Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Rest: Living in Sabbath Simplicity

Zondervan Rest: Living in Sabbath Simplicity

In today's fast-paced society, we've forgotten an essential truth . . . that the Sabbath was made for man, not man for the Sabbath. Inviting you to find a balance between work and refreshment, Kent explores six aspects of this Christian spiritual practice---resting, reconnecting, revising, pausing, playing, and praying---to help you experience renewed energy, grace, and joy. 224 pages, softcover from Zondervan.
Average Customer Rating:
4.808 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Rest: Living in Sabbath Simplicity
Review 1 for Rest: Living in Sabbath Simplicity
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Thought-provoking, helpful, but...

Date:March 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
ZMan
Location:Sturgis, SD
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I appreciate that she doesn't give a long list of "must-do's" and "must-not-do's". "Rest" was gracious in tone, thought-provoking, and in many ways helpful. Yet it should have been half as long. It was very repetitive and the chapters didn't always stay on course. A frustrating read at times. But worth reading? Yes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Rest: Living in Sabbath Simplicity
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:June 30, 2009
When offered a chance to review this book, I jumped, because the title caught my eye, Rest Living in Sabbath Simplicity. I have for years believed certain things about the Sabbath and was very interested in reading this book. I am going to say up front, this book was not what I expected. Having studied, for several years about Jewish customs, holidays and feasts, I had an expectancy for this book, that was not met. That does not mean this book is a bad book, by all means it is not a bad book, it just was not what I was expecting to read. Keri, expresses her views and ideas of Sabbath rest very wonderfully, and leans hard toward the side of resting. This is a book about resting, taking a break from your busy lives and finding a place and a time to rest and rejuvenate. I did not really find any great truths about the Sabbath, in this book. There were some things that puzzled me, in the chapter about reconnecting, she speaks of Jesus giving the two most important commandments, she discusses how difficult it is to love all people all the time, and then I was left with the impression that she felt it was alright to observe these two commandments only on the Sabbath. I am sure that was not her intention, but it was the impression I walked away from that chapter with. All that said, I am glad for a chance to read the book, there were some great points in the book. At the end of the book each chapter has discussion questions for a book study group, which is very helpful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Rest: Living in Sabbath Simplicity
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Darla
I became acquainted with Keri Wyatt Kent's writing by reading her book, Breathe. As I explored the concept of Sabbath the more I wanted to learn about how to incorporate Sabbath in my everyday life. Rest: Living in Sabbath Simplicity gives real-life examples of how to bring rest into our lives. I know that in my life I am constantly wrestling with how to cultivate contentment in my life and in the lives of those around me. I believe that rest is the foundation for our contentment. If we never take time to rest in God, we will never have the opportunity to rest at all. This book is a great read for how to incorporate a Godly Rest into your life. I can't wait for Keri's next book...each of her books has hit home with me!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Rest: Living in Sabbath Simplicity
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Susy Flory
It seems like most of my life has been lived in a rush, but it wasn't always that way. I grew up in a Christian home where my parents rested (read: took a nap) on Sundays and all Sabbath really meant to me back then was that I had to be extra careful not to slam doors on Sunday afternoons or my dad would wake up cranky and yell. Now that I'm the same age he was, I'm beginning to understand the value of a Sunday afternoon nap, and the value of deliberately taking a Sabbath.In Rest, Keri Wyatt's winsome book on the value of living in Sabbath simplicity, she quotes Kent Kingston, who grew up in a Sabbath-keeping family: "When you've been keeping Sabbath since childhood, something happens in your brain at sunset on Friday when you realize the busyness of the week is over...a sense of calm settles on your mind and the muscle knots begin to unwind. The problems of the everyday are put on hold--bills, school assignments, work deadlines, renovation projects. And because you know you won't be dealing with any of these things for the next 24 hours, you just forget about them. It's the greatest feeling."I've been choosing to keep a Sabbath for a couple of years now, and Kingston is right. I look forward to it all week. When it arrives, it's like time slows down and my sense of urgency and rushing goes on pause. Everything tastes better, smells better, and I live in the moment, savoring friends, family, my home, my yard, my book. It's a guilt-free day (and who doesn't need more of those? Especially moms?) And I wouldn't trade it for the world.Our God is a Creator-God, a great Intellect, a Founder and Sustainer and Savior...and yet He's personal. He's practical. And He cares about the small things. Like naps.Thanks, Keri, for a book that reminds us of how good our God is and how the times and seasons He's put in place are for our pleasure and care. Read REST, and create that sacred space in your week.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Rest: Living in Sabbath Simplicity
