Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Abingdon Press A Texan's Choice: The Heart of A Hero, Book 3 - eBook

Abingdon Press A Texan's Choice: The Heart of A Hero, Book 3 - eBook

Texas, 1874. Long ago, Scout Proffitt gave up on ever being a man of honor like his Civil War hero brother Clayton. But when Scout steps foot on the rundown remnants of the Circle C ranch, he wonders if maybe-just maybe-the Lord has something different intended for him.

Rosemarie has lived most of her life doubting her worth and shouldering the blame for her brother's death. But when a stranger rides onto her ranch, claiming he owns it, she suddenly is given a choice: either keep looking at the dark side of life . . . or dare to dream.

Average Customer Rating:
4.176 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
16 out of 1794%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Texan's Choice: The Heart of A Hero, Book 3 - eBook
Review 1 for A Texan's Choice: The Heart of A Hero, Book 3 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautifully written account of people changing

Date:February 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
cfernstaedt
Location:Tucson, AZ
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Texan's Choice.
The third in a series, this book can easily be read alone (but I can guarantee will leave you rushing to get more of Shelley's Heart of a Hero books). Shelley, has brilliantly taken us back in time to late 1800's; introducing us to outlaws, cattle rustlers, ranchers and everyday people who struggled to survive. It is this fight for survival, with which readers identify. We first meet Rosemarie as she tends to the bedside of her dieing father. Immediately, we can sense she is a troubled young lady, but why? Sadness envelopes her, yet obviously it is not from her father's impending death. Does it come from her family's poorness, which is clearly seen as we enter the Bar C ranch? A poorness, which surely hits the eyes of Scout Proffit, as he rides up to stake his claim. Scout, the outlaw who's fame precedes him. Soon, Rosemarie's troubles, the reasons behind them and Scout's battle to put his fame behind him become lives entwined in the town known as Broken Promise.Their lives continue and we begin to understand answers as to why Rosemarie appears as she does, we also realize how each of us has a bit of Rosemarie in us. Reading on, we sense something else, something which cannot be seen...but was it? Before long we are in the camp of young outlaws, traveling the land, carrying secrets and searching their lives; much like young men (an women) of today. Finally we meet Miles Grant; a wealthy, yet seeming shy and insecure man. Miles owns the largest ranch in Camp Hope, a bustling town in complete contrast to Broken Promise. Past hurts, past mistakes, self-doubt and how they effect our characters lives, our characters and our own lives can be pondered. Through daily acts, their interacting lives, events which happen, confessions, we see each characters relationship with God; whether they are searching for it or trying to regain it. A Texan's Choice, enthralls readers with action, humor, identifiable characters and is one of those books you don't want to set down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Texan's Choice: The Heart of A Hero, Book 3 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Texan's Choice by Shelley Gray

Date:May 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Patsdream
Location:Huntsville, AL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Scout Proffitt thought he would never be able to measure up to his brother Clayton - hero of the Civil War. Rosemarie was blamed for her brother's death. Then Scout shows up at the ranch claiming he is the owner. Rosemarie regains her perspective on life, her faith and finds friendship and love on the way to a new life. Shelley Gray is a terrific author. I don't usually like to read anything set in the West but I truly enjoyed this book. I'm a fan of Shelley Shepard Gray and I bought the book because she is the author. I highly recommend anything by Shelley.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Texan's Choice: The Heart of A Hero, Book 3 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Texan's Choice by Shelley Gray

