Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Abingdon Press The Heart's Journey: Stitches in Time Series #2 - eBook

Abingdon Press The Heart's Journey: Stitches in Time Series #2 - eBook

Naomi knows she should be excited about her upcoming wedding, but she remains unmoved. Not only are her feelings for her fiance lackluster, but she also believes he may see her more as a servant than a partner. Is it too late to back out of the marriage?

While praying for God's guidance, Naomi takes a break from her duties as a quilter and craft shop work to travel to Pinecraft, Florida. Along the way, Naomi meets Nick, an Englischer, and the two begin to fall in love. The journey soon becomes one in which Naomi explores her most secret dream for love. But can she veer off the "safe" path she'd envisioned for her life to marry Nick?

Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Heart's Journey: Stitches in Time Series #2 - eBook
Review 1 for The Heart's Journey: Stitches in Time Series #2 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Truly An Amish Page-Turner!

Date:June 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
dianaFlow
Location:W Columbia, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Barbara Cameron has penned an intriguing and heartwarming novel that sweeps the reader from Paradise, Pennsylvania, with its farms, quaint restaurants and quilt shops---to the exotic, sunshiny beach community of Pinecraft, Florida.
Naomi has always loved making handmade quilts and working alongside her grandmother and two cousins in their little craft shop, Stitches in Time, in Paradise. Once happily engaged to her Amish boyfriend, John, a dark cloud of fear and consternation begins to hover over her head. The once charming, John, has become controlling, and has hurt Naomi physically more than once.
When Naomi's grandmother, Leah, decides to take a long desired vacation to Pinecraft, Florida, Naomi goes with her to clear her mind. Their Englisch driver, Nick, decides to transport them there and help show Naomi the sights, much to John's anger. Upon arriving, Naomi sees bright charming little houses with a vast array of colorful flowers and is spellbound as Nick introduces her to the ocean for the first time in her life. As her desire towards Nick flourishes, Naomi finds herself in quite a quandary--Nick is not Amish and she is an engaged woman. To Naomi the fear of leaving John overpowers the pain of staying, but Leah's wisdom helps her to see the light. Will her life continue to be in danger?...and what of her growing feelings for a man that is not of her faith?
I have really enjoyed this series thus far, and although the characters from the first book are present, this may still be read as a stand alone. Barbara Cameron addresses the subject of possible abuse in the Amish community without sugar coating, and her characters are fleshed out and realistic, with flaws that are common to us all. The romance is breathtaking, and with an intriguing storyline and a satisfactory ending, I applaud Ms. Cameron for a job well done on a very touchy subject!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Heart's Journey: Stitches in Time Series #2 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The other side of the fence is not always better

Date:February 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
schoolmarm
Location:Heber Springs, AR
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Naomi feels her husband-to-be needs her skills as a
mother more than a wife. To make sure she is not
making a mistake, she chooses a change of scenery to
help her think. In that scenery is an added problem.
Another good read by Barbara Cameron.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Heart's Journey: Stitches in Time Series #2 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another great Amish Series!!!!

Date:December 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Heart's Journey from Barbara Cameron is the second book in the Stitches in Time Series, and one that everyone can relate to and a true delight if you're a fan of Amish fiction. In this one, the reader is once again transported to the charm of a delightful store, Stitches in Time operated by Leah and her grand-daughters whom we have met in her first book. This time the story deals with her granddaughter, Naomi who is wondering if her upcoming marriage to John is truly what God had in mind. It seems that John is taking his authority of being the man of the house to heart and tries to ensure that Naomi will obey him at all costs, even if it means man-handling her at times. No matter how hard Naomi tries to put on her best smile, however, her grandmother Leah can see right through it.
When she confronts Naomi about the relationship, she finally tells her the truth and that John is more than controlling. In fact, he has already hurt her physically but believes he can change, especially after how sorry he felt. Leah reminds Naomi that in the Amish world, once you marry the only way you can get out of a bad marriage is for one of you to die. That hits too close for home for Naomi and she agrees with Leah that perhaps they should break up. When Leah takes a nasty fall just outside of her shop, their Englisch driver, Nick comes to take her to the doctor. It is then that Naomi realizes that not all men can be as controlling as John and sees the true heart that lies within Nick.
Opportunity presents itself to head to Pinecraft, Florida with her grandmother to help her pass the time recovering from her fall where the climate is warm and oranges are as close as an arm's reach. Naomi is more than delighted when Nick offers to drive them from Paradise, Pennsylvania to Florida for a mini vacation and both Naomi and Nick discover that something is brewing beneath the surface for them both. However will they be able to find common ground with living in two different worlds or will John find Naomi and bring her back to her senses in more ways than one?
I received The Heart's Journey compliments of Abingdon Press and Pump Up Your Book Tours for my honest review and love the blending of the two worlds in the Amish fiction. Barbara Cameron takes the issue of abuse to a new level introducing it to her Amish character and then inviting the reader along for the ride to see how the Amish might deal with such an issue in their private world. I rate this one a 5 out of 5 stars in my opinion and can't wait for the third book in this series!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Heart's Journey: Stitches in Time Series #2 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Enjoyable

