Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Abingdon Press Shattered Silence: Men of the Texas Rangers Series #2 - eBook

Abingdon Press Shattered Silence: Men of the Texas Rangers Series #2 - eBook

A serial killer is targeting illegal aliens in southern Texas. Texas Ranger Cody Jackson is paired with a local police officer, Liliana Rodriguez, to investigate the murders.

While the case brings Cody and Liliana ever closer, the tension between Americans and Mexican Americans heightens. As Cody and Liliana race to discover who is behind the murders and bring peace to the area, what they uncover isn't what they expected. Will Cody and Liliana's faith and love be strong enough to survive the storm of violence?

Average Customer Rating:
4.692 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 out of 13100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Shattered Silence: Men of the Texas Rangers Series #2 - eBook
Review 1 for Shattered Silence: Men of the Texas Rangers Series #2 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Story was full of adventure and a lot of suspense

Date:March 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
Juanita
Location:Salem, OR
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just finished reading Shattered Silence, Margaret Daley’s book. This was an exciting story, what all the Texas Rangers had to go through to find the murders, smugglers, etc. The ending surprised me totally. Would never have guessed who the guilty ones were; took a lot of time to locate them. Margaret Daley keeps you on the edge all throughout the story. So many adventures are in this story. Loved it, and I know you all will too. She is truly a gifted writer. I love reading all of her books that I have (22), but I believe she has written 98, so have a ways to go.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Shattered Silence: Men of the Texas Rangers Series #2 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Penny
Location:Searcy Ar
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kept you wondering who did it until the end. I also liked how they dealt with bullies.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Shattered Silence: Men of the Texas Rangers Series #2 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

relaxing enjoyable read

Date:July 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
touchdown
Location:OH
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I think this series has been Margaret Daley's best work. Shattered Silence is a good as book 1. A lot of subjects were covered. Spousal abuse, bullying, racism and of course murder. There was even time for some romance. I enjoyed the subjects that were addressed and this was a nice enjoyable read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Shattered Silence: Men of the Texas Rangers Series #2 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Texas Rangers

Date:February 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
schoolmarm
Location:Heber Springs, AR
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Texas Rangers are a special group of men and women
who handle all kinds of law enforcement. This book continues
a great series. It gives us a look at a problem we face today,
illegal immigrant.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Shattered Silence: Men of the Texas Rangers Series #2 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Quick, fun read

Date:December 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
gjo50
Location:Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durango, Texas has a problem with a killer, and Lillianna Rodriguez is the police investigator in charge. Her partner is about to go on vacation, but Rodriguez is not looking forward to a stranger helping her investigate. To remove his son from the influence of his white supremacist stepfather, Texas Ranger Cody Jackson just moved to Durango with his son, only to be immediately consumed in the investigation. Variations on the theme of bullying twist through the story and include abuse against people due to race, physical handicap, or members of a family, while Rodriguez and Jackson romance enjoy each other.
This is a good romantic suspense novel wrapped around a murder investigation as each party deals with family issues. Put this on your ‘to read’ list if you enjoy a quick romantic suspense.
Received from NetGalley.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Shattered Silence: Men of the Texas Rangers Series #2 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Powerful story full of twists and turns.

Date:November 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
Location:Arizona
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shattered Silence is a relevant novel for people living close to the Mexican border. Though I live in Arizona, one can see the border fence at night from my front porch, so I know what it's like to wonder what those helicopters mean when a bunch fly overhead at night. A lot of stuff happens that I'm sure we only know a little bit about. Anyway, this novel is set in Texas. There is just something about those Texas Rangers that seems sexy to me (and I'm sure I'm not the only one.)
The hero in this story was intriguing and very likable. The fact that he wanted to be a good father to his teenage son gave his character some depth. The heroine was spunky, but at the same time very real and guarded because of childhood abuse. She was strong, but not in a way that seemed forced or created for the story to make her seem tough. Liliana's characterization made her feel real enough to be an actual person, even though she's fictional. I wanted her to find love and be able to trust a man knowing that all of the men in her life had been violent before she met the handsome Texas Ranger.
There were a lot of subplots through this story, but they tied together nicely. They all had to do with violence of one type or another. From a serial killer, to bullies at schools and domestic violence in her sister's family, there wasn't a slow moment in this book. One thing I noticed -- and liked -- was how the author ended a lot of scenes with a cliff-hanger. It was cool the way the author did it. Like the snake was about the strike, then a scene break happened and she went on to another person's point of view, which began in an entirely different area and/or scene of the story. It almost made me want to hum... da da da dum dum... like in the TV series, Dragnet.
If you like suspenseful romantic tales that keep you reading, and ones that have a lot of plot twists, you'll enjoy this book. It had some vivid scenes and deep emotion that held my interest. And the romance was...sigh worthy. Great story!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Shattered Silence: Men of the Texas Rangers Series #2 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book addressing some tough issues

