Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan The Purpose Driven Church: Growth Without Compromising Your Message and Mission - eBook

Zondervan The Purpose Driven Church: Growth Without Compromising Your Message and Mission - eBook

Every church is driven by something. Tradition, finances, programs, personalities, events, seekers, and even buildings can each be the controlling force in a church. But Rick Warren believes that in order for a church to be healthy it must become a purpose-driven church by Jesus. Now the founding pastor of Saddleback Church shares a proven five-part strategy that will enable your church to grow...Warmer through fellowship - Deeper through discipleship - Stronger through worship - Broader through ministry - Larger through evangelism. Discover the same practical insights and principles for growing a healthy church that Rick has taught in seminars to over 22,000 pastors and church leaders from sixty denominations and forty-two countries. The Purpose-Driven Church shifts the focus away from church building programs to emphasizing a people-building process. Warren says, "If you will concentrate on building people, God will build the church."
Average Customer Rating:
3.808 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
6
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Purpose Driven Church: Growth Without Compromising Your Message and Mission - eBook
Review 1 for The Purpose Driven Church: Growth Without Compromising Your Message and Mission - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outstanding book

Date:April 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pirate11
Location:Lees Summit, Missouri
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the book, besides the Bilbe that a pastor needs at his desk everyday to get a Church growing and living again.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Purpose Driven Church: Growth Without Compromising Your Message and Mission - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good insights!

Date:December 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
M Teresa Trascritti
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
According to Warren, "If your church is healthy, growth will occur naturally." His main purpose for writing the book is to provide the necessary information to build healthy churches. Warren relates his thoughts in five sections: (1) "Seeing the Big Picture" (growing deeper through discipleship), (2) "Becoming a Purpose-Driven Church" (growing through ministry), (3) "Reaching Out to Your Community" (growing through evangelism), (4) "Bringing in a Crowd" (growing through worship and fellowship), and (5) "Building Up the Church" (growing through discipleship and ministry). Some of Warren's points seem obvious. For example, Warren states that a pastor "must be loving" towards people -believers and unbelievers alike (212), and that a church ought to have an "atmosphere of acceptance" (210).
Warren had many good suggestions for reaching the "unchurched." For instance, he recommends that churches place "newer translation" Bibles in pews and during the sermon announce the page number so as to not embarrass visitors (297). He also shares that sermons ought to be based on the "needs, hurts and interests as human beings" in order to have "common ground" with unbelievers (295). Though there are many helpful points to Warren's book, his emphasis seems to be on making the "unchurched" feel comfortable (257). He promotes "seeker sensitive" services without traditions, and expects sacrifice from church members in order to accommodate unbelievers. It appears the main focus of Warren's agenda is to bring in new converts. This is a worthy task; however, it would be interesting to see if "old members" view this as a personal form of neglect.
Warren claims, "Strong churches are not built on programs, personalities, or gimmicks," but his model for growing his own church falls into this realm (83). Maybe Warren's own notoriety is the reason for increases of number at Saddelback. It would be interesting to find out how many people leave after a certain amount of time and for what reasons.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Purpose Driven Church: Growth Without Compromising Your Message and Mission - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:August 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
James Thomas
This book was a great disappoint to me. I found that many of the scripture references were used out of context or the author used exegesis to come to a false assumption. Though there are some very good ideas to encourage free thought, there is no firm biblical foundation.