Date:November 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
weatherlover1
Location:U.P Mi
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Naomi is planning to marry John but he has started to scare her and she is not sure if they should marry. When her grandma decides to head to Florida for a vacation Naomi jumps at the chance to go along to help her grandma as well as figure out what to do with her relationship. Their faithful driver Nick offers to drive them to Florida and Naomi soon finds herself with confusing feelings for the driver. Even if Naomi ends her relationship with John a relationship with an outsider is forbidden. Can Naomi find love with out losing everything and everyone she holds dear?
This is book two in the series about three cousins. Over all I really enjoyed this book but there where things about it that seemed a bit far fetched.
What I liked: This book was a easy read and enjoyable. It also touched on some issues(spousal abuse) that people may not think the Amish deal with but very likely do. It was interesting to see how a person dealing with something like that would possibly think though and deal with it. I enjoyed the way Nick and Naomi interacted and how he helped her to respect herself.
What I did not like: Quite a few Amish fiction books that I have read in the last few months has dealt with a none Amish person coming into the faith. Even if a person was a simple person I think it would be very hard to give all modern things up and live Amish. I am just not sure it would be as easy as it can come across in books.
Over all I enjoyed this book and am looking forward to the 3rd and final book in this series. This is a very well written series. I really like the characters and the storylines are quite interesting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Heart's Journey: Stitches in Time Series #2 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

AMISH LOVE!

Date:November 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
My Book Addiction
Location:North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
THE HEART'S JOURNEY by Barbara Cameron is a wonderful inspirational Amish romance. Set in Pinecraft, Florida. What an inspiration the heart wants what the heart wants. Book 2 in "Stitches In Time" series,but can be read as a stand alone. See,"Her Restless Heart". Filled with faith,hope,healing,forgiveness,the community,friendship,controlling, and love. Follow Naomi and Nick on a journey through life as they navigate through their hearts,life,their faith and love. Nick an Englisch driver and friend to Naomi soon finds more than friendship,his heart is engaged also.Leaving a fiance who is controlling,to travel with her grandmother to Florida,Naomi,finds her heart engaged to another,who is not of her faith. Naomi has always dreamt of a marriage of love in "The Heart's Journey" with hope,and faith,dreams may come true. Another hit for Ms. Cameron. If you enjoy Amish romance,you will not be disappointed in this title. Fast paced and emotional! I enjoy this author's titles,she draws her readers into t he story with her engaging characters,realistic plots and love of Amish. A must read! Received for an honest review from the publisher. Details can be found at the author's website,Abingdon Press, and My Book Addiction and More.
RATING: 4
HEAT RATING: SWEET
REVIEWED BY: AprilR, My Book Addiction and More/My Book Addiction Reviews
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Heart's Journey: Stitches in Time Series #2 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a story of love