Date:September 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
MoreThanaReview
Location:Arkansas
Age:35-44
Gender:female
The author does a very good job of addressing some tough issues in the book; bullying, racism, and domestic abuse. Liliana and Cody were very well developed characters and had good chemistry. I was just about to tire of Kyle’s attitude and behavior when he began his transformation.
I enjoyed how the author spoke in first person for the villain so we knew what he was thinking. It made him even creepier. There were a lot of characters and several storylines but I didn’t have trouble keeping up with everyone. There were plenty of suspects to chose from when trying to figure out who was the villain. The descriptions were so vivid I started to feel claustrophobic along with Liliana in the caves. This was the second book in the series and it stood on its own. I recommend it. For more info about the level of sex, violence, drugs/alcohol and language in the book see More Than a Review.com.
I received this book from net galley in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Shattered Silence: Men of the Texas Rangers Series #2 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The Texas Rangers always get their man!

Date:October 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Texas Ranger, Cody Jackson, headed to the town of Durango, Texas for a few reasons. One was to help solve a case involving a fellow Ranger, Al Garcia who was shot while on duty and was now recovering and retiring at the same time. The second reason was to removes his teenage son, Kyle from his stepfather's white supremacist habits and thinking. Since Kyle had recently lost his mother three months ago, he clung to the beliefs that all other races of people were wrong to associate with and began bullying kids in his old high school. Kyle wasn't any bit happy about his dad, Cody taking him far from Houston almost before the school year was out and trying to be a dad now after divorcing his mother three years ago.
But his new job in Durango is about to get interesting as a rise in murders begins to climb to three in four short days, launching Cody into a new working relationship with Durango police officer, Liliana Rodriguez. She has just the right influence to draw the local Hispanic community into talking with her and Cody about the recent crime spree in their usually quiet town. Now on the heels of what could be a serial killer, someone begins burning down all the crime scenes in an effort to hide evidence. Is there a connection between all the murders and recent arson fires in Durango, or is it possibly a Mexican drug cartel who is trying to make sure that Cody and Liliana don't connect all the dots between drug and arms smuggling into Texas?
I received Shattered Silence by Margaret Daley compliments of Pump Up Your Book Tours and Abingdon Press for my honest review. This is the second book in The Men of the Texas Rangers series and I would rate this one a 4 out of 5 stars. This is the story of dealing with issues from the characters pasts in this case especially with Cody and Kyle. Both father and son have to deal with healing their divided relationship that time has worn on to find true forgiveness and second chances for a new life. For Liliana Rodriguez the patterns of her past become something she has to face with an abusive father growing up and now her sister is living with an abusive husband. However this time, Liliana is in a position to do something about it. The ending offers a conclusion you didn't see coming and well worth picking up this series of books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Shattered Silence: Men of the Texas Rangers Series #2 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Serial Killer, Texas Rangers, Romance & Danger

Date:September 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Margaret Daley in her new book, “Shattered Silence” Book Two in The Men of the Texas Rangers Series published by Abingdon Press gives us a contemporary adventure with The Texas Rangers.
From the back cover: Will faith and love be strong enough to survive the storm of violence?
A serial killer is targeting illegal aliens in southern Texas. Texas Ranger Cody Jackson is paired with a local police officer, Liliana Rodriguez, to investigate the murders.
While the case brings Cody and Liliana ever closer, the tension between Americans and Mexican Americans heightens. Fighting their attraction , Cody and Liliana race to discover who is behind the murders and bring peace to the area. What they uncover isn’t what they expected. Will Cody and Liliana’s faith and love be strong enough to survive the storm of violence?
A serial killer that is targeting illegal Mexicans living in Durango, Texas. Cody, a Texas Ranger and Liliana, a Durango police detective, are teaming to find this killer. They, each, are dealing with their own personal problems and it isn’t easy for these two to work together. Now the body count begins to rise as the two teammates struggle to figure out who the killer is to stop him from killing more. I like stories that involve The Texas Rangers. It does not matter to me what time period the story takes place in just so that it involves them. There is a certain personality to this group that captures my attention. Let me say this right off, Margaret Daley does not disappoint, she knows how to ratchet up the tension so that your nerves are strung tight as you work with the officers to figure out who is killing people. “Shattered Silence is about racism, domestic abuse and single parenting. This book is a thriller as the characters are in deadly danger practically from page one. On top of everything Ms. Daley manages to weave a romance into this story that just captivates you. She makes you care for all the characters and their journey. This is also just plain fun and exciting as well. Don’t start this book late at night because it will cost you sleep. I look forward to the next book in the series.
If you would like to listen to interviews with other authors and professionals please go to Kingdom Highlights where they are available On Demand.
To listen to 24 hours non-stop, commercial free Christian music please visit our internet radio station Kingdom Airwaves
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Abingdon Press. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Shattered Silence: Men of the Texas Rangers Series #2 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Strong Christian Romantic Suspense

