviving. Mary writes about her journey with grace and courage. I hope it breaks out and sells a million copies.Lest I make Thin Places sound depressing, I want to say that it is not at all. Moving, yes. Sad in obvious ways, yes. Depressing, no. Rather, this book is filled with hope.Marys amazing journey to find peace in her Christian community and with her family should bring hope to other survivors whether they go to church or not. And for the rest of us, Thin Places should open our eyes and help us recognize truth when we can feel deep down that something about a situation or a friends problem is deeper than it appears.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Thin Places: A Memoir
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kim Chewning
Memories are a mental pictorial that trace the path we walked to arrive at this particular moment in time. If we are fortunate, the majority of those memories will be pleasant ones. But the unpleasant memories can be redeemed if they are marked by spiritual growth. Mary DeMuth has the courage to grab me by the hand and lead me on a guided tour of the darkest times in her life. Somehow - surprisingly - I am not left with sadness, but with bright hope. There are moments when I feel like I'm reading words from my own personal journal. Words that no one else is ever supposed to see. And I don't feel so alone. Mary is one of us "messy folk." A tattered soul with some pretty horrific memories that no woman should possess. Very Job-like, Mary questions God and rails at Him for the injustices in her life. She takes her mask off. And she puts a face on Jesus. People with turbid pasts tend to keep them closely guarded. But Mary doesn't just open the blinds. She yanks them down from the window frame. And as she exposes the chaos of her past, we see a loving Savior tenderly stoop down in the middle of it all - and start cleaning up. It is a story of redemption in progress that you will not forget. And maybe you will begin to see that same redemption work in your life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Thin Places: A Memoir
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
murjoyd
Mary E DeMuths newest book Thin Places is a hard book to read, in some places very hard. In her memoir she touches on many hurts in her past, some of which are achingly familiar; others are hurts I am thankful have never happened to me personally. It is these hurts, worries, fears, aches and empty places that have given her the opportunity to seek Gods help, to meet Him in the crisis moments and to grow deeply. Every reader will in some way identify with the frustration that comes from realizing that we are not in control and life doesnt always happen the way we want it to, no matter how desperately we want it to.Despite the stark reality and distressing situations recounted by Mary DeMuth, I am so glad to have read this book. The thin places in her life have given her depth and wisdom. Even though the situations are depressing, I was somehow lifted up by the perspective that can only have come from her relationship with God. In the end, the reader sees a woman who is holding Jesus hand and trusting Him, believing that holding His hand is better than anything else this life has to offer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Thin Places: A Memoir
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mesu Andrews
Thin places is a hard read. I can't imagine how difficult it was to write. Because Mary DeMuth risks the honest disclosure of her worst heartaches, we as readers are privileged to see the best of God's healing work. So many personal stories get stuck in the dark details without moving onto the victory that comes through Jesus Christ. Not so with Thin Places. Mary DeMuth gives us enough glimpses of joy and conquest amid her battles to demonstrate a conquering Savior. When I turned the final page of Thin Places, I felt a renewed sense of a God bigger than the bullies of this life. He's even bigger than the boogey man that lurks in my own mind. Now, that's a big God! And this is a good book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Thin Places: A Memoir
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Janice Hidey
I had read the first two books in Mary E. DeMuths Defiance, Texas series and realized that she was not your typical Christian fiction writer. They were a breath of fresh air. I was excited when I was sent a copy of her book, Thin Places: A Memoir.De Muth starts the book by explaining that she is a thin place, a Celtic term meaning the place where heaven and the physical world collide, one of those serendipitous territories where eternity and the mundane meet. Her story takes us to those thin places in her life, some of which are extremely painful. The kinds of things that we as Christians often do not want to talk about because we just are not sure what to say: sexual abuse, parental neglect, pornography. Mary De Muths life includes this issues and she tells her story through the pain but with grace.She had me in the first chapter entitled Studebaker because my family had Studebakers and my first car was a hand me down 1960 one. Then she tells of a father that left too soon and I could relate though I was a teenager when my father died. I rejoiced when I read of her involvement with Young Life, as that was where I also became a Christian. I have not experienced the abuse she had but I felt her pain. I understood her questions, her insecurity and could relate to the frustrations as a teenager and young believer trying to understand God and his ways.De Muth is honest and though she has experienced much pain in her life the joy and comfort she finds in the Lord comes through. This is a book for anyone who has struggled with the pain of this world. It gives hope to us all that though life is hard and often we really do not understand why God has placed some experiences in our life we can rest in his grace. He meets us in those thin places.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Thin Places: A Memoir