Date:October 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Marianne
Location:Wanham, Alberta
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Do we think that just because the Amish people live in close knit communities, living a life vastly different than we do having said no to electricity, telephones and yes to a strict dress and behavour code that they somehow are immune to the temptations and trials and troubles that we encounter?
Barbara Cameron, in this second novel of her Stitches in Time series puts these thoughts to rest. Not only do they have the same problems we do, for the most part, but maybe more as we are usually more free to be individuals, nor are we as able to 'hide' behind our parents and siblings. Certainly, some of their difficulties are different than ours, but underneath all of that, there is a common thread. We want to be loved and accepted. As we travel with Leah and Noami we see the growth in Noami as she strives to become a wise woman like her grandmother.
Barbara has an affinity with the Amish, and this comes out in her delightful stories. Together with her we see behind the story, the things thought in secret.. I enjoyed taking the 'min' vacation to Florida with Leah and Noami and though I feel I have been there now that I read this book, felt the white sand between my toes, learnt to know others at Sarasota.
Although this is the second novel in the series it is a stand alone book. However, I am sure you will enjoy both titles, and together with me wait for the next one. Barbara Cameron kindly sent me both this book and the first on in this series, and I was thrilled to read it and give her a review of 5 out of 5 stars. Thanks, Barbara.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Heart's Journey: Stitches in Time Series #2 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Touching Journey

Date:October 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jodi
Age:35-44
Gender:female
"She didn't know what path her life would lead her down next, but it was okay not to know. God was in charge. His will would be done." The Heart's Journey
In what should have been the happiest time of her life, Naomi feels trapped under the pressure of her controlling fiancee. She is anything but happy...even her Grandmother and her cousins have noticed the change in Naomi. When they confront her about it, she admits that John, her fiancee, is smothering her, and sometimes he gets a little rough. She's even got the bruises to prove it. When Naomi's grandmother, Leah, decides to go on a vacation to Florida, Naomi accompanies her. Naomi needs some time and distance away from John. While in Florida, Naomi decides she needs to break her engagement, but when John unexpectedly shows up in Florida will he break her resolve?
The Heart's Journey is the second book in the Stitches In Time series by Barbara Cameron. I was somewhat ambivalent about the first book in the series, but I really liked this one, which surprised me because Naomi wasn't my favorite character in the first book. As in the first book, there were a few times where I wasn't sure who was speaking and I had to go back and read paragraphs over again. I enjoyed Naomi and Leah's vacation to Florida to visit their Beachy Amish Mennonite friends and it was interesting to learn about the different ways the Amish live in that State. What happens in Florida, stays in Florida. I especially love the "sibling rivalry" between the cousins who act more like sisters. When reading, I sometimes forget that the people are Amish, because they are real people, just like the rest of us.
Naomi's struggle is real, and a problem for many people. It's so important when we are struggling to seek help, not only from those around us but from God too. So many of us want to grab the reins from God and be in control of our own lives and futures. God has a plan, and although we can't always see it or know where His plan might lead us, living in the will of God is always the best choice for our lives. He can see beyond the headlights and past the darkness, so why shouldn't we trust Him completely with every aspect of our lives
The next book in the series, Heart in Hand, is Anna's story. Barbara hasn't given the reader very many clues to Anna's past and I can't wait to read it!
Thank you Abingdon Press for the free copy of this book to read and review in exchange for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Heart's Journey: Stitches in Time Series #2 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Heart's Journey

Date:October 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kimberly
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I thoroughly enjoyed this second book in Barbara's Stitches in Time series. I enjoyed both settings: Paradise, PA, and Pinecraft, FL. It was a treat to get to know Leah and her three granddaughters better. I was drawn to both Naomi and Nick for different reasons. Nick is a great person, but his loneliness after work gets to him. Naomi needs to rebuild her shattered self-esteem in order not to repeat prior bad choices. She learns that emotional wounds heal much more slowly than physical wounds do. So many Amish books' plots are just fluff, but Barbara isn't afraid to tackle tough topics full of complications, just like the real world. The difference is that you're still left feeling hopeful when you're done reading the story. The vacation Nick, Naomi, and Leah take to Florida was fun to read about, since I haven't spent much time on Florida's west coast, and is a huge part of the story. I also enjoyed the descriptions of the colors and pattern of Nick's very special quilt. It'll be a long wait until next Spring, when Anna's story is released!
With thanks to the author for my review copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.