Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Living Water

Zondervan Living Water

Interweaving the message of Scripture with real-life stories, Brother Yun's follow-up to his best-selling The Heavenly Man challenges Christians to go deeper in their faith and be bold in their witness for Christ! You'll be moved to action by his true accounts of struggles and victories, miracles of grace, and mountains moved. 240 pages, softcover from Zondervan.
Average Customer Rating:
4.867 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Living Water
Review 1 for Living Water
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must read for every North American Christian!

Date:February 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
Kenneth
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brother Yun contrasts the sleepy/ineffective state of the western church with the on-fire/extremely effective underground church in China where millions are coming to faith in Jesus. Using the scriptures in a wonderfully clear and loving way, he describes different areas where we have drifted from the complete commitment that Jesus calls us to. This book clears away the watered down ideas/interpretations of scripture that are holding the North American church back. I believe if we put into practice what Brother Yun advocates in this book we will see revivals break out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Living Water
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The book is very interesting to read.

Date:July 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
MOFox
Location:Saint James, MO
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this book after reading the first book by Brother Yun.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Living Water
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Frank
Location:south carolina
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very inspiring. Many Bible quotes. Sharing the gospel.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Living Water
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kristina Estep
"Living Water" has been amazing and yes... REFRESHING! I praise God for Brother Yun and his passion for the Lord. He brings our perspective right back to Jesus and what it means to live as God's People for His Kingdom. I was a bit weary & dry spiritually... but I can tell you that this book has encouraged me greatly and spoke amazing truths in such simplistic ways. Thank you, Brother Yun for your courage, honesty, and bringing God's Word as a cup of cold water to the soul. This is a MUST-read book for any Believer... be blessed!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Living Water
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 28, 2008
Customer Avatar
Barry Crawford
Wow,..WOW, Brother Yun challlenegs us once again to dig deeper and to become a better person and how to make this world a better place.God uses him to call us to repentance , then builds us up and lets us know through Christ we can do anything. A must have for anyone !! Dont waste time order it, read it, live it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Living Water
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
Emily
A lot of the time when I read inspirational books I am unsure if the author is truly sincere, or if they are just writing what sells. With this book I had no doubts! Brother Yun is a true follower of Jesus. Because of his faith he has faced persecution, and yet he has stayed strong. Who better to tell us how to grow?Shares pieces of brother Yun's life and the trials he has faced serving as a pastor in China.I love how he believes in becoming a new wineskin, turning from traditional religious rituals, and truly following Jesus.Though brother Yun and I come from very different places and very different circumstances, we have a lot in common. Some of this book felt as if I had written it, I shared so many of brother Yun's views.One of my two current favorite books.This book can change your life, if you will only let it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Living Water
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 28, 2008
Customer Avatar
Christine Burns
TimingFor those who desire a life of service to God, for those who feel a tugging on your heart to leave your comfort zone and enter a life of uncertainties and danger, for those who know this is your calling, this is why you are here... then this is a book for you. Brother Yun shows us the reality of being a missionary, including the misery and torture that accompanies following Jesus Christ. I have often questioned Gods timing, and this book reminded me that it will happen, but only when God has made me into whom I need to be to completely serve Him!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Living Water
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
Susan
I have absolutely loved this book. I know this is a completely overused statement, but I really felt like this book was written just for me, to me. I could feel the Lord speaking through the author, and snapping me out of my complacency. I can't wait to go back and read the first book. This book put a mirror to my face and showed me how much I take for granted my faith and my Savior.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Living Water
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
Gena
If inspiration and encouragement is what you are looking for, this is the book for you.You can't possibly walk away from this book without feeling blessed, and challenged. I highly recommend this book for anyone who wants to know and understand God more, and/or just needs a lift in their spirit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Living Water
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 31, 2008
Customer Avatar
Tammie Gitt
Sometimes it takes someone who has lived through real persecution to shake Christians out of their stained-glass stupor. Brother Yun, who has spent time in Chinese prisons, does just that in this collection of messages that span the decade since he left that Communist nation.Having brought together these messages at the insistence of fellow believers, Yun divides them into three sections for the purposes of the book. In the first section, he speaks of freedom in Christ and the spiritual life of the believer. In part two, he talks of equipping believers. He addresses obstacles that believers encounter in the third and final part.Yun alternates between a prophetic, no-holds-barred call to action and true belief in what he clearly sees as a slumbering Western church and the persuasive, pleading voice of a pastor to the individual Christian who needs to repent of those things that have caused him to stumble in his walk with Christ. In either case, Yun expresses a clear love of Christ and of his church which includes a desire to see the church become as bold as it was in its infancy.This is certainly not a book for the thin-skinned Christian. It is, however, one that will make a thinking Christian stop and examine her life. Don't try to plow through it in one setting. Rather, tackle it as a devotional tool, reading the message and examining the Scripture references and meditating on its application to your own life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Living Water
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
Calina
This book should contain a warning! Warning: If you are a lukewarm Christian be prepared to commit or recommit your life to Christ. This book will challenge your faith. I have read and studied the Bible for many years and I learned many things from Brother Yun's teachings.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Living Water
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jana Hege
If you are happy to live a life of complacency, don't read this book.But if you feel your spiritual life has been lacking, if you've lost your first love, if you want to drink deep from the source of Living Water, I highly recommend it.In the first section, Brother Yun will bring you to your knees. He takes you through a deep, soul-searching journey, full of examples from scripture and his own life.In the second section, he raises you up. Each chapter takes you down another tributary in the streams of Living Water, reminding you of what a true Christian should be.And in the third section, he will send you forth. Through many examples from his own life and the ministries of others in China, he will challenge you to go out and share your faith.The book is easy to read and understand, well-written and full of amazing stories that will inspire you. Thank you, Brother Yun, and God bless you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Living Water
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
Maria Marino
Hes been beaten, imprisoned, and almost starved to death for sake of the gospel. That is reason enough to want to read what this persecuted, yet reportedly joy-filled Chinese preacher has to say. Charged with Brother Yuns passion for taking the good news to the ends of the earth, Living Water transports you to a modern day Acts where once again, we see the courage to live and die for Christ reverse the thwarted attempts to annihilate Christianity. This book is about being transformed into a vessel of refreshment,a deep reservoir of living water that is the Holy Spirit. Here you will find the encouragement and the challenge to exchange sleepy-time religion for a faith on fire. You will embark on a 3-part spiritual journey destined to make you so dangerous the enemy will want a piece of you, real bad. Along the way, Brother Yun will equip you with true stories, pearls of wisdom, and Gods word everything youll need to make you to an unstoppable soldier for Christ. Living Water is an inspiring autobiography, a powerful evangelistic tool, and daily devotional all in one volume. The breath of the Holy Spirit is felt on every page beckoning to surrender, obey and sacrifice. Like the living water that Jesus promises to those who believe in Him, this book will refresh, revive and reenergize you. And you will never be the same again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Living Water
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kathy DiDomizio
Brother Yun's courageous story challenges readers to become far bolder in their witness for Christ. He is someone who really speaks from the depths of his heart and rich personal experience, giving us moving examples that truly ignite faith and a desire to do far more to spread the Good News to those living in darkness. This work is a true inspiration!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Living Water
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
Theresa Davies
An unbelievable story of one man's journey to bring Christ to the people of China. He is a true disciple of Jesus. His unwavering faith is so uplifting. You cannot help but get caught up in his evangelism. A good book to get one to get off the couch and proclaim the love of Jesus.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.