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cheryl Ricker
Mary's life-changing memoir takes us to the "snatches of holy ground" she calls "thin places," but she doesn't leave us there. With fine transparent strokes of raw poetic language, she reminds us that we're not alone in our brokenness, and that great healing is birthed through great pain. Regardless of our history, we connect to Mary's story because it reminds us that when we plunge our pitiable pasts and fear-strewn futures into the hands of the Almighty, He crafts them into something beautiful and breathlessly redemptive. Indeed, He does nothing less in "Thin Places."This one's a winner: Not one to be kept on a shelf; rather, one to be shared so its cleansing waves of insights will spill into others' ah-ha moments, one hopeful soul at a time!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Thin Places: A Memoir
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lissa
Thin Places takes the reader through DeMuth's life which was exceedingly painful and full of nearly every kind of abuse and deprivation a child can have. And yet, it does not weigh one down. It is sad seeing what this child went through, yes. But it is encouraging and hopeful as we see how the "precious from the worthless" is revealed in each situation. The brutal honesty is astounding. DeMuth has laid open her soul, the deepest, most shameful parts of her heart, in order to help anyone discover that there is a place to find God, always. She reveals her own choices that most would pretend did not exist. And because of this, every reader should identify with at least one of the issues she has faced (and triumphed over) in her life. She also shares places where she has not yet gotten to the other side where there is full healing. But the attempt gives the reader the desire to also try in spite of continuing to fail.I cannot imagine anyone reading this and not coming away with the idea that there is hope, and that God is not as far away as we might think. And to add to all of that, it's beautifully written in the literary style where even the word choices are exquisite.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Thin Places: A Memoir
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Molly
Victimof name calling, neglect, an unsafe home, parents who abused drugs, three divorces which lead to a father whose part-time participation in her life was less than stellar and two step-fathers, one good the other, not so good, childhood sexual abuse. In her memoir Thin Places, Mary DeMuth shares her story, one of tragedy and triumph, of despair yet also of optimism. With gut wrenching glimpses of her childhood and how the impact those circumstances carried into her adulthood, Marys story is also one of faith, of healing, of love and forgiveness.In the beginning chapters I found myself asking again, Why does God allow such horrible things to happen to children? That is a question that I dont think can be satisfactorily answered according to our limited human vision. But as I continued to read, I saw how the loving and powerful touch of our Heavenly Father has healed those painful scars and restored beauty in Marys life. Not in a one-time, earth shattering, apocalyptic event but through time. We want the pain to end instantly, but that is not Gods way. Just as our physical body must heal from injuries over time, so must our emotion and mental healing come. Not all of us experienced everything Mary did as a child. However, we all carry into adulthood things that happened to us as children. We are a composite of our experiences and environment. It is what we do with it that determines who we become. I invite you to read Thin Places. I believe you will find the beginning of your own road to healing when you do.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Thin Places: A Memoir
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mary
Mary De Muths memoir Thin Places touched my life profoundly. I didnt really want to read about painful subjects like child sexual abuse and all the sad things Mary had to deal with in life. But, since I was asked to review the book, I hesitantly stuck my nose in, and it took my breath away. I didnt find the depressing story Id expected. Instead, a gift of hope and healing rose above the struggles shared through writing splendidly fresh and flowing. I cant understand why God allows some children to endure such trauma and pain. But He has turned Marys into a story of redemption. She vulnerably admits she still doesnt have it all together, but acknowledges what God has done and trusts Him for the future. What she calls thin places are where she actually felt closest to God, to the eternal. Her honest sharing helps open readers eyes to observe such places in their own lives. Everyone should be able to connect on some level, so the audience is unlimited.This book is so transformational. God is using it to minister to me through her suffering and journey to wholeness. I can identify in many ways, although I was not sexually abused. I longed for acceptance and meaning and to be loved for mejust as she did. And we both learned that only through God do we receive this gift.I tried to get through its 215 pages quickly so I could write the review, but had to slow down to pause and ponder. I will need to read it again and let God use portions as I take time to apply the lessons to my own life. I will highlight and savor sections. I had planned to pass it on to the library, but I decided I will keep it and loan it as the Lord leads and let it minister to others. I recommend every church and library order their own copies.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Thin Places: A Memoir