Date:April 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Patsdream
Location:Huntsville, AL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love Shelley's Amish books. Wasn't sure how I would like a different genre, expecially a Western. I loved it. Rosemarie finds herself homeless after her father dies. The new owner rides in and hires her as a housekeeper. Shelley brings her characters to life and before you know it you are caught up in the story line, crying with them, laughing with them and even want to knock a couple of heads together sometimes. Her characters come with flaws and wonderful characteristics. Shelley always shows how the characters come to rely on God and how they grow in faith. Another great book Shelley. Look for her books with the Amish by Shelley Shepard Gray. 4**** all the way
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Texan's Choice: The Heart of A Hero, Book 3 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

wish I hadn't spent the money for this book

Date:March 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
tigers fan
Location:hudsonville, michigan
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is one of the worst proof-read books I have ever read. There were numerous mistakes throughout the book. Also there was no depth to the characters. And why did two different characters, Miles and Russell, both have to kill their stepfathers for assaulting women? Couldn't the author think of something different when developing her characters? When are Christian fiction authors going to realize that the women who read their books are not brainless idiots just wanting to be entertained?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Texan's Choice: The Heart of A Hero, Book 3 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Life often takes a turn we never expect

Date:February 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
schoolmarm
Location:Heber Springs, AR
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rosemarie is faced with a drastic change in her life as she
knows it. She can either keep feeling sorry for herself or
face it head on. When live gives us lemons, we are better
off to make lemonade that just grumble about the lemons.
Good read
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Texan's Choice: The Heart of A Hero, Book 3 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This novel ties up the series very nicely.

Date:January 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
mseeebee
Location:In the woods
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This third book of the series has Rosemarie as a very likeable character. She is strong, but I was glad to see she is not so determined to have her own way that I would be reminded of a 2 year old, as so many leading ladies are portrayed.
I love the turn around of Scout Profitt from the other books of the series. The reunion of Clayton and Scout was a great highlight of the story, and I also loved the way the desire of Miles Grant for a gril in his life was solved.
Over all, I would buy it all over again .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Texan's Choice: The Heart of A Hero, Book 3 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice Continuation

Date:November 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After Scout Profitt wins her family's ranch in a card game, and Rosemarie's family, who blame her for the death of her brother, leaves forbidding her from going with them. So she offers her housekeeping services to Scout, to help him keep the ranch running. But when the townsfolk catch wind of Rosemarie living with Scout they demand that she and Scout marry. Will this marriage of convenience become a marriage of love?
Full of twists and turns, along with a reunion of the Profitt brothers, A Texan's Choice is a nice addition to the story. One thing that I personally had a bit of trouble with was how many different storylines that were going on at once, and while I enjoyed them all, in the beginning it was just a bit tough to get it all figured out.
The characters were well rounded, and I thought that the main arch of the story was endearing and very touching. Though there were some elements that might be slightly PG-13 for some readers with Rosemarie and Scout trying to figure out married life.
My favorite parts of the story were the parts about Rosemarie and Scout because I really wanted them to be able to figure things out.
Overall, a nice addition to the series and it was great to see Scout's story continue, and how he and Miles both grew and became confident in becoming their own person and not trying to be exactly like Clayton. It was an enjoyable story, and while it does stand alone to some extent I would recommend reading the books earlier, because there are mentions and other things that make more sense if you've read the previous books first. A nice western romance :)
I received this ebook from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. Thank you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Texan's Choice: The Heart of A Hero, Book 3 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Texan's Choice

Date:November 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the third book in the Heart of a Hero Series, and I would recommend you read all of these books, but you can read this one without. Enough information is provided to allow you to know what is going on.
We start this book in 1874 West Texas, and if you think you have had a bad day, Rosemarie Cousin's would probably win. She has just lost her Father, and her Mother and Sister have left her. Then a man shows up to claim he owns her home and ranch....Scout Proffitt won the property in a card game from her Father.
You will feel sorry for Rosemarie right from the beginning. When she was eight and her brother was four, he drowned while she was watching him. Her family has blamed her ever after. Some family!
Scout Proffitt has lived his life as a gunslinger and has been on the run. When out of the blue an offer appears, he will not be able to turn down.
We follow along as other characters we have learned to love a reintroduced, and we wonder if all will survive, or will we say goodbye?
What happens between Rosemarie and Scout is sweet, and although unexpected, we hope for Rosemarie. Ah, she deserves to be happy, but can she find it with a gunslinger?
We find that a lot of these people need to find forgiveness, and the Lord surely leads them. Enjoy this great read...you won't be able to leave this one alone once you start.
I received this book from Pump Your Book Virtual Tours, and the Publisher Abingdon Press, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Texan's Choice: The Heart of A Hero, Book 3 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A Texan's Choice

