Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Sticky Church

Zondervan Sticky Church

If you want your church to grow, closing the back door might be more important than opening the front door wider! Osborne offers time-tested strategies for doing just that. Learn why he believes most discipleship models aren't effective; why small groups make churches honest; what makes congregations grow deeper and "stickier"; and more. 208 pages, softcover from Zondervan.
Average Customer Rating:
4.875 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sticky Church
Review 1 for Sticky Church
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Transformational!

Date:August 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
hgpastor
Location:Beaufort SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our HOME Group ministry was floundering and visionless until one of my leaders gave me and our pastor this book. In the two years since, our HOME Group ministry has been transformed and discipleship through relationship is steadily becoming the heart of all that we do. And the concepts can be easily scaled and tailored to fit your situation. Can't recommend it highly enough!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sticky Church
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great book

Date:February 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Malonicus
Location:Artesia, NM
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is another example of innovation on the part of Christian leaders. If "Big Days" and big events leave you exhausted without impacting maturity or consistency in your attendance. This may be what you are looking for.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sticky Church
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

In-the-trenches, practical help!

Date:August 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dave
Location:Washington, DC
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Engaging. Transparent. This is an open, honest discussion of what pastors deal with, and hope with some practical paths to making eternal, transformational truth stick in the Christ-follower's life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sticky Church
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best book I have ever read about small groups!!!

Date:March 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
James
Location:Hope Mills, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a young pastor with a heart broken over the condition of the typical local church and a passion to see the culture of my local church cultivated into a place where real disciples are made and where lasting transformation occurs and the fruit of this overflows naturally into our community with the Gospel. I have always been uneasy with a lot of the assumptions made about Christian education and models for effective discipleship ministries. I have been convinced for some time that disciples are made in relationship and that all our classes, programs, etc., should really just serve as catalysts for intentionally disciple-making relationships.
But how do you do that? How do you shape that culture in a local church? What spiritual and administrative infrastructure needs to be in place for this kind of transformation to occur en masse? "Sticky Church" delves right into the heart of why so much out there on discipleship and small group ministry is missing the mark and failing to substantially transform lives, churches, and communities. Larry Osborne does not just pull the curtain back on alot of small group ministry myths, he presents a holistic, functional, and beautifully simple model for long term fruitfullness in ministry by focusing peoples attention on the bible and upon meaningful relationships. And he breaks the process down step by step!
Go read Coleman's "The Master Plan of Evangelism" and Henrichsen's "Disciples Are Made Not Born" - and then read this amazing little gem to learn how to translate an individual passion for disciplemakning into the very dna of your church.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sticky Church
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rev. Doyle Peyton
Good commonsense wisdom on small groups. The author speaks from years of practical experience. Read this one before you read the others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sticky Church
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
New Life Church
I am in the process of strengthening the small group ministry at my church, and this has been a tremendous tool in the process. I would highly recommend this book for that purposes as well as your everyday bible believing Christian who is looking for a good SOLID read. Pastor Brandon Hauser
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sticky Church
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Cole Phillips
I just finished reading my first full ebook on the Kindle. I was amazed at how fast I was able to fly through this one and Im not sure if it was due to the format or the content, but suffice it to say that Larry Osbornes Sticky Church was paradigm shifting for me on many levels.Larry Osborne pastors North Coast Church in Vista, California and has grown the church from 128 people in the early 80s to now over 7000 people.He writes that while there are some churches that are very good at getting people to come through the front door, many of them are ineffective at helping people stick around long enough to develop fully devoted followers of Christ. Sticky Church focuses on the importance of closing the back door through an effective small group ministry. I think hes onto something.A lot of what were already doing was affirmed in this book, but there were so many ideas that I received from this book that Im excited about putting them into practice this Fall. At The Connection Church, our purpose for Connection Groups has always been to help people connect with each other in authentic relationships. That will not change. But Osbornes ideas have given me some tools to facilitate this happening on a larger scale.Sticky Church offers time-tested principles for recruiting and training leaders as well as practical programming ideas for churches to take their groups to the next level. If youre a small group leader in your church, let me encourage you to get your hands on this book. Good stuff!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sticky Church
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Richard Whiteside
As a pastor of a Contemporary Style church, I found Sticky Church to be very helpful. It was written out of experience with humility; the principals Osborne make good sense and are simple to put into to place. He even offers step by step suggestions on how to implement with very helpful appendixes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.