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Suzanne Wesley
I have read two of Mary's fiction novels prior to reading this memoir "Daisy Chain" and "A Slow Burn," from the Defiance Texas Trilogy. While reading those novels I had surmised that Mary had either lived through some harsh experiences herself, or closely interviewed people who had ... because she wrote with such strikingly real first-person emotional detail about tough topics such as: physical and emotional abuse, drug addiction, parental neglect, and spiritual longing. After reading this memoir I know that a good portion of that realism comes from the fact that Mary lived it herself.In many ways I found it a relief to know that children who grow up with many of those things in their lives can still find their way to God, and make their way out of the typically repeat cycle of abuse and or drugs. However, it is painfully obvious that Mary is aware that the scars of her past still haunt her, the abuse at age 5 still affects her family life, and her self-image today.There is such refreshing honesty in this memoir. This is a book that I hope will find its way into the hands of anyone who is hurting - who needs to know that God is with them during the worst of times - when they feel unloved, unwanted or even abused. Even if we haven't lived through the exact circumstances that Mary has, this book encourages every reader to look back on their life and see where God has revealed his presence during their own 'thin places' - where heaven and the physical world collide.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Thin Places: A Memoir
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Becky Glenn
How can someone be so nakedly vulnerable and open, exposing their innermost self and thoughts? I don't know, but Mary DeMuth surely does it and with life changing impact. My childhood was nothing like hers, the antithesis in most ways and yet I relate to so much of what she shares so freely with us. How can that be? There is so much we all have in common, so many emotions, thoughts, insecurities, responses to life... but we don't realize what we share in common because we don't have the guts to reveal our true selves, our real thoughts, our dark parts... Mary does! Thank you Mary!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Thin Places: A Memoir
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
C. Kuse
This is a beautiful book that speaks of grace over and over again. Thank God for people like Mary who are honest about their walk with Christ, even when it might not fit that "ideal picture" that we many of us carry with us. As a previous reviewer stated, this book is indeed a gift. For anyone who has had hurt in their life: Mary's writings touch deeply.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Thin Places: A Memoir
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Wendy
Thin Places by Mary E. DeMuth is probably one of the most honest books Ive ever read. Here is one author who trumps the fear of revealing life mistakes, vulnerabilities, and pain for the betterment of the reader. As I read this book I thought of how God told Paul, His power is made perfect in his weakness. Mary provides chapter after chapter of confessional stories, while indirectly encouraging readers to examine their own spiritual growth. When I read in the first chapter how the Celts define a thin place, a place where heaven and the physical world collide, one of those serendipitous territories where eternity and the mundane meet. Thin describes the membrane between the two worldswhere we see a holy glimpse of the eternalnot in digital clarity, but clear enough to discern what lies beyond I knew Id enjoy this book immensely. And that I did. Marys memoir seamlessly flows as she details some tragic and life-shaping events in her life and how they became thin places. Mary DeMuth bestows a gift. She invites the reader to partake in the journey with her. Her writing is conversational in nature, to the point where I wondered more than once when she crawled inside my head. Her life is a testament to Gods healing and His loyalty. I understand this powerful memoir as a selfless act of obedience. Its a brave work written by an honest soul.I'm grateful Zondervan provided me with such a meaningful read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Thin Places: A Memoir
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lyne
Mary DeMuth's Thin Places is a painfully honest memoir of her childhood growing up as a 70's child. Through her sometimes brutal experiences she comes to the realization that the grace of God meets us where ever we are in our life. Thank you Mary for your honesty and for opening my eyes to where God has met me during the thin places in my life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.