Date:September 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Liliana Rodriguez is a detective on the Durango Police force (apparently, Durango is in Texas. This initially confused me, because I’m sure I remember visiting Durango in Colorado. Never mind. This is another Durango, population 1885, if the internet is to be believed). Her partner has recently retired due to injury, so when a murder victim is discovered, Liliana is paired with Cody Jackson, the new Texas Ranger in town.
Cody has just moved to town with his son, Kyle. Cody’s ex-wife, Kyle’s mother, has recently died, so Cody has taken custody of his son rather than leaving him with his step-father, because the step-father is a white supremacist who is currently under investigation, and it appears that Kyle has picked up some of his step-father’s unfortunate beliefs, and this is causing trouble at his new school.
Soon another murder victim is found… then two more. Four victims in three days, with no obvious relationship between them. Yet there must be something connecting the victims. Outside work Cody and Liliana each have their own problems, Cody with his son, and Liliana with her sister, who is married to an abusive man but can’t be persuaded to leave him.
Shattered Silence covers a lot of ground – murder, racism, domestic violence, school bullying (along with a dose of faith and some romance). It does it all well, but it’s almost as if there are too many subplots that end up taking focus off the main murder plot. A good book, certainly, but not a great book.
This is the second book in the Men of the Texas Rangers series, following Saving Hope, but is a stand-alone title. Thanks to Abingdon and NetGalley for providing a free book for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Shattered Silence: Men of the Texas Rangers Series #2 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Marbie
Location:The Netherlands
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Durango is a nice town in Texas. Police Detective Liliana Rodriguez has lived in Durango all her life and she knows most of the inhabitants. She loves her job and her family. There's not much time for other things in her life--surely no place for a love life.
Liliana's partner is going on vacation when the new Texas Ranger arrives in Durango.
Texas Ranger Cody Jackson has just moved to Durango, Texas. Soon after he arrived, a pregnant woman was murdered. In the week that follows more people were murdered.
Cody and Liliana are going to work together to solve the case. While doing that they come across a gun smuggling ring. Are the smugglers responsible for the murders, or is there another killer out there?
After an abusive childhood, Liliana has built a wall around her heart. There's no place for a man in her life. Her father was an abuser and her sister is also living with an abusive husband. When she gets to know Cody better, she finds out he is different. Can she let a man into her heart and busy life?
Cody's ex-wife died a couple of months ago. His son Kyle lived with his mom and now comes to live with Cody. He's trying to be the father Kyle needs, but Kyle doesn't like to live with his father and to live in Durango. Soon Kyle will make new friends and he will have to make an important choice in making friends.
Shattered Silence is book 2 in Men of the Texas Rangers series. Although it is the second in a series the book can be read as stand-alone.
I think Margaret Daley has written an enjoyable and exciting story full twists and turns. I kept guessing how the story would end. It was just near the end that I began to suspect the bad guy.
Nicely done, Margaret!
Thanks to the publisher and NetGalley for my review copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Shattered Silence: Men of the Texas Rangers Series #2 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Men of the Texas Rangers Book 2

Date:August 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
JudyMom2
Location:Arizona
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shattered Silence by Margaret Daley
The Men of the Texas Rangers Book 2
Texas Ranger Cody Jackson has just moved to Durango, Texas from Houston. After the death of his ex-wife he now has full custody of his fifteen year old son, Kyle. Instead of moving to the quiet town he imagined….he has a murder to solve within hours of his arrival. And it only escalates from there.
Police Detective Liliana Rodriguez will do all she can do to protect the people of Durango but especially her family. She demands control in her life because she didn’t have any growing up with an abusive father. Because of her father she never wanted to trust a man to have any control in her life….and then she met Cody Jackson.
The first book in this series is Saving Hope, excellent book. Even though they are a series they can definitely be read as stand alone books. Shattered Silence is full of individual stories. Cody trying to be the father that Kyle needs. Kyle step-dad had raised him to hate anyone different, he is now faced with making his own choices. The book has bullies and the damage they can cause….no matter what age. And of course the murders. Margaret does a great job of keeping the reader guessing who the villain is by throwing in several guilty looking suspects. Never a dull moment.
**Received through NetGalley for review
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Shattered Silence: Men of the Texas Rangers Series #2 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Shattered Silence

Date:July 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
jenilee220
Location:Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Book Description (from CBD):
A serial killer is targeting illegal aliens in southern Texas. Texas Ranger Cody Jackson is paired with a local police officer, Liliana Rodriguez, to investigate the murders.
While the case brings Cody and Liliana ever closer, the tension between Americans and Mexican Americans heightens. As Cody and Liliana race to discover who is behind the murders and bring peace to the area, what they uncover isn't what they expected. Will Cody and Liliana's faith and love be strong enough to survive the storm of violence?
My Thoughts:
Margaret Daley has done a wonderful job on the second book in her Texas Rangers series! I was excited to get this book for review and it fit perfectly with how I felt about book 1.
Loved it! The story is solid, the writing is easy to read and the characters are realistic.
The Texas Rangers seem bigger than life and the author has been able to capture that into a modern cowboy mystery, romance and adventure.
I appreciated the fun characters, the family lessons and the adventurous theme of this book.
*I received this book from Netgalley in exchange for my honest review!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.