Date:November 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kimberly
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I enjoyed this final book in the Heart of a Hero series, because I wanted to find out what would happen with Scout. Scout is made out in the second book to be a horrible person, a notorious killer, but in this third book he is much nicer and softer. Rosemarie was a flat character for me, and I didn't particularly care about her one way or another. There are a lot of characters to keep straight, including quite a few from the earlier books, so the series needs to be read in order. My favorite book remains A Texan's Promise. A Texan's Choice often felt jarring and disjointed, jumping from one plot line to the next. Based on how this book ended, I wouldn't be surprised to see a Christmas novella, based on this series, released next year.
With thanks to Abingdon Press, via NetGalley, for my review copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Texan's Choice: The Heart of A Hero, Book 3 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Missing the meat and potatoes

Date:November 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
weatherlover1
Location:U.P Mi
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Rosemarie is the outcast of her family thanks to a horrible accident when she was a child that was not her fault. With her father dead and a scary yet rugged cowboy claiming her families rundown ranch she is left with no where to go. Her only hope is to work for this cowboy. What she does not plan on is him stealing her heart. Scout is leaving his old life behind and starting a new with a ranch he won in a card game. Though the ranch is in desperate need of repair he is content to make it his own. He did not expect the woman to become part of the deal but with her family’s desertion he offers to let her work for him. He soon finds himself carrying for her yet when his past comes to find him will be be able to let go and find the happiness he has always wanted?
This is the 3rd and final book in the Heart of a Hero series and I have to say I was a little disappointed. We started to get to know Scout in the 2nd book and I guess I expected a little more from this book.
What I liked: The book was well written and the characters likeable. I really wanted Rosemarie to find some happiness after the way her family treated her.
What I did not like: Both Scout and Rosemarie could have used some more depth. Scout was once a ruthless killer and now in this book he seems quite mellow. I know he was going from the fearless outlaw to the right side of the law rancher but I thought he could have been a little more exciting. Rosemarie could have used some backbone. I know her family treated her badly but it would have been nice to see her with a little more spunk. Also the added storyline with some of Scouts past gang members was odd. I was expecting a little more action at the climax of the story but it ended so quickly I had hoped for a little more excitement.
Over all this was an okay book but it almost seemed like the series was tied up to quickly that maybe a 4th book would have made this story stronger and gave some of the other characters more time to develop(like the brother of Vanessa from the first book). It still was a good book and the ending made me tear up I just wish it would have had a little more meat at the climax.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Texan's Choice: The Heart of A Hero, Book 3 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Forgetting Your Past Isn't Always Easy!!!