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kimberly Goh
"You do not have to be an Olympic-level Sabbath keeper. The Sabbath was made for people, Jesus said. It's a tool you can use to become healthier spiritually - more connected with the God who loves you, more peaceful, more joyful. Not perfectly any of those things. Just healthier." This is what I loved most about Keri Wyatt Kent's book "Rest"... It allows you to explore the gift of Sabbath rest without making you feel guilty because you can't do it perfectly. Keri gives practical examples of ways you could keep the Sabbath at various seasons in your life, even if it starts with just choosing to serve leftovers that day instead of cooking a full meal. Sabbath-keeping can be a journey that begins with a few small steps. It seems like a lot of thought went into this book: it is as if Keri read most of the classic literature on Sabbath-keeping, then made those ideas accessible to the modern soccer mom. The book also highlights a study on how top athletic performers gain their strength from the routines of rest they incorporate into their game. It is a book written for people who are, as Keri says, "afraid of taking a break, perhaps because we are afraid the world might stop spinning if we get off the treadmill." In other words, it is a book written for most of us.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Rest: Living in Sabbath Simplicity
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jane Barber
This is the first book I read by Keri Wyatt Kent. She spoke at our church's women's retreat and I was struck by her authenticity as a speaker. I was glad to find out she writes as she speaks! REST is an amazing book that tangibly challenges me to continue my pursuit of enjoying the discipline of keeping the Sabbath. Keri approaches the Sabbath from all angles - historically, Biblically, spiritually, and practically. I loved the real examples from her own life and from the people she has met and how they practice the Sabbath. This book motivates me to see my family move toward a more purposeful direction in how we practice the Sabbath. This book is a "must read" because it addresses a lost art/practice in our society, and we desperately need to return to this aspect of God's design.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Rest: Living in Sabbath Simplicity
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lynsey
After reading Rest my heart was restored in knowing how God wants to draw near to us continually yet how I can often block Him out with my "hurried" life. At the same time the tone of the book is full of grace and understanding for having full lives with families, work, and friends. I would recommend this book to anyone who desires to have a more restful heart and home!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Rest: Living in Sabbath Simplicity
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
JShort
When Rest arrived in my mailbox, it was with some discipline that I refrained from delving into the pages, simply taking a peek to see the layout & chapter titles had to suffice. The final pages of a book I was reading were read in one night & I eagerly jumped into this book the next day.My eagerness in part was due to previous experiences with this author. Although, I have never met her outside of books & email, I have a sense of camaraderie. This is the 5th book that I have read that was written by Keri Wyatt Kent - I have recommended her writings extensively & lead small group studies on 3 of the books with a dear group of women. The books have helped to shift my relationship with Jesus increasingly toward relationship & away from religion. While I have found her writing style easy to follow & do-able as a mom of young children, I have also found that it challenges me to grow & change, as a daughter of Christ, wife, mother & leader. So starting to read this new book was a bit like sitting down with an old friend that I havent seen in a while & jumping into conversation where we left off a year ago when we were last together. In the book, Keri invites us to place Sabbath practices into life, not just on one day set aside for Sabbath, but throughout each day. Upon recently re-entering the work force outside my home, I have found the suggestions helpful getting through my most intense days of work. What I found most striking about this book though is that it is written to a broader audience than primarily mothers in the earliest of this authors books that I have read. My husband has enjoyed portions of it & would no doubt benefit from reading it in its entirety. I am eager to delve into this book with a small group of women. I would recommend this book to all individuals interested in being challenged to consider & broaden their Sabbath practices - female or male, single or married - Enjoy this inviting conversation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Rest: Living in Sabbath Simplicity