+3points
7of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Purpose Driven Church: Growth Without Compromising Your Message and Mission - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Margaret Spencer
Any church that sees its congregation going gray and not growing as fast as the residential rate around it needs this book and supporting visuals. Using this book as a study guide has become one of the best group studies we have done to date.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Purpose Driven Church: Growth Without Compromising Your Message and Mission - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lori Fleetwood-watt
I pastor a small church in a small community of 750. I was called to this church recently and attendance was averaged 15 on a good day. We are currently averaging 35-50, have had 10 baptisms in just over 3 months, and have had Christians who had stopped attending return to church. We are seeing people saved and growing in the Lord. When I was given this book to read (3 days ago) by a denominational leader - I was ho-hum about reading it - due to some exposure to The Purpose Driven Life - and due to strongly negative opinions about a lot of "Church Growth" things that I had to study in seminary. What I found, is that many of the things that the Lord had led me to do - were recommended by Warren in his book. Other things have perked my interest. If the book is read for the ideas and principles - I believe this book is indispensible - especially for anyone involved in church planting or church restarts.I will be having those involved in direct ministries of the church read this book.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Purpose Driven Church: Growth Without Compromising Your Message and Mission - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Mrs. Linda O. Foster
Our pastor, Henry Beasley, Jr., recommended this and it has an abundance of treasures for following God's will for our congregation. Thank you so much.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Purpose Driven Church: Growth Without Compromising Your Message and Mission - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Waldemar Bergdolt
I ordered this book a few years ago and then lent it to someone else that I thought could benefit from it. He was not ready to give it back to me when I asked for it. As chairman of the Outreach Board in our church, I found this book very helpful.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Purpose Driven Church: Growth Without Compromising Your Message and Mission - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:December 28, 2007
Customer Avatar
Mildred Stephens
This book Purpose Driven Church cannot get enough thumbs up. It was totally so informing and motivational. I would recomend it to all Churches seeking growth and direction.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Purpose Driven Church: Growth Without Compromising Your Message and Mission - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 26, 2007
Another commission given to the church is proclaiming the Gospel of salvation through Jesus Christ (Matthew 28:18-20; Acts 1:8). The church is called to be faithful in sharing the Gospel through word and deed. The church is to be a lighthouse in the community pointing people towards our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. The church is to both promote the Gospel and prepare its members to proclaim the Gospel (1 Peter 3:15).Pastor Warren laid some great guides down to build a HEALTHY CHURCH.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Purpose Driven Church: Growth Without Compromising Your Message and Mission - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:February 11, 2007
Customer Avatar
J. Matteson
What Charles Finney popularized in the 19th century Rick Warren has taken to a new level in an era of mass communication. At the core PDC is rooted in semipelagianism, a teaching labled heresy by the church in 529 AD. Semipelagianism laid dormant for centuries and was given new life by Jacabus Arminius. Today the heresy is known as arminianism. In short the doctrine cuts at the core of biblical revelation, denying God's sovereinty in salvation. The result is a pragmatic approach to ministry where results are measured and the question as to their biblical justification is ignored. PDC , therefore, employes worldly business and marketing techniques to "grow" the church, reducing and often eliminating the need for God to build His church. PDC will lead a pastor and church down a path of doctrinal error. The visible church (unregenerate crowd) may grow, but the invisible church (the redeemed) will languish. The focus will shift from the mandate to feed the flock to entertaining the goats. Skip this book and practice ministry as outlined in THE book--the Bible. God has not called pastors to be "successful", but to be faithful to His Word and Gospel. Adherants of the PDC philosophy ultimately sacrifice both in their quest for "success."
+2points
6of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Purpose Driven Church: Growth Without Compromising Your Message and Mission - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:August 10, 2005
Customer Avatar
Matthew Perry
I commend Warren for putting the glory of God first and foremost --- starting out by saying, "It's not about you, it's about God and His glory." But from them on, he gives the church quips and quotes and does at the end of the day end up compromising the message.First off, did you notice how many different versions he used? I believe I saw 15+. Most of these verses are taken out of context to prove Warren's point --- and most of the versions are from non-literal translations, which further muddies the real thrust of what the Scriptures' author intended.Plus, he makes coming to Christ easier than even Christ did. He strays his focus away from understanding and accepting the resurrection (Romans 10:9-10) and the fact that Christ has called us to deny ourselves and die daily before we can follow Him(Luke 9:23). This is a hard teaching --- but according to Warren, only positive uplifting sermons need apply!All that glitters is not gold! All that sells does not mean it is sanctified! If you want to truly understand the human heart, look to Bunyan, Edwards, Calvin, or Luther --- they and the Puritans had a great understanding of God's glory and the frailty of the human understanding. Approach Bro. Warren's book with caution.