Date:November 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
To say that Rosemary Colson was having a bad day was simply an understatement. Not only has her father died today, but on the heels of his funeral, an hired gun, Scout Proffitt shows up to notify the family that their farm belongs to him. He won it in a card game with their now deceased father. Seems like he never did anything right when it came to his family. Now just moments after burying her father, Rosemary watches as her mother and sister pack up what little belongings they have and ride off, leaving her behind. Her mothers parting words to her were that she made so many poor choice when it came to finding someone to marry her, that now she must make a way for herself. She has only one other choice and that's to find a way to convince Scout Proffitt to let her stay on the ranch to take care of the cooking and cleaning.
Little did Scout Proffitt realize how much he would get when he came to claim the land he had won against Ben Colson. He didn't want to spend time caring for another young woman when the last time he had done so it resulted in suicide when he couldn't offer her what she wanted. He didn't want to get involved in this situation again in caring for another, but then again, he couldn't just turn her away like her own mother did. He'd spent his whole life running and perhaps now with a chance to settle down and own a ranch, perhaps his old way of life is about to change. If only everyone else would believe that he is a changed man despite his legendary rumors that run contrary to those beliefs.
In book three of the Heart of a Hero Series by Shelley Gray, A Texan's Choice shows how difficult it is to leave our tainted pasts behind us and attempt to start over again. For both Scout and Rose, the scenarios are similar but different. Each of them is strong-willed when it comes to what they both believe is right for their lives but find themselves crossing paths more often than not. When a string of thefts in town come too close for comfort the past is about to reunited with the present and Scout is about to learn that sometimes people aren't willing to let the past be forgotten!
I received A Texan's Choice by Shelley Gray compliments of Pump Up Your Book Tours and Abingdon Press for my honest review and have to say, I love how this entire series has come together with this one being the conclusion. I've had the delight to read all the books in this delightful series and Christian Western Romances are a huge favorite genre for me. In each, there is a moral lesson that is overcome and the challenges of living the life on the western frontier make them all the more challenging, when guns are often used to resolve disputes and women can be treated as mere property. Times were hard, life was living fast and short but in the end, the goal is always achieved. It often makes you wonder how many times people wondered if there was a different way of dealing with things over the way life played out. Shelley gives the reader an idea that things weren't always easy and the choices had tough consequences in the end. I personally rate this one a 5 out of 5 stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A Texan's Choice: The Heart of A Hero, Book 3 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Western Thriller, Suspense Adventure Romance

Date:October 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shelley Gray in her new book, “A Texan’s Choice” Book Three in The Heart of A Hero Series published by Abingdon Press takes us into the lives of Rosemarie Cousins and Scout Proffitt.
From the back cover: Sometimes heroes are disguised as gunslingers…and sometimes the most unlikely dreams really can come true.
Texas, 1874. Long ago, Scout Proffitt gave up on ever being a man of honor like his Civil War hero brother Clayton. But when Scout steps foot on the rundown remnants of the Circle C ranch, he wonders if maybe—just maybe—the Lord has something different intended for him.
Rosemarie has lived most of her life doubting her worth and shouldering the blame for her brother’s death. But when a stranger rides onto her ranch, claiming he owns it, she suddenly is given a choice: either keep looking at the dark side of life . . . or dare to dream.
This is the first book I have from Ms. Gray and, while it is very good and works as a stand alone novel, I believe you should read the first two books in this series, in order, to really appreciate everything that is going on. Scout Proffitt is a gunslinger who used to run with the Walton Gang but now he just wants to claim the Circle C ranch that he won in a card game and settle down. Rosemarie Cousins has nowhere to go when her mother and sister just leave and abandon her on the ranch that isn’t theirs anymore. Now Scout and Rosemarie need to work together not only to work the ranch but to defend against the Walton Gang. ”A Texan’s Choice” is a thriller. It is a suspense adventure story. It is a romance. And it is a Western. In the hands of a lesser author working with all these elements might not work but Ms. Gray is so skillful this story shines brightly. Ms. Gray makes you care for all the characters and their journey. Scout and Rosemarie have to learn how to trust God and each other to deal with their issues so that they can let go and embrace their future. It is watching all of this happen that is just plain fun and exciting. Well done Ms. Gray.
If you would like to listen to interviews with other authors and professionals please go to Kingdom Highlights where they are available On Demand.
To listen to 24 hours non-stop, commercial free Christian music please visit our internet radio station Kingdom Airwaves
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Abingdon Press. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for A Texan's Choice: The Heart of A Hero, Book 3 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Final in Trilogy