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Mary DeMent
Author Keri Wyatt Kent invites, inspires and encourages us to do the unthinkable in todays culture: REST! Her words have caused me to think (and re-think) how I spend my time. This well-written, easy to read book on the Sabbath, weaves history, story telling and application all into a practical How To book on rest. This should be required reading foreveryone (especially those who dont have time to read it)!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Rest: Living in Sabbath Simplicity
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
kirfil
Keri Wyatt Kent's book "Rest" covers every square inch of what Sabbath can mean to us today, without getting bogged down in theology. Instead, she teaches through stories of ordinary people on their own journeys as well as the life of Jesus. Kent also integrates the discipline of Sabbath keeping with many of the other spiritual practices as a wonderful example that none of the disciplines are meant to be practiced in isolation.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Rest: Living in Sabbath Simplicity
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Laurie Filson
Be armed with a pen, pencil or highlighter when you open this book. If you're expecting a list of do's and don'ts for keeping the Sabbath day, or The Top 7 Rules laying out how to correctly spend your Sabbath, you will be disappointed. Kari masterfully engages her reader in a thought-provoking and action-inspiring examination over how, like Jesus, one can intentionally create a radical weekly Sabbath rest in the midst of a busy schedule. I was reminded that when I cheapen the way I spend my Sabbath, I cheapen the quality of life that I am living. God didn't create the Sabbath day because He needed it, nor did He command it because He wanted to make you and me miserable. Instead, God gave us the Fourth Commandment so that physically, emotionally and spiritually we can draw close to the heart of God. As a college student, I found Kari's examples directed at family life, but they are practical and easily adaptable to any age. I found the read easy and punctuated with insightful and inspiring advice.By reading Rest, be ready to implement a new practice of Sabbath simplicity into your life, reconnect relationally with friends and family, and create space in your heart for God to reshape your identity.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Rest: Living in Sabbath Simplicity
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 31, 2008
Customer Avatar
kimberlee
This book has helped me see how my family can best honor Sabbath. The author clearly points out through other families' personal stories how Sabbath is and should be different for everyone. I felt freedom as soon as I started reading this book that there's no cookie cutter system of rituals to follow. The author was even sensitive to singles in sharing how Sabbath isn't only for families. I really enjoyed learning how Sabbath affects us spiritually and physically. The ending was beautiful, nothing that I expected, and the perfect way to end this book. Which I will be reading again! It's a keeper.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Rest: Living in Sabbath Simplicity
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 26, 2008
Customer Avatar
Angela
Prior to reading Keri Wyatt Kent's latest book, my Sabbath day included many must do's...but rest never made the cut. Instead, bickering and panic were part of my Sunday morning routine as I crammed too many activities into the early hours of the day and then rushed to get everyone to church. I also used the Sabbath day as my day to prepare for the coming week...to try to do things to make my life easier for the next six days. Through her tender-hearted and well researched writing, Keri encourages her readers to view the Sabbath as both God's gift to them and as an opportunity to recconnect with the Creator and those we love. She explains not only why it is an important commandment to keep in our fast-paced society, but that it is also one that is not as difficult to respect as we sometimes think it is. I appreciated that this book did not contain a list of do's and don'ts and instead offered helpful suggestions to use the Sabbath as a time to refresh, refuel, and rejuvenate. Rest, was indeed a life-changing read...for me and my family.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Rest: Living in Sabbath Simplicity
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
Wendy Dixon
My soul cries out to dwell in the awareness and presence of God; to set aside the busy schedule and just be. Yet before I know it I can turn this time of resting, Sabbath into a legalistic practice with guidelines and my practice of Sabbath seems complicated.Then comes Keri Wyatt Kent's latest book, Rest. Keri shares her own personal and honest journey about taking time to rest, Sabbath. She shares many different and creative ways that she practices Sabbath; even including her family time in this. After reading this beautiful book, I am inspired to be intentional about taking time to reflect, refresh and renew and to dwell in the loving presence of God.Keri's writing always meet the reader wherever they are in the journey. Enjoy Rest!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Rest: Living in Sabbath Simplicity