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Purpose Driven Church: Growth Without Compromising Your Message and Mission - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 23, 2005
Customer Avatar
Anthony Joseph Smith
I would typically cast my lot with those opposed to the mega church phenomena and Warren's ideas fit the mold precisely. However, using his writings as advice and not rules, MUCH good can be accomplished. There is much benefit to be gained from a careful reading of this book. This book can do for the modern church what Stephen Covey did for self management.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Purpose Driven Church: Growth Without Compromising Your Message and Mission - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 13, 2003
Customer Avatar
Cheryl
This is a fantastic book - and just what every church needs. It is completely biblical. For the reviewers that commented it is not biblical - I suggest you read it again.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Purpose Driven Church: Growth Without Compromising Your Message and Mission - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 19, 2003
Customer Avatar
Billie Bob Ben Brooks
Great book with great biblical concepts. Realize that purpose-driven model is only "one" model in a dozen out there (including seeker-sensitive, discipleship, etc.). Realize also that Rick Warren planted his church from scrap with this concept. He did NOT go to an existing church and change it. But there are plenty of churches that have successfully changed into purpose-driven model and are growing and thriving. If your church is running into problems, the problem isn't this model, but other areas: either leadership, followers, situation, or combination.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Purpose Driven Church: Growth Without Compromising Your Message and Mission - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 25, 2002
Customer Avatar
Eb Jackson
Rick Warrens experience as pastor of one of the nations fastest growing churches explains that success: there is a reason for the church. His proven five-step program for identifying the purpose of the church is worth the consideration of anyone pastor or layman who are in the ministry of developing godly congregations. The reviewer always suggests: THE PRAYER OF HANNAH to compliment The Purpose Driven Church. Both are available from christianbook.com
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Purpose Driven Church: Growth Without Compromising Your Message and Mission - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 24, 2002
Customer Avatar
Rachel T. Maggert
Actually I rate this a 10 but that was not an option. This is a totally awesome book!! All pastors/leadership in churches should read this and take it to heart. Not only is Rick Warren an excellent pastor/teacher, but also an excellent author. I am buying one audiobook for each of our elders for pastor appreciation month. I agree with the reviewer David Beals, if you are more concerned with tradition than peoples souls, re-read it. I wish reviewer Roy Ingle would explain his view further.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Purpose Driven Church: Growth Without Compromising Your Message and Mission - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:March 6, 2002
This book will receive different ratings depending on what your background dictates. For example, if you come from the traditional evangelical mindset and are apart of the clergy/laity caste system, you will truly love this book. Warren gives candid examples and practical insights to help the instutional church.If you desire a more biblical model than I recommend RETHINKING THE WINESKINS by Frank Viola (available from Amazon.com). While Warren's book is great help to the CEO-Pastor type, those who desire relational and NT Christianity will find many problems that cannot be addressed in this simple review.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Purpose Driven Church: Growth Without Compromising Your Message and Mission - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 27, 2001
Customer Avatar
David Beals
I think the book is right on with its principles. It does not matter what denomination you are in the principles go across boundries because they are Biblical. I believe that if church leaders can understand and apply these Biblical principles, not copy Saddlebacks Church, then they will see a healthy church. What scares, or angers most, with this book is how it seems to throw tradition out of the picture and many leaders in the church tradition is more sacred than the Bible!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Purpose Driven Church: Growth Without Compromising Your Message and Mission - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 25, 2001
Customer Avatar
Rev. Matthew E. Morgan
All pastors should read this book. The principles are not to be copied, but they can be applied to your congregation. Warren focuses on the proper focus for ministry - people. This book will show you how to vent your passion to see people saved, discipled, and sent out to minister. Read it! :-)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Purpose Driven Church: Growth Without Compromising Your Message and Mission - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:March 11, 2001
Customer Avatar
Michael A. Shafran, Jr.
The title indicates that you can grow a church without compromising your message. After reading the book, one can only come to the conclusion that he has greatly compromised his message. Preaching only positive messages on Sunday mornings? Is this Biblical? Absolutely not. He totally ignores that fact that believers are to gather to be edified and to scatter to do the evangelizing. This is the BIBLICAL model. Warren is a master of creating a fad and then twisting the Scriptures to conform to his fad. The end of all things is not numbers, but being faithful to the true purposes and methods in the Scriptues. Using his technique, a pastor would have a difficult time discerning between the wheat and the tares in his church.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>