Date:October 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Rosemarie Cousins lives in a broken-down shack on the outskirts of the Texan town of Broken Promise. Her father has just died, outlaw Scout Proffitt has just arrived and announced that he won the house and ranch off her father in a game of cards, and her mother is moving in with her older (married) sister, leaving her homeless. Unless she can convince Scout to let her stay.
Miles Grant has taken over the running of the family ranch, having finally earned the respect of the hands. But trouble is coming his way: cattle rustlers. The sheriff decides that the only way to defeat the criminals is to call in the notorious Walton Gang, promising to expunge their criminal records if they can help. But to do the job, they need Scout Proffitt.
A Texan’s Choice is a solid Christian historical romance. Each of the major characters is faced with a choice that has the potential to change the way they live. As this is Christian fiction, their decisions are perhaps a little unrealistic, but Gray manages to make them all seem logical and consistent with what we expect from the characters. fsThe Christian message is clear but not preachy. My main issue was that there were three distinct subplots, and while they all connected in the end, the number of characters did become confusing at times.
This is the third book in Shelley Gray’s The Heart of a Hero series, following A Texan’s Promise and A Texan’s Honor (both of which I have reviewed). I think that this series is best read in order, as the main characters in A Texan’s Choice featured prominently in the previous books. A nice historical romance.
Thanks to Abingdon Press and NetGalley for providing a free book for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for A Texan's Choice: The Heart of A Hero, Book 3 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good but a bit disappointing

Date:September 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Katharina
Location:North Carolina
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ever since I finished book two in the series I have been looking forward to reading Scout’s story. I loved reading his story and seeing how he changed his life after the events of A Texan’s Honor (book 2). But I’m sorry to say this is my least favorite book in the series.
While I loved getting to know Scout more I was also a bit disappointed in this third book (and I assumed, final) book in the series. In a way it seemed like the author was trying to wrap up other people’s stories but then left you wondering what happens to them next.
At the beginning I was not expecting to hear about Russel or Miles so I was confused when the story started following them. By the middle I understood how they were tied to Scout’s story but in a way it felt like they were main characters as well but without their stories being concluded.
A theme in all three books is grace and second chances. Christ’s saving grace is not really explained and man’s depravity is glossed over. Throughout the last book and this book we are constantly told that Scout is a cold, grim killer; a man with no qualms about killing someone for money; a lethal shot feared throughout west; a man whose exploits have been told and exaggerated in dime novels. Yet he suddenly turns from all of that and people accept him and respect him. It’s hard to grasp, even though we’re told that something about him inspires trust.
I enjoyed Rosemarie’s story and how she was able to help Scout and he was able to help her. Although again while reading her story there is a scene that shows how her life has changed but there is no follow up to it.
If I knew that this series will continue I think I would have written a more positive review. However, since I have been under the impression that this is the last and I haven’t seen anything contrary wise, I must say I expected a better ending to the story and not so many lose ends. I think what bothers me the most is that they are not lose ends to the series, but rather lose ends just from this book.
If you’ve read book one and two, A Texan’s Promise and A Texan’s Honor, then you should certainly read this book. But don’t read this without having read the first two (or even just book two).
Disclosure: I received this book from the publisher through Netgalley. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for A Texan's Choice: The Heart of A Hero, Book 3 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