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
Mary Wilson
This is a thought provoking look at what it means to honor God on the Sabbath. Keri's book offers a variety of suggestions, thoughts, verses, and practices to ponder while guiding the reader to their own answers to the questions, "What is restful for me?" and "What will help me connect with God?" Her approach is impressively non-legalistic, encouraging the reader to seek direction from God rather than others. She encourages readers to "let go of the ought to list in their head that says how Sabbath should be practiced and to start the journey with small steps." An excellent read which leaves you with the desire to enjoy God and others more fully!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Rest: Living in Sabbath Simplicity
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
Keri Comer
What does it mean to spend time with Jesus? This book helped me understand this concept in very practical ways. I learned that Sabbath rest is a gift that God's given to all peoples. I pondered who I am when I'm not DOING something. I thought about what it means to cease striving and to say "yes" to joy. I am now practicing settling my mind gently into my heart on a regular basis. If you choose to enjoy this book within a group setting, be sure to look at the reading group guide at the end before you begin!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Rest: Living in Sabbath Simplicity
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jenny Feliciano
I loved this book! Through historical background and scripture, Keri Wyatt Kent, gently encourages the reader to create space during the week to enjoy the tremendous blessing of resting with God. I appreciated seeing what Sabbath practices can look like in different homes. This book is very inviting and interesting. If you are someone who is looking for how to draw near to God, bring that desire to your family, and wants a more balanced life of work and rest, this book will be very edifying for you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Rest: Living in Sabbath Simplicity
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
Karin
Rest Living in Sabbath Simplicity by Keri Wyatt Kent is a well thought out, well researched book on Sabbath-keeping. Keri writes just seven chapters, and each is on a different aspect of Sabbath, shaking things up, resting, reconnecting, revising, pausing, playing, and praying. It is a book that will encourage you to evaluate your own personal thoughts and actions regarding Sabbath keeping. Keri teaches by example, honestly sharing her own personal experiences and struggles with her readers. I have not personally practiced Sabbath, or I did not think I was with my traditional view of Sabbath, but I was encouraged to know that several activities that I participate in are ways to practice Sabbath. Keri understands the demands that we put on ourselves, but she makes a great case for incorporating the practice into your life rhythm, freely admitting that at certain seasons during the year the practice has to be adapted to fit within family activities. She give great examples of how you can start to incorporate the practice into your life (take a nap, go for a walk with your family), and you may find that you already have elements of this in your life. Keri does not promote that Sabbath is a legalistic practice, but one that has the ability to refresh your life and your relationships with others and God. This was a breath of fresh air book, where I was encouraged and challenged to think broader about what Sabbath really is, a day to spend time with God and others, so that I can be better equipped to handle the coming week.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Rest: Living in Sabbath Simplicity
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
Amber Olsen
Rest is an inspirational call to remember one of Gods commandments resting on the seventh day. Through stories from families, other authors and the Bible, Keri Wyatt Kent examines why Sabbath is something that is as relevant today as it was in the Old Testament. By stopping one day out of the week, we can realize that not only does it give us a chance to rest and refuel, but we can also refocus on what is really important in our lives our families and our Savior. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone looking to escape from the "hurry" of today's society!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Rest: Living in Sabbath Simplicity
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jan ODaniel
Keri Wyatt Kent has produced another thought-provoking, life-changing volume on living a God-honoring life. She gives readers practical yet meaningful ideas for Sabbath-keeping that work with not against the reality of our busy lives. Rest is replete with Scriptural references, real-life inspiration and Kents characteristic voice of wise and cherished friend. Rest offers a delightful respite from the shoulds and should nots of both legalism and perfectionism.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>