Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Swindoll's New Testament Insights on Romans

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Zondervan Swindoll's New Testament Insights on Romans

With a rich-story-teller's imagination, Chuck Swindoll has a gift for sweeping people into the immediacy of the Scriptures. This landmark series is the legacy of the master teacher and communicator to the church of Jesus Christ. You'll gain remarkable new insights into the Bible--and far more. God's word will come alive for you, filled with drama, power, and truth, as you journey with Chuck chapter by chapter through the New Testament.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Swindoll's New Testament Insights on Romans
Review 1 for Swindoll's New Testament Insights on Romans
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A letter from Corinth in my mailbox.

Date:June 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Pastor Robert
Location:Manchester UK
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have found it easy to read, though I am taking it slowly as we study the Epistle to the Romans over 18 weeks in church. Chuck Swindoll is able to transport the reader into the time and place where Romans was written and I feel it puts me in the place of not "the beloved of God in Rome in 57AD" but rather "the beloved of God in Manchester, England in 2012".
The relevance of the epistle for today comes out more easily than in other books and commentaries I have read. They tend to be more academic and quite hard to understand. Not that I don't want the intellectual exercise but I don't want to be lost in figuring out the language. In other words I don't want a degree, I want a deeper touch from the Holy Spirit and so far that has been my portion from this work.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Swindoll's New Testament Insights on Romans
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Reecy
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was what I expected and I look forward to purchasing other books in this series. In addition I have purchased another book by Chuck Swindoll that proves to be quite noteworthy. I have always loved his writings as he makes it plain so that you can understand it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Swindoll's New Testament Insights on Romans
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Insightful

Date:May 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Valerie
Location:Walnut, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought one of these books for my husband a while back ago (Book on John). My husband said it was an excellent book and wanted me to see if Swindoll wrote on other books. When I found out they did, I purchased them for my husband and he loves them! His favorite book is the one on Romans.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Swindoll's New Testament Insights on Romans
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Eileen
Location:Largo, Fl.
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy to read and understand. This book breaks Romans down verse by verse. Excellant commentary by Mr. Swindoll
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Swindoll's New Testament Insights on Romans
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Denis Arcand
This is an excellent commentary. Chuck Swindoll is so practical. I recommand it very much.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Swindoll's New Testament Insights on Romans
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Susan Andrews
Thought-provoking and inspirational! Rev. Swindoll dives deep into the book of Romans and explains it, section by section, in a way that's understandable and entertaining. At the same time, he brings out ideas and truths that I would never have found without his help.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Swindoll's New Testament Insights on Romans
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Gary Marshall
Insights on Romans is written with the same Charles Swindoll style that I have come to love from his other books. Romans is a priceless, yet, challenging book to study and Charles Swindoll brings it to life in a manner only he can.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Swindoll's New Testament Insights on Romans
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Karen Clayton
This book is a wonderful insight into Paul's letter to the Romans which can sometimes be a bit difficult to understand because of the cultural and religious differences of the times in which it was written. Mr. Swindoll brings the book of Romans to life with verse by verse explanations and also includes a lot of background information on the life, government, religious thinking, language and culture of the people it was written to. It is more than a commentary. A wonderful exploration of who God is and how Christians are to view Him. I would recommend this book to anyone who is seeking a deeper exploration and understanding of Paul's teachings and how Christians can still benefit from them today in our life and times. You won't be disappointed with this book.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.