No one is beyond redemption

Date:September 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sherry K
Location:Kansas
Rosemarie Cousins has lived most of her life feeling unwanted, unworthy and unloved because her family blamed her for the death of her brother. When her father dies and her mother and sister leave her behind to fend for herself she's not surprised, though it cuts deep. Scout Proffitt has lived a rough life and knows he will never be the kind of honorable man his brother Clayton is. But Scout is hoping to at least live out a peaceful existence which is why he's looking forward to claiming the Circle C Ranch he won in a card game. What he didn't count on was Rosemarie Cousins. Watching them bury her father and seeing her mother and sister leave her behind, stirred something inside him he didn't count on. Rose knows who Scout is but she treats him with respect and though having him there is a bit scary, it's not as scary as being totally alone! Can a throw-away daughter and a notorious outlaw see that God just might have a plan for them?
This is book three in The Heart of a Hero Series and one I've been waiting to read. Scout Proffitt has intrigued me right from the start. In A Texan's Honor (book 2) you got a good look at this unusual hero and realized there was more to the man than being a gunslinger. In A Texan's Choice, you see more of his background and how things play out for Scout. Rosemarie was a character that I didn't like, at first. But as I kept reading and seeing her interact with Scout, I ended up really liking her. They were good for each other and I loved how they interacted together. Talk about romance! I truly appreciated the message, that no one is beyond redemption if they turn to the Lord. He's the only one who can change your heart and life. I enjoyed seeing Clayton again and catching up with Miles but I was hoping to see a few of the others as well. There were tender moments, tense moments and moments that just made me smile. And although it had an ending that I really liked, as a reader I would have loved an epilogue. I just felt like I wanted it to be carried a little further than it was. Can you read this as a stand alone? Technically yes, but I would highly recommend you read this series in order, to get the full impact. I have loved all the books in The Heart of a Hero Series and you can bet they're on my keeper shelf!
Paperback: 320 pages
Publisher: Abingdon Press (October 2012)
ISBN-10: 1426714653
ISBN-13: 978-1426714658
*This complimentary copy was provided by Abingdon Press through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for A Texan's Choice: The Heart of A Hero, Book 3 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Heart of a Hero Series Book 3

Date:August 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
JudyMom2
Location:Arizona
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Texan’s Choice by Shelley Gray
Heart of a Hero Series Book 3
Scout Proffitt has gone the opposite way of his war hero brother, Clayton. Scout has lived his life as a loner and hired gun. After some things that happened in Scout’s life in the second book, A Texan’s Honor, he decides to go to the ranch he won gambling and settle down. What he didn’t expect was how run down the place was and the young woman who was there with nowhere else to go.
Rosemarie Cousins felt unworthy. Since an accident ten years ago she has been an outcast in her own family. Her father has just passed away, an outlaw has come to claim their home and land and to top it all off….the rest of her family don’t want her. She is left to the mercy of a merciless killer. Or is he different than the rumors and dime novels that were written about him?
A Texan’s Choice brings back characters from the previous two books, A Texan's Promise and A Texan's Honor. Many of these characters feel unworthy to be loved or respected. They look up to Clayton as a role model that they never believe they can emulate, but all want to. We see grace for a lonely and forgotten woman, a tired outlaw, a man who never cared about anyone but himself as well as a young man still in his teens who had to grow up way too quickly. The author never leaves out the tough things. The real life evil of the world or what her characters have lived. Which just makes God’s grace all that more when we see the end story.
**Received through NetGalley for review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for A Texan's Choice: The Heart of A Hero, Book 3 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Texan's Choice

Date:July 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
jenilee220
Location:Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Book Description (from CBD):
Texas, 1874. Long ago, Scout Proffitt gave up on ever being a man of honor like his Civil War hero brother Clayton. But when Scout steps foot on the rundown remnants of the Circle C ranch, he wonders if maybe-just maybe-the Lord has something different intended for him.
Rosemarie has lived most of her life doubting her worth and shouldering the blame for her brother's death. But when a stranger rides onto her ranch, claiming he owns it, she suddenly is given a choice: either keep looking at the dark side of life . . . or dare to dream.
My Thoughts:
I am a huge Shelley Gray fan and I was very excited to read this book! I've read the first two in the series and enjoyed them both very much!
This book, the 3rd in the series, had a very different feel. But, I suppose it would because it is about Scout Proffitt, an outlaw. This book seemed darker and deeper which was not a bad thing!
I enjoyed how Shelley Gray wove themes and circumstances from the first 2 books into this story all while creating new characters and giving Scout Proffitt and place to call home. She was able to write redemption into characters who have been a part of each book and bring about healing through new characters. I love how she closed it all at the end.
Rosemarie and Scout are perfect for each other. Their sadness, their pain and their strength brings them to a point that shows them how much they need God. They see how God brought them together in a way to bless them both.
This whole series is a must read!
*I received this book from Netgalley in exchange for my honest review!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.